Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park
Sleningford Watermill
North Stainley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3HQ
Tel: 01765 635201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony_brown 9 reviews from this member

 Plenty of reviews here on this site more than adequately sum up the quality of the facilities, good service, friendly owners, beautifully maintained site and superb location by the River Ure. It is all of that and more. We have just returned home this evening, after a great family weekend with four family members and their children, and can not fault the site.

Another loo/shower block further up the site would have been brilliant for us with young children but this is not a negative comment.

The site quietens down at 11:00pm and the only noise to keep you awake are the owls and rabbits at night and the wood pigeons at dawn !

We visited 'Lightwater Valley Theme Park' for just 25 per person on a special offer and next day entry offer (a couple of miles away) on two days of our stay, with the children visiting the 'Treetop Nets' (High Ropes) attraction again at Lightwater Valley this morning (whilst we packed away) and spent this afternoon at 'The Forbidden Corner' (30 minutes away) and we look forward to returning to this site soon.

Ripon is 5 miles away as is Masham and further afield a host of Yorkshire tourist attractions.

Highly recommended. 
Management response: Thank you for your generous and thoughtful review.

We're glad you had such a good time and managed to enjoy so many of the excellent tourist attractions in the area. We're particularly glad you found it quiet at night, as this is very important to us.

Hope to see you again next year.


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thedamester 1 review from this member

 Stunning location, ideal for visiting the Dales but only 15 mins drive from local shops in Ripon.

Site is beautifully maintained and we chose a pitch where we were overlooking the river which added to our enjoyment. They have a small shop which stocks basics, including pre-ordered newspapers. Owner is very knowledgeable about the area and most helpful and available if you need him.

This is a very large site spread over separate areas. Be aware that it will get very busy during school holidays and weekends. A little noisy for us for this reason as we are used to quieter adult sites.

I think the site would warrant 10/10 overall if there could be an adult only section during peak times. Mobile reception is very poor. Not much they can do about this! Thoroughly recommend 
Management response: Thank you for your thoughtful review.

We're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your riverside location. We will certainly give thought to your suggestion.

Hope to see you again next year.


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazzaandcazza 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 4 day visit and were really impressed again, this was our second visit and are already thinking about our next camp there. It really is a beautiful site which is well kept and facilities regularly cleaned. Although there aren't the usual play areas or club houses this adds to the charm and the kids make friends quickly, go netting in the river and doing what kids generally get up to. Judith, philip and the staff are welcoming and friendly and make this place a little gem. The surrounding area has lots to offer and we would recommend the Police, Court and workhouse museums in Ripon (believe it or not but the kids loved these. )

Hoping to visit again this summer.

Thanks 
Management response: Thank you for your lovely review.

We're glad you had such a good time; good too to know that your children enjoyed some old fashioned fun in the river. Yes, lots to do in the area and the Ripon museums are indeed quirky!

Looking forward to seeing you again.


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jackdiggerb 3 reviews from this member

 Very good place, nice people, super place for walking.

No individual plot taps, or at least not on the plot I was on.

The chemical waste site could do with a bit of updating but overall I would come again 
Management response: Thank you for taking the trouble to review after your recent visit.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to get some good walking done. It certainly is a fabulous area in that respect. Looking forward to seeing you again.


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trev66 1 review from this member

 I have been visiting this site regularly for the past six years and can honestly say the site has never looked as good as it does now. The managers Judith and Philip work tirelessly and it shows. Facilities always immaculate, plenty of hot water. Grounds looking great with the addition of picnic benches to the riverside and new signage around the site. Always a friendly welcome and plenty of information about the site and local area available in the shop or the information room. There is a small shop well stocked including wine which isn't extortionate if you run out!

Pitches well marked and most very level especially on electric, decent size too. The site has a great feel to it thanks to the layout and on non electric, that you can pitch more or less where you want adds to the relaxed atmosphere.

Lovely walk along the river to the village of West Tanfield where there is a cracking pub with a great beer garden. Lightwater Valley a short drive away as is Fountains Abbey and Masham. We have dogs which are to be on leads at all times whilst on site for obvious reasons but there are some lovely walks round about where you can take them for a good run -'plenty of poo bins too around the site which are emptied regularly so no excuses!

All in all a great site getting better and I will be visiting for many years to come 
Management response: Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review, especially your kind comments about how the park is looking. We are indeed lucky to be situated in such a beautiful area, where as you say, there are such fabulous walks.

Great to see our regular guests continuing to enjoy everything that Sleningford has to offer!"

Judith and Philip

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hud1 11 reviews from this member

 Loved it.

Friendly welcome from Judith and Philip (owners) explaining camp layout and amenities. Toilet block and grounds immaculate. Fantastic location overlooking the river. If you require a morning paper you can order it the evening before and the guys will organise this, I forgot to do this but bumped into Philip (on his way to collect papers) ) when returning from walking the dogs and he gladly added my paper to his list and 10mins later it was there for collection. There is a lovely walk along the river( about 20 mins) to the village pub with a cracking garden.

Will definitely return 
Management response: Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review. We're glad you had such a good time.

The Riverside pitches are certainly very beautiful.

Hope to see you again soon.

Judith and Philip


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcwebbo 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd stay and was excellent as usual. We were accompanied by friends and were pitched next to each other as requested. The ehu points were a little far away from the tents but Phillip was happy to lend us an extension lead free of charge. The toilet block was kept nice and clean with hot water in the showers although these got a little busy in a morning but the site was fully booked at the time. All in all a good stay and we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adlbruce 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for our very first camping trip, I found the campsite using this website. As our first experience we just booked for 1 night and as it was the day before we booked with ease over the phone. We first visited Mother Shiptons Cave which is approx 30mins away before arriving at the campsite. Upon arrival the owner greeted us and gave us our info etc. We booked non-electric and pitched on a lovely stretch near the little beach and not far from the shower block (with having a small child). The shower blocks and toilets were always very clean as was the little washing up area. It was also handy that there was a freezer store for ice blocks. We also realised we had forgotten our chairs (typical!) and the owner kindly lent us 3 of theirs.

We set up camp and although the park was filling up we didn't feel crowded at all, we had a lovely view. As this was our first camping trip we didn't know what to expect but found everything to be very relaxed, people were friendly and our little girl quickly made friends to play with outside the tent.

Overall it was a beautiful place, clean and friendly and we couldn't find any faults with the campsite. We will definitely be going back for longer next time. (Lightwater Valley is also just 2miles away). 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellyb1 2 reviews from this member

 Our first visit here and we booked an electric pitch for our tent. All pitches were very well marked and maintained. The owners were welcoming both before and after checking in. It was a busy weekend and I was concerned that the facilities would be crowded however, this wasn't the case in either men's or ladies. Great pub just under a mile walk away for food and beer. River by the site that was popular with kayakers and paddlers. The owners and staff were constantly on the go cleaning and maintaining things. Lots to see and do locally. Lots of other campers had been before. We will definitely return! 
Management response: Thank you for your kind review. We are continuing to make small improvements month by month, especially in response to our guests' safety and enjoyment. Yes, we're glad to offer vouchers for Lightwater Valley, kindly provided by the theme park. Glad you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again soon.


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanguinello 1 review from this member

 Well I have visited this campsite for a number of years now and I have to say it's in a great spot. Just been recently and there's been some signage improvements and some nice new barrels blocking the grass verges to stop people not going over the speed bumps. Facilities are always kept clean and tidy. It's only a ten minute drive to Lightwater Valley Theme Park and you can always be assured of a money off voucher! Service when booking in even as a turner upper is great & very welcoming.  


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2561 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement