Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Trevaylor Caravan & Camping Park
Truthwall Lane
St Just
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR19 7PU
Tel: 01736 787016
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

This is probably my favourite site ever.

The owners were most welcoming, and always keen to be helpful. Although new to this site they were already knowledgeable about the area, and when I was uncertain about the size of our pitch, they immediately offered us a choice of other pitches. The only time I used the shop it was actually closed, but they opened it just for me.

Their bar and dining room were a real bonus. We usually avoid sites with these facilities but it is very quiet, and the one night that we ate there we had a really lovely meal at a very reasonable price. There is a pool table and television too, so would be a useful retreat in wet weather.

Showers were 20p, and good, long and kept clean. My 12 year old daughter was delighted with the piped music from local radio, and it did make it feel welcoming. Washing up facilities are in a nice warm and dry utility room, along with the washer and dryer, which we used.

The site is very deceptive. It looks and feels smaller than it is, and it is only 10 minutes stroll from the coastal path. St Just is five minutes drive away - we walked there and back one day - with nice little shops and cafes. The area is delightful and with lots to do, and we very much hope to stay for a long break next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cate88 22 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night on a tour round this beautiful part of Cornwall. We had a non electric pitch on the end field which was nice and very quiet. We had plenty of space, I've seen bigger pitches but also smaller! The toilets and showers were very clean and we didn't have to queue. They have an on site bar, takeaway and restaurant. The takeaway fish and chips were very good. This site is in a superb location for anyone who likes walking, cross the road and in a few minutes you are on the coastal path, walking distance to Levant mine and Cape Cornwall, amazing scenery. We also visited Geevor mines which was very interesting, even my 16yr old son enjoyed it! St Just is worth a wander round and the beach at Sennen Cove is lovely. There is so much to see and do in this area, a little further on is Minack Theatre which is worth a visit. We will hopefully be back to this area and I would not hesitate to stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingcaz 28 reviews from this member

This site is at a great location near to St Just and the coast in the wilder part of West Cornwall. It also has nice landscaped hedges and trees which offer protection from the wind and weather.

The pitches however are the smallest I have come across. Large tents and caravans with awnings were struggling to fit in making the first fields look cramped and uninviting which is a shame because the site has many good features.

There is a bar and takeaway which were well used. The toilets were kept really clean but given the number of people at the campsite the numbers of toilets and showers were inadequate resulting in queues.

There are only two washing up sinks so also not adequate in peak season.

With less people or more facilities this site could be perfect. Good shop and helpful owners.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: El Gringo 1 review from this member

I stayed at Trevaylor for the first time, for the Lafrowda Festival.

In a year of terrible weather, the week-end I stayed was perfect! 30 degrees and crystal clear air!

The site is well run, friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. There is a small shop and bar/restaurant on-site, plus good shower facilities etc.

It's a short walk to St Just village (but quite hilly). To avoid walking on the main road, use the back lanes and footpath through a field, which brings you out by the church in the main square.

I will be back here for this year's Lafrowda. It's one of my favourite sites.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caro71 6 reviews from this member

Shhhhhhhhhhhh I should not be telling you this, as I would like to keep this site to myself.

A warm and friendly welcome is made as we drove into Trevaylor from either Charlie or Michelle. As we had a tent we were able to pitch where we wanted. Field 1 and 2 have EHU and 3 and 4 do not. The fields are grass and level.

The toilets are spotless in the ladies 3 coin operated showers 1 coin operated hair dryer, but also had a coin operated plug for your own dryer and three washing sinks.

The laundry room also has local to do leaflets and the wash up area is also undercover and kept spotless.

It has a small shop selling the basics and hot pasties in the mornings, but a short walk away is St Just and the Co Op, pubs and fish and chips etc.

There is a small bar and restaurant, don't let that put you off for noise. I did not use these facilities but they did not intrude one bit whilst I was there on the first hot weekend of the Summer.

Although we did not have children with us, other children were able to play safely.

Conveniently outside the site is the bus stop. I would recommend bus 300 a circular open topped bus that goes to St Ives, Penzance, Porthcurno and Lands End to name a few of its stops. The ticket is hop on and off.

Levant and Geevor mines are both very close by, Levant can be walked to along the coast path. Sunsets can also be enjoyed over looking the mining area of Botallack across the road and a very short 5 minute walk. For Stargazers waking up at 3am and looking up to the milky way as there is no light pollution.

Charlie and Michelle have only been running this site for three months, but they are doing a fantastic job, and as I am local (Plymouth) I will be looking forward to returning for another weekend or a longer.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flipflop13 5 reviews from this member

Great site, clean and tidy nice friendly family with lots of local knowledge.

Has basic playground facilities which children enjoyed

Well stocked bar and good food Also has local pub serving excellent food in walking distance Now open all year which would allow great base for visiting local sites out of season. Nice spaced pitches does not feel crowded

Excellent local walking along coastal path and on bus route to Penzance /st Ives

Can walk into St just although a steep hill, but can get shopping ie local butcher with real local meat and small veg shop, with a coop for wine! Also has another 4 or more pubs and British legion

will definitely return

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

A pleasant enough site that could do with a few minor improvements but good value for money and owners who could simply not be friendlier and do more for you.

We arrived to one of the friendliest welcome from new owners who had only been on site for three weeks and were still learning the ropes. After a long chat at reception we were allowed to choose any pitch we liked, which were all pretty much flat, more than adequate in size and about half with EHU.

The toilets were spacious, clean and there were about the right amount for the size of the site. They were old and this in itself wasn’t a problem because as I said they were very clean, but they were very cold and just felt a bit stark and unwelcoming. This was maybe because we had just left a site in St Ives with possibly the best toilets ever, but then we had paid twice as much as at Trevaylor, which I felt was very reasonably priced.

Other facilities included a few washing up sinks, washing machine and tumble dryer which came in very handy after a very wet day walking the SWCP and rounding Land’s End, surprisingly our first wet day since Minehead. There was a small shop in the reception that sold a few essentials although no milk or bread while we were there mainly dry goods and a bar, which we did not use.

Locally the Queen’s Head on Botallack was excellent and only five minutes walk away, fantastic surf and turf and you get a lot. The bus stop is pretty much right outside the site, although timetables were lacking so probably best to do your research before you leave. St Just with more substantial facilities, e. G. Small supermarkets, fish and chips and a few pubs is about a mile away, however, we only used the Co-op.

All in all a good simple rural site that was value for money and if I was in the area again I would not hesitate to stay at.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

Access to this site is really good, go through St Just, travel 1 mile and it is on the right, well sign posted.

The owners are really friendly. There is a small shop, pub and restaurant, but not at all tacky or large site like. There is a small play park with sandpit at the rear of the site.

The pitches are all grass and despite having a motorhome and the ground being wet, we did not get stuck.

The toilets are clean and tidy. There is radio music on all the time and I was lucky to have a shower with 'Blondie'. The showers take a 20p, they take a while to warm up, but one 20p lasts for ever.

The site can be very windy.

There is a pub down the road 1/4 mile ~The Queens Arms where you can also get food.

Place to visit, within walking distance are Levant Mine (NT) and Cape Cornwall.

There is a bus service, details at the site, number 300 which does a large circular route, Penzance to Lands End to St Ives to Marazion and then Penzance. You can buy a family ticket for a day (hop on/off) about £19 or £7 each. It was raining one day so we went on it. It is an open top job, almost a museum piece but good fun.

There are cafes in St Just and pubs as well, old fashioned and quaint.

We would certainly go again and wish it were open all year.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maggietene 1 review from this member

We arrived in thick fog and at only a few hours notice but still received a great welcome. The site was lovely, set over 2 fields in a tiny village about a mile walk from the coast. The most direct path to the coast takes you to several disused tin mines, fantastic views of bays and sea.

The toilet block was beautifully kept, nice and warm even at 11pm on a cold, wet night. A few essentials can be bought on site and its about 1 mile from the nearest village with plenty of small shops ie small supermarkets, butcher & baker - if walking there you will need plenty of puff as there's a steep hill on route. The site is well placed for access to the southernmost beauty spots of Cornwall.

We were only here for 4 nights but will certainly come again at a more sunny time of year.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucybigmac115 2 reviews from this member

A wonderful campsite. The owners are lovely and very helpful!

Unfortunately we could only stay one night as in the very strong winds our poor tent ripped to pieces and bent all the poles.

The owners helped us find somewhere to stay when we became homeless, very friendly even in the middle of the Night.

From our short stay, the facilities were very clean and close to the pitches. The bar is closed in low seasons but even if we had stayed it wouldn't be a problem.

The sites were adequate in size but I would think it may get a little crowded if it's very busy.

Would recommend this site as long as you don't have a poor attempt of a tent.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5547 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019