Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Ashby De La Zouch > Hill Farm Reviews

Hill Farm
Spring Lane
Packington
Ashby De La Zouch
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE65 1WU
Tel: 01530 411984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnjory 119 reviews from this member

Hill Farm is a real working farm of 400 acres, so expect normal farming activity such as movement of large agricultural vehicles and presence of livestock. This never impinged on the enjoyment of our stay.

Three separate pitching areas all level and have very well maintained surfaces. “The Paddock” is an open, essentially non – EHU field a little smaller than a football pitch. Two further areas are enclosed, measuring very approx. 30m – 40m square. EHU is 10A so you might need to manage your electricity. If you do get a trip reset is easy.

W. C. /shower (free, 2x family sized cubicles) facility is a little rough round the edges by 21st century standards but no real problem. Conveniently located for the two smaller fields but a bit of a trek from The Paddock.

Chem disposal is with the W. C. /shower facility and water points are in the corner of each pitching area.

Childrens play area with great zip wire!

Very nice on site café (open Fri, Sats & Suns) and farm shop selling unusual meat products.

Very dog friendly (no charge. ) with obvious considerations for livestock. Very pleasant extended walk along the farm track to a plantation & wood.

Nothing by way of amenities within walking distance, but Ashby-de-la-Zouch is only about 10 mins away by car.

A personal recommendation: The Tap at No. 76 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch. A very professionally run ‘micro pub’. Wide range of reasonably priced unusual beers and other drinks plus weekly themed food evenings.

To sum up: No long list of rules, very pleasant/helpful owner and the interest of the farm environment come together to make for great camping/caravanning.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vicnboz 1 review from this member

Lovely site on a full working farm, plenty for children to do, it's a home from home for us as we regularly visit (we've been camping here for a little over a year and always end with a full week to 10 days in Aug)

2 toilets and 2 showers they are well kept and wash up facilities, farm shop and cafe open every day 10am-3pm.

Lots of events happening which are cheap to join.

An all round good site for a peaceful relaxing holiday. We love it!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melpa 5 reviews from this member

We visit this site once a year as part of a group meet. There are 6 families in our group and we are predominantly tents, with one caravan (ours). It is a basic site, with a small toilet and shower facility and a farm shop that opens for a couple of hours each day, but has always 'done us fine' This year however, we have decided will be our last visit to the site. The benefits to the site are that it is central for our group, we also get our own little field to use. There is a play area behind our little field which the kids have found to provide hours of fun. For the last couple of years the zip line has been out of service and the owners keep saying they are getting it sorted, I don't think they actually have any plans to get it sorted out. The swings were also broken this year, which left just a tired tun down fort/slide to play on.

Also this year the grass on the field hadn't been cut, which lead to wet feet and legs for the weather was a bit drizzly at times, but had the grass been kept short we wouldn't have had this issue. Another problem was that the bins were overflowing and smelt. The warden has retired due to ill health and they haven't got another, and have no plans to. Unfortunately I think this is a bit of a mistake as the place has gone downhill pretty quickly in my eyes, due to the owners being too busy with the farm to manage the camping side of the business. They should really take on a warden, even part-time.

I don't really want to run the place down as it is 'ok' and has served our needs, but the lack of care of the site now is just one step too far for us.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Almo 10 reviews from this member

Spent the bank holiday in a tent with 2 kids. Andrew and Janice were both very friendly and easy to talk too. This site has nice walks which over looks the cattle of buffalo's field and 2 fields of dear. The kids have a play area which a lot of the children who were here the same time enjoyed playing but it could do with updating a little bit. The wash room is small but with very hot water and the toilet and shower blocks were ample but on busy periods may have to wait to use those facilities. The field we were in was flat with a slight slope which wasn't to noticeable. Didn't get to use the farm shop as there is a large supermarket just 10 mins drive away. All in all my partner all the kids enjoyed there first camp.

I will camp here again as it's a really nice local to me site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Orchideya0 5 reviews from this member

This site has so much potential. In some ways we loved the site and in others we thought it was awful.

The campsite is set in several small field areas which gives a lovely quiet feel to the site. To be able to go for a walk up to lane and see the animals was an absolute joy. The owners were very friendly and incredibly helpful. It is a working farm, which for us wasn't a problem as the children loved seeing the tractors driving up and down the lane. Location wise, its lovely, near the A42, but you can't hear the motorway form the site or anything, and its so quiet. There are also lots of places to walk in the area as its in the National Forest.

However, deep breath, the toilets and showers were terrible. There were 2 toilets and 2 showers for the whole site, which wasn't enough, saying that when you go camping on a bank holiday you have to accept sometimes you have to queue. More than that though was the cleanliness. They were just plain dirty, and not just dirty because they were busy. The hand drier in the one toilet, was black mould and gunk all around it; we all agreed you'd need to wash your hands again if you used that drier. There was no soap by the end of the weekend. There is a sign on the showers telling people they have to keep it clean, 'action will be taken if you don't', yet there isn't a mop to clean it after use. The Chemical toilet empting facilities was a drain, outside the cubicle doors, so had to be emptied exactly where people were waiting for the toilets and showers.

In the field the electric hook up point was covered in lichen and was dirty and wobbled an awful lot.

Also, the play area. I'm not too worried if there isn't a play area, children can entertain themselves. However if there is one, I expect it to be safe. The climbing castle looked like it was once a brilliant place to climb, but it was crumbling, had lots of holes in it, the grass around it hadn't been strimmed and it was generally very run down. We didn't let our children use the swings, they just looked too unsafe.

So, would we return, not at the moment, if the toilets were cleaned, refreshed, then we might. In so many ways we loved it, yet we were so so let down by the disgusting toilets. The owners really were lovely and tried to be as helpful as possible, but that doesn't make up for such disappointing facilities

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allsaintsvlad 1 review from this member

This was a site chosen by us as one of the few within striking distance of Leicester that offer showers and toilets. We were on our own on a slightly sloping grassed field, which was firm because there had been so little rain for months. The 'attractions' of bison and alpacas on the farm were of little interest to us but we appreciated the peace and quiet (apart from rutting stags!). The problem was the atrocious state of the shower rooms and lavatories. These would not have been so bad if they had been cleaned any time recently. We will not be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Njmiles1 1 review from this member

Lovely site, quiet and relaxing although requires a little TLC in the showers, toilets and washing up areas. The on site farm shop is not what is stated and should be ignored at all costs. Overall good value for money and would visit it again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rimor25 6 reviews from this member

Massive disappointment, the warden is great but was put on the spot badly from disgruntled campers. When we arrived met by warden he hadn't been given are booking details - we were supposed to have been on the hardstanding area, but it was full. But the camping fields were great and empty we quickly set up in a secluded spot, and were warned that the following day the whole place would be full. We were happy with our pitch. Facilities are not good, we don't expect luxury but 2 showers and 2 toilets on the farm yard are really dated and never cleaned but worse of all at weekends there were 22 units on site 2 toilets. Much is made on their website of the farm shop, truth is that there is a small room. It is only open for 4 hours on a Saturday, the cream teas and usual farm shop produce simply doesn't exist. The kids play area might have been OK ten years ago but the zip wire ride was cordoned off as unsafe. It is a shame as had none of the descriptions been, made most people clearly enjoy this site

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Webdeb 3 reviews from this member

Totally misleading information. Farmshop only open saturdays 10-1, so forget your nice homemade cakes. Not the nice hands on animal farm we expected but a noisy working farm, could live with the smells but the noise of the grain drier? Toilets were clean but not top spec, couldn't bring myself to use the shower. Nice woodland walk but you'll have to search for it, very little information given. Nice location spoilt by old caravans and vehicles, concrete wall and general working farmyard clutter. Don't expect a lie in farm vehicles start early. Beware foul mouthed warden!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Earls1942 3 reviews from this member

Came for a couple of nights at start of month and wish it had been longer. Really relaxing with plenty to see around the farm. Grandkids loved it. This is our second visit and will be back again. Geoff the warden is always on hand and does a fine job keeping the rather dated showers and toilets spotless.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashby De La Zouch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5970 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019