Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kilbride Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > South Uist > Kilbride Campsite Reviews

Kilbride Campsite
Cille Bhrighde
South Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS8 5TT
Tel: 01878 700568
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 79 Reviews
                10/10 from 79 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

 Another very friendly welcome and another fabulous little campsite. The area for tents was mostly flat and looks out over the iris beds and nesting boxes at the rear of the site. The camper vans and caravans between you and the sea did spoil the sea view a little but did help provide some much needed shelter when the winds picked up to gale force speeds.

There is a washing line outside but you need your own pegs. Inside the facilities are spotlessly clean and in addition to w. C. And showers (3 of each for the ladies) there is a fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and table and chairs for use. There is plenty of hot water in the washing up sinks and showers and a washing machine and drier on an honesty box basis.

If you are self-catering then the produce from the Hebridean Woolshed next door (lamb, eggs, herbs) is superb, or if you don’t fancy cooking the Kilbride Café (9am-4pm Mon-Sat, Noon -4pm Sun) does good food and also has free WiFi and lovely views, subject to weather conditions, over to Barra.

The nearest shop is the community store on Eriskay and the walk at Loch Eynort (Park at N 57 13. 927 W 007 19. 544) is a fantastic place to spend either a half or a whole day. I saw a Sea Eagle there, others saw Seals and Otters. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

 Probably the best campsite in the Outer Hebrides. In a lovely position across the road from a stunning white sand beach, with views across to Barra. The pitches are large and level, well spaced out and staggered so they all enjoy the amazing views.

Very good motorhome service point. One of the best amenity buildings we have seen, with three toilets and three excellent showers in both the ladies and the gents, a very impressive kitchen complete with washer, dryer, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster etc. Plus table and chairs, what a view while washing up!

A very welcoming owner, a cafe on site, and The Big Garden next door for eggs, lamb, preserves and seasonal fruit & veg. A top site we would love to return to. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: El Bongo 5 reviews from this member

 Nothing much to add to the reviews below really - this is an excellent site. Clean, excellent facilities - the kitchen area is excellent for anyone in a tent who needs to shelter from the weather!

Views /location is excellent and owner is friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pusscat 5 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice site, with excellent facilities. Showers are hot and forceful, and the fully equipped kitchen includes such things as washer & dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, mugs and binoculars!

All clean and tidy, shame some of the clients thought it was for others to do this. Views of the hills behind the site and towards Eriskay, Barra and other smaller islands is great.

A nice small beach is just the other side of the road and between is the café, great when you can't be bothered to boil your own kettle or get lunch. D. J. The owner is very nice and showed concern and gave advise prior to the 2 days of force 10's we had. Only 1 tent went down!

Food shopping just 4 miles away, and 10 mins to the Barra ferry. Great. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellabella 4 reviews from this member

 Went to this campsite due to the fantastic reviews on it and we were not disappointed!

Toilets and kitchen area were spotless

Café - very clean staff very pleasant and prices reasonable

Site owner DJ very friendly gave information on ferries and was on site regularly checking if everyone was ok.

Scenery was outstanding and the beach which was just over the road was beautiful could not believe the colour of the sea all you needed was palm trees and you would think you were on an exotic island!

Would definitely go back in an instant

Good luck for DJ who is trying to get permission to build a hostel on the site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devon roamers 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a wonderful week exploring the Uists, Barra and Benecula from this gem of a site. Don't be put off by its southern location, we reached North Uist inside an hour. The site itself is within an easy drive of Lochboisdale and Barra and overlooks the sea and Barra itself.

We arrived on the late ferry from Mallaig on a wet windy evening to find DJ waiting to show us to our pitch. We were able to pitch looking out to sea with plenty of room for the car and an awning if we had wanted. A picnic table, hook up and bird box all provided!

The facilities are spotless and warm, with unlimited hot water in the showers. We made use of the washing machine in the well equipped campers kitchen. All this for £19 a night. Really can't fault the site, well done DJ! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 Great site stunning location ! This is a lovely small site situated about a mile from the causeway to Eriskay so very handy for the ferry to Barra. The site has a nice new cafe and new immaculate toilet & shower block which also has a full campers kitchen and dining area there is a wonderful white sandy beach opposite with turquoise waters all around and there is a pub about 20 minutes walk along the headland. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AlanH32 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site in my Motorhome for 4 nights during my tour of the Outer Hebrides. It was pleasantly situated right by the main road with views across the sea to the west and the hills to the east. I was lucky with the weather which was sunny and mild, however, I imagine the site could be a bit windswept on breezy days as it is rather open to the elements and unprotected by trees, walls or bushes.

The owner is welcoming and helpful and the facilities excellent. The toilet block contains smart, clean, modern toilets and showers and there is also a kitchen with washing machine and dryer (both payable) and an 'information' room with maps and leaflets and there is also wi-fi although this is not very powerful and you may have to move around the site to attract a signal.

Finally there is a pleasant cafe which is popular with passing traffic as well as campers; I didn't personally take a meal there but I heard good reports. There is a an excellent pub within about 40 minutes walk and a shop next door which sells Harris Tweed items and eggs! This is all around a sandy beach and cove. An idyllic spot and I strongly recommend it to prospective visitors! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AliB1 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite well situated for the ferry. It has wonderful views over the sea and is literally across the road from the beach so those of us with dogs have a great walk on the doorstep. The pitches were all well spaced with a hard-standing and a grass area containing a picnic bench. The facilities were excellent, good spacious showers with plenty of hot water; a roomy kitchen/dining area with cooking facilities and washing up facilities. The site is well maintained and spotlessly clean. Washing lines are provided with pegs. There is a cafe on site. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Next door is a shop selling island products and local food specialities. This site is ideal for touring the island or just walking out to various walks. I have already recommended it to other travellers I have spoken to. I will definitely go back here. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philharmonica 3 reviews from this member

 Thank you D-J, your facilities are superb with spotless toilets, showers and kitchen facilities.

Our spot looked directly out to sea and we so much enjoyed the different colours and moods as the weather changed each day. A wonderful experience.

Do please pop next door to the Hebridean wool Shed. There you can see wool reflecting the colours of the flowers of Uist, the sea and the sky, You can also meet Denise and Jonathan and perhaps see spiinning in action.

South Uist has much to see and enjoy from this perfect campsite. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kilbride Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kilbride Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Kilbride Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Uist      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3305 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement