Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite Reviews

Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite
Winchcombe
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 5PB
Tel: 01242 602123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pat Robinson 1 review from this member

 This site was recommended by a previous reviewer with 4 dogs. Wow - how wonderful it is. My husband and I, with our two friends in our two motor homes have just spent an awesome Christmas at this site. Dinner in 18' of snow, a camp fire to warm us and miles of walks for our 6 dogs. (3 each).

Despite freezing conditions of up to -10 degrees, the shower and loo were really warm. We were provided with a blow torch to keep the water tap flowing and the pitches were cleared for us.

The farm shop is well stocked and next visit we won't bother to buy any veg before we travel. We will certainly be making more visits.

We had a great welcome and the family could not have been more helpful. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 What a little gem of a campsite! It ticks all my boxes - beautiful wooded location, good pitching area, clean loos, campfires allowed, dogs welcomed and very friendly owners. And, as an added bonus, there's an adjacent farm shop and also a tea room serving hot meals.

The camping field is fairly small. It is bordered by fruit farm orchards on two sides, by a lane on the third and by woodland on the fourth.

The field is in two sections; a well-mown grass area for tents sloping down from the wooded eastern boundary to a caravan/motorhome area with plentiful EHU points and hardstanding at the lower (west) side. There are drinking water taps along the east edge of the tent area (but no EHU). The single loo block is on the west side of the caravan area.

The entrance is through a gravelled gateway on a minor lane beyond Hailes Abbey. As this is over half-a-mile from the main road the site is very quiet. The woodland setting and hedges make the site feel secluded and it is fairly sheltered from wind.

Tent campers drive across the grass and pitch beside their cars (pitches are not marked out).

The only potential criticism of the campsite is the limited loo block facilities - there's only one loo and one shower each for men and women. This was not a problem while I was there because there were few visitors but I imagine there must be queues in high season. That aside, the facilities were very clean, the water hot and there was plenty of loo roll.

Campfires are allowed (you can buy logs and kindling from the farm shop) as long as they are housed in the metal 'fire baskets' (actually old lorry wheels) dotted about the site.

Campers should visit the farm shop on arrival to book in and collect the key to the camping field gate. The price is per person (not per pitch) so a solo camper would pay just 5.50 off season (two people would pay 11 and so on). There is also a refundable 10 deposit to pay for the gate key but no charge for dogs.

The farm shop itself is very well stocked and prices in the tearoom are reasonable - a really big full English breakfast was 6.

The site nestles below the western scarp of the Cotswold hills looking out over the broad sweep of Vale of Evesham. There are fantastic views from the surrounding hills across to the Malvern hills and the Welsh borders.

As well as the nearby ruin of Hailes Abbey (maintained by English Heritage), the campsite is surrounded by footpaths and bridleways. The Cotswold Way long distance footpath passes close by. There is a Spar shop about one mile away and, further afield, supermarkets at Cheltenham, Evesham, Broadway and Tewkesbury.

The Gloucestershire & Warkwickshire Railway (GWR) is a preserved steam line and has its headquarters at Toddington, about a mile from Hayles. As well as steam trains, the station has a very good cafe.

I enjoyed a truly memorable overnight stay at Hayles - it was the highlight of my camping year. I thoroughly recommend this campsite and, in fact, I'd urge anyone reading this to camp there off season. This site gets nine out of ten as far as I'm concerned - if it weren't for the small loo block, I'd give it ten. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dome 3 reviews from this member

 We go to this camp site every year, sometimes twice, so that must tell you something.! It is set in idyllic surroundings,way out in the country, with beautiful views.It has walks to die for we have four dogs and they love it.

There are 2 lakes both fishing but also a nice walk around too. The Farm shop is very well stocked and the owners very helpful.If they do not have what you want thay will direct you to the Spa shop 5mins away.

Yes there are only 2 toilets and 2 showers for male and female, but we don't find it too much of a problem. Overall fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveyh2000 6 reviews from this member

 If you want playgrounds, clubhouses and luxurious shower blocks, this site is not for you.

If you want peace and quiet in a great location, campfires, walks on your doorstep and some decent nearby pubs than this is the place for you.

Facilities are cleaned and serviced daily but are a bit beaten up and very basic. One loo and one shower per sex. No washup facilities. Not adequate when the site is busy though the owner controls numbers and you're never cramped for space.

The farm has a shop well stocked with local produce, logs and kindling. Next to the shop is a restaurant which is great for breakfast on a wet day and has a reputation for great Sunday lunches. There's a Spar store about five minutes drive away, and Broadway and Winchcombe are only a little further.

Nearby pubs include the Mount at Stanton, and the Royal Oak at Gretton, both excellent.

This was our third visit and we're booked to go again in August. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ChrisSue 14 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely weekend here on pilgrimage to Hailes Abbey in June 2010. There were loads of us camped up in different units but we were fortunate to have hard standing and electric hookup.

The outlook of the site is lovely and it's got relatively easy access. The hardstanding area was level, but we still enjoyed good views. For a group camping together it was brilliant because we were allowed campfires so it was great to sit round together after supper keeping warm.

The children in our group had a wonderful time just running around. The farm shop and cafe are easily reached and they kindly freezed packs for us. We went strawberry picking and bought locally made ales and cider there. The cafe serves nice meals and does a good line in afternoon tea and cake. Everyone working on the farm is helpful and kind.

The single biggest downside was the shower block and dearth of loos. There was only one loo + shower each for male and female. There were also 2 portable loos in the field. I felt so grateful we had our kampa khazi, and there was a convenient place for disposal and cleaning of this. I shouldn't like to camp there without this personal facility. I am also happy to wash in a bowl in our own tent, though I did try a shower, which was OK, but not the best.

I would definitely recommend this site, but only if you are happy with a bit of make-do regarding toilet facilities. The benefits of the site and the loveliness of the surrounding area (e. G. Winchcombe is very pleasant, you are near the steam railway etc) far outweigh the slight inconvenience of lack of good toilet block. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonyoz777 2 reviews from this member

 Have to say this was a great site for us, a beautiful secluded location amongst some fantastic scenery.

The farm has some great facilities - the kids enjoyed the fishing lake, strawberry picking and the open spaces around the camp for bikes and football. We hardly moved for the 3 days other than to visit the Spar shop about 5 minutes away.

Very relaxed - great to be able to have the campfire on the go.

We were pitched in the middle of the field near the water tap, the portable loo's were not far (starlit at night ;-)

We'll be visiting again soon.

Paid 52 for the 2 nights which I though was a bit pricey but the location makes up for it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bazbazbaz59 5 reviews from this member

 If you looking for a site with modern toilet/washing facilities, then maybe this site isn't for you. There are, as already stated in other reviews, only one toilet and shower for each sex and there is no dish washing area. These are the only minor downsides to an otherwise fantastic site

If your looking for a site with a relaxed atmosphere, somewhere were you can have open fires, where your kids will mix and play with others and you are surrounded with beautiful scenery then GO HERE 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindsay20 4 reviews from this member

 Went to this site at very short notice on a bank holiday weekend. They fitted us in on a Sunday and we could not believe it. Site owner was very helpful. Site was slightly sloping but ok as well.

The toilets were an issue due to only one Ladies and one Men's, however, they were clean. Owner had put a portable loo in middle of field which left a lot to be desired. Bit pricey from what we are used to we usually go to CS sites from the Camping and Caravanning club and pay 12ish but that could be just us.

Acres of space for outdoor games, fires etc. The site owner provides lorry tyre rims to have fires in, great idea and plenty of them you can buy wood from shop or what we did was to go to Evesham Jewsons Builders Merchant and their off cuts for free (huge fire).

Fishing lake there, don't know how good as I am not a fisherman but my son fell in, boys don't you just love them! We would probably go again if more toilets and showers were provided for the same price. Overall it's a nice site quiet, good tea rooms, good farm shop and fire campers heaven! 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bartsville 4 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 2 nights at this site and as we were the only tourers on site (there were what appeared to be local workers in caravans around us) we had the place virtually to ourselves. It is very secluded and quiet and away from the main road and ideal for the Cotswold Way which runs right past the site.

Open fires are allowed and the entrance has a security lock on it as do the toilets, I presume to stop walkers popping in for a quick leak. The farm shop and tea rooms are worth a visit with some fascinating local produce on sale and good food in the restaurant/tea room. I do feel that unless the owners want to keep this site for walkers tents and occasional tourers, that investment in a brick built toilet block with all the usual facilities would be worth it. As it was March we didn't have a problem with the very small portacabin like facilities. The views and countryside all around are great and for peace and quiet (in March) We couldn't ask for more. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil83 1 review from this member

 The facilities were inadequate for the amount of people on the site. The web page states that there are 15 pitches available. I counted at least 28 different pitches on the site, one of them being a group of 16 Sea Cadets. There were over 100 people on site and only two toilets and two showers.

There are no facilities for washing up pots and pans. It would take very little effort to provide a sink on the outside of the toilet shed for this purpose.

The location of the site is ideal for walkers and cyclists and Winchcombe is a lovely village with a few good pubs and restaurants. It is a real shame that the site wasn't up to scratch.  


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hayles Fruit Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4716 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement