Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Nether Wasdale > Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park Reviews

Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park
Church Stile Farm
(lake District)
Nether Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1ET
Tel: 01946 726252
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 22nd March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loopy-lou 1 review from this member

 Just stayed at this lovely site with my husband and two sons - and had a fabulous weekend, The location is stunning with plenty to do in the surrounding area and good pubs within walking distance. The booking process was easy and the owners friendly and efficient. The children were well occupied in the play park or in the on-site woodland where they built a great den! The shower, toilet and washing up facilities were all clean and well maintained. Pitches are all well marked and spacious, meaning that even during a Bank Holiday weekend, the site didn't feel busy. All in all, great site and we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Outdoorsgirl 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in 'The Hogget' Shepherds hut for the Monday-Friday from the 23rd September for my birthday. A lovelier way to visit the lake district I can't imagine! It was in a lovely area, nice and secluded which is always a plus point for us, but also within a good driving distance of plenty of places. There was a fire pit provided which was very welcome on an evening as it was getting chilly, but the woodburning heater/stove in the hut wasn't needed as it kept nice and warm inside on a night. The sofa/bed was extremely comfortable and it was always lovely to wake up to a view of the mountains across the fields (once the fog had cleared!).

The owners were very pleasant, she deals with the campsite mainly while he runs the farm, and runs after escaping sheep. :) It is a working sheep farm and while we were there they were doing their annual checks which they use the gated entrance for, but they usually kept this to the evening so we never needed to get out in the car during this time and we could just climb over the gates and walk through the sheep.

The toilets were kept in very good condition, I didn't even see one spider! And the price was just right.

All in all a very nice place to stay and we will definitely be going back again! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jengeo 1 review from this member

 Got to site at 12:30, the owners was out so we had a couple of drinks down the local which was about 2 minute walk away until they returned. Had a good spacious pitch with good views of the mountains. Kids (14 & 7) enjoyed themselves, even helping to feed the lambs. The site is surrounded by woods and there is a play area for the children. The location is a good access to shops, petrol stations and attractions etc. The owners are laid back and will go out of their way to assist you; I think this made the stay more enjoyable. You can hire a fire pit which comes supplied with wood which is plus on cold nights. Showers are warm and toilet area is clean. We will be returning next year and will be bringing the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MandyNE-UK 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite. Stayed here 22nd - 25th August (bank holiday weekend) and although it was busy it didn't feel overcrowded. The toilet blocks were clean with free hot water in the showers, my daughter and I always managed to get in straight away although my husband (a later riser) occasionally had to queue. Beautiful views. Great for dog owners as dogs are allowed on a lead - we don't have a dog and it was annoying that some people (a minority) didn't adhere to this rule. The local village is very pretty, with 2 pubs a 2 minute walk away from the campsite. Excellent site, would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Campers2 6 reviews from this member

 Really nice campsite, in a small village, surrounded by country views and pubs. Walkers heaven, and a real ale treat! Facilities are good, the showers are spacious and clean even though at the time of our visit the site was full. The pitches are of good size and some cover is given to your privacy. My only negative being some folk lacking, in site rules of quiet, when returning back from a pub visit at night! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy Can 7 reviews from this member

 22. 50 per night for large tent, 2 adults, a car and a dog (charge for each of these things!) This site was high end price-wise for us but worth it. The highlight for us was the integral public footpath through woodland which was superb for when the dog had those 'need to be off this tether now' moments! About a 20 minute circular walk - brill!

Facilities kept clean and tidy throughout our stay and the owners were friendly but not 'in your face'.

Our only bug-bear would be fixed simply with a polite sign on the loo doors: The outer door shuts with a heck of a loud bang which sounds like a cannon being fired. This went on throughout the night and we were in the furthest field from it and it was still really loud! Can't people work out how to shut a door quietly at 3 in the morning?!

Fab pub literally 5 minutes walk away - The Strands Inn. The owner's micro-brewery real ales went down very well with my OH! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garthomas1 4 reviews from this member

 An excellent campsite all round and one that I would certainly revisit as a base for exploring more of the lake district.

The site is situated in Nether Wasdale a lovely little village next to Waswater lake and five miles away from Scafell Pike [the reason for the trip]. The village itself contains two good pubs and a hotel which we never visited. The pubs serve up fantastic local ale and good food.

The campsite itself contains large clean toilet blocks, children's play area, pot washing area and laundry room with drinks machine and freezer for ice blocks. All the pitches are even and the campsite generally is well presented. The owners were obviously busy but very nice and pleasant and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. They even deliver fresh firewood to you each evening if you require it.

In summary a great site, set only a few miles from what was voted 'Britain's best view'. I for one would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katieep 8 reviews from this member

 This is a really friendly small campsite in a stunning location.

Lots of walks from the campsite and the benefits of the Nether Wasdale pubs next door.

It was really hot ( yes we were in the Lakes!) when we spent the weekend there and when I went to reception to ask if they sold ice creams the Owner said no but she'd just got back from the cash and carry and was nice enough to sell me some from her own freezer.

The only problem we had was the lack of shop so you need to stock up as the nearest shop is in Gosforth.

The wash block was adequate and there is a good small kids playground.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Footstep 16 reviews from this member

 What a belting site and must go on my annual cycle of camping trips.

Lovely flat pitches, and I got one on the edge of the woodland away from the main family pitches.

The shower block was very clean and good (no extra charge) and a freezer for ice blocks.

The pitch fee of 11. 50 for a single is at the top of the range I'll pay but this is prime lake district and on the edge of Nether Wasdale with it's 2 good pubs.

The Strands is by far the better pub and the locally brewed ales at 2. 50 per pint make up for the pitch fee.

Finally, may I say 2 years ago this site refused to allow single people to camp. Presume it has changed hands as that stupid policy has ceased. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnierotten 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on a very hot sunny weekend in July as a family of four with large tent and large dog. The management, fellow campers on the site and people around Nether Wasdale were all lovely, friendly, kind and pleasant people.

The site atmosphere was quiet and relaxing with plenty of space between pitches.

Our kids had a great time on the play park and because of this focal point enjoyed making lots of new friends. All the children enjoyed more freedom than they do at home and all were happy, considerate and well behaved towards one another and fellow campers.

We sampled the food and drink in the Strand inn which was lovely. We enjoyed visiting Wastwater, St Bees and a brief visit to Seascale beach. We loved the remoteness of this area and the peacefulness of this site.

Our only very minor criticism was the only available mirrors in the ladies shower block and toilets were designed with children and very petite ladies in mind.

A small shop selling basic provisions such as bread, milk and drinks would go down well. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nether Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement