Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park
Sleningford Watermill
North Stainley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3HQ
Tel: 01765 635201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: April (or Easter) To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-Hotch 1 review from this member

 A great weekend at Sleningford. 1st time, but will return. An absolutely idyllic location right on the river, with easy access for fishing nets, paddling and boating. Nice, flat grassy pitches. Clean and functional toilet block. Small shop, lovely owners, top riverside pub a short stroll away. All in all - everything we would want for a short weekend away with the kids. Nicely done! 

Management response: Thank you for your affirming comments - we're so glad you had a good time. We know when people are working hard how important it is to be able to completely switch off and relax. Hope to see you again soon. ......and yes, the river is amazing!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazzaandcazza 6 reviews from this member

 We were booked here for 4 days over the easter weekend, due to shocking weather we arrived a day later to glorious sunshine. Surprisingly we were offered a partial refund for the night we didn't stay which I thought was rather nice of the owners. The campsite is fantastic, it is wonderfully kept and in great surroundings. There isn't a park for the kids but there is plenty of exploring to do especially with nets at the riverside. There are beach areas onto the river which makes for safer access than slippy banks. It's a haven for kayakers and canoeists and even if it's not your sport it is great to watch. The local village is only a short walk with a great pub and playground opposite, alternatively ripon is only a 10 min drive with everything you could need.

We will certainly be visiting this site again 

Management response: Thank you for your kind comments; we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heffy1613 1 review from this member

 Superb & friendly - we'll be returning.

We're a family of 4 (8 & 10 year old kids) & this was a great choice to try out our new (1997 vintage) caravan after many years camping.

We were greeted by the owner - Phillip, who kindly helped me get the caravan onto its pitch - thank you :-)

Everything's clean, there are enough showers & toilets for the guests & there's a shop at reception.

My children played safely on their bikes & the vibe is very relaxed & friendly.

We had one of the hard standing ehu pitches opposite the toilets & near reception & would chose again but all of the pitches looked nice.

Only regret - I didn't take my road bike as there's some good rides accessible from here but the box of Aldi Shiraz made up for it. 

Management response: Thank you for your kind comments; we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

 This excellent site is situated right on the River Ure and has its own resident grey heron. The managers, Philip and Judith, are extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and two days was certainly not long enough to appreciate this site. The place is very easy to find being well signposted from the Ripon to Richmond road. As it is only about five miles from the A1(M) it makes an excellent base to explore the historic and fascinating local area. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 6 night stay here, on an electric pitch on The Riverside.

We were very lucky with the weather, dry and sunny every day, just before Bertha drifted over. This meant we could make the most of this beautiful site, and paddle in the river and sit around.

The whole site is maintained beautifully, with great care taken to balance the needs of visitors and wildlife, if only some visitors had the same respect and didn't drop their litter I'm sure the workload on Philip would be eased.

The toilet block next to Reception is slightly dated, but always clean. I was concerned to see only two showers but never had to wait. I've been in a lot worse. Hubby says the Gents was clean too.

Well stocked information room, laundry and pot wash areas were also always well maintained.

The shop was not over priced and sold chilled wine - makes a nice change, plus the usual necessities and Slushies and sweets and ice creams.

The river is obviously a great attraction. We took our inflatable but didn't use it as the water level was apparently low and we could see too many rocks just under the surface, but others were happily floating around and swimming. The beach and cobbled areas are lovely, and people were having barbecues and fires there at night.

The whole atmosphere was relaxing and wonderful, I can't understand the reviewer who complained about shuffling bins and unfriendly staff, they were marvellous and worked so hard morning till night. They have a real pride in their site and it shows.

Thank you Philip and Judith - we will definitely return x 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smfstoz 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this lovely site, we found it was just as good as last year's trip. We were even better prepared as we had purchased river shoes to paddle in the river, and remembered swimming gear. Only problem we found was a long walk to the toilet block, (always clean and plenty of hot water though) but our choice as we wanted to be near the beach. Thankyou - we will return again next year 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Burton 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a long weekend after a recommendation from a friend (and checking the other reviews)

Excellent site, Judith was extremely welcoming and friendly, pointing out local attractions and offering advice on the fishing options on the river (water was low so not much to catch)

The site is lovely, clean and well maintained, and despite being pitched near a very large group, we never felt over-looked and this meant it was a lovely relaxing break. Pitched near the river, which was a very refreshing dip in the baking heat.

There's a small, but very well stocked shop on site, which offers most of the stuff you'd need when camping, cash only (at time of visit) but they were getting a card doodad installed.

Our only criticism (Sorry Judith and Phil) was that they could benefit from a couple of extra family showers, or perhaps another block near the far end of the site, as there was often a queue for the washrooms / showers etc, but this was in no way detrimental to the stay.

On a side note: this site is only a mile or so from Lightwater Valley, so is a great base for that, and we would happily return tomorrow if given the chance!

Lovely site, lovely people, excellent location, can't wait for our next trip - hopefully this time with trout to be caught! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scruffy Wuffys1 14 reviews from this member

 This sites crowning glory is its location/setting. The River Ure meanders along its boundary. The site offers easy access to the river for further exploration a spot of fishing or canoeing/kayaking. You can sit and watch the sand martins and kingfishers and the occasional visit of a heron or two. Feed the duck families that seem very happy to waddle up to the site for a visit and a piece of bread or two.

The site itself it 'zoned', Riverside, Island Electric/non electric. Some of the pitches seem a little bit too close to each other. Some the the caravan pitches boarder very close to the drive/entrance but they appeared to be 'seasonal'. There are two toilet/shower blocks, one information room a laundry and the reception that doubles up as a shop. There is also a self catering flat but we didn't see this.

The shower blocks are tired and dated. The showers very small and limited for size. One of the blocks did have a family shower room but the shower in this room keeps tripping (the sign on the wall tells you this) and I found it to be smelly and dirty and badly laid out with the litter bin and sanitary bin right next to the shower and constantly getting wet. All the shower curtains were dirty and smelt fusty. Squeegies were provided but I personally would have liked to mop the floor and clean down the walls that were festooned with hair.

The usual situation at these sites, some people clean up after themselves but the vast majority just don't care what they leave behind.

We read the reviews before booking and thought we were going somewhere outstanding, what we got was an outstanding setting and an OK site.

We arrived before 1pm and were made to wait in the carpark area because they do not book in until 1pm. Although their own literature and website only states if you arrive before 1pm you MAY BE ASKED to wait for your pitch to be vacant. We had to wait with about 5 other couples, some who had arrived earlier than us and were also been made to wait until 1pm. We sat as it turned out just 100 yards from our empty pitch but still had to wait for no apparent reason. Then joined the queue that had formed to get booked in to then move our car and van just 100 yards, all of which just seemed crazy and totally unnecessary. We walked round the site and there were plenty of vacant pitches to accommodate everyone waiting so why force people at the beginning of their holiday/short break to wait for NO REASON, all it seems to do is block up the entrance and car park and upset people. I could understand if we had arrived at 9am, but we arrived at 12. 20pm.

The owners/manager (we understand that they are new) were not particularly friendly or welcoming. We watched with bemusement as one of them played dustbin shuffle daily until late at night right in front of the Riverside area. Not particularly nice to hear the constant noise from the lawnmower come dustbin mover and the industrial sized bins been wheeled from one place to another - we thought it was a meant to be a tranquil site. We were then treated to the dustbin men early on Fri morning emptying the large number of bins, we also got the chemical waste industrial emptier - delightful smell! Its not that we don't appreciate these things need doing, but its such a shame that this all goes on right infront of the most expensive pitches - bad design and planning of the site perhaps! We also noticed that our electric hook up had no cover over it so was open to the elements - a tad dangerous.

All in all rather a disappointment, but we cannot deny that the setting was lovely. Just a good job that we have a shower and good facilities in our van but rather fed up that we paid a lot of money for a site with facilities that were not adequate. It always bemuses me as to why you have to pay (in this case 2. 50 a night) for a porch awning when it is within the boundary of the pitch that you are already paying for. Its summer its not as if we have a heater on its just somewhere to kick off your shoes and sit out if the weather is not so good.

People with small children please be careful as the river is very close and not fully fenced off, whilst we were there one small child wandered off but luckily another caravanner spotted them before anything bad happened. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen Back 4 reviews from this member

 We were recommended the site by a colleague, and having looked at the equally good reviews on this website, decided to book in for six nights. So very glad that we did. Friendly welcome from Judith and Philip who are very obliging and manage a lovely site. Well maintained and clean facilities, lashings of hot water, lovely scenery. All the other good reviews about this site are true. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bramble2 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit and had a lovely stay on the Island

The management team Judith and Phillip were amazing, friendly, informative and extremely efficient

There hard work is visible everywhere

The site is beautifully maintained and immaculate throughout

There are hard standing areas available

Then through to the island with non-electric and electric hook ups a wonderfully eclectic mix of caravans, campers, and a huge array of tents in all shapes sizes and colours including the odd bell tent/yurt.

A security gate through for which you are issued a pass code

The facilities are spotless, all times of the day and night

And as well as the usual showers, toilets, wash basins, hair drier, washing up areas and so on There are many fresh water taps, dirty water disposals and with many chemical disposal areas.

You never have to carry, drag or roll far

There is a laundry room and information room - again immaculate

And a quaint shop, as if like me there are always bits you forget

Then the river and beach. Yes beach where you can dip your toe, kayak or fly fish. Ahh not to forget the mini beast hotel

Everything catered for with fine tuning toward nature

This truly is a beautiful spot and every care is taken to ensure it remains unspoilt

The whole site is idyllic, cannot wait for our next visit

Now if only they could control the weather and order in some sunshine for our next jaunt. ;o) 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


977 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020