Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Griffsontour@hotmai 1 review from this member

 Outstanding. Besides the natural beauty of the site and immaculately maintained washrooms and toilets, the attitude of the husband and wife team was incredible despite the occasional 'Grumpy' camper.

I had entered the site before I noticed the site Full sign. I popped in to mention that I was merely going to use their one way system to exit and I called at an opportune moment as they had received a cancellation. Sadly only for one night. The following day as I was vacating they offered me an alternative pitch which had also been vacated early. I grabbed it and I thank you both for such a warm welcome. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buddyrescue 11 reviews from this member

 Wow. What an amazing well located site, we loved staying here.

The site is a 5 minute walk into bowness, which is a lovely place to visit. The site is well laid out with adequate space between each unit, the grounds are very well maintained. Toilet facilities were warm and clean, I did think that with only four showers in both ladies and gent there would be a wait at some times, however this was not the case and access was excellent. There is a bus stop located right outside the site so you could park the car/motor home and leave it all week. We take dogs with us and there are some lovely walks around the area. Perhaps the only negative I could mention is the road noise, but that is possibly us being very picky!

Would we return. Most definitely, all ready to book for our next trip! Loved this site! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Natalie Hurst 6 reviews from this member

 Just perfect, could not ask for better the site is lovely, really pretty with lots of planters hanging baskets etc. Kath and dave and there 2 assistants do a brilliant job. The whole site is spotless. Be aware if you come back to site after dark you will need a torch for coming down the lane. Good thing you can walk to bowness in about 10 minutes on an easy stroll. At the end of the campsite in the car park is the bus stop so should you need to you can always get a bus. Also the land train takes you into bowness and runs every 15 minutes. Good place to go is get the chain ferry over to hilltop and onto hawkshead. But take note it is 50p foot passenger but the mountain goat bus to hawkshead is 4. 30 each way per person so can work out expensive. Cheaper to take the car on the ferry at 4. 40 each way. You could get the ferry across and do the lakeside walk which is lovely.

I will definitely go back to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zzcharlie 12 reviews from this member

 We managed to get squeezed in for one night as we wanted to visit Windermere, a really popular site & now we know why, really well equipped with laundry, baby changing facilitie, s disabled facilities etc & it's right on the lake, great walks for us with the dog. It was the dearest at 29 pn of the eight sites we visited over a two week tour but with all you get you can't really complain at that. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JaxG 11 reviews from this member

 Had a brilliant visit.

Booking Process: booked on line through the Caravan and Camping Club, easy to do, discount by being a member, it's not a cheap site though, but given the location, we paid (and have booked future visits).

Location: Next to Ferry Nab, 2 minutes walk to the Ferry through the car park. There is a gate at the bottom of the site that takes you through. It's probably about 10 minutes to walk into Bowness itself.

Pitch: We have a twin axle and we had a pitch allocated as we have an awning. It's a tight site, cars parked across the front of each pitch, but that didn't detract and we had plenty of room for sunloungers, barbecue on the grass next to our pitch. We couldn't get a TV signal, apparently it's hit and miss, this didn't bother us at all, we weren't there to watch the box. It's one car per pitch, we knew this before we went and only had one car, but bear that in mind.

Facilities: Reception with shop selling basics; very clean toilet/shower block.

Out and About: 10 minutes walk into Bowness for a multitude of bars and restaurants.

Overall: We had a brilliant stay, very friendly staff, we have booked 3 further visits it was that good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kibble 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, lovely showers and plenty hot water. Spacious pitches with beautiful views, nice walks around lake and village, for the dogs Staff at site very friendly and helpful will definitely go back 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sand55 4 reviews from this member

 This is the first time I have stayed at this site. I must say I will definitely stay here again ! That is of course, if there are any vacancies.

The site, although basic to some in the area, is superb. It has all the necessities in the toilets, showers,

Water, chemical dispose, etc. The toilet/ showers were excellent.

The managers, and staff were all friendly, and helpful. The site is immaculate, and well kept.

The site is in an excellent position. A short walk to the chain ferry which takes you over the lake towards Hawkshead. It is only 0. 50 per person, one way, and runs every 20 minutes. Dogs were free. On the other side of he lake is a castle, and also a lovely cafe run by National trust. They have a lovely log fire, and dogs are welcome inside. We chose to sit outside under a lovely canopy, lit with nice lights.

I must stress. As I am Coeliac I can not eat any gluten at all, or I will be very very ill. The manager of the cafe totally understood this, and cut me a fresh gluten free lemon drizzle cake, and put it into a bag.

For this I would give the cafe 10/10 !

A short walk from the site in the other direction is Bowness pier, and the town of Bowness. You can't go wrong here, as there is everything you would need. Even a cinema. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyson1960 11 reviews from this member

 Arrived on first day of new season. Very impressed with stewards who helped me reverse caravan onto pitch and explained the facilities and the easy access to the lake at far end of the park. Toilets and showers kept spotless. Weather was poor but didn't stop us getting out and about. Would suggest a torch is necessity as the entrance to park is not lit. 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Demmo 17 reviews from this member

 We've just spent three nights at Braithwaite in some of the worst weather to hit Cumbria and as a result spent all our time in Windermere. Our plans to travel by bus to the Christmas market in Hawkshead were scuppered by the conditions but in more favourable weather the site would be an excellent base to explore the Lakes by bus/mountain goat bus.

A ten minute walk into the town with all the shops/restaurants etc.

We got a great reception on arrival and as first time visitors[we have previously stayed at Fallbarrow] a quick run down on all the sites facilities. Toilet block warm and very clean and the pitches kept in good condition.

We will be returning in the Summer.

We hope everyone is back on their feet soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 This is a very convenient site in the centre of Bowness. Facilities are excellent and site staff are helpful. Pitches are a bit tight but, nevertheless, a great location for a site. Access to the lake from the bottom of the site is useful for canoeing etc. , 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement