Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Ashby De La Zouch > Hill Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hill Farm Campsite
Spring Lane
Packington
Ashby De La Zouch
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE65 1WU
Tel: 01530 411984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woody6shoes 1 review from this member

 First trip of 2015 was to hill farm. Our third trip in 3yrs to this site. There were 23 of us in all a mixture of adults and children we were allocated the 2nd field all to ourselves. The venue is great a fab place to unwind and for the children to play safely. However a few issues that do need addressing. The showers really need to work. They were either scorching hot or feeling cold. The toilets and shower needed regular cleaning. The play area could do with the death slide to be put back in to service. Our children used this on our first trip here 2yrs ago. All were safe. If the toilet and shower facilities were better and the play area back to full use I would give the site a 10 out of 10 for our groups needs for our weekend away. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bradders1504 1 review from this member

 Our first trip of 2015 was spent with friends at this family friendly site - this is our 3rd visit here - the kids always settle and we get to have a great short break

We love it here but it is in need of a bit of Tlc in the shower area - kids running around do get hot and sweaty and they need to get cleaned up but the showers are not currently suitable for - they cycle through scalding hot to freezing cold - I hope they will be fixed soon 👍 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brianking 1 review from this member

 What a brilliant place, both hard standing and grass with lovely animals up to the site. Very nice people, friendly and obliging nothing to much trouble we will definitely go again. Ashby is a lovely place and Twycross zoo is only up the road, for anyone interested in history, motor racing, shopping its just the job. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GreenJo 2 reviews from this member

 Just been to Hill Farm for our second weekend with our 2 children (ages 6 & 7) and our dog in a touring caravan. We love this site - the warden, Geoff, is extremely friendly and we're instantly made to feel at home.

It's a basic and relaxed site and is not manicured with an abundance of facilities for campers and children - something we look for in a site, but I guess is not to everyone's taste.

The toilets/showers are plenty clean enough - yes, the rooms could be a little cleaner, but you can see they're cleaned often and the actual toilet, sink, shower are perfectly, clean - it's just the floors and walls that tend to be a bit more grubby from the 'working farm' grass and mud etc that gets walked in or blown in under the gap under the door. The upside to them is that they're all sizeable so plenty of room for taking the kids in with you!

The playground is basic but perfectly adequate to occupy the kids for a weekend at a time, although for any longer than this they may need something with a bit more to do. Our kids just love to ride their bikes around the fields and up and down the lane so they're more than occupied.

The camping fields themselves have sufficient electric hook up points and water points and are well maintained. It's lovely to see the Alpacas when you wake up in the morning and have a stroll up the lane to say hello to the Bison.

There's plenty of facilities within a few minutes drive in Packington or Ashby de la Zouch, and some lovely walks directly from the campsite to exercise your dog (& kids!).

Campers need to be aware that this is a working farm - yes you will have farm traffic noise and yes, there will be farmyard smells, but that's what you should expect if you book onto a working farm site! It doesn't bother us in the slightest and we feel the insignificant downsides to this site are far outweighed by the upsides. The price is more than fair (marvellous in fact!) and we love basic sites which aren't 'manufactured' for the masses.

We will definitely be returning in the Spring and look forward to seeing Geoff again :-)

Jo & Andrew

PS - make sure you take your wellies if you want to wander around the farmyard! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topperharley 1 review from this member

 I spent 2 nights at Hill Farm with my children. The reason for leaving a review was because I feel that some of the bad reviews were unnecessary. For 12 a night you should not be expecting very much! The warden was really friendly and made us feel most welcome. The pitch was lovely and well maintained. The play area for the children was enough to keep them happy for a weekend. Small castle they could play in with 2 slides. The toilet block was pretty basic and not exactly great, but as I say for 12 you can't expect much.

We went on a lovely walk. It is a really quiet site and perfect for a quiet cheap weekend away with children. The warden turned a group of younger people away as they were planning on being noisy and he said it was a family site. We will return as we had a lovely time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Corkyfr 1 review from this member

 The campsite consists of 2 fields with hookups round the edges. It is quiet and peaceful with lots of good walking from the site. It is on a working farm with the usual associated smells. The toilets/showers/washing up facilities are very basic but unacceptably dirty. They need a good clean from top to bottom. Campervan owners beware - there is no emptying point for waste water - it was suggested that we drive down to a nearby layby to empty it !A nice site spoiled by lack of care. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Klcd12 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 nights here. Warden extremely helpful and gave us a choice of pitches. We chose pitch number 1 which is laid back in the first field - nice and private. As we arrived the second field was full, but within an hour they had all gone and we were the only ones on site. Shortly to be joined by two tents. So, lovely and peaceful. Amenities are basic by serviceable. Showers were clean. The newer one was not working properly but was quickly fixed by the warden when we mentioned it. Toilets not quite so clean but still OK and perfectly acceptable for 12 per night. Farmer asked if we wanted to see them feeding the bison - this was great as we got really close to them and saw a beautiful baby one, only 3 weeks old! Alpacas at the back of the camping fields are gorgeous. A look around the farmyard, however, was quite surprising. Maybe they hadn't got round to mucking out but the pigs (especially) seemed to be kept in quite dirty conditions. Although we are no experts - maybe this is normal? The site is very quiet, although farm machinery was noisy around 8am but then moved away from site quite quickly. It is a working farm after all but this is the only noise as the site is a long way down a narrow lane that leads nowhere. There is a small play area all in sight of the main fields. This was great as our daughter befriended three other children and they played there happily for hours. The main equipment is the wooden fort. There is a view platform which is supposed to be closed but people keep pulling the barrier tape away. At the top of the tower is a zip wire which is supposed to be closed down as it is far too high off the ground but there is no indication that it is dangerous. Older children can be told not to use it but be careful with younger ones. All in all, good facilities (although I would not want to stay there when the site is busy), a friendly and helpful warden and good value for money. As the site is only 40 mins from home we may well return for a weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindseyloo 2 reviews from this member

 We were a party of 7 units (tents and caravans) booked in for August bank holiday and were delighted on arrival to be told by Geoff the very friendly and accommodating warden that they had allocated one of their camping fields solely to us (with hook up). The kids play area was just off our field so we did encounter a few children from other areas of the site running in and out most of the day but you can't have everything! The site is part of a working farm so there were the usual smells and noises associated with that but that did not bother us in the slightest. Between us we had 5 dogs and there was a lovely farm track to walk along which allowed the dogs to run freely.

Toilet and shower facilities were basic but clean and were heated (another added bonus). The only disappointment really was the farm shop was closed and appeared empty so no BBQ packs or home made casseroles available as advertised in the UK Campsite details, but can highly recommend Nicks Fish Bar and The Beeches pub in Ashby. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Earls1942 3 reviews from this member

 Booked one night, 26th, just to try out new(old)trailer tent. Wish we could have stayed longer. The warden, a true gent, showed us to our pitch which was very pleasant. The toilets and showers, while fairly basic were clean and functional. Our two grandsons loved it and did not want to leave. Certainly just the place to wind down. Plenty of places to visit and good eating in ashby. Will certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stewart010 31 reviews from this member

 Well I wish I had taken notice of the first review on this site, If we had have done I wouldn't have gone. Whilst I understand the weather played a large part in making the site somewhat miserable, as the grass pitches were closed due to the rain, so all vans were 'crammed' onto the hardstanding area. This is basically a very small area which seemed to be predominantly permanent / seasonal pitches. They went to work at 6am, nice wake up call ! None of the others wanted a conversation and were quite happy to look the other way when you tried to engage with them. The toilet facilities were an add on to the cow shed although on inspection were clean as was the shower. Chemical disposal was a man hole cover which had to be lifted and was emptied into the farm sewers that had a very unpleasant smell. Warden was very pleasant but wont be going again. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashby De La Zouch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement