Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 86 reviews from this member

 Very impressed with everything about this Site:

Location ~10 minutes walk from town and the lake

Staff - friendly, helpful

Amenities - only one toilet/shower block but kept clean, well heated and with lots of hot water

Location - quiet, standalone Site surrounded by trees.

The only minor drawback was that we felt space between units was a bit tight and wouldn't have liked to put an awning up next door to someone else's

Site is well drained, it rained most of the time we were there but no sign of puddles or lakes.

Lots to do in the area - some excellent walks, lake steamers and good bus connections.

We will definitely come back.

We'll know how to find it this time, local signage is very poor. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 What a disappointment! Having visited this site on a couple of occasion’s whist under the Caravan Club membership this was a truly delightful site and location.

The location obviously remains the same and is an ideal base for touring Lake Windermere as the site is very conveniently situated between Bowness and the ferry to Hawkshead. However site standards have dropped under the Caravan & Camping Club management.

The site only has hardstanding pitches which ‘The Friendly Club’ deem suitable for tents. The site was always tight, and has now become very cramped with the lowering standards and site disciplines. I must admit visiting at the start of the school holidays, and staying during a Lakeland ‘wet week’ didn’t help.

On a positive note the Wardens were very friendly, but toilets not very clean!

Will be revisiting – but out of season! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josie050 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this lovely site, having spent a very wet weekend there. We were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to our pitch, who proceeded to make sure that we got manoeuvred onto it ok.

Despite the rain all pitches appear to be well drained. We didn't put up our awning, but think some of the pitches may be a little tight. The toilet block are very clean and well cared for, with plenty of hot water and powerful shower.

It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the nearest pub which overlooks the lake, which had entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings, providing good quality food too.

Another five minutes walk and you will find many boat trips around the lake, with shops a little further, also a good bus service to other close by villages and towns.

There is an abundance of friendly ducks and rabbits who like to come and take a look at what you are up to! We will definitely return, as there is plenty more for us to see and do in and around the town. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigbessie 17 reviews from this member

 We were very lucky to have beautiful weather and spent 3 lovely days here. Wonderfully positioned site for Motorhomes as it is just about 10 mins to walk across the park to the Lakeside with all the many shops and bars etc. There is even the small railway that runs from the car park next to the site to take you to the Lake if walking is a problem (small charge).

Try the carvery up some steps above the Amusement arcade at the Lakeside (looks rough but once up there its good) excellent food for under £5.

Usual standard of excellence as found at most Club Sites but top marks for the warmest toilet block ever. Nice to be able to choose a pitch and only comment would be that if it is full it is quite a long walk to the loos if you have to pitch at the end of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

 This site is situated in a nice location in Bowness, on the shore of Lake Windermere.

The site is a nice size, quiet and well maintained. The wardens were very friendly, always available and helpful.

Pitches are a nice size to get a caravan on with an awning and still maintain a good space between units.

The toilet block is very clean, containing shower cubicles and washing cubicles if required.

The TV reception was OK on the pitch we had, we were informed on arrival that that we had a choice of location, although some of the pitches had poor reception.

The site has a small shop within the reception area selling essential items, as the town is only a few minutes walk away, there is a varied amount of retail outlets, pubs and cafe’s to satisfy one’s needs.

We will definitely be returning to this site on a regular basis. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ABURNS 1 review from this member

 Just spent a very pleasant 3 nights at this site -

Only recently taken over by the camping and caravan club - My wife and I were extremely pleased with site and the staff in attendance were very helpful and extremely pleasant. They even found us a pitch close to the toilet block as my wife cannot walk too far these days.

The site has 66 pitches which are well spaced out, they employ a 6 metre rule between the pitches. The toilet/shower block was immaculately clean and obviously well looked after.

Being almost on the lake it is well located for the attractions at hand.

Would definitely come back again when next in the lake district and will be recommending to all our caravanning friends. 


Date of Visit: February 2012
Reviewer: 

 As of March 2012, this is a Camping And Caravanning Club Site and no longer operated by the Caravan Club. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dabber 2 reviews from this member

 Just informed that this great little site is now no longer on the caravan club list. We have visited for several years and never been disappointed. Always kept very clean with helpful wardens. The location is perfect for shopping, walking, meals out The only problem over the years hase been poor TV reception however this did improve with the introduction of digital. I hope Braithwaite fold remains a touring site perhaps even opening all the year round, I shall be keeping on the lookout to see what the future brings. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

 A lovely site about 10 minutes walk from Bowness well laid out, some of pitches on small side so do make sure you state if you have awning etc.

We had a pitch close to toilet block and the extract fan was a bit noisy but switched off about 9 o'clock.

Toilet block clean and all basins were in privacy cubicles which I like plenty of hot water. Did not use laundry, wash up area out doors but under a canopy.

Newspapers could be ordered and reception had milk and eggs. There was a small coop and an express Tesco, bakers and butchers in Bowness.

Nice walk from site to local Ferry to Hawkshead but do check if a bus available (I could not get a time table) to take you to village a very long walk otherwise but was well recommended by walkers we spoke to.

Bowness also has plenty of pubs and eating places and a good bus service to all the other Lake villages. plenty of boat rides from the jetty's and if you are fit you could row yourself on the lake or hire your own motor boat if brave enough

All in all a great place to visit we will be back in the summer and take a longer boat trip. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spudulike 3 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a fantastic 4 night stay at this gem of a site. Very clean facilities as you would expect for a CC site.

Perfect location for all amenities that Bowness has to offer plenty of places to eat from Italian to good old fish and chips. Plenty of pubs to choose from and the big bonus is that it is all within walking distance.

There are various activities in Bowness an excellent Pitch n putt, tennis rowing boat hire, boat trips etc.

We took the trip to Lakeside including a traditional steam train ride to Hatherthwaite (£14.50 per adult return) nice pub The Anglers Arms in Hatherthwaite.

All pitches are gravel with a patch of grass, some can be close but quite acceptable, beware some have difficulty with getting the pegs in but to be fair these pitches are signed to that affect. There is no children's play areas, but large park in Bowness. This is a very quiet site but very very popular, we booked in January to ensure a pitch.

Would definitely recommend will be back next year subject to availability.

Well done to site wardens. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2485 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement