Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holebeck Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Frosterley > Holebeck Touring Caravan Site > Reviews

Holebeck Touring Caravan Site
Holebeck House Farm
Wolsingham
Frosterley
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3BG
Tel: 01388 527384  or  07918 614796
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 41 to 46                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kearns 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 3 nights in august, nice site with beutiful views of surrounding countryside. It was a busy site with a mixture of tents and touring vans and the passing steam train is a wonderful sight where you can board the train at wolsingham and stanhope station and have a trip through the beutiful wear valley and travel down to bishop aucland where you can link up with main line to travel further afield. The site itself consists of all grass pitches with season pitches on the outside and has electric and non electric pitches it has a toilet block consisting of ladies and gents section the gent has twoshower cubicles [free], two wc s and three separate urinals, and two wash basins all with plenty of hot water. The ladies toilet block consists of three wcs, two wash basins and two shower cubicles. Ther is also a covered pot wash area also a launderette. Youcan walk into wolsingham which has all the the ammenities either by road or take the scenic route along the back fields. Carol the owner is on site regulary attending to small jobs and taking views of caravanners and is striving to improve the site and taking caravanners views on board. There is two bus stops within a short walk which you can go up to stanhope or travel down to wolsingham. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will use the site again with the area classed as outstanding natural beuty. Wolsingham itself has lots of ammenities with the workmens club in the market place with regular entertainment, ther is a butchers, chinese takeawy, bakery, paper shop, spar, coffee shop, good fish and chip shop [jumbo cod is excellent] opposite fish shop is a shop selling lots of wonderful gifts and sunday papers, post officewhich also sells lots of quaint gifte and toys, and a meal in the black bull in market place is highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bella69 6 reviews from this member

 As we drove up to the site we looked for the reception or an office but there was none, just a couple taking details and as we entered the man showed us to a pitch and that was it!

The site itself was very clean and the size of the pitches were very generous. The toilets were ok but the showers were unpredictable (warm, cold, not working), we found it hard to believe that the site was full but there was nothing on it.

No play area or shop to get the usual supplies, you even had to cross the railway track to get to the river!

A fish and chip van came one night and an ice-cream van came every afternoon,on a morning another van came selling newspapers.

We enjoyed a walk into Wolsingham where we found a couple of pubs,takeaway,spar and a nice park for kids.

Holebeck was a clean site and there was a lot of friendly people on it,but we will not be going back in a hurry. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hightower 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site at around tea time on a Friday. The owner was busy elsewhere but a gent pointed me to a decent pitch by the river - there was plenty to choose from anyhow. We got pitched before the rain came, but instantly realised we forgot a spanner to couple the gas up. The owner turned up, Carol, and found us a helpful camper to loan us a spanner.

We then realised we forgot some cooking oil, but another helpful camper was on hand and gave us plenty to get by. The site is just out of Wolsingham, a place with cash machines, shops, and a couple of pubs, although we didn't test any of these. Also, just up the road is a place called Stanhope which is a lovely little town.

The site has nothing but a good toilets / shower / washing block (pretty new, constructed like a wooden hut, and very very clean. Free showers and plenty of hot water), a river running through the far side of the camp, and a rail track that runs along the side.

The rail track only saw a train every couple of hours, and never late at night - it was nice as it brought us back to earth after having our noses stuck in a book for a few hours.

The camp site had quite a few seasonal spots, and had a happy buzz about it. Plenty of kids doing what kids do best - finding a spot of grass to kick a ball around or playing around the trees etc etc - the good old fashioned way of playing!

The couple of times we spoke to the owner she was very nice and gave us her mobile number, telling us to contact her without hesitation if we needed anything else. It was pretty windy at times, but I'm not sure whether this is because of the sites location - my Dad said it was windy at home (20 miles away).

Unfortunately the other half took ill (flu) so we didn't stay the full duration, although I would like to think we'll be back in the near future. A quaint little site, with not much to do but relax. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ELLY234 4 reviews from this member

 Chose this site as its only a hour or so from our house and our Lab puppy has not been camping before. No worries as he loved the outdoors. Stayed here for 2 nights, A lovely site owner very friendly, my son made friends with her son who was a nice lad. Toilets/showers very clean a mop and bucket provided so you can clean up after you which I like and people seemed to use it, showers free and hot. Undercover pot wash area with very hot water. Washer (£2.00) and dryer (£1.50). A train runs passed the site every hour or so, nice to see. Town only 5 min drive away has a spar, bakers, chinese etc will visit this site again for a weekend away as its close to home. Nice site, nice people who own it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smith1020 2 reviews from this member

 Have been on holebeck camp site for three days in a tent, campsite is ok toilets and shower blocks are clean but floors are very slippery when wet. There is a washer and dryer on site but there is cleaning chemicals on the floor at all times and is dangers for children,they should be locked away for safety.

Campsite is not very organized properly there are touring caravans mixed with tenters. If it was my way I would keep the touring caravans to one side off the site and the tenters to the other end.

There are no site rules any were on site kids playing until late at night. If I had to rate this site out of five I would give it a two for its toilets and shower blocks been clean and itís very nice views. Would never go back to this site if it was free. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meee 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a short weekend stay and have decided to take one of the seasonal pitches as the site and area suite our needs.

The toilet block is clean and spacious in a new purpose built wooden structure, tiled floors and showers with stained wooden walls give it that rural feel, ample hot water and free showers are just one of the bonuses. The disabled facilities are still being fitted to a high standard of finish, washing facilities provided are industrial washing and drying machines at a small fee for usage, chemical disposal consists of a washdown toilet pan with waste water beside and tap and hose for cleaning down.

The surrounding views are what I could say are beautiful and not spoiled by high hedges or surrounding trees. The local train track runs along the rear of the site but it is not a commercial line, the train runs every 1 to 2hr but is a pleasure to see as the traditional steam engine that pulls it is a sight to see.

The children have ample space to play or go on an adventure to the small beck that runs along the outer edge of the site, the water is clean and runs down from the hills, it's a pleasant for a plodge when the weather is hot.

The town is 2 minutes drive in a car or a 20 minute walk along the public walk way providing the local Pubs and Shops.

The owner is very pleasant and helpful and spends most of her time around the site so there is always someone at hand if needed.

The site is well set out with a section for tents - non electric, tents - with electric, tourers having the centre section and seasonal placed at the perimeter of the site.

Security consists of a camera system and key fob barrier that is locked down after 23:45 until 6:00 for security reasons.

We have travelled many sites and have not found ourselves feel so welcome and at home as we do here, we wondered why we toured as long as we have when this little pot of gold was here for the taking.

I would recommend anyone taking a look and see for themselves what a little treasure the site really is, wile they have a chance of grabbing one of the few seasonal pitches that are left. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 46     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holebeck Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frosterley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement