Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Nether Wasdale > Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park Reviews

Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park
Church Stile Farm
(lake District)
Nether Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1ET
Tel: 01946 726252
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 22nd March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hannah177386diu 1 review from this member

 Liked: shower and toilet facilities were clean and close to pitches. Drinking water taps were plentiful and close to pitches. Pitches were well maintained. Great proximity for Scafell Pike / Great Gable etc. No phone signal at all but free WiFi at the shop.

Areas for improvement: check in deadline being 8pm is quite early, especially on days where people will be travelling after work and travel delays aren’t uncommon. We called to say we were running 30 mins late and got told if we weren’t there by 9pm there was a chance we wouldn’t be allowed on the site - not ideal after a 4 hour drive!

Turns out the owners to check you in actually live on site so felt a bit draconian to threaten we may not be allowed on (we got checked in fine!). But also a sign on the shop door to point to the house would be helpful as there was no one around and no directions given on the phone of where to go even though we had called ahead so we were wandering round trying to find someone for about 20 mins on arrival.

Overall good location for that area of walking, beware you are in the middle of nowhere though so no phone signal at all! 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Anorris41 1 review from this member

 Superb campsite. Very spacious with beautiful surroundings.

Facilities nice and clean and lots of hot water in the showers.

Will definitely be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iaintaylor43 5 reviews from this member

 Love this site in my favourite location on the lakes.

It’s clean and tidy and the Covid organisation is excellent.

Facilitate second to none and the shop is well stocked with very helpful staff

Many thanks. We will be back

Iain and carol. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davehol 1 review from this member

 Couldn't fault the site

Staff were very friendly and helpful

10 out of 10

The site is set in a beautiful location

Would definitely go back.

The toilet block and shower area were constantly being cleaned. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Surfgypsy 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit and I honestly cant believe we’ve not visited before.

The facility’s are superb and very clean and the area is perfect for ticking off those Wainwrights and scaling Scafell.

The owner couldn’t do enough for us, he made us feel so welcome, he even offered to lend us a hand putting up our tent, certainly will not be our last at Church stile

The views are amazing, you certainly won’t be disappointed at this campsite. Brilliant. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Babywhale 26 reviews from this member

 Liked:

1. Great location - scenery from the site is glorious and only a 10 minute drive to Wast Water and about 20 minutes to the car parks at Wasdale Head for climbing the fells around Wasdale (Great Gable, Scafell Pike).

2. Toilets and Showers are good / clean and were within 1-2 minutes walk from the pitch, although if you’re pitched in the non EHU fields its a bit further. Plenty of hot water.

3. Pitch was of good size and flat, with EHU. Not too cramped.

4. Water point near to the tent

5. Peaceful and quiet with dark skies.

Minor Issues:

1. No phone signal (with o2 network) for most of the area. Rarely get an E let alone a 3G. Forget 4G. Also there’s no WiFi on the site (except for at the cafe). Makes it a bit awkward to check weather on the go, which is important for walkers

2. Dishwashing point is at the toilet block, which is a bit of a trek when you’re carrying lots of items. Our pitch was relatively close, but this could be annoying for those pitched further away.

3. If you want to explore more of the Lakes than just Wasdale then you really should reconsider camping here. Places like Keswick, Buttermere, Coniston take about an hour and a half to get to.

4. Cafe overpriced. A roll with bacon, sausage and egg is more than £5. Coffee wasn’t great either (weak). 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tobias62 1 review from this member

 Stayed just one night to give my 8 year old grandson his first experience of camping! The site in situated in the heart of the lakes with stunning views all around.

There are several fields to choose from, clean toilets and a laundry. My gransdson felt very grown up going to 'The Strand' pub just around the corner for tea.

We were greeted on arrival at the reception/site shop by a friendly young lady who got us checked in and given a map and directions to find a pitch.

So, we had a successful outing and I'm glad to say Louis enjoyed the trip and is looking forward to the next one. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 16 reviews from this member

 We typically prefer smaller/quiet sites and usually travel out of peak season, so this was one of the biggest, and by far the busiest sites we've stayed at. This obviously made it pretty noisy (from our point of view) - from groups of kids playing to people chatting (not very loudly but nearby, because it was so busy), both late into the night and early the next morning.

There aren't a lot of toilets/showers for so many people but we didn't have to queue at all. The facilities were modern and clean, repeatedly checked throughout the day/evening.

There is a small section of woodland on the site for exercising dogs.

The reception/shop sells fresh bread & local ice cream, which was a treat. It was open until well into the evening too. All the staff we met were friendly.

The village pubs are less than a minute's walk from the site entrance - good food & drink selection.

Obviously excellent walking opportunities nearby and we enjoyed swimming in Wastwater too.

We'll probably return at some point - but would stick to quieter times to avoid the crowds. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lancaster20 5 reviews from this member

 Good facilities and fantastic views.

Level pitches with EHU.

Staff very helpful.

Pub close by.

Great place for walking and cycling.

Will use again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: DickyBanks 1 review from this member

 I have used this campsite several times over the past few years. I love the location in the fabulous Wasdale Valley.

England's deepest lake is 20 minute walk away. The campsite is very clean and tidy.

The pitches are very generous. Fire pits are available to rent (we take our own).

The campsite shop is amazing, their breakfast rolls especially.

This is a beautiful, quite site in the most impressive valley in the Lake District. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nether Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5366 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement