Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite Reviews

Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite
Winchcombe
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 5PB
Tel: 01242 602123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyB1969 5 reviews from this member

 What a great campsite in so many ways, but let down slightly by its poor facilities. We stayed with three families with two children each in tents for the weekend in September. Actually you couldn't want a more perfect location with zero road noise and set in a peaceful surroundings with the added benefit of having a fruit farm, coffee shop and a ruined abbey all within a short walking distance of the site. There are so many things you can do nearby you would never get bored. The Pheasant pub just two miles away is definitely worth a visit and this is also convenient for the local Spar shop and village store next door. The pub food home made was extremely good value and the staff v friendly and welcoming.

As for the camp site we found the portaloos quite smelly and dirty, there's was no soap to wash your hands. The dishwashing area is a tent which had no lights which is tricky when dark and also worth noting extremely slippery. There is one shower which again v basic but I did use without a queue.

If the owners could improve the basic facilities then as a camper I think it likely we would stay longer. Having said that it's peaceful, we enjoyed the fire pit and its relaxed without any noisy or troublesome campers.

It's great but could be marvelous with a little bit of investment. If you camp here think of it like a farmers field (neatly cut) with portaloos and you won't be disappointed. The field is big and there was plenty of space for everyone - it's back to basics so no white lines nor dedicated pitches which to me is perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bristol camper 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night in a tent while walking the Cotswold Way in July (school holidays). The site is in a great location (Winchcombe an easy drive, lovely to walk down to the Abbey) and has a great shop with lots of farm shop produce (not open too early though). We didn't have time but it would have been great to do pick your own. I had a shower fairly early and there were new queues, impressed that it was free and hot. Toilets were fine too, clean and enough room to do a quick wash. My only complaint would be about the noise, I'm not sure whether this is common but there was music playing and children shouting until midnight, which was a real shame. I'm not sure whether a curfew is normally enforced but it would have been great if someone had come round and checked the noise levels. Other than that, a great site, enough room for each pitch and didn't feel like we were on top of other campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tradaz 1 review from this member

 Visited Hayles fruit farm for our very first camping trip and couldn't of been happier so much so we stayed an extra night.

Site was lovely and quite, basic shower blocks (free) and toilets all checked and cleaned daily.

Site shop has a wide selection of items but the best being their own farm made cider.

Fire pit in each pitch with logs sold at shop.

2 beautiful fishing pools on site.

Some lovely places to visit near by ie GWR steam railway.

Can't wait to go back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manicmickey 2 reviews from this member

 Had really high expectations for this site after reading reviews, however, what a huge disappointment. Portaloo toilets were cramped and stinking, portashower was filled with dirty water which didn, t drain away. The shop was extremely expensive so you really need to take supplies as the nearest pub and shop are 2 mile away. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: ChrisSue 14 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site for a big family / friends gathering. The folks who run the site are so relaxed. Plenty of room for pitching tents and gazebos; a lovely field for the children to run about and play in; campfire for toasting marshmallows and BBQ. We had so much freedom, which means that posh campsites with fancy toilet blocks just can't compete with this one. The shop on site is fantastically stocked, and we really enjoyed visiting the Open Farm event too. This is real camping at its best, and with the benefits of hookup and the new washing up tent, we couldn't ask for more. Thanks so much Hayles, you are wonderful! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MDKenny 1 review from this member

 Just had a three-night stay at this site to take in some walking along the Cotswold Way. Very impressed.

I looked at the reviews here before I went & most are spot on comments. Here's my penny's worth.

It is perfectly situated for the Cotswold way in both directions.

It is basic camping, that I find enjoyable in small doses, but it is in an outstanding setting.

The facilities, although minimal, are very clean.

I had no problem with the single toilet/shower porter cabin, (it even has an electric heater that's welcomed in early March), as I shared the whole site with only one caravan.

Off peak has its advantages.

The farm shop has everything you need & more for a campsite.

The owners/staff are very friendly & helpful.

The home made cider is gorgeous - AND VERY STRONG.

If you don't do directions very well, it's very easy to find, just follow signs to Hayles Fruit Farm or Hailes Abby, as the camp site is dead centre of both of them.

I followed a previous recommendation about the pub (the Mount Inn) at Stanton & wasn't disappointed, set in a beautiful village with outstanding views. My only advice is to book a table in advance, particularly for a Sunday lunch & check the opening times.

To overcome any other unforseen issues at this site, just have another cider. Did I mention - it's gorgeous.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BEZANDMART 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from the August Bank Holiday weekend. What a fantastic location for a site! Shame about the site facilities. Definite lack of showers and toilets for the number of people on the site. One shower for men and one shower for women just isn't enough! Pitches are not numbered so when you turn up you haven't got a clue where to go! We missed the entry gate and so did a caravan the next day. A sign is definitely required just to say Camping and Caravan site this way. Pitches are very large so nobody is too close unless that is what you want and you can sort than one out yourself. Lots of walking around the site, which was great, especially for our dog. Fire pits were excellent, great for sitting around at night toasting marshmallows. Would love to go back, but would pick a quieter time when less people are there due to the lack of facilities. Hopefully the facilities will be improved in the future. Went to the Pheasant Inn, which is too far to walk due to the lack of a footpath down a main road, but wasn't worth it anyway as it was rather dirty inside. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pamedav38 11 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site twice before since 2003 and whereas it's a perfect site for a stopover or a weekend, nothing has changed since our first visit. Facilities are very basic and if the site is full of tents can become a little overcrowded. There is one shower and toilet with hand washing facilities only - one side of the portacabin for gents the other side for ladies. The caravan hardstandings are big with lots of grass surround. The fishing lake is full of large carp and other species. The farm shop is full of fresh provisions at reasonable cost. The area is beautiful being on the Cotswold Way and there is a good pub with food and outdoor seating within driving distance, as well as the on site cafe. A little investment to update the facilities and better signage might increase the number of days people stay on the site. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B Wegg 2 reviews from this member

 I recently used this site while walking the Cotswold Way as one of a group of two, each using a small tent with no electrical hookup.

The site is well signed, we had no problem finding it from Winchcombe. The site is accessed via a locked (combination) gate and is separated into areas for caravans / motorhomes and tents. I did not look too closely at the caravan area but the pitches were well spaced, flat and at least some had hard standings. The tent area had plenty of space in a grassed area with a gentle slope. We did not use an electrical hookup but it was offered. Parking was by the tent and plentiful.

The toilet block and showers were clean and tidy. There were plenty of fresh water taps, bins (including separate recycling bins) and fire pits provided. Although I didnít use them, the usual caravan or motorhome filling and disposal facilities were present and accessible.

Despite the fact that there were plenty of other people using the site, the facilities were kept clean and the peace and tranquillity maintained.

The real gems of this site were the restaurant (to call it a tea room would do it a severe disservice), where high quality ingredients were cooked superbly, and the people who run it who were all friendly and very helpful. They allowed us to leave a car there while we completed our walk and their knowledge of local facilities was invaluable.

In summary: a simple but very functional site, well maintained, by great people, in a beautiful part of the country. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazapc 2 reviews from this member

 Just been for 2 nights midweek camping here after reading the reviews on this website, turned up at the farm shop (signposted from the main road) and booked in and paid £6 per person per night. Allright as there was just 3 of us but if you did have a large number of people even in one tent it could get a bit pricey.

Directed to the field, through a locked gate and set up in the 'tent part' which is about 2 acres with a further few acres for caravans. One other tent in our bit and the odd caravan on the other side of the field. Just how we like it, unregimented, nice and quiet and no one to disturb with late night chatting (or disturb us). Fire pits are provided and wood purchased for £4 a bag from the farm shop, although something about the design of the pit means that most of the heat goes up and doesn't actually warm your legs unless you sit very close!

The field was gently sloping and had just been cut. There a number of taps, a shower block which we didn't go in and a set of 6 portaloos in a small trailer type block. These were clean (we even saw the cleaner!) but did smell a bit inside and out so I would recommend not setting up too close. It did rain quite a bit and the field did rapidly start to get sodden.

The farm on site has a farm shop which stocks various fresh produce, drinks etc. And a tearoom 200 yards from the camping area. We used the tearoom both mornings where you could get a full english for £6.99 or bacon and egg sandwich for £4.75, not fantastically priced but much easier than cooking it yourself!

One big drawback is that the farm is quite a long way from anywhere most notably a pub so driving is needed. Even so would recommend the Mount Inn in Stanton for fantastic views on the terrace of the surrounding hills.

In all a fairly basic campsite, you don't get crammed in, relaxed atmosphere and great base location to go out and visit various towns and attractions in the Cotswolds. Would certainly recommend and visit again if we were struggling to find somewhere new to go. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement