Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park
Sleningford Watermill
North Stainley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3HQ
Tel: 01765 635201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at this lovely campsite. We booked to go with friends and we were able to pitch next to each other. The pitch sizes were huge. We had EHU and were on the island part.

The toilet and shower block were only a short walk from our pitch. These were kept clean at all times. The shower cubicles were a little small but you are only in a few minutes then out again. There were four sinks for washing your dishes. The reception block was only a short walk away. The owners Kay and Andy are very friendly and helpful. The shop in reception stocks some essentials and you can order newspapers too.

The big attraction on the site has to be the River Ure which runs through the site. There is a small beach area which our kids used to paddle in. There were a few campers using their kayaks which looked fun. We did have a whole day and night of torrential rain and I was amazed at how swollen the river became so quickly. The beach area was then non existent. After a few days the water did subside and it was safe to paddle again.

We walked to the neighbouring village West Tanfield along the riverbank. Our boys took their bikes which was fine initially but then the path became unsuitable to cycle on so I would advise the bikes be left behind. It only took us 20 minutes to walk to the village. We visited the 'Bull Inn' which has one of Yorkshires finest riverside beer gardens. The real ale and food were delicious and reasonably priced.

During our week stay, we visited a few of the visitor attractions in the surrounding area. Lightwater Valley is only a five minute drive away. The Forbidden Corner is also a must but needs to be booked online prior to visiting. We went to the the pretty village of Hawes and visited the Wensleydale Creamery. A day trip to Mother Shiptons cave was also a great day out. We parked in the grounds of the park and were able to walk around Knaresborough. If you are visiting this part of the country, don't forget to visit some of the markets which are held weekly in various towns in the area. There is a list of which markets are on what days in reception.

We hope to return to this great well run site sometime in the future. We just wish it was not so far away! 
Management response: Thank you for your comments, we're extremely grateful for them as always.

We enjoy hearing about our campers trips out to the local attractions and pubs and it's nice to know you had such great experiences out and about too.

Thanks again, Kay & Andy


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skyblue71 2 reviews from this member

 Went for weekend with the highlight to visit nearby Lightwater Valley. Pitch allocated was in a relatively quiet part of the site, good size and no problems pitching the tent. Some large groups were also on the site (seemed to be scouts/schools) but noise levels were fine. The single toilet block was a fair walk from our pitch but facilities were clean and wasn't really an issue. Kids loved the location with the nearby river to paddle in and plenty of trees to climb. 
Management response: Thank you for your comments. During your stay we had a local Children's Home bring children in their care out for a camping trip, they do this several times a year with us and each time it is lovely to find them also enjoying the site and behaving so well. We're glad you and your children also enjoyed
our site and the facilities.

Many thanks, Kay & Andy (Managers)


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morris62 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the weekend, campsite was very clean and looked after, on arrival we were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young couple, after being shown to our pitch which was on the 'Riverside' we set up camp.

Toilet and shower block was adequate but a little dated.

The beach area look very good and the children playing there seemed to be enjoying it, There was a party of canoeist that set off form the site, as the site charge a small fee to launch from it beach unless you are staying there.

The site shop was small but supplied most things you have forgotten to bring.

The only down side was we were next but one to the barrier which Leads to 'The Island' every time it opens it changed noise and it closed with such a bang, even though the was a foot bridge the children rode their bikes under the gates to their delight of the noise it made.

Would we return? Yes we would, but not in school holidays or the height of season. And not near the barrier! 
Management response: Thank you for your comments. We work hard to keep our facilities clean and tidy, especially at busy times and we very much appreciate you leaving such
kind remarks.

We're very sorry about the noise you experienced from the barrier, we would have been more than happy to move you if you had let us know it was causing you such an issue during your stay. We would like you to know that a technician was called recently to silence the barrier as much as possible which he succeeded in doing.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 25 reviews from this member

 Found check in a bit basic as no chat about surrounding area, or even the normal run down of on site facilities, including the need to pre order daily paper. Followed directions given but no map to assist, but easily found our pitch No34 on The Island. Grass reasonably trimmed but ground neither dead level nor flat, but very good size.

We were never visited to check that everything was ok and that we had pitched to the required rules and on this note we never saw anyone patrolling the site to check rules were being adhered to all the time that we were there.

Definitely needs another toilet/shower block adding to the existing facilities as where we were at far end is not only a trek but if you were to go at sensible time we are pretty sure you would be waiting for showers, but ok if, like us go early[6ish], there is no problem.

This is one of the better sites for the use of the on site river where there is plenty of good access for swimming and playing around in small inflatables etc, and there is a nice sandy beach area as well.

Would definitely go again but it will be midweek as very busy with families and groups. 
Management response: Thank you for your comments.

We are very much aware that our customers make long journeys to visit us and not everyone wants to know everything about the area immediately upon check-in however, we are always more than happy to suggest walks etc if you ask us. We regularly print directions for guests, book them tables at restaurants, purchase them tickets to attractions and suggest things to do. There is also an information room on site stocked with a wide range of tourist information.

We most certainly make ourselves available 24 hours a day, with a bell at reception for any out of hours concerns and during the day, the office and shop are always manned with regular opening hours on the door.

The mini-tractor is no longer used for checking round the site as this was unnecessary noise for our campers but I can assure you that we still make regular patrols on foot, checking the toilet facilities every 2-3 hours.

We can only apologise if you did not notice our presence but we can assure you, it was and is most definitely there.

Over 90% of our campers are return custom for many years and we take great care in what we do here.


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noggsy 1 review from this member

 I visited this site with my family, including two young children and another family of four, also with young children. We stayed for a single night as an introduction to camping for our friends.

The site is strung out along a beautiful stretch of the River Ure. Pitches are level and the site well kept without being too 'manicured'.

We received a warm welcome in the office which doubles as a reasonably well-stocked shop and were directed to our camping area.

We camped on the 'island' without electric hook-up. There are no designated pitches in this area which meant we could choose a spot that suited us - not too close to the river and not too far from the toilet block.

The toilet and shower facilities were nothing special but perfectly adequate and clean. Maybe it was because we had only a brief stay but I didn't find any recycling facilities.

We had terrific weather and could not have had a better time; the children had a wonderful time playing in the river and chasing around the grounds. Despite two of the children being under three years old, we did not feel worried by the proximity of the river as it is fenced off for most of the length of the riverbank.

We did not leave the site during our stay but, being local to the area, I would recommend Newby Hall, in between Ripon and Boroughbridge for a great family day out.

I would recommend this site, in a lovely corner of North Yorkshire, to anyone. 
Management response: Thank you for your comments.

We understand how you missed our current recycling facilities as they are located just in the main courtyard area, not on the Island but we are working on better signage to help.

We're so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks again, Kay & Andy

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernardthepug 2 reviews from this member

 We've visited this site four times per the past 6 months and on every occasion have had a wonderful time and been able to relax. The site is very well maintained and is large enough to accommodate a lot of campers without feeling penned in.

The toilets and showers are very nice and cleaned every two hours by staff. The site itself is split nicely and has large areas to plot in. There is a small shop on site with most items that you'd urgently need, with the staff being very friendly.

It's location is fantastic and within easy reach of Ripon centre or even a quiet pub just a 15 minute walk away.

We will return next season and would recommend this site. 
Management response: Thank you so much for such lovely comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

It's great to know that the facilities and natural landscaping helped you to enjoy your stay and that you'd be recommending us for future visits.

Many thanks, Kay & Andy (Managers)


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sue Beadle 12 reviews from this member

 Just came back from the bank holiday weekend at this site and it was wonderful. The welcome was great and we were escorted to our pitch which was at the end of the 'Island'. A very nice, peaceful pitch with our own private beach, although it was a trek to the facilities.

We visited Brigham rocks for the day, about 20 minutes away, although it is only for the energetic, I visited the cafe.

We went to the Bull for a meal on Sunday night, quite nice, but a little expensive.

I would recommend this site to anyone, but watch out for the river banks as some are quite steep. 
Management response: Thank you for your comments, your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Kay & Andy (Managers)


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buckingham30 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a larger group.

The wardens were friendly and efficient and directed us to our pitch by a small tractor.

The site is next to the river Ure (which was raging after a night's heavy rain). It was a great attraction for both young and older. The facilities were fine, (we've seen worse and better), although we had to work out where the fresh water and rubbish bin areas were.

The main negative for us (and for those only with tents) was the long walk to the toilets and showers (as the site is long and thin). So if you are in a tent ask for a pitch near to the facilities if this may be an issue for you.

The site is situated in a rural spot, but the towns of Ripon and Masham are a short drive away. I understand basic provisions are available at reception, but we did not use this service.

Seems a great site for families with children (lots staying there). Lightwater Valley is very near, so a great base for that. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Princesschrissie 3 reviews from this member

 Facilities:- plenty of toilets and showers. The water did go lukewarm the day I had my shower late in the morning. Freezer in the laundry for freezing blocks. A shop however we never used it so I can't comment.

Location:- good location, near to Ripon and Masham by car. Not sure about if you wanted to walk anywhere. If you had children I don't think you were in walking distance of anything suitable. The river was lovely.

Noise:- quiet on site but if water would keep you awake you could hear the flow of the river.

Pitch size- variable. Pitch 1 looked quite small. Our group had pitches 2-4. This was lovely but it was near to the part of the river flowing down a gradient so it was noisy, however I use earplugs when camping! Grass was kept lovely.

Customer service:- reception lady seemed quite abrupt and 'sergeant' like but would answer any queries. Perhaps it was just her way. Plenty of rules to follow around the site however not a problem. It just seemed a little strict at first.

We would visit the site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsed20 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay on this lovely site. We stayed on pitch 17 on 'the island' in the oak area and were escorted to our pitch.

The island was split into sections and even though the site was full the day we arrived there was a real feeling of space due to the way the decent sized pitches were clustered together with a large space in the middle for the children to play.

There was a little beach area just down the the river bank which our children loved to play on but you have to be a little wary of letting little ones wander far on this site due to the fast flowing river (common sense really).

The river was also well fenced off, allowing access at certain points only. At first I thought this site would have benefited from a park, but as our stay went on I thought actually no, it's not really necessary.

The long road through the area was ideal for kids cycling and scooting, and lots of the people staying there were set up for fun on the river (wet suits, kayaks etc).

Facilities were fine, clean, hot showers, 4 sociable wash up sinks under cover - all situated in a triangular central block that my daughter named 'the wigwam'. There was another block in the main courtyard where the caravans were situated too. Never used the shop but it was there if you needed it.

To top it all, a couple of pubs about a mile down the road, decent supermarkets in masham and ripon (5 miles away each), and lightwater valley on your doorstep if desired. Would recommend the 'law and order trail' in ripon - under 20 for an annual family ticket allows access to the workhouse, courthouse and police and prison museums.

Fantastic stay, get yourself there! 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement