Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kilbride Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > South Uist > Kilbride Campsite Reviews

Kilbride Campsite
Cille Bhrighde
South Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS8 5TT
Tel: 01878 700568
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 75 Reviews
                10/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jay Bay 12 reviews from this member

 This is a perfect site as far as location and facilities are concerned. We booked by phone and the pitch was marked reserved with our name on it when we arrived. The facilities are first class, showers very clean lots of space and hooks to hang clothes, and a great kitchen area. The layout of the kitchen and toilets/showers seem to encourage campers to chat and everyone was so friendly. Pitches are a good size and as we were on the front row we had great views of the sea. Waste disposal and chemical disposal available and in a good position for moterhomes to use. The cafe at the gate seemed to be well used by the campers with a number of them having takeaway breakfasts.

This is a first rate site in a great location for South Uist and Eriskay. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brockville 8 reviews from this member

 This is a truly lovely site. We arrived in the most atrocious weather and DJ was there to meet us. The site is spotlessly clean with superb showers and toilets. The campers kitchen has everything you could want (washing machine and dryer plus lots of local information) and was very well used by those camping in tents while we were there. The new cafe had opened and the food was hot, prepared to order and the cakes were lovely. The little beach across the very minor road is clean and the headland is well worth a walk round. I have no hesitation in giving this site 10 out of 10. Highly recommend and extremely good value for money. If we ever go back to South Uist we would definitely go here. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 The charms of this site have been well documented by other reviewers - I can only agree to the superb ratings and add something for the birders among you. During our stay we photographed a male hen harrier from the track behind the site - probably a more exciting find for us than the corncrakes were in North Uist! The waters off the beach are calm and clear, and yes, swimming was possible (if a tad cold) even though we have had the coldest June up there for years. An inquisitive seal hovered off shore watching me getting acclimatised to the water, which was another bonus. I can't wait to go back - and will bring a better lens with my camera next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 36 reviews from this member

 I fully agree with previous 10/10 reviewers - this is a fantastic site with state of the art facilities - modern and clean showers and a kitchen prep area It puts many Caravan Club/Camping & Caravan Club to shame. At £18. 00 per night including electric it very good value for money. It is also very handy for the Erriskay Ferry. There are fine views from the site and the beach is just across the road. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyone 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed this site, though for campers it rather has the feel of a car park as there is a lot of hard standing for motor homes etc. I think this is the key target of the owner, Sensible really. There were stiff winds when we were there, and the site catches them. Views would be better from a motor home as higher off the ground. Cafe just opened when we got there - quite busy, but a good range of food to be had. Facilities excellent spotless - fridge, kettle and washing machine - pay extra for this. Fresh food from the big garden next door. Views possible to Barra, and watching ferry.

The beach is across the road, quiet, but children would need overseeing here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fiji 2 reviews from this member

 Another privately owned site that has way above average facilities, stunning views and in this case pretty much a private beach, sadly the cafe wasn't finished before we left so we're definitely going back. Useful shops and petrol station 5 minutes drive away and The Pochard Inn sells the best sticky toffee pudding in the world. Definitely one of the best sites in the Hebrides, possibly the best. Well done DJ. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisjwilcox 6 reviews from this member

 Our fourth consecutive year on the Outer Hebrides during which time we have stayed on many sites and I must say I rate Kilbride site as probably the best we have visited.

Even when the site is full there is a feeling of space, generous pitch sizes which are positioned so that each has a view. The facilities are first class, campers are catered for very well with an excellent kitchen etc.

Even on a poor day and we had plenty of those this year! it is a pleasure to sit and watch the Barra / Eriskay ferry going to and fro.

I am sure the soon to be completed on site cafe will be brilliant.

All are welcomed with a friendly greeting from Donald the owner.

A new awning was required after this years holiday, it didn't stand up to a force 8 gale!

We will be back for more! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BobChris 6 reviews from this member

 In a lovely position and very easy to find. We weren't there to see the cafe opening but it looked great and hopefully when we return we will use it. Very handy for getting around South Uist and immaculate clean facilities. Generous pitches with tables dotted around and a lovely kitchen to use. A visit to the Hebridean Woolshed next door to the site is recommended. Eriskay is easy to reach from the site across the causeway, keep a watch for otters, the church there is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Arniesdad 16 reviews from this member

 Five minutes away from the Barra-Eriskay ferry lies this superb site. The site is across a quiet road from a small sandy beach overlooking the Sound of Barra. There will be a new café open on the site in the coming months but it is only a short 10min walk (using a short-cut) to the nearest hotel which is a good place for food and drink if you are feeling lazy! The site itself is great in every respect, with a friendly owner. I would also rate the site's facilities in my top three of all sites I have visited for space, cleanliness and a seemingly endless supply of hot water in the very spacious showers, (free - other sites take note!). Add this to a very reasonable pitch price and you have one of the best sites around! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

 Agree with all the positive comments in previous review and can advise that the cafe is nearing completion and will have wi-fi when it opens (sometime this month?).

The nearby Co-op is on Eriskay (not Vatersay as stated) and is well stocked.

The site is being further extended with new hardstands and a grass area for tents.

Excellent site. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kilbride Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kilbride Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Kilbride Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Uist      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement