Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park
Truthwall Lane
St Just
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR19 7PU
Tel: 01736 787016
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Swoodfin 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from spending a fab week with our friends at this site.

Toilets, laundry washer/dryer, washing up room and showers spotless, although we didn't have any children with us we did look at the children's play area which was out of the way of any traffic coming on to the site brilliant idea.

Charlie and his family very friendly and could not do enough for us, there is a club house which is in the process of undergoing a refurb, will be open for Easter we didn't expect it to be open at this time of the year as there was only two campervans on site for most of the week, the camp shop had bits and pieces in it although wasn't open you only had to press a bell and Charlie would come, as they were both very busy getting the facilities ready for the summer season.

Local pub is just a short walk away from the camp (200yds) the food and company is very good.

Across the road from the entrance is the way to the coastal path which is a brilliant walk and the views again are fabulous. The Geevor tin mine is only a 10min drive.

The site is situated which makes visiting Penzance, St Ives, Helston, Lizard and Falmouth and surrounding areas easy lots to see and do even at this time of year.

St Just is only 5 min car ride away with adequate shops to fill the pantry. The bus stop is just out side the entrance,

We will definitely be calling to this site again highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MikeOS 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Trevaylor for a fortnight at the beginning of August and found it to be an excellent campsite. To give you an idea of our perspective on things we are an outdoorsy type family with two teenage children who like to be up and off in the morning. We go camping every summer and were looking to use the campsite as a base for other activities rather than a place in which to stay put. Here are some of our thoughts on the aspects we thought important.

Being set back about half a mile from the coast, the campsite is quite sheltered from the wind and is divided up over several small, well drained fields. A website gives the impression that the pitches are laid out and divided up however there are no formal marked out boundaries and the owners use their discretion to make sure everybody is fairly placed.

The on-site facilities are good. The toilets are clean and well maintained. Showers cost 20p for a perfectly adequate 7 mins and so long as you use a bit of common sense and avoid the peak times you wonít have to wait for a cubicle. The toilet block also has a very handy laundry room equipped with a coin-op washer (£5 for a low temp wash) and a large launderette type drier that takes about £1ís worth of 20pís to dry a small load. A small shop opens for a couple of hours in the morning / afternoon and stocks basic essentials (and also sells bacon butties in the morning). In an adjacent building there is small bar that opens each evening. Pub food is also available and there is a separate conservatory where you can sit down and eat. The campsite has a good speed Wi-Fi and access is available from the shop for a modest charge.

The campsite is well placed for all the good things that the far south west of Cornwall has to offer. On the sunny days we went to the beach at the north end of Sennen Cove, Gwynver, which is about 20 mins away by car. The beach is clean, the sea is that gin clear turquoise typical of the Atlantic coast and the waves are perfect for surfing / body boarding. Gwynver also allows dogs (which are banned from most beaches in the area during the summer months). Trevaylor also offers excellent access to the coast for both serious walkers and after tea strollers alike. Just an easy 15 minute walk from the campsite takes you to some of the most spectacular sections of the SW Coastal path where peregrine falcons can be seen swooping over the cliffs and about the many old abandoned tin mines that can be found hereabouts. During the summer there is a regular open top bus service that follows the coastal road between Penzance and St Ives and the bus actually stops right outside the campsite. This means you can leave the car at the tent, strike out on foot either north or south along the coastal path and simply catch the bus back at the end of the walk. The variety of places to visit are too many to mention here but a day trip to the Scilly Isles was one of our highlights. In order to maximise the time on the islands (and keep the price down a bit) we flew from the nearby Lands End Airport (20 mins) and came back on the Scillonian ferry to Penzance. It was a fantastic trip and the Island of Tresco was absolutely stunning. For a rainy day the Eden Project at St Austell is well worth a visit and is about 1hr 30m away by car.

The nearest place for provisions is the Co-operative store in the main square at St Just which also has a chippy for those nights when you canít be bothered cooking and a small bakery shop selling one of the best Cornish Pasties I have ever tasted! For a wider choice, Penzance is about 25 mins drive from the campsite and has all the amenities one would expect of a large town including several large supermarkets.

In summary, Trevaylor is a quiet family campsite offering good facilities and a fantastic location for those wanting a holiday at the South West tip of Cornwall. The owners deserve great credit for the sheer amount of hard work they themselves put in around the site. Their personal involvement really stands out as the most important factor in making this campsite the success it undoubtedly is.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Siobhan G 1 review from this member

We stayed for a week at Trevalylor. The site is ideally located to visit a number of beautiful locations such as Minack Theatre, Lands End, Sennen Cove, St Ives etc. The Queens Head is the local pub which serves lovely food, has a great beer garden and allows dogs.

The site is well maintained, the pitches are very flat and well sheltered. We stayed in a field a little way off the main block but we had plenty of room for the tent and car. The only issue I had was that you had to walk past the bins to get to the pitch. As they got more and more full they began to smell quite bad in the heat.

The site has a well-stocked bar and shop and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are kept very clean. I liked the fact that the cleaning times were well displayed and rigourously stuck to. The 20 pence shower system is good and you get plenty of time to shower. Much better than the showers that you have to keep pressing to make them work. There are only 3 showers which was difficult. I think that at peak season there are too many people for the facilities. Also at times the showers ran cold and the explanation was because there were so many people using them at the same time. This again shows that more/new facilities need to be introduced to accommodate the amount of people staying there.

The positives of this site far outweigh the negatives and so we will definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DianneB 2 reviews from this member

Firstly I would like to say that this site is in an excellent position for visiting all the local attractions. The owners are friendly and helpful. But the pitches are far too small. We booked a super large electric pitch. Our tent completely filled the pitch luckily for us for the first 6 days of our holiday the pitch next to us was vacant and we were able to park our car at the side of our tent. But when the pitch next to us was filled it was utter chaos. They had two cars, a tent, 3 windbreaks and a gazebo. We had no alternative but to park our car in front of our front door which blocked out the light and the view, if we had wanted a view of the rear of our car we could have spent the week in our garage at home! We had no space to sit outside and bbq and the site looked untidy in fact I would go as far as to say it was an eyesore. Because the tents were pitched so close together you had absolutely no privacy and I didn't appreciate been woken at 6.45 on sunday morning by the large group of people in the next tent discussing what their breakfast options were. Also there are only two sinks for washing up which in peak season is totally inadequate and you had to queue every morning and evening which is not how I wish to spend my holiday. There were only three showers available in the ladies which were in serious need of updating. Although the facilities were cleaned daily they soon became dirty because people were not cleaning the showers with the mop supplied after use and on two occasions I could not bring myself to use them because they were so dirty.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Becky2 3 reviews from this member

This was the first site we stayed at on our maiden voyage in our campervan last year.

We were greeted by Charlie and made to feel very welcome. Other campers in our field were very friendly and several of them regular visitors to the site even though they only live in Penzance.

Showers were lovely and hot, no frills but perfectly adequate for our needs. I believe that they have been updated this year and no longer operate on a coin system, we did not have to queue at all and the site was fairly full. There is an area for children to play, a shop selling basic supplies and a small bar open for food and drinks if you don't fancy lighting the BBQ and cooking for yourself.

Bus stops right outside the campsite to take you into Penzance, St Just and St Ives.

The area itself is absolutely stunning - I am lucky enough to live in Cornwall, but the St Just area has to be my favourtie part, it is like the land that time forgot. Breathtaking beaches and coastline, pretty villages and rich in mining history.

We will definitely be visiting Trevaylor again in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Intrepidlee 1 review from this member

Firstly, the owners are a wonderfully hospitable couple, who will do anything to help you. Even summons the chef back after hours to cook you a meal, thank you.

The campsite facilities are very clean, even at peak times, NO grass, mud or hair on the toilet and shower room floors. There are mops and cloths (at the sink) provided to ensure the standards are upheld. The facilities are a little outdated, but they have only been there 12 months, so I'm sure this will change and despite that, the showers (20p) were very hot, powerful enough and you definitely got long enough for your money. There is no hair dryer as such, but a head height hand dryer (20p required) there is a plug socket for your own hair drier though. There are plenty of toilets and heaters over the shower cubicles (only used in very cold weather)

The well stocked bar serves a good choice of food from 6pm until 9pm and is reasonably priced, very well cooked and can be eaten in the conservatory (restaurant area) or bar, there is a TV and pool table too. There is also a spice rack with plug sockets so you can charge your phones in sight, whilst enjoying a pint (ingenious)

The pitches are large enough on good flat ground, with or with-out electric hook-up. With a number of drinking water taps available in each field.

The shop, although not always open when it stated it would be, was well stocked with bread, eggs, milk etc, OS and local maps and some climbing guides, as well as all the little thigs you may have forgotten to pack eg matches, tent pegs etc and you could get hot drinks, pasties AND bacon rolls in the morning.

Only 4 miles from Sennen Cove makes this site a great place to stay for climbers and walkers alike.

All in all, my party of intrepid climbers loved this place, would recommend it and definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Milli 1 review from this member

Spent 1 week at Trevaylor. We were made to feel very welcome. The site has a relaxed atmosphere but is well managed & maintained. The toilet block is basic and would benefit from some updating but provides all facilities and was kept scrupulously clean. The 20p showers were more than hot enough and long enough. Laundry facilities looked good but we did not use them. There is a bar/restaurant on site, providing good 'pub-grub', some real ale and good wine at reasonable cost.

This is a good base to visit many local attractions, including St Ives, Mynack Theatre, Sennen Cove, Lands End and the Tin Mine Heritage coastline. Site fees very reasonable compared to some local sites.

We fully intend to return, perhaps later this year.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Homleighman 3 reviews from this member

While much of the country was suffering under a blanket of snow we were staying at Trevaylor in our campervan. The site has a very friendly feel and the owners, who have only been there for 12 months were very welcoming. We felt that we would be able to ask if there were any problems or any info that we needed. The weather was cold but the site is well sheltered by old Cornish hedges and is laid out in several sections which makes it cosy but spacious. The pitches are a generous size and some are hardstandings although the grass pitches are very free draining anyway.

The site is only a 10 minute walk from the famous Crown Engine Houses and wonderful coastal scenery. We will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve138 2 reviews from this member

This was our very first experience of a camp site having only bought our caravan a couple of weeks ago. We have stayed in holiday cottages in this area many times so Trevaylor seemed the obvious choice.

Both my wife & I were very impressed with the site & facilities. The owners were friendly & have great plans for this site that mean we'll be returning many times, keep an eye on their website. Being very much newbieís to all this we cannot compare with other sites but suffice to say we are delighted with our first 3 nights away.

For information, The Queens Arms is a few mins walk & serves excellent food & drink. The Trewellard Arms, on the road to Pendeen, is also excellent, we eat there every visit. The North Inn in Pendeen is another I can recommend. Chicken in the rough at Newlyn Meadery is an experience not to be missed, medieval eating in the 21st century!

Geevor Tin Mine is worth a visit, the mine tour is great. If you have dogs, park at Pendeen Watch Lighthouse & walk along the coast to Portheras Cove. It says to watch out for debris from a shipwreck but in 8 years we've never had a problem. The whole coast from Lands End to St. Ives is fantastic, our favourite walk is to go from Botallack to St. Ives then catch the open top bus back.

All in all, this is my favourite area.

By the way, aren't caravans noisy in wind & rain

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cscmjones 1 review from this member

I stayed on the Trevaylor site with my husband & 14 month old son for a week in August and although the weather was shocking we still had a lovely holiday, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Doing the rounds at 6am on a very blustery morning to help my husband with our tent in high winds and rain, much appreciated!

The site itself is very well laid out with a few different areas including a small play area, I do think it would be worth spending some money on this to bring it upto date also I know the owners have only been there a few months but it would be a good idea to remove the stinging nettles and brambles from this area so the children can play safely.

The site is just under a mile from lovely St Just with the shops needed for essentials and a couple of takeaways for the odd Chinese.

Across the road from the site is a beautiful coastal walk with amazing views and sunsets and only 13 miles from St Ives.

We were there in the main school holidays and never had to wait for the showers and only had a short wait to wash up so the facilities were adequate for the site.

All in all a great holiday and we plan to return next year with the family.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7318 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019