Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Antta200598lxk 1 review from this member

 Such a lovely campsite with gorgeous views and amazing facilities.

The staff were all round wonderful, and so welcoming.

We could not recommend this campsite more.

Had a delightful nights stay.

Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pbow 6 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome with choice of pitches in two areas although the road in looked a little overgrown. We chose the newer field although both seemed peaceful.

Facilities still closed but knew that when booking so cannot comment on them.

Site is very close to Bowness which was quite busy during the day although lots of places seemed to shut down after the day trippers had gone home.

There is easy access to the lake and some good walks for our elderly dog including Orrest Head.

Overall not sure we would rush back but since it was only a couple of days after sites were allowed to reopen and with the lease issues that the site had had it probably wasn't a true picture. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has changed it's name from Braithwaite Fold to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vickybarrow 1 review from this member

 Braithwaite Fold is a nice, compact site run by the Camping and Caravan club and the staff are really friendly. It is within walking distance of Lake Windermere and all the attractions that Bowness has to offer.

Next to the site is a large car park which has a bus stop and the open top bus leaves from there every 20 mins to go to Grasmere via Windermere and Ambleside. A small train also runs from this car park to the steamer pier in Bowness where you can board any of the lake cruises. A little snack bar in the car park serves bacon butties if you don't feel like cooking breakfast! Really enjoyed our stay here. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Demmo 17 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Braithwaite. The last time was in the floods and this time we had more rain and storms, still we enjoyed it. Booked in with ease, lovely staff and all facilities were spot on.

Great location to get the bus from the pier head and head off to the other towns. An explorer ticket enables you to have unlimited day travel on the bus. We went up to Winderemere, Ambleside, Hawkshead, Coniston and Keswick. Walked back to Bowness after visiting the Crafty Baa in Windermere. A must for any craft ale fans. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 36 reviews from this member

 Best thing is the location of this site. Easy walk to the lake and Bowness. Well kept, friendly efficient staff. Facilities clean but dated.

Staff member said that there are plans to extend the site, so there might be building work coming, but I don't know when.

Other reviews said that the pitches were cramped, but we were fine; although we didn't have an awning or car with us.

Going again in March, so clearly we were happy. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had a nice stay here for three nights.

The site is well kept and level, we chose our spot on one of the pitches around the edge of the site, but if going again at the same time of year, would change and opt for the middle pitches so you don't get so many leaves and heavy water spots falling on the roof of the van.

The facilities were kept clean but are perhaps overdue a refurbishment. The washing up sinks were covered but outside, so a little chilly at this time of year.

Handily located for a wander in to Bowness or Windermere (by bus if needs be). Also for the chain ferry across the water to enjoy the many footpaths.

Would have no problems in using this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Travla 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights in October. Unfortunately I hadn't realised when booking that this was the half term holiday - result a crowded site. The wardens did a great job booking us in and escorting us to our pitch. The pitches on this site are narrow and cars have to be parked at the front of the pitch, this makes the site look a bit scruffy.

There are too few showers and toilets I think for the number of pitches. The ventilation in the ladies leaves a lot to be desired I went in one morning and the steam was horrendous I couldn't breath and had to leave. Also there were parents on site who thought it was okay to let three young children use the Disabled Toilet a) unaccompanied b) none were disabled. It meant that I couldn't get in. These same children also left their their bikes strewn on the footpath to the information shed where they appeared to be playing with the leaflets. It was a real mess. Some people also left the toilets in a disgusting state.

The wardens did their very best. The site is handy for Bowness and Onward travel throughout the Lake District. There is a small shop on site with few basics. If I went again I would definitely NOt go during school holidays. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pmajor 5 reviews from this member

 Have tried many times to get on this site due to its close proximity to Bowness on Windermere but always been fully booked. This time we dropped lucky when we rang as someone had cancelled and we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay.

Very friendly and helpful staff gave us a choice of pitches and a list of dog friendly places to eat in Bowness which is a gentle 15 min stroll away, or a five minute train ride from the nearby park and ride car park.

The site has excellent toilet and shower facilities and is very secure with a locked barrier on the entrance between 11pm & 7am. We were so impressed we joined the caravan club before we left and were even credited the difference in the pitch fees we had originally paid as non members. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigmark 18 reviews from this member

 Yet another fab stay at Braithwate Fold and boy oh boy it was roasting. Small site and you are close to other vans but it was fine. Gill one of the staff would come by and we would have a chat about the world cup. If you have a big twin axle pitch 52 is the best for you.

Love the locality of Bowness only a stroll away. Visit the bodiga bar. There is a small butty bar in the car park to the rear of the site access by a gate at the rear of the site to a car park then turn right through the car park to the marina. Lovely bacon barm.

Book well in advance as its not easy to get on. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement