Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park
Sleningford Watermill
North Stainley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3HQ
Tel: 01765 635201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: April (or Easter) To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Emst78 1 review from this member

Fantastic weekend here. Booked last minute what a find. Located next to the River Ure which we used everyday.

The site is clean tidy and the staff are great. We are booking to go back again.

Highly recommend if you like swimming or canoes etc.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ziggy Martin 3 reviews from this member

Myself and my family have been to Sleningford many times now. This is a great campsite with the added bonus of the river and small beach, spot on for water sports.

Always clean and plenty of space.

Nice little walk to the local village /pub.

The site can get busy on Fridays /Saturdays due to the amount of kayakers. It is in our top 5 sites.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StripeyM 1 review from this member

We absolutely loved this campsite! It is very well organised and well kept. We had great weather and had fun playing on the river.

You get given lists of rules for the dog, kids etc when you arrive which seemed a bit overkill but they were all reasonable and the approach seems to work because all adults, kids and dogs we came across were very well behaved! There were a few big groups staying but no bother at all with noise or any other hassle.

Toilets/showers kept very clean. Freezers for ice packs provided and decent little shop.

Only downside was having to keep the dog on the lead even at the river - it was hot so he needed to cool off which wasn't easy on the short lead we had. But this is a small thing - we had a brilliant time and the site is fantastic, we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: John+Brenda 13 reviews from this member

Returned again to this fabulous site I can not fault it at all.

Stayed for 5 nights over the spring bank holiday with our group in the horseshoe area.

Toilets spotless Staff fantastic.

This site is so picturesque.

The children loved the river and beach area.

Not much more I can say such a fab site and all the group loved it.

We will all be coming back again.

Thank you to all the staff

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MaryKin 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to the site, this time a two night stay on our way travelling further south. Last time we stayed the site was pretty well full during the school holidays but this time was very quiet mid-week before the holiday began.

As last time we very much enjoyed our stay. The booking process (which involved filling in an online form after telephoning) was a bit complex but we know that the site caters for complex group bookings so they have probably found that necessary.

A hard working family running the site do so with meticulous attention to running a 'tight ship'.

Spacious pitches, spotlessly clean facilities (though some distance from the furthest parts of the site) and walking distance to excellent food in the village.

The location of the site makes it ideal for relaxing as well as touring the area.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 13 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic 3 days over the bank holiday weekend.

What a beautiful place well kept and clean.

Great staff on hand at all times all ways working hard.

Toilet and showers spotless plenty hot water.

The river runs by the site with a beach all the children loved it.

We where in a large group with tents and caravans in the horse shoe section.

Everyone said this is one of the best sites we have been on a gem.

The only downside was we had to come home.

Thank you Sleningford for a fabulous 3 days we will be back.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - and such a lovely one.

We're glad you and all the gang had such a good time! Hope you'll all be back next year!
Best wishes
Judith

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 20 reviews from this member

Two adults, two teens, dog & 6 man tent.

Location was great for us, just a 45 minute drive from home yet felt like we were a million miles away. Only 2 miles from Lightwater Valley so we spent a day there during our stay.

Facilities were ample and cleaned regularly; lovely atmosphere on site; wonderful beach area where you can launch kayaks, canoes etc; great information room with leaflets a plenty; wonderful, warm & friendly customer service & fairly priced.

Can't wait to return!

Management response: Thank you so much for your review and I'm sorry we didn't respond earlier. We must not have spotted our last 2 reviews from last season and only noticed them when we checked out a 2017 review.
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and found everything in good order. We hope you'll be back this year.
Many thanks and best wishes
Judith

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bryanfan 8 reviews from this member

First definitely won't be the last visit, we camped on the section near the car park as being a wheelchair user not far to get to the toilet/shower. Washing machines available, there is a shop that seemed to sell all sorts from newspapers and wine to fishing nets for the children. After speaking to Judith about the problem I had managing the door she will be speaking to the builder to arrange a sliding door to make access easier.

This really is a lovely site we arrived on the Saturday and it was full but by Sunday it was deserted so peaceful. Always busy weekends and would think during school hols. Told my daughter how good it was and she took her three boys they loved it even without their iPads etc, spent ages playing in the river, no need for a playground. Even in my electric wheelchair I managed to get around most of the site for a walk round on an evening, spotting plenty of rabbits. Hoping to get a long weekend before end of September.

Management response: Thank you so much for your review and I'm sorry we didn't respond earlier. We must not have spotted our last 2 reviews from last season and only noticed them when we checked out a 2017 review.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found things reasonably accessible. We've spoken to the builder and when we have the shower block refurbished, the necessary adjustments will be made. This winter we had the other shower block fully refurbished, so hopefully not too long before we can proceed to the courtyard facilities. Meanwhile we hope we'll see you this summer at some point.
Best wishes
Judith

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony_brown 9 reviews from this member

Plenty of reviews here on this site more than adequately sum up the quality of the facilities, good service, friendly owners, beautifully maintained site and superb location by the River Ure. It is all of that and more. We have just returned home this evening, after a great family weekend with four family members and their children, and can not fault the site.

Another loo/shower block further up the site would have been brilliant for us with young children but this is not a negative comment.

The site quietens down at 11:00pm and the only noise to keep you awake are the owls and rabbits at night and the wood pigeons at dawn !

We visited 'Lightwater Valley Theme Park' for just £25 per person on a special offer and next day entry offer (a couple of miles away) on two days of our stay, with the children visiting the 'Treetop Nets' (High Ropes) attraction again at Lightwater Valley this morning (whilst we packed away) and spent this afternoon at 'The Forbidden Corner' (30 minutes away) and we look forward to returning to this site soon.

Ripon is 5 miles away as is Masham and further afield a host of Yorkshire tourist attractions.

Highly recommended.

Management response: Thank you for your generous and thoughtful review.

We're glad you had such a good time and managed to enjoy so many of the excellent tourist attractions in the area. We're particularly glad you found it quiet at night, as this is very important to us.

Hope to see you again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thedamester 1 review from this member

Stunning location, ideal for visiting the Dales but only 15 mins drive from local shops in Ripon.

Site is beautifully maintained and we chose a pitch where we were overlooking the river which added to our enjoyment. They have a small shop which stocks basics, including pre-ordered newspapers. Owner is very knowledgeable about the area and most helpful and available if you need him.

This is a very large site spread over separate areas. Be aware that it will get very busy during school holidays and weekends. A little noisy for us for this reason as we are used to quieter adult sites.

I think the site would warrant 10/10 overall if there could be an adult only section during peak times. Mobile reception is very poor. Not much they can do about this! Thoroughly recommend

Management response: Thank you for your thoughtful review.

We're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your riverside location. We will certainly give thought to your suggestion.

Hope to see you again next year.

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019