Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pont Kemys Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pont Kemys Caravan Park Reviews

Pont Kemys Caravan Park
Chainbridge
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 9DS
Tel: 01873 880688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Martin1603m 1 review from this member

Simply superb. Amazing site in beautiful surroundings. Great owners always very friendly and helpful. The pitch we had in the adults only part were fully serviced and a good size. All this and only 20 minutes from home. We have booked again for August bank holiday. Many thanks.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bikes 3 reviews from this member

So I booked a pitch for a tent no electricity £20 per night which

Is a premium rate. The reviews I read convinced me the site was worth it.

Checked in with reception which had a very useful little store inside

Operated by very friendly helpful staff, was given the option of where to pitch tent.

I choose the tent only field no dogs allowed.

Pitched tent on level well kept grass and checked out the facility’s,

The toilets/ showers were very clean and tidy, as were the wash room and laundry room.

They even have a family room. This really is a very good site.

However another camper sharing the field had the car stereo on loud as did a caravan in the adjoining field, also two of the occupants of the no dog field had dogs.

For me this site is not a premium tent site, which is a shame.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ddesantis 1 review from this member

Booked this site short notice and what a lovely surprise. We were welcomed onto the site and shown to our pitch. When I booked the receptionist put us in the adults only section but when we arrived this wasn't available but it didn't matter we were given a pitch right next to it. I wouldn't normally have thought about adult only anyway. They were very apologetic.

We stayed for 2 nights and everyone we met on site was very friendly.

The dog walk was great.

The showers and toilets were spotless and the water very hot.

We had lunch at the Chainbridge inn which was very good value and lovely food. We will definitely be back but next time I will request a pitch away from the road as it was noisy. All in all a lovely well kept site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silvertop 1 review from this member

A lovely quiet, peaceful site adjacent to the River Usk and surrounded by trees. The site is neat and tidy and with short grass very suitable for tents. The facilities block is very clean with most useful seats in the shower cubicles.

Although there is a separate camping area amongst trees, I chose a spot for my small tent in the general site area and liked the friendly aspect of this. There is an adults only area, probably just for caravans, which didn't appeal to me personally.

The site is well placed for walking Offa's Dyke Path and for visiting Chepstow, Monmouth, Usk and Abergavenny as well as local walking.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KathyK 1 review from this member

A really lovely campsite, we had a very large pitch for our motorhome, it even had it's own picnic table. All the pitches seemed to be very spacious. We had ehu with a water supply very close by. TV reception is not great unless you have a plug in lead to the site, but you can borrow one for free, or buy your own at a reasonable price.

The toilet and shower block were always spotless and there was a lovely dog walking field close by (dogs need to be on leads but with flexi leads they were happy!).

The owners were very helpful and basic provisions were available at their reception office.

The nearby Chainbridge Inn is now open again, dogs are welcome and the food very good. We only stayed two nights but would love to return to explore further afield.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miludra 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely campsite for a week after the Bank Holiday. The lady in Reception was so helpful giving us a lot of information about the area and details about a nearby walk that could be undertaken.

The dog walk was brilliant (the best one I have seen on a campsite).

The toilet block was spotless. It was very peaceful and there were several pubs nearby where one could eat an excellent meal. I thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

We stopped on the adult only part. Too many trees on this section, when the sun did come out we were for ever moving around to catch the Rays.

Pitches are a decent size. Showers, there are only 3 for all the site but we never struggled, also one of them is a large one with sink inside.

Pitches have all services including aerial connection which we liked.

The pub in the nearest village is not really walkable. We did it once but it's a lot further than you think.

To be honest the site is a nice clean site, the problem is there is absolutely nothing nearby.

Everything we did every day we had to drive to from around 20 to 50 mile each way every day so due to this we won't be going again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alboodaro 1 review from this member

We enjoyed a long May bank holiday weekend, stayed on the Adult only site opposite side to the road although the road is fairly quiet anyway except apparently on Sundays when there are loads of motorbikes. Although the whole club was pretty much full it's a lovely peaceful site and not all crammed in as so often can be the case, it caters for everyone caravans motorhomes and campers alike.

We had a fully serviced pitch which was a real treat, it had a large picnic table on it although we didn't get the opportunity to use it as it rained on and off all weekend.

The site is very well run and beautifully kept, very nice toilet/shower block and TV room should you fancy a bit of telly pick up a key from reception. There is a play area for children with goal posts but nothing else which some children seem to be enjoying.

Wonderful dog walking area acessed down a fully enclosed wooded area into a huge field mown around the perimeter.

We visited Usk castle so beautiful and only a £2 donation to get in, the chip shop opposite the square is worth a visit if you like brown crispy chips, their Irish curry sauce is good too smooth and spicy, there are a few benches in the square for you to enjoy them and watch the world go by! There is a One Stop and Co Op in the town, you could get basics in the shop on site if you needed to. We also tried the Chinese in Usk my husband thought it was lovely I was not so impressed, personal choice I think.

Abergavenny was our next stop but sadly we were not allowed in with our dogs so we were unable to visit, there is a wonderful meadow walk around it though which we enjoyed.

Raglan Castle was our next port of call (dog friendly) all I can say it is enchanting sadly we had horrendous rain so didn't stay as long as would have liked but will be returning, got some great photos though very dark moody sky before the heavens opened!

The Chainbridge pub within walking distance from the site is sadly closed waiting for new owners as per Rose the site owner who is lovely and friendly and informative. We found the 2 other pubs near by but didn't try them although chatted to someone who said the Foxhunter is excellent with plenty of parking.

We will definitely be coming back and would highly recommend this site to anyone.

I've given an overall rating of 9 because as not much for children but this didn't affect us but may not be enough for some families.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Islandboy 4 reviews from this member

As has been stated before this is a quiet site with excellent toilet and shower facilities. We were only 1 of 4 tourers on site as we were there at the beginning of the season. Good location for visiting places of interest and the market in Abergavenny on Tuesday was fascinating. Lots of different stalls with lots of local produce on sale.

Terrestrial TV reception isn't brilliant but we were loaned a cable from Reception to plug into the site network. This worked a treat.

The only problem for us, and this was down to the weather, was the field became a little boggy as the week wore on.

There is a small football pitch for the children which is near the entrance, but no other playing facilities.

The site provides free wifi.

We will return!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul and Jan 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for four nights in early August. Welcome was brilliant and extremely helpful. They even said don't pay up front as weather might be dodgy and you may want to leave earlier. Such trust was lovely. Shown our pitch which was in a quiet field adjacent to the caravans. Peaceful and quiet and flat.

Showers and toilet facilities were the best we've seen for many years - clean and loads of hot water. No queues. Cannot recommend this site highly enough and we will definitely go back.

Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019