Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Braithwaite Fold Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Braithwaite Fold Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glebe Rd
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/02 to 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Demmo 16 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Braithwaite. The last time was in the floods and this time we had more rain and storms, still we enjoyed it. Booked in with ease, lovely staff and all facilities were spot on. Great location to get the bus from the pier head and head off to the other towns. An explorer ticket enables you to have unlimited day travel on the bus. We went up to Winderemere, Ambleside, Hawkshead, Coniston and Keswick. Walked back to Bowness after visiting the Crafty Baa in Windermere. A must for any craft ale fans.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 36 reviews from this member

Best thing is the location of this site. Easy walk to the lake and Bowness. Well kept, friendly efficient staff. Facilities clean but dated.

Staff member said that there are plans to extend the site, so there might be building work coming, but I don't know when.

Other reviews said that the pitches were cramped, but we were fine; although we didn't have an awning or car with us.

Going again in March, so clearly we were happy.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 131 reviews from this member

Had a nice stay here for three nights.

The site is well kept and level, we chose our spot on one of the pitches around the edge of the site, but if going again at the same time of year, would change and opt for the middle pitches so you don't get so many leaves and heavy water spots falling on the roof of the van.

The facilities were kept clean but are perhaps overdue a refurbishment. The washing up sinks were covered but outside, so a little chilly at this time of year.

Handily located for a wander in to Bowness or Windermere (by bus if needs be). Also for the chain ferry across the water to enjoy the many footpaths.

Would have no problems in using this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Travla 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. Unfortunately I hadn't realised when booking that this was the half term holiday - result a crowded site. The wardens did a great job booking us in and escorting us to our pitch. The pitches on this site are narrow and cars have to be parked at the front of the pitch, this makes the site look a bit scruffy. There are too few showers and toilets I think for the number of pitches. The ventilation in the ladies leaves a lot to be desired I went in one morning and the steam was horrendous I couldn't breath and had to leave. Also there were parents on site who thought it was okay to let three young children use the Disabled Toilet a) unaccompanied b) none were disabled. It meant that I couldn't get in. These same children also left their their bikes strewn on the footpath to the information shed where they appeared to be playing with the leaflets. It was a real mess. Some people also left the toilets in a disgusting state.

The wardens did their very best. The site is handy for Bowness and Onward travel throughout the Lake District. There is a small shop on site with few basics. If I went again I would definitely NOt go during school holidays.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pmajor 5 reviews from this member

Have tried many times to get on this site due to its close proximity to Bowness on Windermere but always been fully booked. This time we dropped lucky when we rang as someone had cancelled and we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Very friendly and helpful staff gave us a choice of pitches and a list of dog friendly places to eat in Bowness which is a gentle 15 min stroll away, or a five minute train ride from the nearby park and ride car park. The site has excellent toilet and shower facilities and is very secure with a locked barrier on the entrance between 11pm & 7am. We were so impressed we joined the caravan club before we left and were even credited the difference in the pitch fees we had originally paid as non members.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigmark 18 reviews from this member

Yet another fab stay at Braithwate Fold and boy oh boy it was roasting. Small site and you are close to other vans but it was fine. Gill one of the staff would come by and we would have a chat about the world cup. If you have a big twin axle pitch 52 is the best for you. Love the locality of Bowness only a stroll away. Visit the bodiga bar. There is a small butty bar in the car park to the rear of the site access by a gate at the rear of the site to a car park then turn right through the car park to the marina. Lovely bacon barm.

Book well in advance as its not easy to get on.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amy1447 10 reviews from this member

Great site within walking distance of Bowness. Also a short walk to the Lake with a footpath leading to Bowness. Ideal for dog walking.

The 499 bus runs from the car park next to the site which takes you direct to Grassmere or to change at Windermere for other buses which take you all over the Lakes.

There is a car ferry within 5 mins walk that also takes foot passengers to the other side of Lake Windermere where you can walk along the edge of the Lake into Ambleside if you wished, or to cycle to Hawkeshead past Beatrix Potter's house as we have

The site is small and compact with hardstanding. The toilet block is clean and the site is very well kept. There is a small information hut, containing leaflets on places to visit etc. The wardens are helpful and friendly. We love this site because it is so well maintained, location and walks

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vickybarrow 1 review from this member

Braithwaite Fold is a nice, compact site run by the Camping and Caravan club and the staff are really friendly. It is within walking distance of Lake Windermere and all the attractions that Bowness has to offer. Next to the site is a large car park which has a bus stop and the open top bus leaves from there every 20 mins to go to Grasmere via Windermere and Ambleside. A small train also runs from this car park to the steamer pier in Bowness where you can board any of the lake cruises. A little snack bar in the car park serves bacon butties if you don't feel like cooking breakfast! Really enjoyed our stay here.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bootlucy 10 reviews from this member

Nice site with nice, friendly wardens in a great location 10 mins walk from the lake, pubs, shops, etc. Good facilities (no queueing although site was full) and fairly level pitches. Lots to do in the area, lake cruises especially.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. Arrival is strict 1pm and very organised and friendly. We were given a choice of pitches and were very happy.

Small site, all hard standing and laid out very well.

Facilities block small but always very clean.

Covered over washing up area and information hut.

Short walk into Bowness via pubs and shops or you can take the little train from the car park right outside the site!

Plenty to see and do in Bowness, from boats to walks and lots more.

Numerous boat trips on offer. We caught a boat to Ambleside for a walk around and then back again.

Lots of places to eat and drink. Can recommend the food in the Albert and if you like Chinese food you'll be in heaven, it seems like every other restaurant is Chinese!

Out of the back gate of the site is the car/passenger ferry across the lake to Hawkshead. 50p per person each way. Nice walks around Claife over that side too.

All in all a great site and well worth a visit.

Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!