Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rowlands Wait Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bere Regis > Rowlands Wait Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Rowlands Wait Touring Park
Rye Hill
Bere Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bohemia 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Easter for one week and absolutely loved it. A very clean, well managed site. Showers and toilets were large, airy and squeaky clean. You go out through the gate and are straight into lovely walking country. There are two local pubs within easy walking distance both were dog friendly and the food was fine. The owners are happy to spend time and give information re where to walk and what to see locally. If I could move there I would! Would we go there again - yes. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz1301 1 review from this member

 This was our second year at Rowlands Wait, and as usual we were really happy with our stay. The site is well maintained, with good facilities. Not all of the pitches are flat but not unusable, and the ground is well draining.

The owners are lovely and helpful, and remembered us from the year before which is a really nice.

Overall a lovely inexpensive site and I would highly recommend it! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fbass30 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights on this site.

Pro's:

Decent showers, with plenty of hot water.

Good washing up area.

Plenty of info on local attractions, shop on site for basics and friendly staff.

Good location for touring the area.

Pretty woodland location and room for 8 and 4yr olds to play.

Con's

Kids playground small and for v young.

Quite a trek from bottom fields to toilet block.

Limited flat pitches.

Would we use again? Possibly. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Messymop 3 reviews from this member

 First time visit to Rowlands Wait. Easy check in and greeted by lovely friendly campsite owners.

We were given lots of information about the local area including places to eat.

Found a lovely spot in the bottom field although it was on a slope but it didn't affect our stay.

The children (11, 9,7 and 2) had a lovely time in the woods and the play area and had the freedom to explore.

A map (10p) of walks from the campsite was available, we had a lovely time doing these and saw plenty of wildlife.

Whilst cooking breakfast we saw a deer and some squirrels, and early morning rabbits and foxes were seen close by.

The toilets/showers were always clean with toilet rolls!

We ate at The Royal Oak in Bere Regis and the Red Lion just a short drive away.

The campsite shop was very reasonable.

A very lovely site which we would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Penny92 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here after reading the good reviews, and because it is so central for seeing all of Dorset.

This is a very pleasant site to stay at, and the owners are a lovely couple, very helpful, and friendly.

Plenty of dog walks from the site, and overall very dog friendly

We pitched on the front rail, with lovely views over the countryside. The upper fields have a truly rural feel with mostly tents. The shop sells a huge amount of things, and seems to be open most of the day. There are 5 showers, and toilets in the ladies, and also a baby changing cubicle, these are closed from 11.30, till 12.30pm for cleaning.

The Greyhound a couple of miles away do fab meals, and even let us take ourdog in the bar.

We caught the steam train from Nordon to Swanage, and dog went free. South beach on Studland bay is dog friendly, and has The Bankes arms pub opposite, with the best view from a beer garden you will find.

Lyme Regis, Lulworth cove, and Portland are all worth a visit, and very dog friendly.

If you want a central site in Dorset, you won't go far wrong staying here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bartyboy73 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here during the May half term. We found this campsite to be really good. We pitched in the bottom field which was very quiet. The top part of the site - with the caravans and hook-ups seemed quite busy.

It is a fair walk from the bottom field to the showers but we felt it was worth it for the peace and quiet. The showers/toilets were kept in a good condition we never had to wait. The washing up facilities were covered and again even a peak times there was never a wait. Although we only used the shop a couple of times each time it had what we wanted. The playground was ok for smaller children.

There is a very nice walk down to the village from the back of the campsite which has some very good views on the way. We saw lots of wildlife while staying here.

Loads to do in local area ie Studland Bay, Swanage and Corfe Castle.

All in all really nice site would definitely recommend and I am sure we will stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SpudGunner 7 reviews from this member

 Our first visit here, chosen from reviews on this site

Good

Toilets and showers were always clean (although you cannot adjust temperature on showers apart from the one in the family room)

Owners were very friendly

All clean and tidy and nice location for going for walks

Not so good

The site is pretty slopey and when we got there could not find anywhere suitable which was flat. Not ideal as we all kept rolling off our airbeds!

The owners say no camp fires yet lots of people had them - this type of thing was not policed by them and also lots of the other campers there were very rowdy and were making loads of noise well past eleven o clock. Whilst I know this is not the owners fault, they should do more about this we felt.

The bad

There were an incredible amount of midges there. We all got bitten all over, citronella candles etc made no difference and it made it quite unpleasant to sit outside in the evening because of this which was a real shame. Perhaps that is why some people had lit fires. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Maloneys 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site early (6 months beforehand, following extensive research on UKCampsite.co.uk) and were given a great pitch close to, but not right on top of, the playground and toilets - with a potty-training toddler this was a bonus. We very much appreciated the family bathroom - plenty of space to supervise my 2 and 5 year olds showering and cleaning teeth, and places to put things. The normal ladies showers were good - I only queued once.

The playground floor is bark chippings which get everywhere if dry and get dirty if wet, so bring those wellies. There is also space for ball-games etc. Things went very quiet after sunset, which is just how it should be.

The campsite was kept very clean and tidy and the owners were friendly and helpful. The reception/shop has just about everything, including the penny sweets and ice lollies my children love. Perhaps were were located a bit too close to the shop!

There is a lovely wooded path into the village from the bottom of the site, taking you past a badgers sett. We ate in the Royal Oak and walked our meal off - a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

We found Bere Regis to be a great location for getting out and about. I can highly recommend the Scott Arms at Minster near Corfe Castle for the food, drink, garden and views. We also had a superb breakfast at the Riverside Cafe in Wimbourne Minster. This is a delightful little market town. It was such a pleasure to browse around its little independent shops and chat to the friendly locals. The model town there is excellent and kept the children busy for several hours.

The tank museum is a big hit with boys of 5 to 95 and if the 250 tanks on display aren't enough there is a good possibility you will see some more on your way home. I doubt if I will ever drive through a village sandwiched between two tanks again!

Beaulieu is about an hours drive away and gives free return entry for a year, as did the tank museum. So we might be back again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ewen+amy 2 reviews from this member

 We selected this campsite after lots of research looking for one in-land from the coast. This site is central for loads of places and towns to see and was only about 20 minutes drive from most places.
The owners / staff were very friendly and helpful on our arrival and throughout our stay, helping us with places to go and eat etc. The camping fields are smaller than they appear on the website but we found a really good spot next to the edge of the site in the bottom field. This was sheltered (hardly any wind at all) and was not far from the toilets and showers.
The toilets and showers themselves are ok. They were mostly clean and tidy, but the lady's toilets always seemed short on toilet roll and the floors were quite messy (but this was probably more due to messy guests than anything else not wiping their feet before going in to the showers).
The nearby farm shop 'Pampered-Pigs' sells very nice meat for BBQs and had baby animals to see and stroke too. Try and visit a nearby pub called 'The Fox' in a village called Ansty which we found and served the nicest Sunday carvery we have ever had! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PreeceFamily 33 reviews from this member

 Wow - talk about back to nature.

If you like an organised site, with everything uniform, commercial facilities like bar, swimming pool and arcade just like Haven sites, this site is not for you.

But if you like some quiet and the opportunity to camp for real, this site is for you.

Staff are great including the dog (he is big!), shop is great, facilities spotless and if you like dark - this place is dark to the point of its spooky (and at my age of 38 I found it spooky!).

Price is quite high but well worth the money.

If what I've written appeals, get yourself to this place - you won't be disappointed. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2933 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement