Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hayles Fruit Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Hayles Fruit Farm
Winchcombe
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 5PB
Tel: 01242 602123
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 55 Reviews
                7/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: AFolder 3 reviews from this member

We arrived on a bank holiday Monday and the toilets were quite grotty from an obviously busy weekend with bits of toilet paper all over one of the wash hand basins, we stayed 4 nights in total and the toilets were never cleaned.

On arrival you book in at the farm shop who send you back to the camp site with a pitch location map. We never met the wardens who live next to the toilet block.

The hardstandings were made from recycled tarmac which had an unpleasant smell and stuck to your shoes like grit when wet. Even with ramps we were unable to get level.

The farm shop although very nice didnít stock the basics of a campsite shop, ie. , no dog food, cleaning goods or even toiletries.

The toilets and showers were of a portaloo type and were quite good, if only they were clean, however there simply werenít enough of them for such a big site as there were way more than 15 pitches as advertised.

All in all we will not return even though the location was truly fabulous, £34 a night for 2adult, 1child and 2dogs.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janescottage 3 reviews from this member

As other reviewers have said, itís a basic site but nicely laid out, there was plenty of space for children to play in the middle of the fields.

We moved our table into the middle of the field to catch the last of the evening sun.

There was no traffic noise and lots of stars at night. You didnít feel crowded although it was busy.

The toilets were posh portaloo style and we had to wait to use them sometimes. The grass was a bit long and our pitch sloped a bit. The nature trail looked nice but we didnít get time to try it.

The farm shop and cafe were lovely and the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed trying the home pressed apple juice and bought some bottles.

Breakfast was very nice. Saturday evening meal at the Pheasant was very good but we were lucky to get the last table. We caught the train from Toddington to Broadway.

If there was a childrenís play area then we would definitely return, but will probably return anyway as we want to go to Broadway tower!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sivadar 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here two night midweek beginning July. After booking in at farm shop, it's a quick you turn back the site. 12 hard standing pitch where you want. Toilets and showers are clean and up to the job.

Plenty open space for dogs. In fact there were only 2 other units and a couple of TENTS. Did a bit of PYO fruit and bought some of the site brewed cider!.

Took a short walk to the Broadway - Cheltenham Steam railway. The site is quiet, just the job. Would I go back. YES.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rusty Voyager 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night, two adults in a small campervan with no electric.

You have to pass the campsite to go to the farm shop to sign in on arrival, we arrived just in time to have a Friday night fish and chips cooked in the cafe. Well priced and good size portions.

We were able to turn around as the carpark was empty and we were very small, but I think I'd be worried about a caravan.

Able to pick our own pitch.

We only used the older portaloo style toilets and so can't comment on the newer ones. Toilets clean enough.

We also didn't use the showers. These were also of a portable style in the older section.

Washing up area under a cover with 2 sinks and light.

Wardens and farm/ cafe friendly.

Nice basic site. We would stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dst1942 5 reviews from this member

Used this site as one of our stops on a recent 4 week trip. This was the only site that required a 50% deposit on booking and the balance 3 weeks before arrival. When you arrive you are directed to the farm shop/reception. Unfortunately you then have to perform a U turn and head back down the lane, and then turn into the site.

On the actual site there are some not very level gravel pitches and mostly sloping grass areas to pitch on.

There are adequate EHU points, but could do with more water points.

Old toilet area needs doing away with. New toilet unit is pretty new, but is woefully inadequate (2 x showers and 2 x toilets + one family room) These were only cleaned every other day, and did not always contain soap or toilet roll. Elsan disposal point is a health hazard. It is basically an open sewer, no cover, and overflowed twice when I used it. Told Warden about problem but she showed complete dis interest. There are no facilities for children.

The site is, in my opinion a money making machine with all the money taken out and very little put back in for customers.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracybb 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 night stay in the middle of August. This is a fantastic little site. There were only a dozen or so pitches occupied which was great as the spotless showers were few in number. There is a newish toilet block which was a delight plus an older unit which was better than ok & was clean! The pitches are pretty much flat which makes a huge difference at night!

The site is ideal for walkers as the site is very close to the Winchcombe Way & the Cotswold Way. There is an on site warden who can help with walks.

There is a great shop on site - it's a bit of a farm shop come deli, fantastic local produce, fruit can be picked on site & the Badger Bottom Cider is great after a long walk. There is a Spa at Toddington, or Winchcombe is about 15 mins away and you are not too far from Cheltenham.

There is plenty to do in the area, so something for everyone.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Austellgirl 1 review from this member

Spent a very pleasurable day and night. The weather was good which always helps, the campsite was well spaced out, good facilities with a new shower block.

It was a traditional type camping site on a farm, without too many regulations which is what I like. Its a beautiful spot with lovely walks nearby, we did a circular walk to Winchcombe taking in some of the Cotswold way.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellowden 1 review from this member

Just spent a night here and it was lovely. Very peaceful, clean toilets and showers and a lovely walk around the lakes and woodland.

Very friendly staff as well. Shop and cafe on site which is great. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fub08 2 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site. Staff very friendly. Map of site they give you is good but pitches are not marked, so found we were standing there counting caravans to work out which was our pitch.

The other thing that was not to good you have drive upto the shop to book in & we had trouble turning around as the car park was busy. But once set up we were not disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AllanI 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights over the August Bank holiday. The site is in a great location with many interesting places to visit in easy reach. Cheltenham can be reached via the GWR heritage railway, while the picturesque tourist hotspots of Stow in the Wold, Broadway and Bourton on the Water are a short drive away.

The site is located on the Cotswold Way footpath. The site shop is well stocked and restaurant served up a very tasty meal at a good price. The toilet and shower facilities are basic and not really enough for the numbers on site.

The site seems to be popular for group gatherings. There is supposed to be a no loud music and quiet after 11pm policy but this was not enforced during our stay.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019