Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02/2021 to 02/01/2022
           01/02/2022 to 02/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 41 reviews from this member

 Stayed here and had a great time we took our bikes and cycled around the area.

The site was well managed and clean the covid safe features worked well.

At the time we stayed the toilets and shower block were closed die to covid.

The only negative is the hard standing where you have to put your awnings has great big chunks on concrete, well ours did anyway. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Soniab 1 review from this member

 1st time we stayed at this site and 1st time in the Motorhome,

We had a boat on the Marina so are frequent visitors to Bowness, friendly and efficiently run site,

We will definitely be returning,

Just a walk away to the ferry’s and main attractions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 82 reviews from this member

 Been once before some 8 years ago. Following Covid restrictions site was only using every other pitch so units were well spaced apart.

Toilet/showers are closed for this seas so can't comment on them but had to give a rating score so gave an expected 7. Disappointed that permanent sanitisers hadn't been installed at service points, only loose bottles and presumably even those get pinched as there was nothing at one service point.

One thing you can't blame the site for is the weather which was dreadful, almost non-stop rain for the 4 nights we were there.

Great location though only a short walk to town but it gets really busy at weekends with few people keeping socially distant. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Antta2 1 review from this member

 Such a lovely campsite with gorgeous views and amazing facilities.

The staff were all round wonderful, and so welcoming.

We could not recommend this campsite more.

Had a delightful nights stay.

Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pbow 10 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome with choice of pitches in two areas although the road in looked a little overgrown. We chose the newer field although both seemed peaceful.

Facilities still closed but knew that when booking so cannot comment on them.

Site is very close to Bowness which was quite busy during the day although lots of places seemed to shut down after the day trippers had gone home.

There is easy access to the lake and some good walks for our elderly dog including Orrest Head.

Overall not sure we would rush back but since it was only a couple of days after sites were allowed to reopen and with the lease issues that the site had had it probably wasn't a true picture. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has changed it's name from Braithwaite Fold to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vickybarrow 1 review from this member

 Braithwaite Fold is a nice, compact site run by the Camping and Caravan club and the staff are really friendly. It is within walking distance of Lake Windermere and all the attractions that Bowness has to offer.

Next to the site is a large car park which has a bus stop and the open top bus leaves from there every 20 mins to go to Grasmere via Windermere and Ambleside. A small train also runs from this car park to the steamer pier in Bowness where you can board any of the lake cruises. A little snack bar in the car park serves bacon butties if you don't feel like cooking breakfast! Really enjoyed our stay here. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Demmo 17 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Braithwaite. The last time was in the floods and this time we had more rain and storms, still we enjoyed it. Booked in with ease, lovely staff and all facilities were spot on.

Great location to get the bus from the pier head and head off to the other towns. An explorer ticket enables you to have unlimited day travel on the bus. We went up to Winderemere, Ambleside, Hawkshead, Coniston and Keswick. Walked back to Bowness after visiting the Crafty Baa in Windermere. A must for any craft ale fans. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 37 reviews from this member

 Best thing is the location of this site. Easy walk to the lake and Bowness. Well kept, friendly efficient staff. Facilities clean but dated.

Staff member said that there are plans to extend the site, so there might be building work coming, but I don't know when.

Other reviews said that the pitches were cramped, but we were fine; although we didn't have an awning or car with us.

Going again in March, so clearly we were happy. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had a nice stay here for three nights.

The site is well kept and level, we chose our spot on one of the pitches around the edge of the site, but if going again at the same time of year, would change and opt for the middle pitches so you don't get so many leaves and heavy water spots falling on the roof of the van.

The facilities were kept clean but are perhaps overdue a refurbishment. The washing up sinks were covered but outside, so a little chilly at this time of year.

Handily located for a wander in to Bowness or Windermere (by bus if needs be). Also for the chain ferry across the water to enjoy the many footpaths.

Would have no problems in using this site again. 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window