Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 554 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights from the 1st January on this site.

The main advantage if the site is it's location in the centre of Bowness. It's a lovely town with many excellent pubs and restaurants. Although there isn't much of in the way of fell walking in this part of the Lakes, but services from the town to Ambleside, Grasmere and Keswick are very good.

Facilities on site are excellent and site staff were very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baldrick2 19 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site and no wonder it is hard to book. The location is worth its weight in gold, once you are here you don't need to go out in a vehicle. It takes 5 minutes walk to the lake, where you can sit and enjoy the view, or catch a boat or bus. We purchased 1 day rover tickets on the double decker bus which cost 7 each and well worth the money. A return ticket on the boat to Ambleside was 9 each with the 10% discount. There are plenty of shops in Bowness including a Tesco express and Co-op and the usual outdoor and gift shops. We had a carvery on the watersfront which was 4.19 would recommend.

The facilities block is very up-to-date and warm, and the wardens were very friendly and helpful. As mentioned before the units are quite close, which isn't a problem unless your neighbours tv is on loud and your other neighbours group together in one awning until late - it then becomes less peaceful. Would return to this site without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manxfan 3 reviews from this member

 The site is well described by previous reviewers.

We have visited many times over the years and generally been pleased with our stay.

On this occasion we required a replacement gas cylinder and were charged 24 for a 3.9kg refill. We normally pay around 17 and consider the site charge to be excessive in the extreme. We fully understand a surcharge may be required however how can this excessive amount Be justified ?

There are a number other issues which have made the site less attractive since the C and CC took over and these will be taken up with the club directly. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P@ul 3 reviews from this member

 We spent a lovely week there. It really is a quiet well run site just a stones throw away from the centre of Bowness. Its hard to say anything negative about Braithwaite Fold but I must point out a couple of issues you won't be told about on arrival.

Firstly the TV reception is hit and miss and you are likely to loose reception due to the high trees that surround the whole site.

Secondly some of the pitches have a concrete base to part under the chippings making it impossible to hammer your pegs in, we managed with our porch awning not securely fixed at the back, it wasn't windy so wasn't an issue. The site assistant was aware of the issue even though we weren't told.

Eating out can prove to be a bit expensive depending on where you eat. Myself and my wife spent over 100 on 2 occasions eating out and I wouldn't say it was that special so just be aware.

One more thing, the sites showers and toilets are closed for cleaning between 11 and 12am every day and you won't be allowed in. Rabbits roam the site quite freely which is nice to see. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

 We spent 7 nights at this site. It's in an excellent central location, which means you save a fortune on parking as you can leave your car and walk into Bowness, or take a longer walk to Windermere. We took the ferry across Windermere, at 50p per person it's cheaper than a cruise! There is an abundance of shops in Bowness, so you can buy everything quite easily in town and walk back to your van to cook it. There are plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants, we didn't try any as we have a child, but they all looked very pleasant.

On site there is a warm shower/toilet block. It's a key code entry system which you are given on arrival. The toilets, showers and sinks are nice, clean and spacious. Another bonus is the showers aren't 'push button' so you can have a nice warm relaxing shower to wake you up on a morning. There's a small reception/shop which offers the basics. Staff were friendly and helpful on arrival.

One minor gripe has to be the pitch distances. I agree with previous reviewers. On arrival we were informed we could only put our awning up if it didn't go past a line about a metre in front of the caravan door, even though the pitch size was more than suitable to fit the van and awning, the distance between them meant you would break their 4 metre rule if you put one up. Also with the cars being parked in front of the vans, it does look like a car park on an evening. We are very relaxed about these sort things but even we felt the pitch distances felt a bit too close for comfort. There is no child play area on this site, but there's plenty to keep them entertained within Bowness itself. TV reception was difficult, but we managed. The site is surrounded by trees so we couldn't use our satellite, but I bought an external aerial and managed to get freeview.

This is a lovely site, located in an ideal location to explore the lakes, although pitch sizes are tight, we would return and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FNot 14 reviews from this member

 Just back from 5 night stay at this site. We regular visitors as site is ideally located. As usual the wardens make this site a pleasure to visit. Friendly & helpful. We joined fellow campers in the garage to bring the New Year in. Lovely night. Thank you to everyone who made this happen. We booked for next New Year already. Highly recommend this site & the wardens. Only downside for 2013 is that C & CC have made minimum weekend booking of 3 nights which will result in us not being able to spend a few weekends there this year unless we take a Monday off work. ( we don't have children so have not been able to rate child friendliness) 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 554 reviews from this member

 An excellent site situated in the town of Bowness. Great facilities and great staff.

We spent two nights here for new year. The local nightlife is excellent with plenty of bars and restaurants.

It makes an excellent base for walking in the lakes and there's a number of great water sports opportunities on Lake Windermere.

Close by are the towns if Hawkshead and Ambleside, both if which are nice places to visit.

Excellent site! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bri-haven 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in September, it was very good. Staff were really helpful. Showers etc were lovely and clean at all times.

Good place to stay easy to access other parts of lake district and Cumbria. Not far from Kendal.

The site is very well situated close to the town centre. Choice of pubs nearby again 10 mins walk for closest which was excellent sky football and good food and drink. Reasonably priced. Another 5-10 minute walk to other restaurants, cafes, tearoom.

There are plenty of Icecream/Gift shops and a Tesco Extra and Co-op in town centre.

There was a bus stop about two minutes from the caravan park.

We have tried to return here as we loved it but it was already booked. Will come back here for sure trying to book for weekend soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 This is the first time we have stayed at this park. Previously we stayed at Fallbarrow Park but it was fully booked. We were very happy with the site. The wardens were extremely friendly. The pitches were gravel and fairly close together and the site was very busy.

The shower block was clean and heated. The showers had loads of hot water and no push button. It is a 10 minute walk to the Ship Inn where they serve meals. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the lake and a 15 minute walk into town.

There are loads of pubs and restaurants in town. A great site and a fantastic location. Would highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redseat 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this site which is now run by the Caravan and Camping club. First gripe was that there wasn't even a sign at the entrance to let you know that you were at the entrance, we drove past it and had to go right round the one way system to get back again !

Once on site the wardens were very friendly showing us the facilities and helping us get our caravan on to our pitch. The pitches are on the small side and your vehicle has to be put in front of the caravan parallel with the road. This has the effect of the site looking a bit like a car park at night when everyone is back on site.

The facilities are kept clean and are an ideal size for the size of the site ( 66 pitches )They are closed for cleaning everyday from 1100 till 1230 which some people complained about but when are they supposed to get cleaned. Access to the toilets and showers is by key but for the last few days we were there the lock was broken which allowed children to use them as their playground ! Thankfully the showers are not the usual push button ones but proper showers with the water running all the time.

The shop on site sells basic provisions. You can walk to Bowness in around fifteen minutes passing the local pub - The Ship Inn which was always busy with meals. We never had anything to eat there so can't comment on food quality. There are superb views of the lake from this pub.

There are two coffee shops as well and we tried one - Dolce Vita I think ( could be wrong though )it was clean and food was nice. Further on are the piers for the boat trips which is very busy. There are loads of swans walking around waiting to be fed and there were plenty of tourists feeding them. But what goes in one end has to come out the other and the pavements were covered in what I can only call swan poo ! I would have thought that this would be hosed away at the end of every day but it wasn't so you had to watch where you walked.

In Bowness itself there are plenty of places for eating once you have parked your car. Parking is a nightmare and expensive @ 1. 50 per hour if you can get a space. There is a nice Spanish Tapas bar in Bowness called Bodega Bar which we used and was excellent. The weather during our stay was awful but the site never flooded.

All in all I would say that it is a good site in an excellent location. I will be going back, hopefully to better weather next year. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement