Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Ashby De La Zouch > Hill Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hill Farm Campsite
Spring Lane
Packington
Ashby De La Zouch
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE65 1WU
Tel: 01530 411984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lorrylass 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for our first trip in our new (second hand!) caravan in order to spend a day with relatives at the National Space Centre in Leicester. Lovely site easily accessible from the M42, although not signposted until you get to it. Greeted by a wonderfully friendly and helpful warden and shown to hard standing pitch with electric hook up. Water is very easily accessible but as the gravel is fairly newly laid there is some give when winding the legs down.

Site is lovely and quiet, alpacas in the field behind the van and a short walk to the well proportioned showers and toilets which were both very clean with heated towel rail and lots of hot water. Good quality toilet roll in the toilets (a bug bear of mine!). Very reasonable costs and a very pleasant site. Would happily visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mayfields 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night, everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a good sized hard standing plot next to a big grassed area which was ideal. Went for a lovely walk in the forest which was covered in bluebells very picturesque. Didn't use the facilities so can't comment, Would definitely go back again but only for 1 or 2 night. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachel_aych 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Hill Farm the week before Easter in a party of 4 caravans. When we arrived, we were asked to wait while the hard standing area had new gravel laid as the grass pitches were too wet to use. Not being fans of hard standing, we were really disappointed.

Negatives first. The hardstanding, obviously, as we hadn't booked it. There are two toilets and two showers (both unisex), which are very basic, it's a shame because it wouldn't take too much tlc and titivating to be really nice. The older of the two showers: the shower head seemed to be broken and the water only trickled out. And that's it really.

Positives. The warden is very friendly and helpful. The farmer and his wife took us all on a tour of the farm to see the red deer, bison, pigs, sheep, cows, donkeys and shire horses(they only do this at weekends, it is a busy working farm) and spent time talking about the animals and farm life, they are enthusiastic and passionate and very interesting. As we were lucky enough to visit during the lambing, we were able to check in on the ewes as often as we liked and the children were allowed to bottle feed one of the lambs. There is a dishwashing area with plenty of hot water and the farm shop is ideal for bbq supplies.

There is a small play area (the zip wire doesn't seem to have been in operation for quite some time) and ball games were permitted.

There are some lovely walks around the site. Ashby is only a couple of miles away, a bit futher is Conkers, Snibston Discovery park and Calke Abbey.

We had a 9 year old and two 4 year olds in our party, and we hardly saw them as they were off playing or visiting the animals.

For 12 a night, we didn't expect too much but we absolutely loved Hill Farm and we will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robdor 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 1 night, we had chosen it as the reviews read well & we were not disappointed. It was early evening by the time we had pitched so didn't have a lot of time to explore the area, however, we did see the field with alpacas. This farm borders the 'National Forest', we will return & explore the area fully. We hope to visit the Farm Shop on our return. The site is easily accessed from the motorway. There is a lovely large wet room which was heated well. 10 per night, good value! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daz1com 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, friendly and warm welcome.

Nice and clean spot, the grass was well kept.

Toilet, shower and wash rooms were clean. Well stocked and lit up at night.

A Farm shop with fresh produce.

We ordered a hot meal for when we arrived and reading other reviews we packed an uncut loaf and this was used very nicely lol.

The food was nice and hot and the child's meal was really nice with proper chicken being used.

Local to many places, we chose to go Loughborough for the day and had a breakfast in the Moon and Bell pub, great value and a great breakfast.

It is market day on Saturdays and we didn't struggle to find a parking space. So all in all I would give this site a 9/10.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Len. 29 reviews from this member

 Wonderful weekend following a casual booking, having needed to drop the youngest off in Loughborough.

The casserole is brilliant value (poss need mop- up bread). A lovely family site, and we had the bonus of a spledid barn dance on Saturday.

The owners and reception could not have been more helpful and friendly, and the barn dancers were wonderful company.

More barn dance weekends please.

Ashby is a lovely town, which we shall visit again when it isn't the big fair week! We will stay at Hill Farm! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Martin and katie 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 5 night stay, good location and facilities basic but usable, although showers take getting used to. Brilliant to let the kids walk round the farm and see the animals, good central location for a lot of attractions near by, as it is a working farm, you need to be prepared for the aroma of the countryside, and the sound of tractors( they start work at 7am) overall we loved this site and will return, and would recommend it to others 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Vampirequeen 3 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful camp. Nice size pitches on fields protected by trees. EHU and showers included in the price (10 per night).

There is a play area which all the children spent hours on. It's the first place I've ever been where children can be left to play without adult supervision. So wonderful to let them play free just like we used to do. There are lots of children on the site riding bikes, playing football and a host of other games. It was lovely to relax and listen to the giggles and laughter of children having innocent fun. The only time the children need an adult is when they explore the farm. Nowhere is out of bounds but you have to be aware that it's a working farm and machinery/animals can be dangerous. As the site is on a working farm you will hear machinery and animals (especially the bull) but it's not intrusive. In fact it adds to the camp's charm.

The warden, is so nice (even going to the shop for us when our car broke down).

Our children had the time of their lives and we're already planning our next stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOHN AND PAM 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic holiday we had with our two grandchildren aged 10 and 6. So much so that we booked for 7 nights and then stopped for 12. We had a lovely time exploring the farm and having a guided tour too which included helping to feed the animals, collecting eggs and watching the procedures for cleaning and feeding the cows, plus information regarding how records have to be maintained and regulations adhered to.

A walk up the lane took you to the sheep and deer and the other way to look at the bison and feed the geese. These lanes were suitable for the supervised children to ride their bikes on as vehicles were few and far between and so very safe.

The warden was always on hand to advise on farm aspects and also places of interest.

The playground could do with some more equipment but as ball games were allowed the children were catered for and the barn used in bad weather. A return is certainly on the cards.  


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PW555 19 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 days here as a stop over on the way home from Portsmouth, its a lovely little site with a very friendly warden 'Geoff' whom gave us a choice of pitches as we were fairly early.

Pitches are a nice size and EHU not too far away, at only 10. 00 a night for up to 4 people and a unit they are remarkably cheap too. Toilets/showers/disposal point are a short walk over the little road to the main farm buildings and although not pristine they are clean and functional, the shower cubicles/rooms are a generous size and as a family you could easily all shower at once. I had a 5 minute wait one morning for a shower, the guy exiting the shower grumbled at the fact that his shower was stone cold and he was not impressed at all. So I went in preparing myself for the worst only to find the temp gauge had been used back to front and he had had it on coldest setting!. I had a piping hot shower with no problems at all.

One tiny problem, we were ok as we used our on board loo at night, but do bring a torch, as it gets very dark, especially if you need to visit the loo's, there is no street lighting etc so really does get pitch black.

It is a working farm and as such you will get a little noise from farm vehicles and the like, also the animals can be quite vocal, especially the bull! But we found it to be no problem at all.

Our grand children enjoyed looking at the animals and this is no problem, you can walk freely to the pens etc and have a look, however, you do need to be sympathetic to the 'Fragrance of Nature' as it can get a bit pongy near the animals, which as you are on a farm should be expected of course!

Lovely little site which we will most certainly be visiting again. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashby De La Zouch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement