Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pont Kemys Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Site Reviews

Pont Kemys Caravan Park
Chainbridge
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 9DS
Tel: 01873 880688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggsdive 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time here with my friend. We had a good week. Good walking! We had a very good pitch surrounded by hedges. Hosts unbelievable - polite and full of joy.

The site is very holistically clean. No faults at all. Will recommend to others and will use again. Thanks again for a good holiday, hope the cards have been used.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

My husband and I booked this lovely site after seeing the reviews left on this site and we were not disappointed.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were met with a warm welcome by the site owners. The site is predominately made up of two areas, one of which is reserved for adults only. In this area the pitches are hard standing and are fully serviced having their own waste water disposal points, electric and aerial sockets.

You can hire for a £5 refundable deposit an aerial cable and the TV reception is pretty good!

The adult area is situated in amongst young trees and is very pretty. Although the road does run adjacent to the site, we did not find this a problem.

The toilet and shower block are spotless and there are also washup and laundry facilities together with a TV room.

Just 5 minutes walk away is the Chainbrige Inn. We had a meal here, pretty standard, but the staff were very friendly. I would imagine when the weather is good, the large sun deck over looking the river would be lovely. Unfortunately, when we were visiting the weather was dreadful! However, there is a lovely looking pub called the Black Bear just 1 mile away, but it does not open Sunday nights, Mondays and food is only served Wed - Sat nights.

Nearby is the pretty town of Usk, which is worth a visit - the church is quite impressive. Abergavenny has a great museum set in the castle remains (free entry).

All in all, this is a lovely quiet site and we would recommend this.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DebraWoods 5 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a long weekend here with mixed feelings. On arrival we were put onto a small camping field where there were 2 parties of approx 3 tents each, one of which already had music playing etc. We expressed concerns as we have a 1 year old daughter but were not offered an alternative. We had no sleep that night as there was singing & music until the early hours. We were hoping that this would be dealt with by the site, however at 2.30am we had to ask one of the parties to be quiet ourselves. We complained the following morning and were offered an alternative pitch (no easy feet to move a 5 person tent!).

We spent the rest of our stay in a lovely spot, the rest of the site was quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The facilities were good, toilet block was clean although there are no cubicles with sinks in which I have found really useful at other sites when the showers are busy.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevtamuk 2 reviews from this member

This a gorgeous well run site along side the river.

The owners were very helpful and have a well stocked shop.

The site is well laid out and as a family of four with two other couples we found it a perfect site for us. Tidy, clean, not too big or noisy, with a fantastically clean toilet / shower block. Also it had recycling facilities which is always good to see

We only stayed 2 nights but will definitely be returning in the future

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fabdogs 3 reviews from this member

This is a very nice, well kept site with one of the cleanest shower blocks I have been in. On arrival the owners were very kind and found us a quiet corner pitch in the adults only section, which is normally reserved for caravans and motorhomes, from our point of view a big plus.
The grounds are well cared for and the dog walk was excellent, a path leading through trees to a large field next to the river. The Chainbridge Inn, 300 yds along the road is in an idyllic setting next to the river Usk, unfortunately from our point of view not such idyllic clientèle.
Would recommend the pretty walk along the Usk valley into the town the town of Usk which has a very pretty square, about 9 miles in all. I would certainly return to this site, however, the only minus point and a big minus for us as we do like peace and quiet, is the road, there is a lot of traffic noise for a B road, which starts early in the morning until late evening and it appears to be a favourite route for motorcylists at the weekends, otherwise can't fault the site or the area.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steveinbristol 1 review from this member

We used the site for a group trip ( four tents, eleven people, one dog ) and were very pleased with the site. The owners were charming , friendly and helpful. The weather was, mostly, appalling, but we still managed to have a fun weekend.
The site is leafy and attractive and well placed for Abergavenny and Usk, towns which are well worth exploring. The camping field is not particularly large and I would suggest booking a pitch in advance at busy times.
The facilities on site are very impressive. Toilets, showers, washing up area, recycling and waste disposal - all excellent. Very clean and neat. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend the site to anyone. Caravanners looked very pleased with their lot too.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janntana 6 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site!

Booked for just one night as it is only 12 miles from my house and wanted to try it out but felt as if I was miles away. The site is like something out of a catalogue with perfect kept grass, bushes, hedges and foliage.

The toilets are amazing and as for the free showers, oh my god, they're HUGE!

There is a great pub less than a 5 minute walk away right by the river, lush.

The road running along outside the site didn't realy give us any annoying noise but as the weather was stunning whilst we were there the motorbikes were out doing what they do best in the sun, going very fast, which was a little noisey.

We booked a few days before but got there a little late in the day but were stil offered some nice pitches. Get there early if you book.

The only bad thing I would have to say would be that there are no bins dotted around the site, just one large recycling area and some big bins by the toilets.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alison Rees 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a Spring Bank holiday break at this site.

The owners were very helpful, especially when booking, as our party grew from one caravan to three. The facilities were spotlessly clean and well laid out.

Just a note to anyone interested in kayaking - there's no access to the Usk allowed from site. Llangors resevoir (approx 40 mins away, past Abergavenny), has good facilities for kayaking. Launching fee applicable, also boats for hire, cafe and toilet facilities.

Would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graemeho 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a weekend at the Pont Kemys site. Very impressed by everything at the site. The tent area whilst small, is beautifully positioned inbetween trees and the river.(fenced off for children). Reception has a small shop toilets etc are fantastic. In keeping with loo of the year award.

There is a small football pitch for the children, but no play park. The chainbridge pub is 300m away. Good honest pub . No credit cards. Patio would be lovely on a sunny day as overlooks the river.

Overall highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TITO 4 reviews from this member

A very nice site. A friendly welcome and a choice of pitches. The reception shop seemed to have a good selection of most of the things you may need. We were very impressed with the shower and toilet block, it was of a very high standard and spotlessly clean. We took a short stroll to the nearby pub which served a good pint of cask ale and even had an open fire and a lovely riverside location. Only stayed one night but would definitely return again.

Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019