Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Nether Wasdale > Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park > Reviews

Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park
Church Stile Farm
(lake District)
Nether Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1ET
Tel: 01946 726252
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 22/03/2024 to 09/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 120 Reviews
                9/10 from 120 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jerryhatrick 2 reviews from this member

 Brilliant, well run campsite!

Third time I've been this year.

Staff very friendly and helpful, great facilities and a nice little shop too.

Great pizza available too!

Good flat pitches, great base to explore the Wasdale area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: CVM17 13 reviews from this member

 Wow factor views, great walking in every direction (including bluebell woods just around the corner), and with an award-winning real ale brewpub on your doorstep who could ask for more?

But there is more a level site with hardstandings, lots of space, spotlessly clean facilities, loads of hot water, a very good campsite shop, and friendly staff as well.

Lose one mark for lack of a drive-over grey water drain for motorhomes, but Im just nit-picking with that one.

All in all a wonderful campsite in a quieter corner of the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pondie78 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice site, excellent location for exploring the area.

Good facilities which are well maintained.

Well stocked shop on site and the Pizza van is a great idea and not bad value! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DJinks 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful little site.

Large pitches, clean, tidy with excellent facilities.

Location is fabulous and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

Well stocked shop and wifi cafe on site too. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Adele Pillinger 1 review from this member

 The location of this site is amazing you can walk from the site up many fells in the wasdale valley. The views are beautiful. The site itself is well laid out we stayed on an electric pitch there are clearly defined pitches with lots of space.

The problem with this site is the facilities. It's a big site. There are 4 showers and 4 sinks.

If you are on the main camping field you have quite a walk to any of the facilities. Not good for a middle of the night wee or carrying lots of washing up.

Only one toilet block for whole site.

The biggest problem though is the hot water or total lack of it and water pressure. You can not get a hot shower at this site unless you are prepared to shower at weird times. They turn the water off at 9pm on a night.

Most of the time there is no hot water. Worst still the water pressure drops off and water literally dribbles down the back of the shower unit. Imagine showering under a freezing cold slow running tap. It controlled our week there. We ended up racing back to shower at 5pm at night after day on the fells it was the only way to guarantee hot water. It's an inadequate pathetic dribble.

If you catch it like that it's not even possible to wash under it. I heard people thumping the awful push button shower units trying to get water out. I was left with shampoo stuck in my long hair as the pressure was so low I could not rinse it. I saw another family trying to wash their daughters hair in the sink with a jug.

I complained when on site and was told they were fed by a bore hole and there was nothing they could do.

It's not a cheap campsite. I don't ask for too much from facilities but this is inadequate. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dianam 2 reviews from this member

 Church Stile Farm was ok and we would probable go back to it but not in holiday time as it has the potential to be noisy after the 11pm quiet time. On our first night, there was a group of teenagers in a tent next to us who laughed and talked until gone midnight. We did mention it to staff and it was ok after that.

Also, on our arrival, there was a lot of dog poo on the grass next to our pitch where we were putting up a gazebo. I found this totally unacceptable so on mentioning it to the staff, it was cleaned up - twice!

The toilet and shower block were just about up to standard and just about clean enough. Round the back of the toilet block there was a washing up area which was very good with deep sinks and plenty of hot water.

Not too far from Wast Water which was beautiful and at the head of the lake there was a pub and shop and very old church. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: John1k 3 reviews from this member

 This was my first stay at Church Stile and I was impressed.

The site is well run the staff were all very friendly and the facilities were clean with COVID 19 rules in place.

I would certainly recommend it and will return.

The scenery is pretty good as well. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helend 1 review from this member

 A very enjoyable couple of nights at Church-Stile. Great greeting when checking in and lovely local ice cream available from the shop.

Very clear guidelines about distancing etc for CoronaVirus.

We were bowled over on our first night by the number of visible stars (it was cloudy on our second night so not so good) and thought this site should make more of "dark skies" which doesn't currently feature on the website. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: John1k 3 reviews from this member

 This was my first stay at Church Stile and I was impressed.

The site is well run the staff were all very friendly and the facilities were clean with COVID 19 rules in place.

I would certainly recommend it and will return.

The scenery is pretty good as well. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rvfbil 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, beautiful location, facilities nipping clean, excellent little shop, very helpful staff.

Only negative comment is about allowing open fires of any type, fire pits/ fire boxes, on site where tents are pitched. Hot embers can damage very expensive tents. Some people can be stupid, remove the choice please.

Overall a lovely site I have no doubt we will be back. 


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nether Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55538 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement