Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Ashby De La Zouch > Hill Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hill Farm Campsite
Spring Lane
Packington
Ashby De La Zouch
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE65 1WU
Tel: 01530 411984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rimor25 6 reviews from this member

 Massive disappointment, the warden is great but was put on the spot badly from disgruntled campers. When we arrived met by warden he hadn't been given are booking details - we were supposed to have been on the hardstanding area, but it was full. But the camping fields were great and empty we quickly set up in a secluded spot, and were warned that the following day the whole place would be full. We were happy with our pitch. Facilities are not good, we don't expect luxury but 2 showers and 2 toilets on the farm yard are really dated and never cleaned but worse of all at weekends there were 22 units on site 2 toilets. Much is made on their website of the farm shop, truth is that there is a small room. It is only open for 4 hours on a Saturday, the cream teas and usual farm shop produce simply doesn't exist. The kids play area might have been OK ten years ago but the zip wire ride was cordoned off as unsafe. It is a shame as had none of the descriptions been, made most people clearly enjoy this site 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Webdeb 3 reviews from this member

 Totally misleading information. Farmshop only open saturdays 10-1, so forget your nice homemade cakes. Not the nice hands on animal farm we expected but a noisy working farm, could live with the smells but the noise of the grain drier? Toilets were clean but not top spec, couldn't bring myself to use the shower. Nice woodland walk but you'll have to search for it, very little information given. Nice location spoilt by old caravans and vehicles, concrete wall and general working farmyard clutter. Don't expect a lie in farm vehicles start early. Beware foul mouthed warden! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Earls1942 3 reviews from this member

 Came for a couple of nights at start of month and wish it had been longer. Really relaxing with plenty to see around the farm. Grandkids loved it. This is our second visit and will be back again. Geoff the warden is always on hand and does a fine job keeping the rather dated showers and toilets spotless. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helloitsme 1 review from this member

 Firstly the warden, Geoff is a legend. The campsite is basic but for 14 what do you expect. You have electricity and water. Didn't use the toilets and showers as we had them in our caravan. It was lovely waking up in a morning going outside and being greeted by the alpacas. We would stay here again. It would have been perfect if the people next to us had not let us know there music taste all day. There are so many places to see near here really well placed 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aless02 2 reviews from this member

 Pretty good campsite in a nice setting. Could be better signposted as the sat nav runs out and you're driving at least a couple miles down a single track road before you actually get there! On a working farm, so plenty of smells and rusty buildings, but the kids loved it. The tent pitch fields back onto a lovely play area, which is perfect as the kids can play without needing direct supervision as they can't run off, etc. - perfect for parents to get on with pitching!

Each field has a water tap so you don't have to walk too far. Fields are nice and flat, good grass. Toilet block & pot washing is a bit of a walk, but nothing awful. Shower looked a bit grim, but given it's a farm & campsite, not sure what else you could expect!

A bit misleading as the owner and signs seem to indicate you can park at your pitch so long as it's not raining/muddy, but then the warden comes around at teatime to ask to move the car 'just in case'.

Kids loved walking around to visit and feed the animals.

Good location as only 10 min drive to giant Tesco for supplies. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daz1975 2 reviews from this member

 Second visit here this year, and another great time had by us And our two girls 5-6 yrs old.

Main points to note on both occasions Janice has taken the time to allow us and our children to get evolved feeding the farm animals and answering questions, even at busy time for them in harvesting.

Second point all credit to them for not inflating prices in the school holidays

Park does need a little work to it

Warden Geoff was helpful and leant us a longer hook up cable,

Although it's easier to enter site a bit further down the road and not up spring lane as address States. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melpa 5 reviews from this member

 Wow - What can I say? We have just spent a brilliant weekend at Hill Farm, with a group of five other families.

We booked this site for our first ever meet-up and found Janice to be very helpful on the phone when booking. She booked us into our own field directly adjacent to the little play-park area. This was absolutely perfect as we had a lot of children with us and it was so nice to let them just off and play without having to stand and watch them: you could see them from our little field. The field itself was perfectly sized for our 6 tents and could have had another two, maybe, without feeling too cramped. There was also more than adequate space in the centre for a gazebo and for the children to play frisbee/ball games.

The shower block was not amazing, although they were adequate and remembering that this is a working farm and costs a grand total of 14pn (which is for tent + 4 people, AND is inclusive of EHU!) means that the toilet block can be excused for being a bit worse for wear. Everything in the toilet block worked as it should, the water was hot (a little too hot actually so bear that in mind for kiddies washing hands) the shower worked, the toilets flushed and they were not too far from our field.

The little play park was perfectly fine and the kids LOVED it, so what else is needed to be said.

Janice also ran the farm shop which opened on a Saturday 10am-1pm and sold a variety of burgers, sausages and eggs: a breakfast pack of bacon, sausage and egg was 5. She also offered to refreeze our ice packs in the shop's freezers and we could just knock on the door of her house to retrieve them. Definitely above and beyond service.

Jeff the warden is a great bloke. He is friendly and fun, and is up for a laugh and joke any time. He made it clear the 'insults' are upped on a 2nd visit.

We didn't go off site as it was a short stay intended to meet each other, but there seemed to be a variety of activities locally and on a longer stay we would have organised a couple of days out.

Oh one last thing to mention is that on-site there is a distinct lack of mobile data signal. This is both good and bad for the obvious reasons haha.

All in all it was a fabulous stay and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this site to anyone.

We will definitely be re-booking. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6944michaelb 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in what must be described as awful weather, rained every day but the campsite fields soaked it all up and no issue at all with a waterlogged site, all credit for the drainage on the fields.

Geoff the warden is great, really helpful.

Loads to do in the surrounding areas, National Space Centre, Twycross Zoo, Donnington Park Race Track all within a short drive, Ashby Only 5 minutes down the road with as many tea shops as you could need, and ample shops.

We would recommend the local pub in Packington just a 15 minute walk down the lane, great food (try the pies, there are lovely).

Saying that I cannot see us returning to this site in the near future the reason is the toilet & shower facilities are not fit for purpose, run down, dated and unclean and for the number of campers who can stay on this site totally inadequate, I know it only costs 14 a night but it is still unacceptable, so come on Hill Farm and sort those ablutions out. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian cobden 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a great stay at Hill Farm. It is in a beautiful setting and the children loved helping to feed the animals and look around the farm. They made friends easily as all the children played together on the playground. The pitches are very sheltered which is great with a tent as it was windy at times but this didn't affect our tent due to the trees sheltering us. There are great places to visit in the area too. There is free electic and for 14 a night it is great value. Geoff the warden is lovely and very helpful. I would have given the site ten out of ten for customer service as Geoff would definitely get a ten out of ten but when we arrived, we weren't on the list of people expected despite having received an email confirmation of our booking. Geoff managed to fit us in as they were spaces but it didn't give a good first impression of the booking system hence the 8 out of 10 for customer service of the booking system. Also a soap dispenser in the toilets would have been great as we often forgot to take ours across. Apart from this I recommend the site particularly to families as we all loved it. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coty 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 5 nights at Hill Farm. This is our second time there and everything was great. A lovely place and great for the kids to see the variety of Farm animals plus Bison and Alpacas. Jeff the warden was His ever Helpful self look forward to our next visit in the coming Years

Thank You all 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashby De La Zouch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement