Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rowlands Wait Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bere Regis > Rowlands Wait Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Rowlands Wait Touring Park
Rye Hill
Bere Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 14 reviews from this member

 Must admit to being a bit spoiled, we've been tenting and caravaning for quite a few years now and this is the first time I've been a bit disappointed. Not so much the site, but a combination of the specific pitch/ignorant neighbour/general location.

I'll concede the location didn't suit us, but that's not the fault of the site so I'll skip over that. Same applies to the rude and aggressive neighbour. Again, not the site's fault, but his attitude did cast a bit of a cloud, and may have had some influence on how we felt about the entire package.

So, the site. The owners are obviously experienced, friendly and attentive and run a pretty well organised operation. As a relative newcomer to caravans, I asked for a level pitch and we were allocated a space immediately outside the WCs/ Shower/ Laundry block. Some would prefer this, but we prefer to be a bit less in the firing line. The facilities are plentiful, if a little tired but no issues with waiting and there was plenty of hot water etc.

There's a little shop on site and the fish and chip van comes around a couple of times a week. Excellent for dog owners as there are wonderful walks immediately from the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 17 reviews from this member

 Thomas Hardy was rather rude about 'Kingsbere' as he called it, but I guess he didn't stay at Rowlands Wait with his van! This is a great site. The location and facilities are excellent We stayed over late May bank holiday and half term and the facilities were always clean and never too crowded.

Cycle over to Cloud's Hill through the lanes; walk down to Bere Regis along the footpath from the back of the site and find out about the real Tess of the d'Urbervilles; drive down to Durdle Door and wander through Scratchy Bottom; lie in the grass on Badbury Rings and count the orchids!

What an area and a great base to explore Dorset. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JCC1 1 review from this member

 Had a relaxing break at Rowlands Wait despite mixed weather. Middle field was extremely scenic with view through to fields and top of church, and very quiet. Facilities were very good, well thought out and clean; hot powerful showers which you do not have to pay for and plenty of room for washing-up. Owners very friendly and helpful. Shop well stocked with key items. Had great freshly cooked pizza from van that visits on Fridays. Some good varied walks from campsite past watercress beds, through woodland and local villages. Also has attractions nearby ( Monkey World, Tank museum) and easy drive to coast. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Themgs 10 reviews from this member

 We arrived after they had a lot of rain and the site was saturated and did not have good drainage. The owners were very friendly and did everything they could to make us welcome. The pitch was so near to the water tap and dustbin (including dog poo) that we named it the social corner. Facilities were kept clean and tidy throughout the day, but the shower pressure left a lot to desire. Some TLC would improve things a lot. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilkins 26 reviews from this member

 Rowland’s Wait Touring Park, deserves all the good reviews posted on ukcampsites.

Stevie, Ivor, Phil & team, work extremely hard to provide really good and clean facilities, the block is modern & contains two family/disabled wet rooms, as well as a modern ladies & gentlemen’s shower and wash rooms with plenty of showers & toilets, never had to queue once.

The rest of the site was kept just as well, grass nice & short, with plenty of tress, hedges and shrubs, all kept nicely trimmed. Stevie & her team are always very friendly & ready to have a chat & give advice.

The site has some seasonal caravans; these are all located together like a little local community. There are some touring pitches at the front of the site, that’s where my wife and I spent two wonderful weeks and another area on the left of the site, this & the front area all have electric hook up. , the facilities block is located in the middle of these areas. The site also provides two large fields at the far end of the site for tents that includes woodlands, you can pitch anywhere either in the woodlands or field, and there is just so much space.

The site provides a shop that is well stocked with many basic & fresh products as well as items for the children, all well priced; you are able to order a daily newspaper.

A fish & chip van visits the site on a Monday evening, all freshly cooked to order, so a night off from cooking.

The site is well located, for visiting the many attraction that Dorset provides with many clean beaches & coastal resorts all within a short drive from the site.

The only thing that’s needs some improvement, is the road into the site, it has some “potholes” that need filling, apart from that I could not I could not fault the site in any way.

I would highly recommend this site & I will use again when we next visit Dorset, so Stevie & team, keep up the good work & thank you for a wonderful two weeks. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Rowlands Wait, and I have to say this is one of the nicest sites we have ever stayed on.

I booked an EHU pitch by phone, and on arrival we were shown around and given the choice of pitches, Probably not possible during school holidays.

The site is divided into areas using the natural lie of the land.

Seasonal pitches (not mobile homes), are nicely arranged in the first area. EHU pitches cover a larger area, around 6 being in a woodland clearing.

Two fields for 'traditional' campers at the end of the site. Only three tents were there, it looked idyllic.

There were 6 glampotels (bell tent glamping) in another woodland clearing.

The facilities were clean, the showers excellent (and free), a baby changing room in the ladies, plenty of washbasins and loos. Laundry room with commercial washing machine and separate dryer, hand washing sinks etc. Outside the block were under cover sinks for washing up, bin recycle and chemical disposal. There was also a disabled room and family washing room, key holder use. The facility block is in the centre of the site.

Everything was clean, there was no sense of regimentation and rules, dogs were on leads(woodland walk from the site), only a few young pre school children on site, so cant comment on what the site would be like in height of season when schools out! There is a play area.

Nicely stocked shop for basic needs, daily papers could be ordered.

There is a Mace shop in Bere Regis, Wareham is nice for shopping, including a small Supermarket. Mobile signal can be patchy, there is free internet, however one needs to be nearer the shop to get a signal. Only because of the trees surrounding the site, .

We rarely feel that we would return to a site, however Rowlands Wait has much to recommend it, not least the owners who were extremely helpful and informative. Full marks👏 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy 2480 5 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site one of the best if not the best we have stayed in and at £17 pn with hook up was a bargain. The site itself is set in a stunning location surrounded by heath and woodland so if you have a dog with you your choice of walks is endless. The facilities are spotless and the site itself is well maintained. The owners were always available to assist you in any way they could. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Local attractions were in abundance no need to travel far at all. All I have left to say is Thankyou very much for a wonderful stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattt44 6 reviews from this member

 Great campsite and friendly owners.

The showers were clean and hot water always seemed to be available, loads of wash basins and toilets.

Also loads of washing up sinks, always spare of everything.

The grass was kept nice and short and was always being looked at, no once a week one cut here.

You could pick where you wanted to put your tent, non hook up, not sure about electric pitches.

Great little shop on site, with reasonable prices.

Rabbits and wildlife abound, a badger visited us every night, as he left us a little calling card and I heard him snuffling around early morning a couple of times. But we also got some nectarines nibbled by mice I think, which were inside the tent, so leave any food in the car.

The non electric field we stayed in was almost empty most of the time and our kids soon joined the groups of kids on bikes playing everywhere, it was very safe for children, the very slow speed signs being adhered to by almost all the campers, ours went almost feral while we were there.

The last night we were there, there was a pop up cider bar, with a local one man producer selling real Dorset farm cider, if you want the real stuff, try it.

The playground was a little worn as other reviews have said, but it did our 4 year old at times, the rest of the time he was bombing around on his bike playing with other kids anyway.

I can't really fault this campsite, in the middle of loads of things to do, handy notices advising of local free stuff to go to.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here recently during a cold snap but was eager to try out the little freedom van purchased last November. The site was great, a warm welcome for this newbie. Also for my two labs. The showers/loos etc were spotless as were the wash up area etc. I especially appreciated the hard work put in toward conservation and wildlife protection everywhere. Many thoughtful touches to make your stay easier. What does seem obvious is that this is a much loved and well looked after site, lots of space and interesting walks on the doorstep. Thanks must go to Ivor and Malcolm for their help with my awning! 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3991 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement