Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holebeck Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Frosterley > Holebeck Touring Caravan Site > Reviews

Holebeck Touring Caravan Site
Holebeck House Farm
Wolsingham
Frosterley
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3BG
Tel: 01388 527384  or  07918 614796
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SuziQ67 4 reviews from this member

 We just spent the Bank Holiday weekend at this site, it was very busy, however by around 10-11pm the noise became much less.

Lovely walks around the site and the nearby village of Wolsingham had everything you may need, we can recommend the Italian, the chines take away and the burgers at the Black Bull are brilliant!

The site is well laid out and quite level, however there are one or two things that really do need sorting out.

Not enough hot water for showers or washing dishes, also there is no soap in the toilets, I didn't mind taking my own loo roll but being in a tent you really need to be able to wash your hands, fortunately we always carry wipes with us!

We had no problem with the electric hook-up however we heard that 8 caravans were sharing one hook up which cannot be safe!

This said we probably will return everyone was really friendly, hopefully by then maybe the site facilities will be better!

-----------
** Owners Response **

It was busy weekend and as we are on a tank it does take a while for the water to heat up, as we are on a water heater. As for soap, we don't provide it as it keeps going missing. If need some you can let site owner know that you are requesting soap and she would be happy to help

With regards to the electric hook ups, I( would like to clarify that it was 4 caravans sharing 1 hook up point, but it is capable of taking 8 caravans, as there 4 points to each hook up. A qualified electrician has checked the hook ups and are safe. Thank you for your review. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nodrog50 4 reviews from this member

 This site is a little gem.

We booked a single night (to try out our new tent) with the very friendly owner. When we arrived, an equally friendly caravanner from the site let us in through the security barrier (and had a chat with us). This was typical of the friendly and welcoming feel of the site.

The toilets were immaculate (but take your own loo roll!), the showers fine, the site tidy and the views (helped by fabulous weather) classic Weardale - gorgeous.

There is no playground but our kids and those of others played happily (and unobtrusively) on the site.

The site sits between Wolsingham and Frosterley, both of which provide shops and other facilities and are a pleasant walk or very short drive away. It is also adjacent to the river Wear, where our kids played happily for several hours.

There are plenty of walks in the area and, as previously mentioned, the Weardal railway runs past the site.

If you want to go and make a noise, mess up the facilities, annoy other site users or be generally unsociable, this is not the site for you: you will soon be made very unwelcome. If, however, you want a quiet, friendly site to base yourself on and use in a responsible way, you will find this site eminently suitable. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicol 1 review from this member

 My partner and our son visited Holebeck with our new and very small 3man tent just to try the camping experience. We wanted a site with a quiet location with peace and quiet and we sure picked the correct location. We were able to pitch and unpack without feeling uncomfortable and had time to explore the lovely walks that surround the site. The shower blocks are spanking clean and the shower was a added luxury for us all after a night of our blow up bed popping and sleeping on the ground, haha it hasn't put us off its made us more than sure to buy a bigger tent and get out there. A visit to this site is recommended for a break away to enjoy the sounds and sites of the countryside. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andysdog 4 reviews from this member

 A bit of a mixed bag, this site - the website bigs itself up but there were certain compromises we found which, whilst individually didn't make much difference, collectively started to take the shine off what could otherwise have been an excellent site.

Good points - Weardale is beautiful and the site is very well placed for exploring the area. We didn't have any problems finding it at all. You're surrounded by farmland, river to the North and small railway passing the site.

There are villages within easy reach, although I wouldn't fancy walking along the fairly busy road, and plenty of shopping facilities, especially in Stanhope.

It's a good, flat site, well lit at night with plenty of electrical hook ups and seems well kept. There are a lot of static 'touring' caravans which indicates regular visitors.

Not so good - there is an access barrier to get on the site, but the gate isn't always manned, so you have to rely on other campers who have been given a fob. This becomes a massive pain when you are trying to get in and out.

The toilet block, whilst clean, doesn't have enough hooks, mirrors or shelves for convenient use, and the availability of hot water for washing was sporadic. There is also a sink outside for washing dishes but, again, hot water was touch and go.

The main issue we had though, and I appreciate that we were there at a Bank Holiday, was crowding and noise. When we arrived on Wednesday, the site was nice and quiet and we had plenty of space. By Friday afternoon (Royal Wedding day), we were completely surrounded with other tents pitched unreasonably close to ours, late night noise from children and adults - despite the fact that there was plenty of space on other parts of the site. These were obviously groups who have come together, and I've got absolutely no problem with that, but we weren't given the choice over whether we wanted to be in a quieter part of the site ourselves, bearing in mind we were there first! Also re the bins which others have mentioned, by Saturday morning when we left, they were overflowing, and I can't see them being emptied before Tuesday with it being Bank Holiday weekend?

I should add that we are very experienced (30 years +) campers so have plenty of comparisons to make - it's not by any means a bad site, but probably too busy on a Holiday weekend if you're looking for something quiet 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkd04 2 reviews from this member

 Our first camping trip in our own tent and with friends in their tent and oldest daughter and son-in-law and grand daughter,

Site owner and her regulars who help out cant do enough to help and feel like people you have known all your life.

Site flat easy to pitch on and well drained after rain showers and toilets pristine, pot wash adequate, was periods of shortage of hot water but not a problem.

Must say I like the site because its not regimental in layout or rules, but did have a reasonable curfew will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Langham45 6 reviews from this member

 We used to have a static caravan at a nearby site the other side of Wolsingham and loved the area and already knew what facilities there were in the village, so decided we would like to visit the area again in our tent. We found the site easy to find, even if you missed the 'Holebeck' sign after the bridge, common sense tells you where the campsite is (tents & caravans kinda give you a clue !)

What a little gem this site is, Yes there is no 'reception' but didn't need one as Carole & the guy with the glasses (sorry didn't get your name) seemed to appear by magic to give you instructions of where to pitch. Impressed with size of pitch and when I informed Carole that my parents would be coming with their caravan she kindly kept a pitch next to us vacant for their arrival.

We were near to the toilet/shower block as requested. Lovely and clean, although didn't realise you had to bring your own loo paper. Very friendly owner, always time for a chat.

The kids loved the train especially when we had a trip to Bishop Auckland and could see our tent. Loved the circular walk around the site, ideal for the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SamAndy 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over August Bank Holiday and it was my first ever camping trip.

We had a great time at holebeck. We were greeted by the very friendly owner and shown to our pitch. The pitches are all level and not too close together. The site also has an over flow field which is not as flat as the main site. We paid 14 per tent per night for 2 nights without electric hook up, which I thought was pretty reasonable over the bank holiday.

The newly built toilet block and shower facilities were immaculate and cleaned numerous times throughout the day. The showers were also free and always hot considering the amount of people on the site over the bank holiday. They also had a sheltered area to wash dishes etc at the back of the shower block. Laundry facilities were also available however, I never used these I did notice that they cost around 1. 50 and were located just outside the disabled toilet facilities.

The site is in a lovely location right next to a railway line which had 1 train running every hour or so. The train didn't run late and the noise was minimal. Behind the site are large agricultural fields and a short walk away is the Weardale outdoor centre providing outdoor activities for all ages. A small village (Wolsingham) was walking distance from the site and had spar, Chinese take away, a bank, an indoor swimming pool and a children's play park (which was great as the site itself doesn't have a park for the kids.

Even though the site doesn't have a park, there is plenty of room for the kids to entertain themselves. We enjoyed games of badminton, tennis and cricket and the kids enjoyed stroking the friendly cows at the edge of the site.

The location is also great to visit nearby attractions such as High Force, Raby Castle, Hamsterley Forest, the Kilhope wheel and lead mine and much more.

All in all this is a great family site and I will definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Meee 4 reviews from this member

 ** owners comments

In reply to some of the comments

Our site is clearly marked from the road and over the bridge.

I the site owner am on site as much as I can be or someone is available to help, or I can be contacted at any time via moblie.

We supply 2 large bins for rubbish but due to overuse and misuse by some visitors we sometimes find the space provided is cluttered with unwanted rubbish like broken tents and unwanted bbq's etc.

We have 2 entrances from the site, 1 the main entrence and the other situated beside the toilet block, for security reasons the one beside the toilet block is closed and only used if needed.

I would like to thank everyone who has left feeback and those that are awaiting feedback being approved. Your opinions mean a lot to us. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kroome 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, superb views, friendly helpful owner who is always on hand. Kids loved the train and waved to every one that passed. This is a proper well run well planned campsite ideal for the kids and adults alike, spacious pitches and no prference given to caravans. Our very large tent, extension and windbreak had ample space for us to enjoy our week there.

Great area to be based in to explore the county and we found much to do, Beamish very close, Durham Cathederal and Castle 30 minutes away, great trip on the train so we could wave to our tent! Black Bull in Wolsingham did great food at great prices. We will be returning very soon, thankyou. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smasha808 1 review from this member

 Our first impression was initially quite disappointing, as the website 'bigs' themselves up quite a bit, rural setting, quaint site etc, a bit more than the reality. However once this initial thought passed, this site has everything required for a pleasant weekend stay.

Arrival was slightly difficult as whilst signage is clear from the road, it is not clear when winding down the tracks to go either to the site, a neighbouring static park, or the outbound adventure centre!, would it kill people to put up signs!. On arrival someone came from a random caravan to greet us, we assume the owner, apart from that we didn't see anything of 'staff', again not a bad thing, just not as expected.

Location was fine between two (small) villages, both walkable, or between 3 - 10 mins in car, both providing spar, coop, take away, bank, but that was about it - cant say I noticed any pubs/restaurants but wasn't looking either.

The featured local railway line which meanders between several of the villages nearby didn't do much for me in terms of view as its behind caravans & trees, not steam train as portrayed on the website, but still quaint. The view from the site was nice looking over a couple of fields of agriculture, not offensive in any way.

The site was extremely clean though, with bins well away from amenities (if a bit overflowing when you got to them), and plenty of space between pitches. Certainly our 4 year old enjoyed the open spaces and we were able to watch him pretty much anywhere, there were a few kids on the site & they all got on well, play focused on the open area in the middle of the field.

Very little car movement was good. Site appeared to only have the one main entry/exit gate and being only one field it was easy enough to keep any eye on our 4 year old so he couldn't wonder off.

Lots of elec points, and 'path/road' lighting which was a plus, and looked nice after dark. And the site was nice and quiet after dark too, no problems at all with peoples TVs on late (in tents the noise travels!), or kids being noisy late.

The new lavatory block was functional and clean, wooden chalet style, with mens, womens, disabled/laundry room, & outside (covered) sink & dishwashing area but lacked the 'extras' like shelves to put toiletries on, shaving mirror, enough hooks & shelves in the shower rooms to keep stuff off the floor, basic handsoap/paper towels (even though dispensers were there) - but again, everything very clean, so is it a trade off ?

No freezer for iceblocks, which I think should be a must these days!

Whilst everything on the site was 'enough', I've stayed at sites with more 'little extras' and similar levels of cleanliness for similar money - so whilst this site we found 'adequate' it didn't 'delight' - However for basic campsite & especially tent needs (as I find these are few & far between) if you're in the area, its certainly sufficient for a pleasant stay. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holebeck Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frosterley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement