Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holebeck Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Frosterley > Holebeck Touring Caravan Site > Reviews

Holebeck Touring Caravan Site
Holebeck House Farm
Wolsingham
Frosterley
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3BG
Tel: 01388 527384  or  07918 614796
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 23happycamper 4 reviews from this member

 What a peaceful site, all the staff very helpful, any problems with anyone had putting their awning or tent up one of the staff or regulars went over to help.

The countryside around this site is fantastic you have great walks along the river or to the villages around.

The toilets are locked with a key and you get a fob to get through the gate. Our children loved playing around the site.

The toilet block was very clean and the site was well kept.

I will be returning to this site very soon. Thank for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nu1isit? 3 reviews from this member

 The site itself grass etc. was all really well kept. The toilets were always clean. The only fault we could find with it, is there was never any toilet roll

That was outweighed by everything else though.

There was a toilet key system and fob for the gates, so you knew the kids were safe.

The kids on the campsite were allowed to play, not like some places where your scared to let them laugh to loud - never mind playing. They all seemed happy and contented. There isn't a play park, but if you drive 2-5 minutes down the road (Wolsingham), there's a big park and play area. We took them both down there; we got the bus the first night (bus stop just outside the campsite entrance), then the car the next. The shops are down there too, Crook nearby or Bishop Auckland by car.

There's also a few public footpaths nearby so you can take the dog and kids for a walk too.

We were the only tent there that weekend due to the really bad weather (we were expecting a little rain - we were wrong). The pitch never got 'boggy' or have a stream run through it like other places. The two of the little ones didn't want to go.

Definitely thinking of going back another time 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiethcamper21 1 review from this member

 This was the first time I had been to this site and thought it was great loved the surroundings,

very friendly people, polite. thought carole (owner) is doing an amazing job.

Is only a short bus ride to crook, or stanhope if you need any essentials. Will be returning in the near future.

Even though there were kids playing it was still a peaceful weekend. there is a small steam train what passes every couple of hours or so that didn't affect the stay, you can enjoy a walk along the river side too.

The toilet block is clean and looked after. There is a small issue with not having loo roll in there but are told on arrival that must supply own because people steal it. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loftuslesli 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful place this is.

Me, my brother and both our partners decided for a weekend away camping and after being disappointed by another site we came across this one and decided to phone and a lovely lady named Carol allowed us to turn up

After being welcomed in we were shown where to pitch up and handed keys for the toilets and a tag for the main gate to open

After pitching up we enjoyed the view and the peace and quiet, of course there was a few kids running around and having fun but neither one of them disturbed us and what friendly people they were.

Carol approached us the next day after settling and asked how we like the place and chatted for about 10 mins about the area. It's a lovely place to walk by the stream and see a few farm animals while there

Easy accessible water and electricity points were there and a place to wash your pots and pans. The area is immaculate as everyone picked bits of paper and things up to help keep the place friendly for everyone. It's fantastic

Of course the showers were 20p but at the prices to pitch up, that really wasn't a problem and of course we were willing to pay and we will certainly be revisiting this site and be regulars to the place

Congrats to the site owners. They have a brilliant place 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davemack 1 review from this member

 Potentially a nice site, but requires a great deal of improvement in the following areas:

Toilet Block locked overnight (not good for children)

Electricity was tripping due to an overload with the volume of people that were there.

Unable to gain access to and from the site by car, until a member of staff was found to open the gates

The car had to be parked on a boggy field opposite which was difficult to access in bad weather.

Overall this is a very nice clean tidy site with all the facilities necessary if they were managed better. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Whatnofishagain 2 reviews from this member

 This is a hidden gem in weardale. I've gone to stanhope since childhood, and never knew this was here,

Very friendly site, could do with a small shop for essentials, but we love it anyway,

Put tourer on for a month and left for three, going back next year too.

Lovely little brook for kids to play in, a activity centre few hundred yards away with loads to do for kids, very friendly lady called carol that lives on the farm.

Cows and sheep roaming around so the kids will love it, security camera so you know your van is safe [24 hours]

Very laid back so if you want excitement go elsewhere.

Stanhope, frosterly and east gate near, for visits. We love this place, 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhvwrhvw 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for two nights on a Saturday and Sunday evening.

The site is in a good country location easy to get to by road. There is a nice walk through countryside along the river into the village of Wolsingham, probably about 2miles, the village has two pubs both were welcoming to our dog.

There are lots of seasonal pitches and the warden and regular stayers where friendly and welcoming.

On the first night the site appeared to be full that said I only had to queue once for the toilet.

The toilet/shower facilities were adequate but I think a couple of small inexpensive additions could be made to make the stay of a camper easier and more comfortable. The toilets are locked so when paying a visit you need to remember; Toilet Roll, Soap, Key - it is the first time I have encountered a site that did not provide these basic but necessary supplies and it was a bit annoying if you forgot to take with you any or all of these eseential three items which then meant a walk of shame back to the tent to collect whatever you had forgotten and set of on a mission again. Surely soap dispensers and toilet roll dispensers could be fitted to prevent thieving which is something again I have never come across.

The showers could also do with some more hooks and perhaps a shelf on which to store your precious toilet roll as mine fell of the hook twice whilst in the shower resulting in wet toilet roll - not very nice.

And finally there was nowhere to plug in hairdryers or straighteners again another essential modern convenience (particularly useful to dry off your wet toilet roll).

Fortunately, most people went home on Sunday morning so the second evening was much quieter and thoroughly pleasant, the shower was lovely and hot and I had no difficulty with hot water for pot washing.

As a site it was okay but could have been perfect with a few small inexpensive additions - oh and they could probably do with another big bin as these were overflowing when we arrived and just got worse as the weekend went on.

I think the facilities are suited for the caravans and motorhome guests I couldn't stay here for more than a couple of nights and probably on a week night out of all school holidays. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 23happycamper 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed on this site for a weekend and I plan to return. This is a very friendly site the people are very helpful and friendly. The toilet block is basic but very clean.

The site has some great views up the valley and there are some great walks to Wolsingham and Frosterly. There is a small stream at one side and the river Wear on the other.

Wolsingham is about 1 mile away with a good pub, shop and take away. There is a icecream van that comes around on a weekend. There is plenty of room for the children to play and pets are welcome. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Starkey 5 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights at Holebeck site with friends and family and had a great time. We picked Holebeck because most of the reviews seemed to suggest a laid back and peaceful experience together with lovely scenery. This is exactly what we got.

Yes the facilities on site are basic and the water supply is a tad unreliable but as long as the facilities are clean (which they always were) things like this are part of the camping experience we expect on small sites.

If you want something grander you would need to consider a larger more commercial site but you would have to comprise the peace and quiet you get from sites like Holebeck.

Added bonuses for us were the nearby river (our black lab absolutely loved this) and the passing steam train every so often, even my teenage kids were waving at the driver and passengers! Other friends joined us for the last night and had a great time too.

We agreed that we will definitely be coming back.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampingReviewer 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned (early) from Holebeck Caravan Site. This site for us gave a mixed bag. The surrounding area was lovely, great for walks etc. However this bank holiday (and it may be because it was a bank holiday) was extremely busy.

There is no strict layout to pitches so people are able to pitch close to you. It felt like there was too many people there for the space the park has.

The toilet block was nice, but due to system in place hot water wasn't constant as mentioned in other reviews, and there was an issue with blocked toilets in every cubicle for almost a day.

Children on the site are given freedom but at a cost, I lost count of how many times my car and tent were hit by balls, even my wife was hit in the tent.

I'm aware that this review sounds negative, and for our experience I feel its justified. If you are looking for a site without rules where your children can do as they wish then the site is ideal, if you are looking for a quite relaxing retreat, then unfortunately this is not it. Certainly not on a bank holiday weekend anyway. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holebeck Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frosterley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement