Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Great site and location between Bowness and car ferry to Hawkshead. Very clean and tidy site.

Usual high Caravan Club standard for toilets with friendly and helpful staff/warden.

5 minutes walk to Bowness with all of the shops, pubs, restaurants. 2 minutes walk to lakeside.

Only downside is it is a very popular site and booked up well in advance. Highly recommend and will be back (if we can get booked in !) 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Had pre-booked this fantastic little site in December (it's the only way to get a pitch!) but had to call the very friendly, helpful wardens in March to make sure they had a pitch big enough for us (we are over their 7m restriction) - of course it wasn't a problem as we had pre-warned them.

This was a return visit for us - first visited the site in 2007. Nothing much had changed. It's still as good as ever. Toilets/showers up to the usual CC standard, under-cover washing up area, great little information hut/shed and loads of wildlife mooching about the site day and night.

At night the site was so quiet you could hear a pin drop or the resident owl - lovely.

A short 5/10 minute stroll takes you into Bowness, which has everything you could wish for, cafes, tearooms, pubs, restaurants and lots of them doggie friendly. OH was NOT impressed that the Ship Inn had run out of real ale on a bank holiday weekend though! We ate in the Albert one evening (dogs not allowed inside but they have a beer garden/patio area). The cumberland sausage was the best thing I had all holiday!

We did a Windermere lake cruise from the pier at Bowness which included a trip on the steam train from Lakeside - all for 14.50 each (not bad seeing as most steam trains charge that!). Dogs sailed and 'trained' free of charge!

We only had 2 nights here (on a tour of the Lakes & Dales). Will be back for more without a doubt. Of course it helped that the weather was glorious during our time in the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adamdelves 7 reviews from this member

 Just came back from a lovely 3 night stay at Braithwaite Fold.

Park is very nice, the warden and his wife very pleasant, location absolutely fabulous with only a 7 or 8 minute walk into the lovely town of Bowmere.

Shower block slightly dated but everything worked fine and very clean.

Pitches provided limited space with the car having to be parked in front of the caravan. Pitches on the right hand side of the park have a lake view very nice. For the 3 nights it seemed very peaceful although very busy. Make sure you vacate your pitch by 12 because there is always a queue for people arriving!

Town is lovely with lots of shops, bars and restaurants to choose from and quite lively at night on the weekends.We ate at a few restaurants and would recommend Fat Olives and especially Beresfords towards the top end of town.

All in all a very nice site and cant wait to return soon 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dippy27uk 19 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a lovely 2 night stay & were very fortunate to be able to get a space.

The wardens are very nice & helpful & the site lives up to the club standards.

There are plenty places to walk the dog nearby.

The shops are all very nice, geared towards the tourist trade.

We ate at the crown carvery by the lake & it was delicious. We also went to a chip shop called vinegar jones, but walked out in disgust after a member of staff was rude to us when we complained about someone smoking. We ventured along to the other chip shop on the ambleside road & were definitely not disappointed. Staff lovely & more importantly the food was brilliant.

Had a visit to cartmel, where the famous sticky toffee pudding is made & it was FAB you LOUS. Yummy. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ilstewart 6 reviews from this member

 Perfect location in the centre of Bowness on Windermere.

We stayed here for three nights and the site was full, as we understand it all ways is so book well in advance!

The site is surrounded by large trees and bushes, the down size is the wasn't enough room for us to put our awning up as they seem to cram to many caravans and motor homes on, we were told the council used to run the site so maybe it just hasn't changed since change of ownership, you also have to park your car in front of your van.

The toilets and showers are to the standard you come to expect from a club site, very good.

There isn't a security barrier at the entrance.

If you want to be based around Bowness area on a clean and tidy club site then I would recommend this site to you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kwikfit73 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with our motorhome for one night with our 2 year old son. This site is a great location, near the centre so ideal for leaving the motorhome on site and walking into town for some food and drinks. The showers and toilets were a good standard and always clean. Nothing particularly for our son to do on the site, but as we were so close to town and the lake it didn't matter for one night.

We were not members of the Caravan Club which meant the one night was a little more expensive. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TonyCv51 8 reviews from this member

 As others have said you have to book this site very early as it's always full.

Great location, especially for motorhomes as there is no need to drive offsite with so much nearby. No play facilities on site for children, but plenty to do off the site. We always get the chain ferry across the lake for a walk or cycle ride with our 2 boys, and walk up Claife Heights and down to one of the pubs in Near or Far Sawrey for lunch, then into Bowness on the way back for an ice-cream. In Sawrey the Claife Cryer had new owners and now serves food all day - a bit dearer than it used to be but better quality, and the beer is as good as ever. On site the pitches are smaller than usual for the Caravan Club, who manage it for the local council. Despite that the roads and toilet blocks have been improved in recent years. The site is surrounded by tall trees - if you want sunshine (if not raining) the best pitches are those on the left hand side on first part of the one way system round the site 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simon9792 5 reviews from this member

 I booked this site back in December when the Caravan Club opened up for 2010 bookings, I then noticed that my new Caravan on order is classed as too big for the site. As we had booked for the Windermere Air Show, I would be gutted to be turned away, I called Sheila the day the site opened for the season and discussed this with her, she said fine no problem as I had precalled to inform them. We arrived shortly after 12, nice wardens booked us in and gave us a choice of 3 pitches, we pitched up fine. The toilet block was close and the site was small but was perfectly sited that we never had to use the car as it was busy and parking was a nightmare in the local area. Very good site for a good local visit to Lake windermere. We will certainly visit again, we stayed 3 nights enroute to Edinburgh 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 A very well presented and tidy Club site.

Very pleasant staff welcomed us. Good sized toilet block with separate cubicles for washing.

Bowness-on-Windermere is one of the very popular (read busy) towns in the Lake District. It's not hard to see why, as it's a pretty town, set on the banks of Windermere. But the site is set a little aside from the town, which leaves the site quiet and relaxing, although you can easily walk the quiet lanes 1/2 mile into town.

Plenty of nice pubs and restaurants in the town.

It's a good base for exploring this part of the Lake District, the towns of Bowness, Windermere, the lake itself, and the railway, car museum and aquarium a few miles away at the south of Windermere. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Squeky 10 reviews from this member

 Horrendous site will never visit again, we only stayed one night. Pitches very small and claustraphobic it felt as though they were cramming in as much caravans as possible. No security barrier.

The site is overun with rabbits. Not up to the usual caravan club standards. The only good thing is its location being in close proximity to the lake which is lovely.

Bowness on windermere is a very beautiful place and was extremely busy whilst we were there.

Male warden not nice. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3966 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement