Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kilbride Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > South Uist > Kilbride Campsite Reviews

Kilbride Campsite
Cille Bhrighde
South Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS8 5TT
Tel: 01878 700568
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 75 Reviews
                10/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JKLow 3 reviews from this member

 Can only echo other comments about this site. We were a party of 5 cyclists touring the Outer Hebrides who chose this site on the way home. What an excellent flat, well maintained location. We arrived in beautiful weather so got the tents pitched in the dry. Brilliant views from the site and also within short walking distances. The amenity block is excellent with plenty of hot, powerful showers. The kitchen had washer and dryer, kettle and washing up materials provided. A table and 5 chairs allowed us to eat together and go over the days cycle. Before pitching we visited the nearby Polochar Inn for refreshments and can recommend it. You can easily walk to it from the campsite, along the shore. More excellent views. Mind you, every corner we turned produced better and better scenery. Would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weebean 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site. Toilet facilities exceptional. More hardstanding pitches and electric hook ups being established to reflect the popularity of the site. The owner donald is very attentive and friendly. The site is great for trips to barra and eriskay and the nearby walk along the machair was wonderful. Good co-op close to loch boisdale. Had one meal in the polacher inn which was not to be missed. Washing machine available for use and line with pegs provided outside. I have reason to use the disabled facilities which were brilliant. Thanks for a brilliant visit donald and arranging the fishing trip with alex. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5OnTour 22 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in the south of South Uist, only a couple of miles from the causeway to Eriskay (ferry to Barra). There are great views all around (sea to the front and rocky hills to the rear), with a small beach just across the single track road, and the pitches are nicely spaced.

The owner is doing loads of additional work to continue to improve the site (which is less than 2 years old) and is building some fencing to help protect tents from the wind and also planting shrubs. He is very friendly and chatty and clearly wants his campsite to be the best.

The facilities are brand new and very clean and the toilets have soap and paper towels. 3 toilets and showers in both the Ladies and the Gents. The washing up area has windows overlooking the sea (and a pair of binoculars for dolphin spotting) and also has a microwave, kettle, and a table and chairs which was being used by some touring cyclists to eat their meal out of the rain. There is a washing machine and a line outside with pegs.

About 20 minutes walk along the coastline is the Polochar Inn which has 2 bars and also does meals. You can also go to the Am Politician Inn on Eriskay via the causeway, which takes about 20 minutes by bike (and also spot seals and otters on the way).

There is a Co-Op in Dalibeg about 6 miles up the road. Next door is the ‘Big Garden’ which sells homegrown produce, free range eggs and homemade preserves, as well as their own lamb.

We would definitely visit this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PeterandSue 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem!

This site is in a most wonderful position. Just crossing a quiet road leads you to a wonderful beach that has white sand and clear blue sea. The facilities are amazing. Great showers, toilets, kitchen that even has binoculars in the window. The owner is most helpful and next door is a walled garden where you can purchase home grown products. Down the road is the Polochar Inn that serves good food. The island of Erkisay is just along the road over a causeway and is well worth a visit.

We had an amazing couple of nights here and wished it could have been more. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 90 reviews from this member

 This Site must have the best view from the dishwashing area of any in the world. It looks out across white beaches and blue seas to the Isles of Eriskay and Barra, enough to put you off washing dishes. Like many other Hebridean sites we stayed at, the owners have made real investments in time and facilities to raise the standard of their Site. The owner here is friendly and helpful and deserves all the success that should come his way. He is well situated for the Barra ferry, there are good walks along the beaches with plenty of seals and at least one corncrake. We had a good meal at the Polocharn Inn, about 1 mile away.

Strongly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happy Roamer 5 reviews from this member

 What a gem! The facilities are really well thought out with a good sized kitchen for campers when the weather is rough. It is the best design I have come across so far. There is a washer and and long washing line outside but make sure you have storm pegs, the wind can be strong!

The owner is continually adding to the site with more electric hookups and a BBQ/picnic area on the way. He is also a really nice guy who goes out of his way to be helpful. This site is worth visiting in its own right as well as being incredibly handy for the Eriskay to Barra ferry.

Check out the website and its links to the Walled Garden and Hebridean Woolshed (next door). Eggs and locally reared lamb for sale, salad and veg in season, spinning lessons on Tuesdays!

There is a little beach opposite the campsite, across a very quiet road with fabulous views across to Eriskay and Barra. You can drive across a causeway to Eriskay to explore, the beach by the ferry to Barra is huge and on a sunny day the colours of the sand and sea are without compare.

Lochboisdale is only 8 miles away with the bigger ferry from Skye coming in there. The Internet cafe is signposted and does superb homemade cakes and coffees which is a good way to spend your time whilst waiting for your emails to download or your battery to charge (£5 to plug in and recharge, £1 for WiFi).

If you have the time, explore the road along the loch on the other side to Lochboisdale and when heading north stop at the Kildonan Museum for a glimpse of island life in the past and a coffee or snack. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ellenisle 9 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here during our tour of Hebrides. Quite a new site, well laid out and flat pitches. We were unable to get EHU as they were all booked but decided we could manage without. Superb showers, toilets and campers kitchen. Beach right across the road and lots of places of interest nearby to visit. Used the washing machine (honesty box) and dried laundry on line supplied. Very friendly and pleasant owner. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JohnRW 4 reviews from this member

 A great site and fantastic owners. We had run out of gas on a Sunday when we arrived and they could not do enough for us! Little portable stove and a heater provided. Thanks for attention to detail. (We found the problem later on moral CLEAN the threads etc before screwing new cylinder in place in case grit is cause!)

The kitchen toilets and showers were good and clean with plenty of hot water. A site to visit! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrose 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in September for 3 nights, and we loved every minute! The site is new, and the facilities are excellent -and very clean. It was very windy, and we couldn't put our awning up, but I had read that in other reviews. The showers were the best! Across from the site is a beautiful bay, which was deserted (it was September!) and next door is the walled garden where we bought fresh veg and eggs. The owners were around if they were needed - and very helpful. There was also a supermarket up the road. As for the surrounding area - I have heard it described as God's Country, and couldn't agree more. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J.jacob 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site whilst we were cycle touring in the Outer Hebrides. Lovely location, with the sea and little beach just across the very quiet road, and the causeway to Eriskay a little further along the road.

A new site, but the toilet and shower block was just about finished when we went, lovely facilities, and included a washing machine and, even more welcome, a kettle - so much easier than setting up our camp stove for our morning cuppa!

Like all the sites we visited in the Outer Hebrides, this one had little shelter from the wind (and it was very windy the second night we stayed!) but the very friendly owner told us he had planted a hedge around the edge, which will obviously take a while to grow, but so pleased he had thought about it.

A site we would definitely visit again. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kilbride Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kilbride Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Kilbride Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Uist      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4637 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement