Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Three Magpies Public House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Seend > The Three Magpies Public House Reviews

The Three Magpies Public House
Sells Green
Seend
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828389
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 55 Reviews
                7/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimjam11 2 reviews from this member

 After reading other reviews it was with some trepidation that we set off in our caravan for the Three Magpies. When we arrived there was a rally in the adjacent field and we were in the touring side. We were very pleased with the pitch we were given and loved the close proximity to the Avon & Kennet canal and the inn where we had an acceptable meal. The site was clean and well cared for and yes the toilet block was outdated but was cleaned every morning and there was a mop and bucket for interim clean up if required. No there is not a shop on site but I certainly would not expect one with this type of site, shopping can be done in either Melksham or Devizes both relatively close and Bath a little further away. I would also agree with a previous reviewer who mentioned the manhole cover making such an awful clang and as this is my only gripe - yes, I would go back again! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dlt1366 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 2 night stay. We have been before (last summer) but, sadly, doubt we will go back. The site itself is in a lovely location behind an award winning pub. There is some traffic noise, but it is not generally intrusive although there is a loose manhole cover on the road and most vehicles seem to hit it making a loud clanging sound day and night. The site has a limited number of pitches from previous, apparently due to local Council Planning Regs so it is fairly quiet.

The facilities are basic and this is where we begin our reasons for not returning. There is no shop on site. There is also no play area. The toilet blocks are dated and could do with some attention, the floor of the female toilet was permanently wet & slimey, the fixtures/fittings weren't that clean either. If you want hot water, it is through a small instant hot water boiler over the small sink but it has a very slow flow rate. There was no hot water for washing up at all and seemingly hasn't been for a while. There are several permanent residents on the site and I am afraid they are really not helping trade. We found one couple to be particularly grumpy - clearly they aren't happy with having children around and that is the main reason we wont be returning. We want our kids to be able to play on holiday without 'residents' telling them off for being children and doing what kids do.

In all fairness, it is a pleasant location very close to the Kennet and Avon Canal and is probably ideal for many, but for families ? I think not, unless you are just looking for somewhere quiet that you can rest up, close to a pub that does great food and drink ready to continue a journey the next day. For older couples and those with campervans that have their own showers / toilets etc it is sure to be a hit, but like I said we have three young children and its not for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clarkster 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as the nearby club site wouldn't let us stay for just one night. To be honest it turned out it was the better option, and we would have ended up using the pub anyway.

The site is small and basic but well looked after, and the ground in places was still a little soft, but sensible pitching overcame that. The showers and toilets are a small prefab portacabin type thing and the showers need a £1 token. I think its £13 or £15 with EHU and that is the price throughout the year, no daft seasonal variations.

The pub itself is fantastic, the food is fabulous and there is a good selection of ales and ciders too. There was a good scrumpy that gave quite a fuzzy head! I would advise booking a table if you intend to eat in the evening, it seems to be very popular with locals, canal boaters and the patrons of the nearby club site. The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly.

We took a walk down the canal which was easily accessible with dogs and push chair. The geese took a bit of a dislike to the dogs but was worth it to see my wife running away from them.

Will definitely stay again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights in late August and sadly the site like many others was suffering from the wettest summer on record, it was a bit squelchy and muddy.

As other people have commented the loos and showers could do with a bit(a lot)of tlc, the landlady knows this and is trying to get the Brewery to stump up some cash, for some hardstandings as well, but don't hold your breath!. And does it really need to cost £1 to take a shower?

However the area is great for walking, the canal is on the doorstep. Buses go to Devizes/ Melksham/ Bath every hour from outside the entrance.

Agree with the other reviews about the pub, food great, service good, staff happy and helpful, garden nice place to sit if it ever stops RAINING. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saws 1 review from this member

 We were just left alone to camp, no over crowding, no annoying signs everywhere. Kids loved it

£10 per tent yes per tent and that's is world beating value. will be going there again so I can relax and have a good chat with the landlord, who is great.

Was peaceful and very laid back. I expect we will be back there again next year and walk along the Kennet and Avon canal

My wife managed to get locked in the disabled loo, that was the only downside but it was funny as well 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigerseye 10 reviews from this member

 We tried this site because it is just next door to the CCC site but a bit cheaper. It is actualy a great site, we thought it might be a small patch of grass behind the pub but is in fact more like a proper campsite, with a large, flat neatly mown field with electric hookups and non-EHU pitches. You would never know it was there as the entrance is hidden behind the pub, and you have to tow right into the car park and round the back to find your way in.

Although the pub has regular live music it is a fairly peaceful site and the pub does not make much noise after 11pm or so anyway. Facilities seemed OK but basic, we used our own in the van but there was 1 water tap and 1 waste disposal, which was little more than a hole in the ground, OK but a bit 'splashy' at times.

Owners of the campsite and pub seem relaxed and laid back, this is not a site with rules and regulations and 'do not' notices all over the place. The only thing I was not sure about was that groups of campers were allowed to pitch close together, far too close for fire regs.

Apart from that this is a really nice site and we will return. It is not the manicured, neatly-planted CCC site next door but is equally nice in its own chillaxed way. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hedges 4 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a one night stay at the three magpies camp site. And what a pleasure it was. Arrival was welcomed in the bar and directed to a pitch that was flat, close mown and numbered. Catering for about, I guess 30 ehu and 30+ non ehu pitches the site was quiet and as I said a pleasure to be at. Awning done. Check out the pub time.

Clean, tidy with a good range of ales and friendly staff. The food looked excellent but bbq was on the cards later so had a couple of jars first. On returning later a sit in the garden area was our call. This has about 8-10 wooden benches and a small kids play area. All very nice. Then a short 200 yard walk to the canal, which I am told 5 miles left is Devizes town and 1 mile right is another pub, all along the towpath.

The pub has, I'm told regular music and this weekend was no different. We were treated to the sounds of a bloke singing a medley of songs, not all my cup of tea, but pleasant background entertainment. The pub is open til past midnight on Saturdays and we spent 10 or 15 minutes chatting to the landlady and it seems they have not been there to long and are striving to convince the brewery to invest in the toilet/shower block, which in my opinion is far to small. Clean yes but small. 1 toilet, 1 pay shower (£1)in each and the addition of 2 urinals in the mens. Disabled toilet also available.

The toilet block was the only down side to the site that I can see, and with small investment from the brewery it would be a cracking little site.

That said would gladly return and will do. Just a bit quicker if the loos were sorted. Thanks to the three magpies we had a great time. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen orm 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at the Three Magpies, as part of a group of 3 familes.

The site was clean and tidy when we arrived, and although it had rained, the ground was far from boggy !

There are some lovely walks very near by, and the canal was just a couple of minutes away.

The pub is really good, and the new landlord is very welcomming. And although we didn't eat, the menu had a wide range of food on it, and the meals we saw being served looked and smelt very fresh and 'homemade'. Out side the pub is a lovely pub garden, where dogs were made welcome, and there is a small play area for the kids.

I guess the only negative is there are only a couple of loo's and showers, but these were very clean, and we never had to que-up.

For a campsite that is under £10 a night, this is definitely on the 're-visit' list 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Smartcabman 4 reviews from this member

 Very tidy site. Nice grass area. Wouldn't want to stay when its been raining as I think it could get very boggy. As for the showers, Cant believe nobody has mentioned that you have to pay £1.00 to use them and with about 40 pitches I don't think 2 male showers and 1 loo and 1 ladies shower and 1 loo is enough.

Wouldn't want to stay for a week, I think a couple of nights is enough. But as for location to the canal that's very good. But really need a new shower block. Will use again but only as a weekender. 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trishandtez 31 reviews from this member

 We camped at the CCC club next door as we get age concessions and the price we paid was only £2 more a night, at £12 a night in January. Campsite was a bit muddy and units a bit close together so decided to camp at the club site but we did go there for a meal for my birthday and it was really nice. Tez had a shoulder of lamb which he recommends and I had the duck in plum and shallot sauce mmm yummy. We had deserts which could have been prepared by a top chef, lovely presentation.

Would go there if I had not booked to go to the CCC club. I had a look at the toilets and they were adequate, didn't use the showers though. Bus stop just outside the pub car park, quite expensive to use the buses though, at least Tez doesn't have to pay as he has a bus pass so wasn't so bad, £4.60 for return into Devizes 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Three Magpies Public House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Three Magpies Public House?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Three Magpies Public House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seend      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window