Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hayles Fruit Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Hayles Fruit Farm Reviews

Hayles Fruit Farm
Winchcombe
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 5PB
Tel: 01242 602123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Blisters 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site (no loud music or radios when we were there) with plenty of space for both campervans, caravans and tents. The facilities were much better that expected with spotless separate toilets and shower facilities and lots of hot water. Could do with some instructions on how to lock the doors properly in the main ones, however. But some lazy people didn’t bother to shut the doors behind them afterwards, leaving the interiors open to the elements. Why?

There is a farm shop and café at the top end of the site - open 9. 00 - 5. 30, or 7. 00 p. M. On Tuesdays and Fridays for fish and chips. The nearest pubs and cafés are in Winchcombe, which has plenty of choice but is 2½ miles away down footpaths. Too dark to walk back so a vehicle or a taxi is essential.

The site is right on the Cotswold Way and ideal for hikers. We did a couple of sections which, in the late summer sunshine, were stunningly beautiful – who needs abroad! However, the next evening the weather turned and we felt extremely sorry for the couple doing the entire route. They arrived carrying all their gear including a very small two-man tent, which they valiantly erected in the pouring rain. So British! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sinaj 1 review from this member

 A lovely site in a rural setting, there was plenty of space for children to play. You are allowed to site your caravan anyway you like on the hard standing. The Cotswold way walk was on the doorstep and we had a pleasant walk to Winchcombe.

The shower and toilet block was near the entrance and was kept very clean with plenty of hot water for the showers.

The Cafe and Farm shop was a short walk away. We had the fish and chips on the Tuesday evening which were excellent. Made even more so as they were half price on the Eat out to Help out deal!

The Wardens were very welcoming and friendly. We had a problem with the jockey wheel when leaving and nothing was too much trouble to help us fix it.

We will certainly visit this site again 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Supersooty 18 reviews from this member

 A large site with plenty of open area for ball games. There are hard standing pitches with EHU and some tent pitches with EHU. The toilet/shower block is near the entrance and was kept very clean with excellent showers and plenty of hot water. There are separate facilities for the tent field.

There is a farm shop and cafe on site which, is easily accessed from the field instead of having to walk up the road. The cafe food was very good and they do a very ‘full’ English Breakfast.

The washing up facility is adjacent to the tented facilities and with just two sinks proved very congested at times, especially with CV19 restrictions. It is also a bit of a trek across the field, this was the only criticism we could make.

The area is rich in scenic villages, Sudeley castle and a GWR heritage railway line.

We would recommend staying here and we will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Angela Sturch 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site with a farm shop and cafe, fruit picking and nature walk.

We stayed for a few nights just after the covid-19 lockdown had been relaxed with a 5 year old and a 1 year old. Our pitch was lovely, really quiet with beautiful views and plenty of space for the kids to play.

The toilets were spotless, and kept that way by the warden who was seemingly continuously cleaning throughout the day. The warden was very friendly and helpful.

We also loved the farm dog Bernard who came to say hello every day!

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris Neail 1 review from this member

 A great site. Rural and isolated, but don't let that put you off.

The shop has the basics, plus fresh farm produce. Never used the cafe this time. In the past it's been fine. Snacks and drinks at reasonable prices. Surprisingly, they sell gas bottles too.

The amenity block was very clean- it was during the Covid 19 'panic, ' so everything was rather caotic- unnecessarily so in my view. There was even a heater on in July.

The welcome was beyond reproach.

9/10. No complaints. If you enjoy fishing, the two lakes are for you.

We shall be returning. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: AFolder 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a bank holiday Monday and the toilets were quite grotty from an obviously busy weekend with bits of toilet paper all over one of the wash hand basins, we stayed 4 nights in total and the toilets were never cleaned.

On arrival you book in at the farm shop who send you back to the camp site with a pitch location map. We never met the wardens who live next to the toilet block.

The hardstandings were made from recycled tarmac which had an unpleasant smell and stuck to your shoes like grit when wet. Even with ramps we were unable to get level.

The farm shop although very nice didn’t stock the basics of a campsite shop, ie. , no dog food, cleaning goods or even toiletries.

The toilets and showers were of a portaloo type and were quite good, if only they were clean, however there simply weren’t enough of them for such a big site as there were way more than 15 pitches as advertised.

All in all we will not return even though the location was truly fabulous, £34 a night for 2adult, 1child and 2dogs. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janescottage 5 reviews from this member

 As other reviewers have said, it’s a basic site but nicely laid out, there was plenty of space for children to play in the middle of the fields.

We moved our table into the middle of the field to catch the last of the evening sun.

There was no traffic noise and lots of stars at night. You didn’t feel crowded although it was busy.

The toilets were posh portaloo style and we had to wait to use them sometimes. The grass was a bit long and our pitch sloped a bit. The nature trail looked nice but we didn’t get time to try it.

The farm shop and cafe were lovely and the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed trying the home pressed apple juice and bought some bottles.

Breakfast was very nice. Saturday evening meal at the Pheasant was very good but we were lucky to get the last table. We caught the train from Toddington to Broadway.

If there was a children’s play area then we would definitely return, but will probably return anyway as we want to go to Broadway tower! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sivadar 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here two night midweek beginning July. After booking in at farm shop, it's a quick you turn back the site. 12 hard standing pitch where you want. Toilets and showers are clean and up to the job.

Plenty open space for dogs. In fact there were only 2 other units and a couple of TENTS. Did a bit of PYO fruit and bought some of the site brewed cider!.

Took a short walk to the Broadway - Cheltenham Steam railway. The site is quiet, just the job. Would I go back. YES. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rusty Voyager 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night, two adults in a small campervan with no electric.

You have to pass the campsite to go to the farm shop to sign in on arrival, we arrived just in time to have a Friday night fish and chips cooked in the cafe. Well priced and good size portions.

We were able to turn around as the carpark was empty and we were very small, but I think I'd be worried about a caravan.

Able to pick our own pitch.

We only used the older portaloo style toilets and so can't comment on the newer ones. Toilets clean enough.

We also didn't use the showers. These were also of a portable style in the older section.

Washing up area under a cover with 2 sinks and light.

Wardens and farm/ cafe friendly.

Nice basic site. We would stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dst1942 8 reviews from this member

 Used this site as one of our stops on a recent 4 week trip. This was the only site that required a 50% deposit on booking and the balance 3 weeks before arrival. When you arrive you are directed to the farm shop/reception. Unfortunately you then have to perform a U turn and head back down the lane, and then turn into the site.

On the actual site there are some not very level gravel pitches and mostly sloping grass areas to pitch on.

There are adequate EHU points, but could do with more water points.

Old toilet area needs doing away with. New toilet unit is pretty new, but is woefully inadequate (2 x showers and 2 x toilets + one family room) These were only cleaned every other day, and did not always contain soap or toilet roll. Elsan disposal point is a health hazard. It is basically an open sewer, no cover, and overflowed twice when I used it. Told Warden about problem but she showed complete dis interest. There are no facilities for children.

The site is, in my opinion a money making machine with all the money taken out and very little put back in for customers. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hayles Fruit Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hayles Fruit Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hayles Fruit Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


640 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement