Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Three Magpies Public House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Seend > The Three Magpies Public House Reviews

The Three Magpies Public House
Sells Green
Seend
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828389
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 55 Reviews
                7/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marysl 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site at a great pub with a friendly welcome.

Great walks along the canal & countryside & plenty of space for kids to play.

Only let down by the lack of hot water wash up & the toilet / shower block which is in desperate need of a refurb! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kalcoatl 2 reviews from this member

 Very quiet spot the first night (thursday) on flat ground: 50 yards from toilet/shower block +50yds from back door pub +50yds from main road +200yds from neighbouring camp site +200yds to canal.

Overwhelmed by camper vans Friday.

Much cheaper than neighbours by canal for solo camper.

Swipe card system for showers temperamental. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: COPAUL 9 reviews from this member

 The site was on the whole quiet, we never used the facilities but I did have a look in them and they did look clean if a little tired. However the pub was good and the food needed to be served hotter. The price of the site at £17 per night was fair

Would we return? I think we just may. The Kennet and Avon canal was a short walk away where you can stroll along itís banks

The location is best reached by heading for Sells Green. A lot cheaper than the Caravan and Camping Club who charge £35 per night! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bob61 28 reviews from this member

 This was my third or fourth visit to The Three Magpies and I have given a favourable review previously but I was not quite so impressed on this occasion.

I was given the usual warm welcome and having been before was told to go and choose a pitch and to pay later. The camping field is, as always, nicely maintained and mowed although on this occasion a little brown due to the lack of rain for several weeks. However, the portacabin toilet facilities left a lot to be desired on this occasion.

There is only one toilet cubicle in the gents and the lock on the door was broken. It actually fell off onto the floor when I tried to lock the door although I managed to fit it back on loosely and managed to make it work. Sort of. The toilet seat was loose and askew and needed re-positioning and tightening. It was a bit of a balancing act sitting on it. There is a hook for hanging clothes inside the toilet cubicle but none outside near the sink so nowhere to hang or place wash bag and towel. Although the portacabin was reasonably clean, because the windows were stuck in a permanent open position there were so many different coloured bugs crawling on the walls that David Bellamy would be in his element identifying them all. Most of them were pretty new to me!

As I mentioned in a previous review there is only one sink in the washroom and that is a tiny caravan type sink, access to which is made even more difficult by the positioning of a water heater and soap dispenser directly above in such a position as to bang your forehead on them if you tried to bend over the sink to wash your face or clean your teeth. Consequently the floor gets a little splashed. I am sure they could improve that with little extra cost.

Although the staff did their job in the pub they didn't seem too keen on chatting to customers and making them feel welcome and were more intent on watching the TV and chatting to regulars or what seemed to be other family members in the bar. I felt I was being a bit of a nuisance disturbing them when I wanted another drink.

I mentioned the damaged loo door lock and seat and was thanked for 'letting them know since they only know these things if somebody tells them'. The person I told said he would get his man onto it but it was still like that when I left and had probably been like that for months if not years.

I ate in the pub on the first night. There was a choice of food costing around £12.50 to £13.50 but on the back of the menu was a selection of 'smaller portions' for around £7.50. I am glad I didn't pay £12.50 for my fish and chips because there were more bones in the filleted cod than in a kipper and I didn't get the Tartare Sauce I was asked if I wanted when they took the order, but the chips and peas were nice. I ate elsewhere the following day.

Some disappointments on this occasion but I like the area and I like the pitches although I do camp midweek out of season when it is quiet. I would imagine there might be queues for the loo if it was busy. It is sad that the owners do not make more effort to maintain and improve the toilet and washing facilities as that would make the site much more pleasant. I would return as it still remains one of my favourite sites for location and decent pitches at a reasonable price. I paid £12 a night with EHU. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 56 reviews from this member

 Good pub site with large flat camping field with electric. Mostly to grass but we were advised to pitch on one of the few hardstandings due to the ground being soft, which was fine.

Facilities are in a portacabin and were adequate and clean but might be stretched if the site was busy.

Nice walks to Kennet and Avon canal and bus between Devizes and Melksham stops nearby.

Very friendly pub with good food (small portions available). There is an outside seating area on grass with a small playground for children. The pub was surprisingly busy mid week in November and we booked a table for dinner as advised. A lot of the custom seemed to come from the C&CC site next door. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CyberCynth 1 review from this member

 Handy site for exploring the Kennet and Avon canal and the many other delights Wiltshire has to offer. Lovely to be able to fall into a dog-friendly bar at the end of a long day walking, for a good meal. Not a huge choice for veggies on the menu though. Facilities disappointing. Shower very poor, especially when you've had to pay £1 for it! Poor water pressure and I couldn't see how to turn down the temperature once I'd taken off my specs! No hot water in the dish-washing area, nor could I see a light; not helpful when I want to do a pile of washing up late evening. Pitches nearly all grass, not very well drained and I had to get some friends to push my caravan off the flooded pitch after a night of rain, on the morning I left.

As a senior citizen it would be cheaper for me to stay on the C&CC site next door in mid or low season, and enjoy better facilities with the comfort of knowing there's a security barrier in place. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eaglesman 2 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our short stay at the 3 Magpies but felt a few small things would have made it so much better. I bought a shower token for a £1 and when I used it, the shower only worked for about 20 secs, just as I had started to soap up. Now, I did move the temp from medium to high but didn't expect this as I was told it would last for about 6 Mins. There is no hot water at the washing up station, which I haven't experienced elsewhere. Bad if you have fried food utensils to wash. There doesn't seem to be a grey waste deposit and it is inconvenient to lift a heavy wastemaster into the black waste deposit. Finally, the men's toilet was without a toilet roll for nearly a day. They should always leave a spare as at many other sites. I feel it wouldn't take too much to rectify these smal problems and make for a great retreat. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RAYMONDO 831 1 review from this member

 Upon a late (8:30pm) arrival. First impression was good. It immediately got better, met with hostess of pub and immediately shown where to park. Complete with 240v hookups. A drink and an evening meal for two. Early exit from site after a shower £1extra. Dated but adequate shower/ toilet facilities. Picnic area would be fabulous in spring and summer times. A very short walk to the picturesque canal with great walks. Staying on an extra day absolutely a great place to be or find yourself. We will return. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kay381 2 reviews from this member

 Wanted to see the Kennet and Avon canal and visit Devizes. £15 per night for our caravan, awning, electric hook up, 2 children and a dog. Good basic site, clean toilet/shower block (heated), £1 a shower. Nice pub, friendly staff and 2 minute walk to the canal. Some road noise but didn't bother us.

Half the price of camping and caravan site next door. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffreyI 21 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the three Magpies we were last there 4 years ago. I was surprised to see the same shower/toilet block there. I thought at the time they were temporary and by now permanent structures would have been installed. These showers/toilets let the site down. One cubicle in the ladies and one in the gents were inadequate for the number of people on the site. And they also charge a £1 for a shower. Also I find it pretty poor that having used the toilet you do not have facilities for drying your hands other than using toilet paper, surely an electric hand dryer could be provided for hygiene purposes. The only other unsatisfactory issue was the fact that they will place tents and caravans next to each other, where electric hook up cannot be used because a tent is on that plot. Personally I think tents and caravans should be separated as it could also be a hazard, this could easily be achieved on this site as it has two separate fields. The positive side of the site is easy access off the main road, a very nice Country Pub serving meals with a good supply of real ale. Also the canal walks are within a stone throw away where you could walk to the The Barge country Pub where they also serve excellent food and have a lovely beer garden where you can watch the canal boats pass by. You could also walk in the other direction to Devizes. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Three Magpies Public House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Three Magpies Public House?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Three Magpies Public House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seend      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement