Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rowlands Wait Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Rowlands Wait Touring Park
Rye Hill
Bere Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 7LP
Tel: 01929 47 27 27
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 71
Open: Mid March To 31st January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 12 reviews from this member

Must admit to being a bit spoiled, we've been tenting and caravaning for quite a few years now and this is the first time I've been a bit disappointed. Not so much the site, but a combination of the specific pitch/ignorant neighbour/general location.

I'll concede the location didn't suit us, but that's not the fault of the site so I'll skip over that. Same applies to the rude and aggressive neighbour. Again, not the site's fault, but his attitude did cast a bit of a cloud, and may have had some influence on how we felt about the entire package.

So, the site. The owners are obviously experienced, friendly and attentive and run a pretty well organised operation. As a relative newcomer to caravans, I asked for a level pitch and we were allocated a space immediately outside the WCs/ Shower/ Laundry block. Some would prefer this, but we prefer to be a bit less in the firing line. The facilities are plentiful, if a little tired but no issues with waiting and there was plenty of hot water etc.

There's a little shop on site and the fish and chip van comes around a couple of times a week. Excellent for dog owners as there are wonderful walks immediately from the site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 13 reviews from this member

Thomas Hardy was rather rude about 'Kingsbere' as he called it, but I guess he didn't stay at Rowlands Wait with his van! This is a great site. The location and facilities are excellent We stayed over late May bank holiday and half term and the facilities were always clean and never too crowded.

Cycle over to Cloud's Hill through the lanes; walk down to Bere Regis along the footpath from the back of the site and find out about the real Tess of the d'Urbervilles; drive down to Durdle Door and wander through Scratchy Bottom; lie in the grass on Badbury Rings and count the orchids!

What an area and a great base to explore Dorset.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JCC1 1 review from this member

Had a relaxing break at Rowlands Wait despite mixed weather. Middle field was extremely scenic with view through to fields and top of church, and very quiet. Facilities were very good, well thought out and clean; hot powerful showers which you do not have to pay for and plenty of room for washing-up. Owners very friendly and helpful. Shop well stocked with key items. Had great freshly cooked pizza from van that visits on Fridays. Some good varied walks from campsite past watercress beds, through woodland and local villages. Also has attractions nearby ( Monkey World, Tank museum) and easy drive to coast.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Themgs 10 reviews from this member

We arrived after they had a lot of rain and the site was saturated and did not have good drainage. The owners were very friendly and did everything they could to make us welcome. The pitch was so near to the water tap and dustbin (including dog poo) that we named it the social corner. Facilities were kept clean and tidy throughout the day, but the shower pressure left a lot to desire. Some TLC would improve things a lot.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 19 reviews from this member

Rowland’s Wait Touring Park, deserves all the good reviews posted on ukcampsites.

Stevie, Ivor, Phil & team, work extremely hard to provide really good and clean facilities, the block is modern & contains two family/disabled wet rooms, as well as a modern ladies & gentlemen’s shower and wash rooms with plenty of showers & toilets, never had to queue once.

The rest of the site was kept just as well, grass nice & short, with plenty of tress, hedges and shrubs, all kept nicely trimmed. Stevie & her team are always very friendly & ready to have a chat & give advice.

The site has some seasonal caravans; these are all located together like a little local community. There are some touring pitches at the front of the site, that’s where my wife and I spent two wonderful weeks and another area on the left of the site, this & the front area all have electric hook up. , the facilities block is located in the middle of these areas. The site also provides two large fields at the far end of the site for tents that includes woodlands, you can pitch anywhere either in the woodlands or field, and there is just so much space.

The site provides a shop that is well stocked with many basic & fresh products as well as items for the children, all well priced; you are able to order a daily newspaper.

A fish & chip van visits the site on a Monday evening, all freshly cooked to order, so a night off from cooking.

The site is well located, for visiting the many attraction that Dorset provides with many clean beaches & coastal resorts all within a short drive from the site.

The only thing that’s needs some improvement, is the road into the site, it has some “potholes” that need filling, apart from that I could not I could not fault the site in any way.

I would highly recommend this site & I will use again when we next visit Dorset, so Stevie & team, keep up the good work & thank you for a wonderful two weeks.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from Rowlands Wait, and I have to say this is one of the nicest sites we have ever stayed on.

I booked an EHU pitch by phone, and on arrival we were shown around and given the choice of pitches, Probably not possible during school holidays.

The site is divided into areas using the natural lie of the land.

Seasonal pitches (not mobile homes), are nicely arranged in the first area. EHU pitches cover a larger area, around 6 being in a woodland clearing.

Two fields for 'traditional' campers at the end of the site. Only three tents were there, it looked idyllic.

There were 6 glampotels (bell tent glamping) in another woodland clearing.

The facilities were clean, the showers excellent (and free), a baby changing room in the ladies, plenty of washbasins and loos. Laundry room with commercial washing machine and separate dryer, hand washing sinks etc. Outside the block were under cover sinks for washing up, bin recycle and chemical disposal. There was also a disabled room and family washing room, key holder use. The facility block is in the centre of the site.

Everything was clean, there was no sense of regimentation and rules, dogs were on leads(woodland walk from the site), only a few young pre school children on site, so cant comment on what the site would be like in height of season when schools out! There is a play area.

Nicely stocked shop for basic needs, daily papers could be ordered.

There is a Mace shop in Bere Regis, Wareham is nice for shopping, including a small Supermarket. Mobile signal can be patchy, there is free internet, however one needs to be nearer the shop to get a signal. Only because of the trees surrounding the site, .

We rarely feel that we would return to a site, however Rowlands Wait has much to recommend it, not least the owners who were extremely helpful and informative. Full marks👏

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2480 5 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site one of the best if not the best we have stayed in and at £17 pn with hook up was a bargain. The site itself is set in a stunning location surrounded by heath and woodland so if you have a dog with you your choice of walks is endless. The facilities are spotless and the site itself is well maintained. The owners were always available to assist you in any way they could. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Local attractions were in abundance no need to travel far at all. All I have left to say is Thankyou very much for a wonderful stay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattt44 6 reviews from this member

Great campsite and friendly owners.

The showers were clean and hot water always seemed to be available, loads of wash basins and toilets.

Also loads of washing up sinks, always spare of everything.

The grass was kept nice and short and was always being looked at, no once a week one cut here.

You could pick where you wanted to put your tent, non hook up, not sure about electric pitches.

Great little shop on site, with reasonable prices.

Rabbits and wildlife abound, a badger visited us every night, as he left us a little calling card and I heard him snuffling around early morning a couple of times. But we also got some nectarines nibbled by mice I think, which were inside the tent, so leave any food in the car.

The non electric field we stayed in was almost empty most of the time and our kids soon joined the groups of kids on bikes playing everywhere, it was very safe for children, the very slow speed signs being adhered to by almost all the campers, ours went almost feral while we were there.

The last night we were there, there was a pop up cider bar, with a local one man producer selling real Dorset farm cider, if you want the real stuff, try it.

The playground was a little worn as other reviews have said, but it did our 4 year old at times, the rest of the time he was bombing around on his bike playing with other kids anyway.

I can't really fault this campsite, in the middle of loads of things to do, handy notices advising of local free stuff to go to.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here recently during a cold snap but was eager to try out the little freedom van purchased last November. The site was great, a warm welcome for this newbie. Also for my two labs. The showers/loos etc were spotless as were the wash up area etc. I especially appreciated the hard work put in toward conservation and wildlife protection everywhere. Many thoughtful touches to make your stay easier. What does seem obvious is that this is a much loved and well looked after site, lots of space and interesting walks on the doorstep. Thanks must go to Ivor and Malcolm for their help with my awning!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RaeAndy 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 week break at Rowlands Wait. The facilities are good, more than enough sinks in the pot wash, didn't have to wait for a shower and always plenty of free hot water. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even shuffling bookings for us so that the disabled facilities were more accessible. Disabled/family shower room is on key only access which makes it a little less busy but you only have the key to one of the two shower rooms which means if the other one is empty you still can't get in, would be better if they were both on the same key. Site has a quiet after 10pm rule and this is enforced as a party were asked to leave while we were there for repeated noise on two nights. Our tent pitch was on a bit of a slope but it wasn't too bad and the hook up was close by although we were offered a free extension if we needed it. The children's play area is a little rickety but our two children loved playing in a little section of woods that divides the site and there's plenty of room for them to ride their bikes. Overall a good site and we will be returning there in the future.

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


760 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0996