Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park
Truthwall Lane
St Just
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR19 7PU
Tel: 01736 787016
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dubdogs 140 reviews from this member

Stopped on this site for a couple of nights when touring the area as part of a longer trip. We were told to arrive after 2pm which was disappointing as all the other sites we used didn’t mind when we turned up. On arrival the site doesn’t have a ‘wow factor’ and looks a little depressing with units appearing to be closely stacked in and the jaded facade of the facilities block being in front of where you stop. The check-in however was friendly and efficient.

The shop stocked a few essentials, but St Just is along the road for a better selection and a very good bakery for a pasty. The facilities were clean but a little run down and could do with a good spruce up; the bar had a similar look so we didn’t use it. The pitches were fairly level and were a reasonable size but the layout made it feel quite cramped as it was fairly busy during our stay.

The real positive for this site is it’s location close to the coastal walking just across the road. It’s quintessentially Cornish with the old mine shafts and buildings painting a great view.

I would probably use this site again purely because of it’s location, but I would visit in the off season when the site might feel less crowded.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BzaGza 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to this site. Both pitches that we have used were a good size and almost level. The facilities are kept clean and tidy. Their clubhouse has a friendly atmosphere and the food is very good.

The South West Coastal Path is easily reached and the walk to Pendeen Watch Lighthouse is absolutely beautiful.

The bus to Penzance and on to St Ives stops at the site entrance and is very handy for returning from St Just after a walk along the coastal path.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coxieboy 2 reviews from this member

Great site. Clean showers, toilets all very tidy. Laying new water pipes to pitches while we were there not a problem.

Charlie and Michelle really look after you lovely people. We have stayed here many times through out 2018.

In the summer the bar is open there is a great atmosphere just like a proper pub with fresh food. We will be returning soon.

Have stayed all seasons. Great walks (Poldark country). The sea has been flat calm and other times wild as you want it. Enjoy

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheNeweyTribe 5 reviews from this member

By the time we got to this site on our mini tour of Cornwall, we’d had a bit of a time to say the least. I’d borrowed my dads brand new never before used Bailey motor home, and things like vents had just fallen off, we were really quite stressed about it, but the guys here absolutely made our days, they’d lent us some gaffer tape to cover things up, and were genuinely happy to help. The food is really great, and the beer menu is awesome. Don’t let looks deceive you on this site - we turned up on a very grey evening where 50mph winds had been forecast and so everything looked a bit dull - especially the children’s play area which really could do with an overhaul. Apart from that, this is a very cozy site with very convenient facilities and we would definitely pop in again if we come down this way. If you do pop in to the site I can fully recommend the costal drive to drives from this point, it’s an awesome drive!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. Slightly unfair to review out of season but on the whole a nice site.

The ladies showers and toilet block is clean but very chilly at this time of year. I completely agree with a previous reviewer regarding the shower soaking everything in the changing area of the cubicle as no shower curtain.

The bus stop is directly outside the site. I paid £3. 30 adult return to St Just. But you can travel as far as St Ives on the same route.

The coastal path is directly across the road from the site. I personally followed a bridle way which was an easier walk.

There is a sink for washing wet suits and indoor dish washing area with laundry facilities in the same room.

For the low season price I paid I would stay again if I was in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AFK968Y 4 reviews from this member

Charlie and Michelle run a smashing site - my wife and I are both in our seventies; we camped in a tent and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Static caravans are available. The ground is well drained and soft.

There is a bar which has local beers on tap, plus meals expertly prepared by a professional chef. Bus stops within yards enabling trips to many Cornish places.

We will certainly go again next year.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fran1000 12 reviews from this member

Loved this site! Terrific welcome from friendly owner, Charlie, who couldn't be more helpful. Very relaxed, the shop is open whenever someone rings the bell - goodness knows when they get time to sit down.

It's easy to find and has a big sign facing the road, so it's hard to miss, especially with the owner's excellent directions. Access is very good. Cross the road from the site and along the track and the south-west coastal path is about 10 minutes walk away, so there are great walks on the doorstep.

About a mile and a half away is St Just, a nice little town which has a co-op, several pubs, a great deli and a butcher. Several supermarkets on the main road on the edge of Penzance, about 10-15 minutes drive away.

The site is split into 3 camping fields, separated by a mix of fence and mixed hedgerow, or stone walls. The biggest field is split by fence/hedging for approx 2/3 of its length to create a windbreak. The pitches are not the biggest, but plenty big enough. The field that is tents only has a gentle slope, but tents are welcome in all fields and the others are level. Plenty of water and EHU points, excellent, spotless and numerous toilets, washbasins and free showers, hairdrier point in the ladies, washing machine (£5 per load) and drier in the wash-up area, which is immaculately clean and has 3 big sinks with double drainers. Recycling and rubbish facilities were excellent. There are a couple of big picnic tables to sit at.

It also has a good-sized field with several swings of different types and sizes, two crawling tunnels that go through a mound, and a large sandpit with a wooden boat in - great for kids imo.

The bar serves a good range of beer and wine at pub prices. There is also a restaurant, which does excellent food at reasonable prices. Mr Fran recommends the 21-day local steak, which he pronounced the best he's ever had.

There's a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and it's lovely and quiet at night. We didn't hear any traffic noise at all.

In 41 years of camping, this is the first time I've been to a site where I wouldn't change a thing. Not bad for £17. 50 inc EHU.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacktarontour 1 review from this member

This can be taken as a belated review of this site or a current review of one other (C&CC Site). We have stayed at Trevaylor several times and seen the improvements Charlie and Michelle have made over the years since they took the site over. As to others who complain about accessing taps, well we have never had a problem, what do you want a light illuminated saying 'drinking water'? I have never had a problem with the facilities and they have always been kept clean as opposed to the site I stayed at this year which obviously had a problem with their flusing systems and weren't regularly checked (a c&cc site). I appreciate a lot of the cleanliness of the facilities is down to the campers but to witness Michelle cleaning up from someones over indulgence in the gents at 6. 30 in the morning shows owners that care. As to dog walking, forgive me, whether you have a dog or not a stroll across the road past where Poldark was filmed will take you to the most spectacular (and photographed) coastline where your dog can walk. Further away from the site you have St Just with all its facilities and (if you didn't want to visit the on site bar and restaurant) the Queens Head just a short walk away. If you are a camper who requires everything on a plate but not necessarily a caring family run concern, and charges for every ice block you want freezing whatever the size, then this is not the site for you. However, we would return every year, and are very sorry we didn't this year.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thumper1702 1 review from this member

Trevaylor is everything a camping/caravan/ holiday home base should be. The washrooms and public facilities are excellent and immaculate. The pitches are sufficiently spaced to guarantee privacy. The Bar, beer and food are amazing and very welcome on a wet evening. The owners, Charlie and Michelle are a delight and their enthusiasm will leave you smiling.

The bus stops right out side the site, St Just is a short, but up-hill walk away.

The Queens Arms is 500yds away with more good food and beer. But book well in advance as it gets very busy.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Blindpew 3 reviews from this member

Our favourite campsite, as we don't have kids we always visit outside of the school holidays and have always found there to be plenty of room. The toilets and showers are kept clean, the grass is regularly cut, and there are some hard standings. Michelle and Charlie and the kids are lovely people and we are always welcomed warmly. There is a bar on site and the food and beer is good, and there are a number of pubs nearby, we have found the Trewellard Arms to be most welcoming. We will keep coming back to this site.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3526 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019