Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rowlands Wait Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bere Regis > Rowlands Wait Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Rowlands Wait Touring Park
Rye Hill
Bere Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daviesfamily 21 reviews from this member

 Our second visit & once again we were not disappointed. Very friendly & helpful staff. Site is well kept. Bins emptied every day. Excellent clean & hot FREE showers! and lovely spacious wash-up area with ample very hot water!
We liked the fact that as we did not require hook-up then we had a choice of where to pitch in the other fields, which are a mixture of open and wooded areas and likewise some flat and some undulating. We found an excellent position in the top field, which is however slightly further to walk to the toilet block, but much prefered by ourselves for the peace & quiet.
On the whole a very scenic & peaceful setting, with delightful woodland walks, bluebells, wildlfe etc. On this visit it was quiet after 10.30pm, although last year we did have a group chattering into the early hours. Excellent location for Weymouth, Jurrasic coast etc & our boys loved Monkey World just down the road (nearly left them there!) Will definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Collingss 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed over Whitsun Bank Holiday, two families with kids & dogs!  We found the staff to be extremely welcoming & helpful. The site was very clean &  well run, whilst still keeping a relaxed & friendly atmosphere.  Despite being quite busy it didn't feel so & we had no trouble with any queues for the showers (which were spotless & hot). Two spacious family / disabled shower rooms were available.
We all found plenty to do -  lovely walks & trails surround the site & the rope swing entertained for hours!
A great family site, will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salabfab 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, spent Easter Bank Holiday there with our 2 children plus dog pitching next to our friends, also a family of four! one of which was celebrating his 40th birthday there! It's a great location with great views, the kids enjoyed the rope swings they found around the nearby woods, great area for dog walkers / bike riders etc. The shower rooms were very clean and tidy and every day the water was lovely and hot, would return. 


Reviewer: Grillo Gaz 6 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Family Grillo has just returned from 4 nights at this site.

We were a bit apprehensive as we'd found a perfect site in Charlbury the week before and thought this could not live up to that standard.

We were wrong.

Rowlands Wait is beautiful, with loads of wildlife and off-road bike rides/walks from the site. Listen out for the badgers and owls at night.

Plenty of established trees give shelter and the site is broken up into small fields so everyone is not on top of each other.

Toilets/showers are new/big/spotlesslessly clean and are the best I've come across, although they are a bit of a hike from the two lower tent fields.

It's a family run site and the helpful owners seemed to get everything done without being noticed.

No allocated pitches so get there early for the best spots.

Lovely area and I would recommend the World's End and Botany Bay pubs for great food. Both on the A31. Smaller appetites need not order the shoulder of lamb at the Botany Bay!

Lovely site. Will go again, I'm sure.  


Reviewer: Jubu333 1 review from this member

 May 2005
At first i was a bit worried that this site would be a little basic,as there are reviews saying that the toilets are old fashioned. But when we arrived it looked very nice, the lawn was neat and the staff were very friendly. When we went to inspect the toilets we were pleasently surprised to find that they had been completely refurbished and were very clean. There were two tent only fields which were lovely (although quite a way to the loo's). The kids spent all day in the adjoining forset, which had a rope swing, although i'll never know how it can keep them occupied for the whole day!In the forest there were millions of blue bells it was very picturesque. It is a beautiful site and will definatly return.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Suggs 3 reviews from this member

 September 2004
Nicely set away from hussle and bussle of town centres.

Toilets and shower block ok slightly dated but all in all quite clean. Seemed to be good for kids with tyre swing and small games room.

Major plus point of having the choice of where you want to pitch, didn't seem to be any restrictions. 


Reviewer: Thumb68 8 reviews from this member

 August 2003
I liked this one!

The site is divided into a number of small fields all of which were sparsely populated given that this was in the summer hols.

The site is clean and tidy and the facilities good (the play area was rotting but my kids didn't want to use it anyway). I never even saw the games room!

The site was quiet and the other campers were pleasant. My kids found plenty of friends and the older kids mixed well with the little ones.

This is the fourth site I have reviewed and I've had reservations about the other three. This is the best we have been to and I thoroughly recommend it. 


Reviewer: Lainey 1 review from this member

 August 2004
Lovely clean site, very private in some areas, the family who run the site are really nice and approachable.

Went for one week, then returned again two weeks later for another week because the children loved it. The location is fantastic, not on top of places but not too far away to visit for the day. The shower/toilet area was always very clean and tidy and the showers were hot!

The only thing I would like to see implemented there is a baby changing unit or a baby room to be able to wash the baby easier, it wasn't too easy balancing him on my knee!

Well worth a stay - we will be going back again. 


Reviewer: d.veryard 4 reviews from this member

 May and Aug 2002
Lovely clean site, they offer recycling facilities of paper and bottles. site set up with smaller areas enclosed by trees to camp in, nice as not just one big field, there is a larger open area to camp in at the back of campsite. clean shower block and toilets. Plenty of hot water for washing up and lost of sinks too.
Water pipe in each camping area, small play park, nice walks around and about. Small shop selling the basic items.  


Reviewer: Malcolm 2 reviews from this member

 July 2003
The site is under new ownership this year. The showers are now free. It has a decent central toilet/shower block with what looked like new shower curtains & toilets. Do take torches with you for the evening walk to the toilet block. It is a lovely secluded and quiet site with access to nice woodland walks & cycle tracks. We had a very enjoyable stay with plenty of room for our children to wander around safely. There is a small playground area but the children just made friends and played their own games.

There is a rally field at the bottom of the site which when we were there was occupied by some cubs who were rather too noisy early in the morning (5am Saturday morning!). We were impressed with the owners who ensured that the next day all was quiet until after 7am.

Just a 5 minutes drive away is Monkey World (as seen on TV!). For those who have been before, they have just built an amazing new climbing area (for the children), which our kids would have stayed on for the whole visit. The monkeys/chimps/gibbons were good too.
 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement