Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holebeck Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Frosterley > Holebeck Touring Caravan Site > Reviews

Holebeck Touring Caravan Site
Holebeck House Farm
Wolsingham
Frosterley
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3BG
Tel: 01388 527384  or  07918 614796
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peter Naylor-James 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, great location, quiet peaceful and relaxing.

Staff very informative and helpful.

Great country walks, Pub nearby.

Looking forward to returning in the near future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GarethLavender 1 review from this member

 This caravan site is like two different sites - weekend was noisy and wild and the weekdays were so peaceful and quiet.

Firstly the saturday night was awful with music on up until midnight (karaoke) and then the commotion of the campers returning to their tents - not beds as the parties continued on into the small hours sadly. We had been handed a rule sheet on arrival that stated noise was to be kept to a minimum after 10 - really pointless setting rules if the organisers then operate an event till 2 hours later! If this had continued we would have hitched up and left. For us this was not the reason for going into the countryside and peace and quiet was non existent.

Secondly the rest of our stay was amazing - so beautiful and quiet - this was what we signed up for and was lovely.

We found the staff helpful and welcoming.

The facilities were in very clean presentable condition showers were very good for 20p per 3 mins - take coins as no change on site.

Site is in a lovely area and dog friendly.

Overall we would possibly go back but we would not be going back on a weekend - some people will enjoy this but for us going for a quiet few days away and not being advised of the party we felt a little disappointed. Please be aware that on weekends the barn is used for a party before you book any Saturday stays.

I have marked them down because of this and I will stress it is a lovely site well positioned with Wolsingham approx a miles walk away and Frosterley about 3 miles away, both with shops and facilities.

But is not cheap at £36 per night inc. Ehu, dog and awning and as we did not get much sleep on the first night this did have an impact on the rest of our little break. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Debra Howe 1 review from this member

 Very disappointing, when we arrived we were told by a fellow camper that she showers didnít work and and they came with a cost of 20p which isnít a problem if they worked.

The site was very basic and all that we benefitted from was the hook up, glad we only stayed for 1 night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza449 8 reviews from this member

 Tried to book online but to no avail. £25 per night on the website. When we arrived and set up the lady came round to collect site fees. £30 per night plus £3 per night for each dog we have 2 so cost us £18 for the dogs for 3 night stay. I think £3 per night is shocking I mean they use the same ground space as us. They donít use the toilet block or dry there coat with a hairdryer 🤷🏻‍♀️. Then on top of that itís £4 per night for a awning. Very costly site for a farmers field.

Now toiler block I would say thereís probably 100 units on the site. 3 toilets in the block 2 showers but one was not working. I know itís farm land but the entrance in is off terrain. If itís been raining walking out of the site you need wellington boots on or you nay be covered in mud. Honestly Holebeck your prices are off the map. Update your website so people know what they are paying for, all the extras, and not to be told when pitched up. 


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gtate 1 review from this member

 We Found this lovely gem of a caravan site on a working farm by over hearing a conversation in the year 2009.

Met Carol site owner who showed us around. Fantastic lass friendly but takes no nonsense with rule breakers so be warned ha ha.

The views are of natural beauty, you can see the pennine hills, sheep, cattle and hear the dickie birds singing. In the warmer weather everyone out chatting very sociable site.

The year is now 2022 and our caravans have never moved since 2009.

We are still here and canít wait to go back.

See you all soon 😉

Mandy Gary Benji 🐶

Maxine Steve Boris 🐶

🙂😁 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blackl 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our couple night's stay camping

Lovely owner and friendly people

Defo be back again my mother and father enjoyed it too.

Thanks Julie and Rob 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stacy3 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely weekend

The owner carol was lovely and helpful

We will definitely be returning

Itís a very nice site, also family friendly

Thereís a nice little park for the children as well and lovely river walks

Nly a 5 minute drive from Stanhope shopping centre 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Scotty 1 review from this member

 Had a great weekend with the family

We will definitely be coming back soon

Really friendly staff, great location out in the country side

We loved every minute of our stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jim yorkshire 2 reviews from this member

 Returned yesterday 8/27/2016 from this site. We were supposed to be staying for 7 days but had to leave after 4 days it was that bad.

Arrived after managing to get over the not very level crossing, it would not take much to sort out so one wonders why it has not been done!

We could not find any one at the reception, so we tried ringing the owners for a good ten minuets. Got no answer not really what you need after a very long drive.

A very helpful young girl offered to go and get her mum who said it would be ok to pitch next to them.

A lady eventually turned up and identified herself as the owner, I told her we had been trying to ring her, to which she answered the phone had not stopped ringing so she had turned it off !

The toilet block is not adequate for the number of people on the site, just two toilets and showers in the male and female blocks also they are probably the worst toilet block I have ever come across in thirty plus years of camping and caravanning. Toilet paper may or may not be there depending on if it has been all flushed down the toilet blocking them. I agree with other reviews locking them at night is a bit odd it could be an indication of the behaviour of people using the site. One thing you can depend on for certain regarding the toilet block is that the owner comes to lock the showers and empty the coin box at 8 pm on the dot every night.

The play area is one of the better facilities on site, it's a shame that there are vending machines that light up like beacons right next to the play area. Which someone had tried to break into.

The first night we were there must have been 20-30 kids of all ages in the play area till well gone 11pm. The second night these kids can only be described as gone feral there parents were too busy drinking and listening to very loud music to be bothered what there kids were doing. The lady owner told us the following morning that she went to put her dogs out at gone 11pm and wondered what the hell the noise was and she lives a quarter of a mile away. She did come down and scream at the kids to get back to their parents.

The site was packed in like sardines, people were just basically pitching up where they wanted to with no regard to other people. Loud music till late at night and very rowdy. There was a group that were constantly using foul language at there children. They also had so many people visiting them who also used the same foul language. We did have a word with the lady owner about this who told us they were a problem and they were going to be evicted, on speaking to a number of other people on site it turns out that this had been going on for a number of weeks and they had not in fact been asked to leave. We did feel very intimidated by this group of people. Children as young as two years old were left to wonder about with no parent in sight one very nearly got run over by a reversing caravan!. The water did get turned off if it was thought the kids were making too many water bombs which they were making by the hundreds, not very helpful if you wanted to fill your water barrel. On returning from a trip out we had a caravan pitch next to us with four dogs in it they erected a wind break-cum dog pen two feet from our caravan window and hung bags of dog poo on one of the poles right under our window where we ate our meals. Needless to say they were asked to remove it. Health and safety rules were none existent i. E. Distance between units etc.

To sum up I think that the owners have lost control of the site.

There are some very nice friendly people on the seasonal pitches one guy in particular who went out of his way to be very helpful. I do feel very sorry for these people.

The area is stunning with lots to do and see, the views from the site are also lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chissy5568 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site once again after the Bank Holiday weekend. Absolutely loved this site and the staff have worked so hard for the bank holiday to be successful and what a job they done. The most recent feature added of the football being played on a large projector screen was a massive bonus for us as we all enjoy football, furthermore the car boot sale and the bouncy castle was another great idea and the kids loved the slide and assault course. The site was very busy with it being a bank holiday however the staff were very friendly and were always around of if you needed a hand. Shower block remained clean and when it they were closed for cleaning the porta loo was a great idea so that campers weren't stuck without use of toilets. The staff have worked extremely well and they should be proud of what they have managed to achieve. Well done, you're doing a great job. Keep it up, we will be back. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holebeck Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frosterley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement