Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Ashby De La Zouch > Hill Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hill Farm Campsite
Spring Lane
Packington
Ashby De La Zouch
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE65 1WU
Tel: 01530 411984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 51 to 57                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicnac21 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a lovely relaxing weekend away with the whole family the site was easy to find we had our own little grass area as there were 9 of us the children really enjoyed feeding the hay to the cows and looking at the pigs sheep and horses and loved sleeping with the alpacas in the field next to us.

The toilets and showers where nice and clean only 2 of them but it's not a big site so we weren't waiting long, and the washing up area was very handy too, there is a playground but we didn't use as the girls were too busy looking at the animals looking forward to going back 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: N88dle 4 reviews from this member

 This site is close to home but we picked it to try out our new caravan. We arrived late (as we couldn't get the van off the drive!) and the warden, Geoff was brilliant. We were pretty clueless and he couldn't have been more helpful.

The site is on a working farm and my two children (5 and 2) loved seeing all the animals. We didn't use the showers but the toilets were clean and there was an indoor washing up area with hot water.

The play area wasn't great. There had been some rain beforehand and the park was a complete mud bath. There was also a high zip wire which was roped off, presumably as it was unsafe. However, the bit of rope didn't deter my two year old and so it was a bit of a drama having to keep him from the climbing the steps!

The site is divided into 2 grass areas and one hard standing. We phoned to book on the day and was told there was only hard standing available. Not knowing the site, I was quite happy with hard standing. However, the whole field was gravel and it felt like we had pitched up in a car park. There were several other vans which looked like seasonal vans and no one said hello, or even had their doors left open. We felt very isolated and not welcoming at all. The other grass areas looked ok, and people were out and about having BBQs etc. So much more of a holiday campsite feel than the area we were pitched.

We visited conkers which was nearby and had a lovely day out, then had fish and chips in Ashby. There is also a large Tescos nearby.

The campsite is an absolute bargain at 10 per night inclusive of kids and EHU. Not sure we would return though. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maxhale 4 reviews from this member

 This is without doubt the most unkempt site I have been to. The one and only shower was an electric one which had broken off it's support although you could just make it stay in if you were lucky. The floor, the shower cubicle the sink, the surround and the door was disgusting. Mud and ingrained dirt everywhere. The hard standing which we were forced to use was like wasteland with gravel with weeds coming through. The two small enclosed fields were not available even though they were empty because, 'we have just cut the grass'

The two toilets were even dirtier and I would say they have not been cleaned in weeks.

Granted it was only 10 inc hook up but I have stayed in better car parks or lay bys for free. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulkaytrispoppy 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from five glorious days at this site complete with snow and sunshine and had a really fabulous time. The children involved themselves morning and afternoon in animal feeding and welfare with the owner and the Farmer and were kindly rewarded with a chocolate bunny! It's peaceful relaxing and friendly with various walks and trails. The owner loaned us his blue gas when we arrived with orange gas and blue regulator and is very obviously a very attentive and kind warden. Highly recommended.

Kids playground gots the thumbs up from our boys. Heated shower room. Other facilities planned. Great local pub dog friendly. Massive co-op at Ashby. This site is a real gem Fantastic place. And a bargain. See you there cos we are definitely going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sbtx3 5 reviews from this member

 We've stayed quite a few nights at Packington on separate occasions. Great little working farm, and for 10 a night for water, waste and EHU, you can't moan. Nice people too. With the fab nature walk at the back of this site, you really can't ask for much more. The dogs get a good run off lead. Happy tired dogs = happy us. There's a great little park for the kids to play on as well. We'll be going back again and again, its turning into our little weekend retreat. We only live about 20 mins away, but the beauty of this place is you could be anywhere! And Geoff the 'site warden' is always up for a natter. Gem of a place! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisdotcom 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site, and after initially contacting The owners son we were directed to the Warden. There had been a considerable amount of rain over the preceding days, however the pitch area had dried out and we were allowed to park beside our tent. The site was Level, reasonably well drained and the ground took tent pegs well.

Our party consisted of 3 adults and 1 grand child. The site was very quiet, Just the way we like it, The warden Geoff, was very helpful and explained the Local and site facilities well.

There is One large shower and separate WC, both well maintained, As the site is quite small even when it got busier at the weekend there was no major queueing, the longest I had to wait was about 2 minutes.

The farm is open to explore at your leisure, which we did several times, Visiting the Cows, Sheep, Pigs, Chicken, ALPACAS, Deer and Bison.

There is also a Farm Shop and child play area. On the Sunday we were visited by family who live relatively local and had a small barbie. The was no charge for day guests, and a Great time was had by all.

On the Sunday My daughter and her son left us and we had planned to move on the next day, but decided to stay several more days, which says it all. We will return here again.

This site is central to many Heritage and family attractions and City/Towns in the Midlands, and extremely good value if you are a back to basics Camper. The is a large Tesco less than 3 miles away at Ashby.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ColnMand 9 reviews from this member

 Ideal for families of all ages - one to avoid if you are a couple in search of a bit of peace and quiet.

This is a small, cheap (10 for two adults - no extra charge for EHU) per night, but busy site and very popular with families of all ages. We saw many children riding happily up and down the lanes on their bicycles or being taken for walks to see the donkeys or alpacas or the bison.

There are two smallish fields with clearly marked out pitches - and an additional hardstanding area which took more caravans.

The fields are relatively flat and shielded by tall trees. Ideal for tenting.

Adjacent to our field was a large area for children to play in and included a wooden castle complete with two slides and a 'zip' line which was great fun for both teenagers and adults alike.

There is one toilet and one large (free) shower - both were kept clean, for the whole site. Morning queues went without saying. There are NO facilities for pot washing if tenting.

The site is based on a busy working farm so due care will need to be taken when wandering about the site. But it was rather exciting (for everyone) to watch the tractors and trailers coming to and fro loaded down with hay.

We also noted that the lanes and the farm entrances were sealed by large gates after dark giving an extra sense of security.

Just as we were leaving we spotted the owners posting up signs for forthcoming family events including a cookery class for children and a venison tasting day.

Sadly they do not have a separate field for just couples away from the noise of the families staying on the sites. Shame really.

Not a site we will be visiting again as we are looking for a small site that offers a bit of peace and quiet away from squabbling families (we hear enough of that at home from the neighbours). 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 57     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashby De La Zouch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2753 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement