Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pont Kemys Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Site Reviews

Pont Kemys Caravan Park
Chainbridge
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 9DS
Tel: 01873 880688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nikola 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned for the most amazingly relaxing Easter weekend at Pont Kemys. The campsite has absolutely the cleanest facilities I have ever seen at a campsite! Well done to the site owners. The toilets and showers were warm and clean, the dish washing facilities were fab with massive sinks and steaming hot water, again very clean. The site is beautiful and simple, lovely surroundings and safe space for kids to play. We experienced a horrendous storm while we were there but the fields had drained well by the next morning and we enjoyed the thrill of a wild thunder storm in our little caravan! Bliss.

The site is near Usk, the most gorgeous little town which is well worth a visit, and Abergavenny which is larger with a market hall. There are many castles within a close distance and loads of tourist attractions and would recommend the area to everyone. Very beautiful.

I loved this site and will be coming again very soon. Thank you

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yoggie5709 3 reviews from this member

Well we are Back again, We have used this site on numerous occasions over the past few years, The reasons we keep returning :- Great Location, Immaculate facilities and very Friendly proprietors.

Our visit this time, is again, no disappointment, the site is still immaculate, the toilet / shower blocks are second to none and of course the proprietors and staff are as pleasant as always. Its a pleasure to come to this site for a nice relaxing atmosphere, nothing is to much trouble for the staff and I must say that we have never come across anything to cause us to complain.

People in other reviews say about the adjacent road, the site is set in the middle of the country side, its farming area, the road is basically a wide country lane (wide enough to pass 2 vehicles easily) Yes you do get the odd Idiot motorcyclists who think they are on brands-hatch, but this has never disrupted our stay in any way.

The site is river side and the river isn't fenced off, however I would say that 99% OF THE TOURING UNITS ARE AWAY FROM THE RIVER, The units on the river side are Seasonal. There is an adults only section, but I must say, we have never been disturbed by children playing, There's a lovely grass area with goal posts set aside for children to play on, they can also ride there bikes around the road within the site, there is a 5mph speed limit, and a 1 way system is in place.

Will we return ??? Of course we will, I dare say we will have another few breaks here before this season is out, and of course, all being well, we will be back for many years to come. Highly Recommended site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feebee7 5 reviews from this member

We have visited this site on numerous occasions over the last 5 years. It is central to family caravanners from England and Wales. It is a well organised site, generous pitches and a warden who has become amenable to our requests to site our large family with a selection of different types of units all together. The warden is firm but fair for the benefit of all campers. The last time we went we stayed on the adults only pitches as we were childless for the first time, it was really nice to have this option. We will be back this year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meggie-lou 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from what was meant to be a 3 night stay but turned out to be a 2 night stay due to the rain. The site is lovely with good facilities, including a well stocked little shop with essentials such as milk, eggs, sausages and some toiletries. We received a warm welcome, and they were very helpful and showed us to our pitch. We were in the camping field, which was nice and had lots of picnic benches dotted around for use. On our pitch we could pick up the free wifi. The toilets and showers were always clean and tidy. We didn't use the tv lounge but we had a look it and it looked very nice. The site is near a road, but there wasn't much noise from it, only the occasional loud motorbike, but nothing too bad. The site is a 10/15minute to Abergavenny and a 10 minute drive in the other direction to Usk, so a good location. The Black Bear pub is nearby and worth a visit, as it served lovely food and good beer. Also, when we went to tell the people were going home early due to the rain, they very kindly gave us a refund for the unused night. We can't wait to return to this site, hopefully in the sunshine, and would definitely recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 26 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site. Before reviewing the actual site though, it should be pointed out with thanks to the owners that they allowed us quite a lot of visitors. It was my daughterís 5th birthday and as I am originally from the area, most of my extended family wanted to visit for a family BBQ. This was no problem for the owners who simply asked for a donation to their charity box Ė so, to the owners, thank you very much.

So, to the site itself. As Iíve said, itís excellent in every way. Itís a s easily as good as any Caravan Club site Iíve been on, but without the often ridiculous rules the CC often ruthlessly enforces without any use of discretion. We had a nice warm welcome and were shown to a lovely, well kept pitch of good size. We had a pitch with RHU and the EHU boxes also have TV sockets. Most pitches seem to have a wooden picnic table and benches either on the pitch itself or close by. Some pitches have a river view and there is even an adults only section if you want to avoid children.

The facilities are wonderful. I donít think Iíve been on a campsite where the toilets and showers were so well maintained. Even during a very wet weekend where there was inevitably a lot of dirty, wet feet around, the floors were always clean. The site has a small selection of food essentials in its shop but there is a Spar in nearby Goytre just up the road. There is also a pub there and a chip shop/tandoori take away. Usk isnít very far either but if you want a supermarket youíll need to venture to Pontypool or Abergavenny.

The site is very safe for the kids to go exploring etc though do be aware of the close proximity of the River Usk. Some previous reviews complain of the proximity to a road. We were quite close, but it never really bothered us and you quickly become acclimatised. All in all, this is a fantastic site and because of my family ties, it is one we will return to again and again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ashley66 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a wonderful 4 night stay at this site near USK spotless shower blocks, large pitches, whole site spotless, shop very basic but other shops short drive away. Lovely dog walking area but watch river fast moving! So watch your dogs when river high.

Adult only area wonderful nice to be away from the ball games. Although was also nice to see happy families on the site.

The road is very busy and there was noise as other site reviews say but not a huge problem.

You would need to boom in high season as very popular site

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue0hair 2 reviews from this member

We spend 2 nights at the camp site and can't wait to return.

We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and we were not only offered a choice of pitches but help to park our caravan if we chose to! there was also an adult only area if you at the stage in life where you need piece and quiet!

There are Picnic benches scattered around the pitches which proved to be very handy due to the good weather.

The toilets and showers were immaculate, someone always seemed to be cleaning them and the water temperature of the showers was just right.

There is a designated dog area which was very spacious and a good sized play area for children (with goal posts for budding footballers!)

The site is in A quiet location but within reach of many attractions and shopping areas by car.

I would highly recommend this site

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swanseajack13 7 reviews from this member

I'll start by saying this review does not reflect on the site's facilities. The only thing I can say of our experience of staying on this site it was like having a ringside seat at the Isle of mann TT motorbike venue, or sitting on the hard shoulder of the M4. Our weekend of peace and quiet was completely ruined by the constant noise of motorbikes. The site owners and the friendly people we met on the site were superb. I have tried to be honest in my review and again I must stress this does not reflect on the owners just the location.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emnoz 2 reviews from this member

This campsite has become our favourite site for short stays and weekends as we don't live too far away. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the site is set in beautiful countryside near the river. The reason we love this site so much is that it has a very relaxing, laid back feel about it.

The shower/toilet block is immaculate - always very clean and nice hot showers at any time. As we have children we stay on the main grass site which is arranged into small fields of about 6 pitches. Our boys love the football pitch on the site and the little shop is great for essentials or an ice cream for the kids.

Nearby Abergavenny is lovely and has some nice shops and a market twice a week, however we usually stay for the weekend and don't feel the need to leave the site. There is an adults only area with hard standings and full facilities and a dog walking area as well as a pretty sheltered tent field although tents can pitch amongst the caravans on the main site too.

Many of the caravans here are on seasonal pitches however at weekends there are plenty of tourers and tents. As other reviews have commented, there is a main road running along side the site but it has never bothered us during our stay. We are looking forward to our next stay in a couple of weeks and hope to try out one of the local pubs.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert821 5 reviews from this member

Currently on site here at Pont Kemys. I have chosen to stay in the adult only area. Although to be honest, everywhere seems lovely on this site.

Reception- lovely lady who couldn't have been more helpful in letting me choose my own pitch

Shop- in the reception selling some basic provisions with a fridge with some local produce in

Facilities- spotless every time I went in there. Showers are nice and warm too. I have been connected all weekend to the WIFI and its been really good, it does throw ou out after a while but logging in again is simple, you can watch catch up tv and everything. Quite easily. There is also a tv lounge which I haven't used myself.

Playground- to be honest I haven't seen one nor have I looked although I did spot a small set up football pitch on arrival away from the caravans which will be useful for kids

Pitch- the adult only area allows you t connect to all services and the is its own chemical disposal point. One tip is that if you chose to stay in this area, bring some levelling blocks as the pitches all tend to slant to the side due to a small incline in the field.

Area- this is a stunning area, its a must for those who want to relax.

The only thing that this site has which does detract from the overall score is the main road running next to it. Now, its not the sites fault that the is a main road there but I have to point it out. It is noticeable during the day but not at night. There isn't anything the site can do about it but if you don't like the idea of noise then see if you can pick a spot which is I river side, this is furthest away from the road, nice and flat too but not fully serviced.

Would I return. Yes!

Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019