Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Nether Wasdale > Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park Reviews

Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park
Church Stile Farm
(lake District)
Nether Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1ET
Tel: 01946 726252
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 22nd March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lincoln Camper 3 reviews from this member

 First time at this site and stayed for seven days having passed it a few years previous.

Greeted by the friendly site staff on arrival who provided a map etc for us to find our own pitch.

Access to the main pitches via a single tarmac road over a small hill and blind corner a bit tricky (especially with a trailer) when you meet oncoming traffic as one of you has to reverse back but soon got wise and sent one of the kids to stand at the top of the hill to check for safe passage.

Well stocked shop/cafe on site; however, no replacement gas. WIFI access available in this location only (little if no phone reception); however, a bit hit and miss.

Clean toilet and shower block with push buttons for water conservation, just very busy especially on weekends.

Covered pot washing facilities to the rear.

Laundry for use with tokens obtained from the on site shop (new tumble drier required as packed up while we were there).

Small play area for the kids; however due to the heavy rain the areas beneath the swings and slide were more like a swamp and require filling.

Plenty of room for our large tent (Vermont XLP) non electric, including space for the trailer and car, bordered with a wall and hedges making it private and out of any significant wind.

Great space at the rear of the site to walk the dogs with lovely views of the mountain ranges of Great Gable and Scafell.

Ball games area located at the rear of the site.

Wast Water lake only 1 mile walk from the site.

Two pubs and a hotel within 5mins walk all with excellent food, dog friendly and with an abundance of real ales etc.

A few negative points:

Single track road in and out not ideal (a car broke down and blocked route for considerable time until recovered).

No replacement calor gas bottles on site so had to travel out to Calder Bridge (25mins) and replace at a local garage.

Whinn Rig Field advertised as a quiet area; however, very noisy on a weekend with large groups pitched close together.

All in all a good little site and would stay again if visiting this part of the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wulles 1 review from this member

 Lovely, friendly, clean campsite. Great walks locally, beautiful location. 2 pubs and a hotel within minutes of campsite, good food. Gosforth within 10 minutes drive with a wee local shop and a lovely cafe in a gallery, fish and chips take away from the pub. Whitehaven within 1/2 hour loads of shops and places to eat 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alipetfleetwood 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite which I've stayed on before, and the owners have spent a lot of time & money on upgrading and extending over the years. Toilets & showers always clean with plenty of hot water etc etc.

But as the site expands they need to enlarge or add some more toilets and showers, as at busy time it was almost impossable to get in. One good thing although not my bag is that a large no' of the pitches are available with EHU.

Now having said that the downside of it all is they do seem to attracting the wrong clientele as whilst we were there, there was several single sex groups arriving and one by one pitching up close together and although they have an 11pm silence rule no-one seemed to enforce it ! Also the were a number of late night early hours vehicle movements on site. And to top it all one inconsiderate camper decided to start his campervan engine up and leave it on tick over to warm his van for nearly an hour and smoke everyone else out with the exhaust fumes and think nothing of it Still I've got his reg no' !

Would I return -Only if I was desperate for somewhere to stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs2960 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site & extremely well run, spotlessly clean.

Every member of staff you came into contact with were so friendly & helpful, Brian & Sue work tirelessly to make sure the site is tip top, they are an absolute credit, they clearly love their job. We were 3 middle aged ladies staying for a week & nothing was too much trouble, they went out of their way, Brian even checked my Sisters tyre on her car prior to us leaving.

The only bad thing was - we had to come home!

We will recommend this little gem of a site & will be returning soon. ,

Once again thank you to you all.

Debbie, Pam & Jackie  


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnierotten 3 reviews from this member

 Our second visit here. It was just as nice as before but the owners have invested a lot on improvements. The little shop was lovely serving coffees etc. I didn't get to sample one as we headed off to St Bees the next day. Wast Water is as lovely as ever. We had another lovely stay. The beer festival was on at the Strand Inn which was lovely. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haswell88 8 reviews from this member

 Great site, the owners keep the whole site immaculate, pitch sizes are excellent and the toilets are always kept clean.

With it being late in the season there were quite a few brown patches but that's to be expected and wasn't something that put me off.

Previous reviews mention that there is no mobile signal and this is totally right and even the site wifi at the shop/cafe struggles.

We tried the local pubs for a bite to eat but fate was against us, a power cut, a 5 min late arrival and a chef off sick stopped us from trying out the food.

The site is very close to the lake which is a great spot for a picnic.

Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Octopusann 3 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant, site with plenty of hedges and trees to give shelter and privacy. Tucked away in a quiet corner of the Lake District with the Wastwater Screes (top) visible from the site. A short walk from the back of the site, the Greendale Fells and the Wasdale Head fells including Scafell Pike and Great Gable are visible. A great starting point for many walks. I drove up to Wasdale Head one day and over Cold Fell to Ennerdale the next. Eskdale is close by also and a ride on the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway is a must.

I rented a fire pit and used it as a barbecue 2 nights - great on chilly September evenings. The quiet after 10. 30 rule held pretty well even with a large party in the the next field but I wish people would realise that their conversations are not private in a tent! There is a laundry with a freezer for ice blocks (free to use) and a small camp site shop selling some essentials as well as local produce (I recommend the Cumberland sausage). The nearest 'proper' shop is in Gosforth about 4 miles away.

A great site, I will definitely go back. It has the advantage over the NT site at Wasdale Head that you can get out the other parts of the lakes more easily without having to drive down the Lake. Of course the disadvantage is the views aren't quite so good and you will probably have to drive to the start of your walks but you can't win them all.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the water free and hot. The only negative was the distance to the Loo block - a very dark walk in the middle of the night. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eyhorne 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely campsite for 5 days (planned for 7 but weather turned!)

We arrived on a very busy Saturday and the lovely unflappable lady behind the counter at the new (fab!) shop said they were full but when I said we had pre-booked she showed us the way to a lovely spot right at the back of the campsite near the little wood (perfect for dog walks)

We hired a fire pit which is a must. The kids playground was great and the facilities generally were superb!

The showers were hot and I never had to wait(although hubby did and he said men's loos were a bit smelly - what's new?!)

The utility room was a godsend as we were washing and drying sleeping bags every morning (3 yr old :( )

Sneaky hot radiator in the corner where you can dry shoes and people folded your clothes when your load had finished!

Teenagers were satisfied as there was WiFi in abundance at the shop/cafe, which was really well stocked and food/smelled looked great!

Owner came to pull us out of the mud one morning and didn't look annoyed that we had churned the grass up a bit in our attempts to escape!

No load people at night and everyone settled down at a reasonable time.

The two pubs in village were lovely - we had a meal in The Strands - nice food and normal prices.

We walked, climbed, kayaked in the lake and swam - we made the mistake of driving out to Ambleside on one day, don't bother! Has all the shops you find in your normal high st and was crowded - we did come back via Wrynose and Hardknott pass though - really good fun and scary if you and your car have the nerve!

All in all I would 100% recommend Church Stile Campsite for adults (wine, beer and fire pit), teenagers (Wifi and bikes rides and plenty of friends to hang out with), pre-schoolers (good playground and safe campsite) and dogs (10000 walks!)

Lovely, helpful owners and a really quiet part of the Lakes - you have the Lake to yourself in the middle of August! Go! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taffy Camper 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from 10 days at Churchstile Park in Wasdale, Cumbria.

The owners, Julius and Kirsten and their staff are brilliant, and the site is impeccable.

Its very well kept and managed, has a great shop to buy the essentials, a bistro/ cafe and free wi-fi, the site is great for children to play safely in the on site play park. The toilets are spotless, being serviced an number of times each day as is the site as a whole and as for the locality its right in the middle of the lake districts climbing and walking country, looking straight up at Scafell.

Off site there's a local pub 200 yrds distance in Nether Wasdale, the food and drink is great whilst the beers are locally brewed in its own micro brewery. We'll be going back without a doubt.

Keith & Chris - N. Wales 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

 Church Stile is an excellent site. It's attractive and well maintained without being prissy. The facilities were spotless with big showers, plenty of hot water and a great washing up area. We were given a key to the family/disabled bathroom too and we greatly appreciated having the use of this facility - made sorting the kids out a doddle. There was a little play park our younger kids made good use of, as well as a wifi hotspot outside the farm shop which kept our teen lad sweet.

The owners were friendly and the ice cream in the farm shop was second to none. We recommend the elderflower and gooseberry flavour. Very refreshing on a hot, sunny July day.

As for the rest of your food shopping you'll have to stick to the Gosforth Village Store which is well stocked but expensive, or travel further afield to Egremont where there is a sizable Co-op. There's an even bigger Morrisons in Whitehaven but it's quite the expedition to get there so I only bothered once. The two pubs in Nether Wasdale serve meals which I hear are good, but we didn't eat at either so I can't rightly comment on them. They both look lovely though.

We stayed for 10 days and while we were in the area we climbed Scafell Pike, went waterfall hunting, took a trip on the little Eskdale Railway, enjoyed walking to Wast Water and braved Hardknott and Wrynose Pass a handful of times to access the rest of the Lakes for other activities. I'm not going to pretend that Wasdale makes for an easy base for getting around as it is so remote, but that reaps its own reward in the absence of the crowds, traffic and queues we saw in the Langdales and Ambleside. If, like us, you wish to avoid those things, the Western Lakes will suit you well as a destination and Church Stile will do you proud as a place to camp. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nether Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1750 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement