Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rowlands Wait Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bere Regis > Rowlands Wait Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Rowlands Wait Touring Park
Rye Hill
Bere Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salome 8 reviews from this member

 Rowlands Wait is a beautiful site run by friendly people. Most people we spoke to were returning customers with a true affection for the site.

Our stay was unfortunately marred slightly by our pitch. We have an Idaho xl and was given the pitch by the park warden's caravan. It did not really suit our style of tent very well at all, we were too close to the road so our children could not run out of the tent to play as some motorists did not obey the 5mph speed limit on site. We were also directly under low power lines which the pigeons would happily perch on and poop all over our tent (and me) on a daily basis.

Apart from the negatives about our pitch, Rowlands Wait is a wonderful site full of charm and character,the second and third fields are beautiful and peaceful with a true rustic charm.

The shower block was always clean and tidy with plenty of hot water.The shop was well stocked with food and camping equipment plus plenty of tourist info.The site is surrounded by lovely walks and scenery and it's centrally based for a lot of the local tourist attractions in the area.

We would love to return again one day.Just not to that particular pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 With friends we stayed for 3 nights and wished it had been longer, maybe the fact we had good weather or that there is so much to do in this area.

The site is based in a wooded area and some pitches 38 + 39 didn't get a lot of sunshine, the owner said he is due to cut down some very tall trees to try and let in more light, so may get better, all said it was a nice spot our pitches were on, very secluded.

The toilet and shower block was faultless, with an abundance of hot water and plenty of sinks and hooks everywhere.

The wash up area was large and easy to use.

The reception area was like a mini supermarket, didn't use it but looked like they had it all covered.

The town of Bere Regis from the main entrance was about a 20ish minute walk, we stopped at first pub for food 'The Royal Oak' pricey and portions small, afterwards walked further into town to 'The Drax' much better pub brilliant atmosphere and big skittle alley out the back which kept us(4 adults + 3 kids) amused for the whole evening, even had a local come and join in our game. Didn't go back and eat here(the mum was away for few days so no cook) but if you look in the good food guide, given to you at the site reception, it's in there.

Will definitely go back, maybe even next year if down that way, good base for the area and prices not as bad as the bigger sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wackyjacky74 2 reviews from this member

 Tried this site after reading the reviews. Weather wasn't good, didn't get any better as week went on! Arrived early afternoon to be given a friendly welcome - only to be told that there was problem with pitch as person next to us hadn't pitched in correct place. Asked if we had a big tent - had told them the size and make of tent prior to booking to make sure we could be accommodated, but there seemed some concern as to whether or not we would fit on the pitch! After driving up and finding pitch, we were unsure quite where to go, as we had been told just to move over a bit - we went back to ask, and eventually were accompanied to our pitch and told what space we could use.

We were on quite a slope and under a tree - not an impressive start, as we had to clear the ground before pitching. Just what you need in the rain! Whilst we were setting up, our 'neighbours' arrived - they too were unimpressed with the pitch they had been given.

The only views we had were those of our field and the bushes surrounding it!

As the weather was bad, the pitches got very wet and muddy, kids were slipping over trying to go to the toilet etc which was a nightmare. Didn't see anyone from the site asking how we were or how our pitch was holding up, which is a shame, because you felt they didn't care. Just as things were drying out, they came along with a tractor and a spike thing to help the water soak away, but this was too little too late and just churned up the grass and made it too muddy - kids were stuck in the tent once again, and our car stuck in the mud.T

Anyway, despite this disappointing start, we were determined to make the most of it. Toilets and showers were plentiful, and hot water was free, but it was annoying having to keep pressing the button to keep the water on. There was a hook in the shower, but a seat to put bags / clothes on etc would have been a great help. Lots of sinks, and hair dryers only 10p but didn't always work. Could have done with a couple of cloths by the sinks so people could wipe them out - facilities were cleaned at 11am, but there were often quite dirty by 10am, so this would have helped.

Toilets clean, but went in on several occasions to find no loo paper. Also, not a very nice walk after dusk - only about 5 minute walk away, but was pitch black with virtually no lighting until you reached them - take a good torch, or a portaloo / bucket which seemed to be most people's preference.

Shop is well stocked and open from 8.30-6.30. One of the best shops we've seen. You can order a daily paper and they do bread, sweets, crisps and snacks, milk, bacon, cheese etc. All at very reasonable prices. Bear in mind that outside these hours the nearest shop is a petrol station about 5 mins drive away, or Wareham approx 12 mins - here you'll find a co-op, off licence etc and can get most of what you need.

Area is great for getting around Dorset - would recommend Tank Museum, Poole Sandbanks and Weymouth as nice days out. If weather is ok, head for Weymouth beach for everything that you need. If you fancy a bit of fishing go on a little further and catch some mackerel on Chesil beach - the kids loved this!

Electric hook ups available on top four fields, although quite a distance from tent - luckily, owners lent us an extension cable. Playground was right at the front of the park and quite tucked away - even though our sun is 8 we didn't feel we could let him goto the toilets or playground on his own, and to be honest the playground wasn't worth the walk.

So in summary - generally an ok site, but views are limited. Best place to be would be in top three fields - nearest to toilets etc and quite flat. Quiet most of the time, good shop, free hot showers, nice family room(although it did flood once) and fairly central for visiting. Would be better if the weather is good! Pretty much left to your own devices, but this wasn't always beneficial if you had noisy people nearby!

Not sure that I would return, as kids didn't have the same level of freedom as on other sites, and toilets were a definite problem. It's often the little things that make a difference, and this place just didn't have them 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clivesam71 1 review from this member

 This campsite is brilliant, the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and we were greeted with smiles and helpfulness which lasted the whole week we were there.

We were informed the campsite would be busy due to a festival nearby but told it would quieten down. We were told that we could pitch up anywhere we chose to (this was on Friday) and come Monday if we wanted to move we were more than welcome. However we found a nice spot in the woodland area and remained there for our entire stay. Even though the campsite was busy we did not find this a problem at all.

The facilities were always very clean and the gentlemen that cleaned them everyday did a fantastic job.

We had a brilliant stay the children loved the site especially the rope swing, the only small thing we would comment on is the children's play area is very tiny with not much to do.

Would highly recommend to anyone and would definetley go back here. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fizzydreamer 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weeks stay at Rowlands Wait we were pleasently surprised by the site, well managed by friendly staff who were even able to direct us to an excellent camping shop when our small tent let us down.

The showers and toilet block were always clean with plenty of hot water never runs dry, also has hairdriers for a charge of 10p.

The washing up area is under cover, well lit with plenty of sinks and again hot running water.

We did have quite a bit of rain whilst we were there and the water drains away very quickly.

Very good pub down the road called the Royal Oak excellent food and service.

Will definitely we visiting again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dottyasabat 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived to be met with a friendly smile and chat. It is a lovely site tucked away from the main road down a long lane with no traffic noise.

We were spoilt as we purposely chose a site close to home as we knew the forecast wasn't good.

Pitched wherever we wanted which made a nice change from the usual regimented sites. Plenty of space for kids to play and cycle without annoying anyone.

The weather was foul but the tent and site stood up to the heavy rain and wind and the field drained well.

Plenty of free hot water with push button showers, sinks and family room. Undercover washing up area. Two hairdryers in the ladies which cost 10p to use (but didn't last long).

Because of the weather we didn't get a chance to try out the walks.

The only slight niggle we had was that there didn't seem to be many water taps around so we were constantly being asked by other campers. Perhaps a mention at reception or even a sign would help.

Will definitely be returning to this site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisytent 14 reviews from this member

 Dorset is a fabulous place, one of the best holidays we've had for ages :)

Now to the site!

Pros-

*Nice central location
*Lovely farm shop just outside the gates
*Nice clean ample facilities

Cons-

*Wet, our pitch was amongst trees and although it only rained 3 times, and never very heavily, we were puddling mud under the ground sheet for half our stay and there were puddles almost constantly
*Some poor paths. The main ones were good, but those from our area to the toilets were through woodland and very slippy. I told the owners about this problem but nothing was done. Not much fun in the dark! The path we were expected to use which led directly from our pitch had a very slippy sloped area and I would consider not useable at all.
*Very expensive freezer pack charges. We were told 20p and we could borrow theirs while ours froze. We took 4 packs in and borrowed 4, this cost 80p. When we picked ours up, another 80p!
*Noise. This is by far the noisiest campsite we have stayed at. This was almost all down to children, so outside the owners' control, but I don't think this site is the choice for a peaceful break for anyone without children. We had been placed on a pitch on its own in trees, possibly because we were a couple. However, the woodland either side proved irresistible to children and they were running over our guy ropes constantly.

There is also an army range nearby which sounded like a firework display most mornings. And on Monday morning, the bins were emptied and the grass mown about 8am. I know this has to be done, but surely the middle of the day would be more considerate? 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mervatbournemouth 1 review from this member

 I chose this site mainly because of our maiden voyage and it was not too far away from home, also because of the good reviews from this site.

They have spent money recently on improving the lane in to the site although due to the rain it had become a little spongy. I booked EHU pitch 2 weeks before Easter and told them I had a Sunncamp Vario 600 and there was no problem in this size of tent. Upon a very wet a miserable arrival we were given an information pack and were told to pitch between two pitches in the top field. Although the weather had been bad, there was no standing water and we had quite a few options as to how to pitch up. We had a bit of a struggle erecting the tent for the first time but a fellow camper 'next door' came over to help. We were at pitches 48 & 49 which was the end of this field, next to the woods and stream.

When the weather brightened up on the Sunday and Monday, it looked fantastic. The pitches in this field were gently sloping and all had EHU's and were a mix of motor homes, caravans and tents. Further down the lane took you to several smaller wooded areas which were closed at the moment, but I imagine would be fantastic in the Summer. The lower field had no EHU's or shower block, so more for those who want a more genuine camping experience or have self sufficient units. Saying that it would only be a 5 minute walk to the amenities of drive up to them. The lane was lit by solar markers, so you would need a torch.

The ammenities block was of a good size offering plenty of showers, toilets and wash basins. They were a little 'tired' looking but were kept very clean. All hot water was free but the hair dryers were 10p ( which we found were a bit hit and miss if they worked ). They were also 2 family / disabled rooms were you could hire a key for 10 deposit so if you have little ones you can take them into the ample sized rooms were you have baby changing facility, proper non push buttoned shower, shower seat and separate chair, basin and toilet.

There was a small laundry room with washing machine, dryer, ironing board for various charges. Washing up area was a good size, well lit and hot water always available. The games room advertised was little used being at the back of the block and having a pool table and table tennis table there but just did not seem inviting. I did not see this being used. The play area was small but offered entertainment for younger children, but my daughter was happy making new friends on the rope swing at the top of the lower field and playing in the woods. Bere Regis does not offer much in the way of entertainment, but this is the appeal of the area, quiet, peaceful, safe and relaxing.

We had a meal at the Drax in the town which was a good old traditional no frills pub, good homecooked food and generous portions. There are children's menus also.

I would go again, we all enjoyed it but I would remember my insect repellent because I did get feasted on by the midges, but it was only me. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Molineuxh 4 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Very friendly owners. Nothing too much trouble and the shop was more than adequate for any campers needs including the sweet selection to keep the kids happy.

Very clean, tidy and spacious shower/toilet block. Everything was very well looked after and the layout of the camping fields made it feel a much smaller site.

Great location for Monkey World and the local village where there is a newsagents, off licence and pubs for lovely food.

The FarmShop on the hill going from village back to camp site is well worth a visit. Local grown strawberries were amazing.

All in all I would recommend this site to everyone especially if like us it is is your first camping trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BLUEIGGY 3 reviews from this member

 Picked this site based on other reviews here and was not disappointed!

Very warm welcome from the owners, and we were allowed to pitch early at no extra charge as it was relatively quiet on our arrival (A Sunday).

Everything you need here for a quiet relaxing break, a small shop with all the essentials, an excellent amenities block with toilets/showers/wash up area/recycling facilities and a small games room. (Free and plentiful hot water to the showers is always a bonus too)

The layout of the park also means you feel you are on a much smaller site, although It could be a bit of a trek from the very bottom field to the loos!

Follow any of the number of the footpaths around the site and there is wildlife in abundance, got the closest I have ever been to a pair of Buzzards in the wild!

The village is a short walk down a footpath from the bottom of the site and has a couple of shops a post office and 2 pubs. Good food and real ale available here along with some liberal approaches to closing time!

Poole, Weymouth, Dorchester (Even the Channel Islands!) are all in easy striking distance from here along with places such as the Tank Museum, Monkeyworld and Lulworth Cove.

Would I go back there? - Definitely! 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement