Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Church Stile Campsite & Holiday Park
Church Stile Farm
(lake District)
Nether Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1ET
Tel: 01946 726252
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 22nd March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Enjoyed a pleasant 2 nights at this site in April - tent with electric hook up.

We did not book and arrived after the reception/shop closed at 1700, so knocked on the nearby farmhouse door as instructed. We were charged 58 for 2 nights (Tent, 2 adults, 1 child, 1 dog), and were allocated a pitch in the 'Hedgerow Field', on the south west of the site. There are several other small camping fields, as well as some statics. Lots of site rules prominently displayed (including 'No Drones' - first time that I have seen this rule!)

Good level grassy pitch with only one other tent in the area. Ground took the pegs easily. The wind sprang up in the night - one peculiarity of Wasdale is that the wind often comes in gusts, due no doubt to the steep surrounding hills. All in all the environment within the campsite is very pleasant, with lots of planting and the site broken up into several small areas.

Visited the site shop/cafe the next day; Woodall's award winning Cumberland sausages for sale - breakfast sorted! On the subject of food, the nearby Strands Inn is recommended - and they are dog friendly and brew their own beer.

Facilities in the toilet block are very good, and newly refurbished to a high standard. Unfortunately the showers are painfully hot when they start up, but they do settle down to a decent temperature after a few minutes.

The campsite is on the threshold of some of the finest mountains in England; including Scafell Pike and Great Gable. A walk across the Wastwater Screes is a unique experience too. There is also less strenuous walking right on the doorstep; quite a network of local footpaths and bridleways.

All in all a good site that I would be happy to return to.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Westcoastmondial 1 review from this member

Been coming to this site for the past 14 years and it just improves with age. The owners and staff work tirelessly to ensure a happy stay and nothing is too much trouble. The two pubs, all of three mins walk away both serve excellent real ale and food and are both dog friendly. In a nutshell, my little piece of heaven.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fkdupfairy 6 reviews from this member

Thank you for a wonderful 4 days stay.

The people who run this site are very kind and accommodating and pleasant.

The facilities are very clean and freshly decorated. Showers are warm too hot. The separate areas for caravans tents etc is ingenious and very well kept. The shop ( although I didn't need to buy anything is very well stocked and beautifully decorated and displayed well.

Only fault is the entrance parking is a wee bit cramped when you have either a trailer or caravan attached and other cars come opposite way. Bit of a squeeze.

But. Other than that. Fantastic area and site. Thankyou for having us xx

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tangodave77 3 reviews from this member

This campsite has possibly the best toilet and shower facilities in any campsite I've been recently. The staff commented that it was due to be upgraded, I was more than happy. The 2 staff were very helpful and friendly.

The location of the site is right beside a lovely walk down to the lake.

Coming from Scotland it was a nice changed not to have midgies during the evening here.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donna14 1 review from this member

We are complete newbies when it comes to camping, having only purchased our tent two days before our visit.

We were very impressed with the facilities, it is very well maintained. We had an electric hook-up tent pitch.

The only thing which we had trouble with was anchoring the tent pegs into the ground. We think that the pitch had previously been a hardstanding and grassed over but when trying to put the pegs in every time we hit rocks and bent them.

The toilet and shower facilities were kept spotless. I didn't have any need to use laundry facilities as we only stayed for the 1 evening.

We took our dog with us and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Lovely surroundings.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lincoln Camper 3 reviews from this member

First time at this site and stayed for seven days having passed it a few years previous.

Greeted by the friendly site staff on arrival who provided a map etc for us to find our own pitch.

Access to the main pitches via a single tarmac road over a small hill and blind corner a bit tricky (especially with a trailer) when you meet oncoming traffic as one of you has to reverse back but soon got wise and sent one of the kids to stand at the top of the hill to check for safe passage.

Well stocked shop/cafe on site; however, no replacement gas. WIFI access available in this location only (little if no phone reception); however, a bit hit and miss.

Clean toilet and shower block with push buttons for water conservation, just very busy especially on weekends.

Covered pot washing facilities to the rear.

Laundry for use with tokens obtained from the on site shop (new tumble drier required as packed up while we were there).

Small play area for the kids; however due to the heavy rain the areas beneath the swings and slide were more like a swamp and require filling.

Plenty of room for our large tent (Vermont XLP) non electric, including space for the trailer and car, bordered with a wall and hedges making it private and out of any significant wind.

Great space at the rear of the site to walk the dogs with lovely views of the mountain ranges of Great Gable and Scafell.

Ball games area located at the rear of the site.

Wast Water lake only 1 mile walk from the site.

Two pubs and a hotel within 5mins walk all with excellent food, dog friendly and with an abundance of real ales etc.

A few negative points:

Single track road in and out not ideal (a car broke down and blocked route for considerable time until recovered).

No replacement calor gas bottles on site so had to travel out to Calder Bridge (25mins) and replace at a local garage.

Whinn Rig Field advertised as a quiet area; however, very noisy on a weekend with large groups pitched close together.

All in all a good little site and would stay again if visiting this part of the Lakes.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wulles 1 review from this member

Lovely, friendly, clean campsite. Great walks locally, beautiful location. 2 pubs and a hotel within minutes of campsite, good food. Gosforth within 10 minutes drive with a wee local shop and a lovely cafe in a gallery, fish and chips take away from the pub. Whitehaven within 1/2 hour loads of shops and places to eat

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alipetfleetwood 2 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite which I've stayed on before, and the owners have spent a lot of time & money on upgrading and extending over the years. Toilets & showers always clean with plenty of hot water etc etc.

But as the site expands they need to enlarge or add some more toilets and showers, as at busy time it was almost impossable to get in. One good thing although not my bag is that a large no' of the pitches are available with EHU.

Now having said that the downside of it all is they do seem to attracting the wrong clientele as whilst we were there, there was several single sex groups arriving and one by one pitching up close together and although they have an 11pm silence rule no-one seemed to enforce it ! Also the were a number of late night early hours vehicle movements on site. And to top it all one inconsiderate camper decided to start his campervan engine up and leave it on tick over to warm his van for nearly an hour and smoke everyone else out with the exhaust fumes and think nothing of it Still I've got his reg no' !

Would I return -Only if I was desperate for somewhere to stay.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debs2960 1 review from this member

Fabulous site & extremely well run, spotlessly clean.

Every member of staff you came into contact with were so friendly & helpful, Brian & Sue work tirelessly to make sure the site is tip top, they are an absolute credit, they clearly love their job. We were 3 middle aged ladies staying for a week & nothing was too much trouble, they went out of their way, Brian even checked my Sisters tyre on her car prior to us leaving.

The only bad thing was - we had to come home!

We will recommend this little gem of a site & will be returning soon. ,

Once again thank you to you all.

Debbie, Pam & Jackie

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnierotten 3 reviews from this member

Our second visit here. It was just as nice as before but the owners have invested a lot on improvements. The little shop was lovely serving coffees etc. I didn't get to sample one as we headed off to St Bees the next day. Wast Water is as lovely as ever. We had another lovely stay. The beer festival was on at the Strand Inn which was lovely.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!