Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pont Kemys Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Site Reviews

Pont Kemys Caravan Park
Chainbridge
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 9DS
Tel: 01873 880688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 101 Reviews
                9/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Vinegars 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a four night break, and I was thrilled with the site, I could not stop talking about it. Such a well maintained site, spotless showers & toilets. Very much liked the separate areas holding about 6-8 vans or tents, with well kept hedges. At about 45 miles from home, this will be a well used site for us when we want to get away for a few days, without travelling too far. Thanks for a nice site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carnec2002 8 reviews from this member

Well what can I say that hasn't been said already by previous reviewers? As newbies to touring caravanning it was refreshing to be greeted by charming owners and fantastic facilities. We inherited a 24 year old 2 berth caravan which had been on a storage site for the past 10 years. After giving a full service we opted to take it on tour to a local site to familiarise ourselves with the van and towing.

Our 2 day experience at Pont Kemys was resounding success.

We've tented all around Europe on a number of occasions and this site is an equal to the best sites we have stayed at over there. In terms of facilities this site is excellent. We had a fully serviced pitch in the adultís only section of the site. Our hard standing came with Water, Electric, TV hook up and waste water drainage. Communal facilities are modern and well maintained.

I have noticed that previous reviewers have commented on the noise that passing motor cycles generate as they pass the site. The road adjacent to the site is a road favoured by bikers from all over the country as are many rural roads throughout Wales. As far as we were concerned it caused us no angst.

As the end of August is fast approaching we have already booked a four day stay at the end of the month and hope to get another visit in before the end of season. The great thing about touring vans versus tents is you don't have to ensure everything is dry before departure. Hook up and go is our future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenturner 7 reviews from this member

I am just back from Pont Kemys. I can not speak highly enough about the site and especially the owners Brian and Rose, who could not have been nicer. I was staying in the area for a singing event and when I mentioned the name of the town, they knew other campers who were staying for the same event and were disappointed that they had not known so that they could put together.

The Toilet block was amongst the cleanest I've seen, with no queues at any of the times I visited it. There is a Laundry and Washup area with Microwave. The recycling area was also very well organised.

There is a small shop at reception. I appreciated being able to buy small quantities, eg 1 egg, when camping alone you don't need 6 eggs!

Would I come back? in the blink of an eye.

Would I change anything? Yes - stay longer!

Others have mentioned road noise. This was not something I noticed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MonsterBear 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night over this weekend at very short notice. Bryan and Rose had to cope with us cancelling first thing as the thunder came in then turning up as the sun broke through; all very confusing and they were very understanding and made us feel welcome.

Great location 8 miles from Abergavenny and 5 Miles from Raglan. Plenty to see and do in the area from walking through trekking, etc.

Good pub 300 yards down the road at the Chainbridge and, being Abergavenny, plenty more good places to eat within 15 minutes drive.

Abergavenny has Aldi, Tesco Express and Waitrose if you're felling flush. Usk, which is closer, has a co-op.

Plenty of TiC stuff in reception and the toilet block.

The toilet block deserves a special mention. Easily the best toilets we've ever had camping in Wales and arguably anywhere we've stayed. Spotless facilities and plenty of space. No silly 'extras' like 20p for a shower; and the shower button stayed in long enough so you didn't do the one hand wash thing just to keep the water flowing.

The site is sheltered with plenty of hedging. Pitches were level, with reasonable space and there are picnic benches scattered about. If you don't want electric with your tent then the tent only field is secluded and surrounded by trees.

The site is beautifully maintained and Bryan does a circuit before bedtime and gates closed at 10:00pm. The heavy duty gates mean no risk of unexpected cars at night.

We may have only stayed one night but we'll be going back as our short break weekend site of choice.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valellis 8 reviews from this member

Lovely clean and well looked after site with a fantastic adults only section. Showers were superb, spotlessly clean. Only thing I could fault was the noisy motorbikes up and down the main road outside which is no fault to the site owners. Several seasonal pitches and these people were so friendly which made our stay more enjoyable. Would not hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carabee 5 reviews from this member

This site is beautifully situated on the banks of the River Usk, and very central for Southeast Wales. Site is very clean and well maintained and the facilities are first class, with excellent dog walking space, a very useful shop, but lousy phone connections (OK off site a little way)if that's important.

Overall a brilliant site with friendly helpful people

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doubletrouble22 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 8 nights. Its our second visit to the site which is beautiful. We again stayed in the Adults only section where all pitches are fully serviced and include a picnic bench which is a nice touch. The facilities here are spotless. There are a lot of sited caravans here but the site is very peaceful. We had lovely weather so enjoyed sitting out here and relaxing. There is a field set aside for a dog walk and bins provided, we have 2 dogs and found this very handy.

There is a lovely garden centre in Raglan to visit. Ideal base for Abergavenney (market on Tuesdays)Usk, Monmouth, and Ross on Wye.

A truly lovely site and we will be returning again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NannyP 4 reviews from this member

Very clean toilet and shower block with plenty of hot water. Campsite was busy as it was a bank holiday weekend took my two grandchildren aged 3 and 4 plus our dog. Children had a brilliant time playing on their bikes, they could also have played with their ball on the allocated football pitch. Very relaxing weekend, road outside could be a little busy in the day but quiet at night.

This is our second visit to this site the last was in March this year, booking was easy and the couple who owns pont kemys were friendly and visible throughout the site.

Would I go Back YES most definitely.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bechoe 5 reviews from this member

Back again for a season opener and another wet weekend. Pitch took a little draining which is to be expected but the cleanliness of this site meant that the showers and toilets were always immaculate.

Not too much for the children to do, but there is small patch set aside for ball games.

Good little shop on site, walking distance to a very reasonable golf course with bar open to the public.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nikola 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned for the most amazingly relaxing Easter weekend at Pont Kemys. The campsite has absolutely the cleanest facilities I have ever seen at a campsite! Well done to the site owners. The toilets and showers were warm and clean, the dish washing facilities were fab with massive sinks and steaming hot water, again very clean. The site is beautiful and simple, lovely surroundings and safe space for kids to play. We experienced a horrendous storm while we were there but the fields had drained well by the next morning and we enjoyed the thrill of a wild thunder storm in our little caravan! Bliss.

The site is near Usk, the most gorgeous little town which is well worth a visit, and Abergavenny which is larger with a market hall. There are many castles within a close distance and loads of tourist attractions and would recommend the area to everyone. Very beautiful.

I loved this site and will be coming again very soon. Thank you

Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Monmouthshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019