Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rowlands Wait Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bere Regis > Rowlands Wait Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Rowlands Wait Touring Park
Rye Hill
Bere Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janet39 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site several times over the years at all times of the year we have two teenagers and found that the owners were very friendly the shop always has a good selection of essentials and not over priced they have very good power showers and are cleaned regularly the site is well maintained although for a motorhome the drive is a bit pot holed even with all the rain weve had this year the staff have still been in good spirits and always friendly the children had the walks to go on and walks to village they also have made long term friends with some of the seasonals children
I cant say enough good things about this site
We have recomended it to so many peaple that we have trouble getting a pitch ourselves in busy periods 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maff123cat 5 reviews from this member

 Hi we stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, and had a lovely time, the campsite was full but I never needed to wait for the shower!  everything was clean and tidy.  the children enjoyed the play area and the rope swing.  The only down side was the weather on Sunday and we decided to go home a day early!  would return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon + Stacey 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in August as a last minute booking although unfortunately we had to return home on the same day we arrived due to an emergency. However, from what I saw of the site it appeared well run, clean and tidy. The toilets were some of the best I have seen, despite constant rain on that particular day. On arrival the staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient, and with a non electric pitch you have the choice of where you set up camp. This has led to problems on some sites I have been to, with people be inconsiderate and pitching to close to existing units, but not a problem at Rowlands Wait.
 
As I said, unable to stay even for the first night but hope to re-book for later this year, and if not it will be at the top of my list for next year as it looks a very nice well run site. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbiedeeley 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit.  We phoned to check the earliest we could book in which was 8.30am. When we arrived the chap at reception was very helpful. We chose our own pitch. Everywhere looked clean and tidy. Other campers were friendly but not in your face. Showers and toilets were clean and warm. We turned in when it got dark, about 9.30pm and the site was very quiet, except a car driving on site, woke us at 11.30pm.
There is a walk from the site through woods to the village, only takes about 15 minutes. There is a pub, which we didn't go in, a lovely church, and small supermarket. I was told there are lots of other walks, but as we only stayed one night didn't have time to try them.
There was a games room, which we could not use as it was flooded by the rain!

Bovington tank museum is about 10 minute drive which was why we chose this site as my husband is a second world war re-enactor. Monkey World is also about 10 minute drive which was excellent and very reasonable, about 26 pounds for family of four. Poole is about 30 mins away, we went to Tower Park which has a multi-plex cinema, lots of eateries, such as Pizza Hut, Frankie and Bennies, Tesco, parking was a problem as it was so busy, probably because it was raining. I believe there was also a swimming pool there as we saw a large flume.
We will return to this site next year for the Bovington event.
My husband re-enacts at Bovington Tank Museum, so we will use this site next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hubbo 1 review from this member

 We, (family of 5 - 3 kids under 6)! have just returned from a testing camping holiday, albeit I have to say that the tests were from the Children and not the Campsite. The Rowlands touring park, its staff and surroundings were absolutely brilliant. Lots of natural beauty added by the peaceful patter of small feet, those being the rabbits and squirrels and not the twins!
There is ample (5 in all) specific fields to chose from.
From electric hook up for both caravans and trailer tents to sheltered or sunny options - take your pick.
Facilities were great. All free with the costs associated with the daily fee and whilst perhaps not the cheapest at 15 quid a night for the pitch, the cleanliness, kids play area, clean toilet facilities - free showers etc all made up for it. We hired a family changing room with shower/toilet facilities just for us at no cost (10 quid deposit).

Local vicinities included the small village of Bere Regis, a couple of pubs, with cracking food and more importantly cracking real ale, both of which welcomed kids in the beer garden along with the local post office / shop. Also fairly close is the large selection of beeches; Bournemouth not really for us but keep your eye on Boscombe - its nice now but the whole place is under going a face lift and in a year or two it will be gorgeous. If in the area I would definitely recommend the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amandathepanda 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip for some 15 years and our first with children (ages 6 & 9).

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The shop has all the basics and lots of 1p/2p sweets which the children loved.

We had a free choice of where to pitch our tent. The site is divided into several smaller areas and felt very safe. Some areas of the field are on a slight slope but nothing major.

The children thought that the play area was 'a bit babyish' but they had a great time in the woods and on the rope swing.

The toilet block was cleaned regularly and there was always plenty of hot water.

We stayed for 5 nights and on only one of them was there much noise from adjacent campers, who were celebrating a birthday.

We greatly enjoyed our stay and will probably return here next time we visit Dorset. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Langstroth4 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site mid Aug 2006. This is our 4th year camping and this is one of the best sites we've been too so far. The site is in a mixed wooded and open grass setting, set well back from any road along a narrow but serviceable lane.

If you don't mind no electric hook up and a little walk to the shower block - there are lovely pitches in the wooded part of site and in the two lower fields. Other areas have electric hook-up. In the areas with no hook-up the pitches are not marked which makes a refreshing change.

Our 5 and 7 year old children loved the rope swing and made a number of new friends, we felt safe letting them wander around, glas we took the children's bikes - there are a number of little trails for them to chase each other around through the trees. The 1-2p sweets in the site shop were a hit too.

Shower and toilet block are kept clean - if you are visiting the block at night take a torch some of the paths to parts of the site are pitch black. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campmark 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here late July and we had some smashing weather.  Site is very well situated and is a mixture of open fields and established wooded areas the grass was kept short and small shrubs and planters divide area's nicely . 
The kids had loads of space to roam about and the woods and tree swings kept the older ones occupied whilst we got everything done.  
The toilet, shower and washing facilities are all in a single large building at the top of the site and on our visit were regularly cleaned, the separate reception and shop held supplies of the essentials and the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Paying to take a trailer on a site was a new experience for me and at £21 for the week I thought a little excessive for something that was easily tucked out of the way under a tree after unloading.  Overall though all our party was very happy with the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newatcamping 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip, we were trying it out for 2 nights.  When we arrived I told the owners that we were not sure where to pitch.  They were really helpful and led us around to a shady pitch.  It was a bit close to the other tents, but the site was full so no choice there. 
 
The site was very well maintained.  The showers and washing areas were spotless.  Rubbish was emptied at least once a day.   The shop was great and the kids loved the 1p pic and mix. I liked that fact that it was made up of smaller fields and areas to camp.  The wooded areas were great for the kids and you felt very safe letting the kids play out.  All traffic drove very slowly and carefully.   The first night there was a loud party of people that went quiet about midnight. 
 
I would come to this site again, but I would pick a better pitch.  Even though we were shaded when it rained it meant the tent did not dry out as quick.  Also I would like to be further away from our neighbours.   
 
Overall a fantastic first trip and we couldn't have picked a better site to try our new tent out.  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazza101079 1 review from this member

 Visited this campsite for a week starting at the bank holiday weekend. Fantastic site. Clean toilets and showers. Loved the family rooms great idea for people with young kids (had temp control shower, baby change unit). Lovely little shop sold most things. Staff were always very helpful and friendly. Central to all attractions. Very large site with good walks and places for older kid to go off. Will definitely use site again. Recommend to any one.  


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement