Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Nether Wasdale > Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park Reviews

Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park
Church Stile Farm
(lake District)
Nether Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1ET
Tel: 01946 726252
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 22nd March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Konman 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite!

The location is perfect for a quiet weekend away. Easy walking from directly from the site to Wastwater.

Childcare playground very good and the toilet block/showers are excellent with each cubicle having a 'dry' area for changing.

Some noise into the early hours from noisy neighbours but nothing too dramatic.

Plenty of things to do locally and much quieter than the Windemere / Ambleside area of the lakes.

2 pubs within 5 minutes walk of the site, both serving food and decent beer.The Strands in particular was very friendly, great with the kids, good food and own brewed beer. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cal72 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an excellent 6 night stay at Church Stile. We had a fantastic time - the weather was amazing! The site is lovely & spacious, extra large pitches which are level and well maintained. There are pitches for families or quieter areas for those wanting some peace. We did need the rock pegs as per the previous reviewers!

Our pitch was within watching distance of the playpark which was ideal for our two boys (8 & 4)who also spent a lot of time on the huge, designated ball game field and also the fantastic woodland hill area. The boys loved making dens and generally getting mucky and having fun! If you have kids that enjoy making dens & having adventures in the woods then this site is the place to go!

Also, the toilet block was superb - modern and spotlessly clean - Ruth (the owner) was cleaning and replenishing loo roll etc at least three times a day & late at night. Great spacious, clean, hot & free showers (even a radiator to warm your towel on!).

There are brilliant walks from the site to Wast Water lake and the hills beyond. There is no shop in the little hamlet (two pubs though - popular and great real ale!) so groceries need to brought with you or there is a general store in Gosforth (approx 10min drive away). There is a outdoor-type shop at Wasdale Head about 5 miles away - we got a spare gas cylinder & local walks book there. On site there are excellent laundry & drying facilities (tokens required - purchased from the site office) and a clean & spacious washing up area.

We met some lovely, friendly campers and the atmosphere on site was great. I cannot fault the site or location - we will return! Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yugwill 1 review from this member

 We arrived on Friday afternoon and once registered at the office, we were directed to our pitch. Wow! In my limited time as a tent owner, I have never had the luxury of such a large pitch. There was more than enough room for my new Kalahari 8 plus porch (and children). Talking of children, the play area was great.

It was safe for all ages of children and in a prime position for us to be able to keep a watchful eye on all three of them. As well as the play area, the children were safe in the knowledge that they could roam fairly freely in good safety.

Once set up a brief scout of the site took us to the toilet and washing facilities, excellent! They were very well looked after and incredibly clean at all times of the day, and indeed night. With free showers, which is always a bonus, I cannot rate them highly enough.

The sinks behind the toilet block is an excellent idea as it allows plenty of room for all of your pots and pans along side three other pot washers.

This was our first visit to this site and indeed area of the lake district, and we were not sure of what to do or where to go. However, there were plenty of activities within a short drive to keep all ages entertained. From the owls at Muncater Castle to the pottery painting in Gosforth. We also met some great people on the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gedster1970 2 reviews from this member

 What can I say? Bloody excellent. Just got back from this campsite. Had to cut our visit short but this was due to it being to cold for our babies (it was freezing). The site has the best views I have ever seen. The site was so clean and looked after. The owners were great. Like muppets we forgot our tent pegs, but luckily the owners had 2 bags left. So saved our bacon. We would like to say thanks for our brief but lovely stay. My family will definitely return. I recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shell76 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from 4 night stay here and it was fantastic. Brilliant site very close to 2 good pubs, good food. Lovely scenery. Kids loved it. Nice walks. Weather was fantastic which was a bonus

Lake was lovely. Nice people. Pitche was large, toilet block and showers were clean. Good park for the kids. Warden was nice and helpful,

Visited sea scale beach with the kids, was great, free parking. Good park, nice shops, nice cheap day out. Also a must visit is muncaster castle, another great day out for all family. Definitely be coming back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve Bedford 1 review from this member

 When looking for campsites in the area I found the reviews very helpful in my decision to choose this particular campsite and I wasnít disappointed. The site is well kept and welcoming and is split into different sections with trees and hedges defining each section. This is good as you are self contained in a smaller area without being overcrowded from everyone else as you would be on an open area site. The views are spectacular of the hills and there are some good walks in the area.

Iím glad I picked up the point from other reviewers that you need heavy duty pegs as these were needed. The pitches are flat and level and close to water and power points although electricity has to be booked in advance. There is no mobile phone or TV coverage and FM and digital radio reception is marginal at best. This was wonderful as no-one elseís radios disturbed the peace and tranquillity of the area. Barbecues are allowed but they have to be off the ground.

The toilet and shower block looked somewhat dated with only two showers and 4 toilets in each. I would imagine this could be a problem when the site is full but it did not affect us. There was very hot water throughout the day.

There are two local pubs in the hamlet a 2 minute walk from the site. The food at the Strand was excellent and really good value for money but you do have to book. It has a micro brewery at the back and brews all its own beer. The landlord and landlady were really friendly and made everyone feel welcome. The beer garden at the back has chickens and was a great find.

The nearest shop is a couple of miles down the road at Gosforth which has everything you need including local fresh produce. Next door is the local baker selling freshly baked bread and hot food. It is someoneís house so it doesnít look like a shop.

Overall the campsite was fabulous and I have no complaints for the 7 days we were there. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Higginsandtwins 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights with our three children, aged from 8 to 12 years old. This was a very good campsite - my children said it was the best one we have ever been to.

It was divided into separate sections eg. A quiet area, an area with electric hookup and a main area, and so didn't seem too big. The site was flat, with lovely views all around and we had no problem in putting our tent up. There was quite a bit of rain during our stay and the site did seem to be well drained.

There was a playground with swings, etc., which my children enjoyed and a woodland area to explore. There was also a field to play football in, away from the tents, which was ideal for my two sons. I felt happy that my children were able to play on the site, without getting in the way of any other campers.

The site had a no noise rule after 11.30pm (11pm for the quiet area) and this was adhered to during our stay. Barbecues are allowed but must be kept of the ground.

The toilet and shower block was good and kept clean during our stay, despite plenty of rain. There were 2 showers (free and with plenty of hot water)and 4 toilets in each of the mens and ladies blocks. There were no electrical sockets in the blocks, but there was a free hair dryer in the ladies shower area.

During our stay there was never a queue for the toilets or showers, although the site wasn't full. The showers were locked from 9pm to 7am, although this wasn't a problem for us. There was a security key pad on the toilet block, so that only guests on the campsite could use the facilities, and this also made them feel more secure if using the facilities after dark.

There were 4 sinks for washing up. There was also a laundry room and vending machine on site.

There are two pubs within a couple of minutes walk from the campsite. Both seemed to be very good and had beer gardens. We ate at the Screes Inn one night and had an excellent meal.

During our visit, we climbed Scarfell Pike, and the campsite was ideally situated for this, with only about a 20 minute drive from the campsite, around Wastwater, to Wasdale Head and the start of the walk.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrismb 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived late in the evening at this site, with no booking, as we wanted a site near Scafell. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a booking on the spot.

The facilities were very good - toilet/shower block, washing up area and laundry were kept in a clean condition and despite there being only two showers in the block I did not see anyone waiting on my visits there. A freezer for ice blocks to be refrozen was popular as the weather was hot during our stay - a very useful addition to the laundry room.

The site had visitors of all ages during our stay and everyone appeared to be enjoying their visit. We did not have children with us but children on the site seemed to keep occupied and safe.

We went into Egremont to shop and did not find this to be a chore as it was not too far to travel and a pleasant drive. Cooking on site was no problem and bricks were provided to sit hot pans etc on to assist when serving.

The site was quiet overall and we heard the dawn chorus each day - what a blissful start!

We will certainly use this site again and recommend it to friends and family. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martincumley 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 8 days of camping at Church Stile (should have been 7 but the weather was so good, the surrounding area was beautiful and the site itself was superb so we stayed for an extra night)

The previous review states that the toilet block was a bit dated but I wouldn't say that this is the case at all, yes, there are only two showers in each but saying that the site was fully booked for Spring Bank Holiday Week there wasn't any queueing for the showers as far as I am aware. There were at least 5 sinks so that if you get 5 people all wanting to shave or brush teeth at the same time, no problem. What I am trying to say in a nutshell is for the size of the site the facilities are more than adequate, and cleaned on a regular basis. The owner seems to do everything and is more than happy to have a chat and answer any queries, she loaned us an EHU extension as ours wasn't quite long enough to reach.

The chidren's play area is excellent and my two girls (ten & six) spent most of their time there when we were on site and made lots of new friends.

A no noise policy after 11.30 was perfectly adhered to, apart from an inconsiderate Owl!

Some of the pitches are slightly uneven and I had some difficulty knocking my crappy pegs in due to rocks but there is so much space that these problems are easily overcome.

The nearest shop is about 3 miles away in Gosforth, and stocks decent range.

There are two pubs 100 yards from the campsite, The Screes which has a new Landlord and during busy periods they seemed to be struggling to cope, we had to wait an hour between ordering our food and actually receiving it. Also no kids menu, just knock £3 off the price of any main course to get a childs meal, which to be fair was a good size but far too much for my six year old to eat.

The Strands, opposite, however, did have a kids menu priced at £5 which included ice-cream. I would say it is advisable to book as it seems very popular, it has a nice Beer Garden to the rear and I think it's own brewery also.

If you fancy a day on the beach St Bees is about a 15-20 minute drive away, pay and display, about 60p an hour, lovely beach with shop, cafe, pub and good toilet facilities nearby.

All in all an excellent site in a beautiful part of the country, we are already planning to return again next year.

We have been to places that must have had their websites designed by an estate agent, this one hasn't, it's every bit as good as it looks and if you get good weather it's even better! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helene1 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site with dramatic views. It was clean, well manicured and not too crowded. The toilet and shower block, although cleaned twice daily, were somewhat dated with only two showers which were so large they were more like 'wet rooms'. However the water was hot and free.

The two local pubs in the hamlet (only a 2 minute walk from our tent) were very good and the food at the Strand was excellent and really good value for money. The landlord and landlady were really friendly and made everyone very welcome.

Lots of lovely walks in the area, but a word of caution, beware the many dogs at Gill Farm over the hill. This is on a walk a couple of miles away!

Stock up before you go, the nearest shop is a couple of miles down the road at Gosforth. There is a small park for the kiddies, but that's it. All in all we will definitely be returning to this site. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nether Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement