Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Three Magpies Public House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Seend > The Three Magpies Public House Reviews

The Three Magpies Public House
Sells Green
Seend
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828389
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 55 Reviews
                7/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplelotty 1 review from this member

 A very nice plain and simple site that was good value for money. There was plenty of room for the children to play. It would be nice if there was more than one toilet in the ladies (as I think the men had 2!) And the tap was not working when we were there. There was also no hot water for washing up which would've been fine, but because there was a dedicated sink, we assumed the water would be hot.

An excellent site for 2-3 nights (that is with a tent- if you had a camper with it's own facilities you would be fine.)

It was peaceful and very laid back. I expect we will be back there again next year. Plus the walk along the Kennet and Avon canal toward Devizes was great with all the locks and a great pub- The Artichoke- for lunch/refreshments before the walk back. It was about 3 miles each way (my 5 year old did it without complaint!)

My only down point was that my 8 yr old daughter managed to get locked in the disabled loo and whoever rescued her told her off for using the disabled loo (even though the one in the ladies was occupied)Imagine if someone that was disabled had got stuck in there too!  


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cornishpixie1 5 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site a few times and have mixed feelings about it.

First the toilet facilities are poor, given the size of the site and the number of potential people, one ladies toilet and shower is not good. I am always up and packed up early so it hasn't proven to be problematic for me but I do think that this should be a consideration for a family.

You get what you pay for so to speak, the site is fairly reasonable when it come to price. I think the pub is quite expensive, but the staff are happy and willing to help. The man that runs the site (think he lives in a caravan on site) was a little abrupt with us which was a shame.

All in all, you do get what you pay for and I keep returning so it can't be all bad. The glass is always short, the site is level and pitch wise they are well maintained.

I would recommend this as a basic site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Carltonelly 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely relaxed site for meeting friends - plenty of room for the kids to play

Could really do with more than one toilet though especially as one of the kids was told off for using the disabled toilet when the ladies was occupied.

Very close to the canal with an easy walk to 'The Artichoke' pub where the food was lovely! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wandalust 2 reviews from this member

 The Three Magpies is an excellent site, clean, flat with well trimmed grass. Nice friendly Pub landlord and very reasonable.

We always stay when visiting family in the nearby area here rather than the club one next door having turned up late one evening and finding it shut.

Pub food is good and the location is wonderful.

If you visit I do recommend a trip to the Caen Hill Locks nearby, or a pleasant walk along the canal tow path.

Would possibly benefit from a new toilet/shower block but the one there was always clean and tidy. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: freckles63 67 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a mon-frid stay with friends also in a caravan. The pub is fine and can recommend the lamb shoulder as 1st rate. The canal is only a short stroll around the corner and if you take the right hand walk you will come to The Barge pub on the canalside.

The prices had gone up from £10 when I booked to £15.00 a night with EHU, however the shower/toilet portable cabin facility was totally inadequate for the size of the field, especially the ladies.

The mens room had 2 showers and toilets the ladies 1 shower and 1 toilet! The mens shower was so hot one minute and then cold the next that one of our party said it was too dangerous to use. I reported this to the pub landlord but felt it fell on deaf ears.

Very relaxed nice place to camp, that wasn't that busy at all considering it was the week running up to the bank holiday weekend.

Probably wouldn't go back unless the facilities were upgraded. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beerstalker 12 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here before we re-visited this year. We were surprised to find that the price had risen significantly since last time - in my opinion it is now more expensive than the facilities justify. Having said that, the site is very pleasant, open and level and next to the canal. The pub serves excellent food and beer at reasonable prices and the walk up Caen Hill locks is spectacular. The toilet facilities leave much to be desired at the price, although basic and cleaned every day they are limited in number for a site of this size. The electric hookups on the side of the field adjoining the rally field had each been fitted with a short lead having two sockets - not particularly safe in wet weather! There are no nearby shops - Devizes is the best option. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel2389 2 reviews from this member

 Spent one night at this campsite, due to my family and I visiting Longleat Safari Park over a two day period, only half an hours drive away.

We were able to choose our own pitch, all of which were on lovely level grass. Plenty of space between us and our neighbours and at £8 for the night, thought this excellent value for money. Although it is behind a pub, you really couldn't tell at all, very peaceful location.

The facilities were basic but adequate for a short stay, both gents and ladies consisted of one toilet and one shower, there was also a disabled room - no queues though. Staff were very friendly.

Only complaint was to do with the pub itself, although beautifully presented and the staff being very plesant, the food and drink I found to be rather expensive and of a poor standard. Overall we were rather disappointed, and didn't find it good value for money. Wishing we had driven to get takeaway, rather than spend £37 on two adult meals a childs, 3xcokes and a beer! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Uk traveller9 11 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here 3 times now, twice on grassy pitches and once at the end of the season on hard standing. It is a large site with basic toilet facilities that are kept spotlessly clean. It is a quiet site despite it being behind a pub.

The hard standing pitch had a lot of rubble which made erecting the awning awkward. Prices has risen steeply from last summer at £9.50/night to £15/ night - quite a jump! Staff are friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linsblake 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site by accident after being turned away from the CCC site next door because it was full (it was 5pm on a Saturday and they didn't mention the pub site next door)

Lovely site, very friendly pub, nice grassy area and big pitches. Quiet at night and obviously having the pub on your doorstep is very nice.

The toilets were basic but clean and warm and for £8 for a night we couldn't believe our luck. Would definitely recommend this site over the CCC one next door - makes me wonder why I bother paying my CCC subs sometimes! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dickyrivs 2 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant spot and all quite friendly, with bus stop quite close which being a bus pass holder was very good for me. However,the field, although well kept generally, was very uneven and needed to use levellers.

Pitches are very close together though. For £10 a night including hook up it was ideal except for the facilities. I arrived on the Tuesday afternoon and after setting up I visited the little boys room cubicle and found it unclean and regrettably it stayed that way up to the time that I left on the Friday morning. Not nice ! The site was nowhere near full either.

There are no recycling facilities either. Don't think I will return. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Three Magpies Public House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Three Magpies Public House?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Three Magpies Public House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seend      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window