Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes > Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Oakley Park Road
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6JA
Tel: 01686 412694
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kitana8 5 reviews from this member

 3 of us went here on my birthday weekend at the begining of september.

Was beautiful weather!

The site is massive and plenty of space to pitch just about anywhere.

Campfires are allowed which was good fun.

Was 7 per person and no extra costs which considering the site was pretty good. Downside is the showers are 20p for 3 mins so that was the fastest shower I ever had :)

Facilities are amazing! games room for kids and adults, freezers for your ice packs etc. All toilets and showers looked brand new and always kept clean. Playground was amazing and would be good for kids too :)

The owner was really nice and even lent me her map which was really nice. Another plus was she allowed us to take some of the fruit she was growing in her garden. So many apples and pears etc was really good.

The river is good fun but don't expect any large fish as we only caught ones about 4cm long but was fun anyway.

Hoping to go back next week as it was so nice~ would highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BranBucca 3 reviews from this member

 Would like to say a huge thank you for helping support our charity trekkers as they made their 175 mile trek from Carmarthen to Snowdon for Cerebra! The site has great facilities, a beautiful location by the river and even help provide firewood to help warm the cockles and make a true holiday! heartily recommend the site! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pixiefish 1 review from this member

 Amazing place. Child friendly. Lovely river running through it provided hours of entertainment for the kids who were in the river fishing with nets and playing on inflatables. Load of shops within a mile but the site is also close to nature and feels as if you're way out. Small enough to feel safe but spacious enough to not feel cramped. Friendly owners. Clean facilities. Not over commercial which is very positive. One of the best sites we've stayed on. Pay per person not per unit which is fab as well 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alfie50 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site in the Wales country side. It was busy as it was over bank holiday, however this wasn't a problem, the site still felt spacious.

Laid back atmosphere and the facilities were great and kept clean the entire time.

Nice play area for the children and the kitchen + washing machine was a bonus.

We walked along the river to the local town over the site owners fields which was a nice change to the road. Llanidloes was less than a mile away with plenty of nice pubs and restaurants.

It would have been nice to have a fire but but there were none available, all of the site owners ones were in use. We will be bringing our own next year!

Thanks from the Davies Family 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paula4220 1 review from this member

 Lovely weekend camping for August bank holiday. 6 adults and 2 children in two tents - great spot near the river but not too far from the facilities. The kitchen is great - very useful having the kettle and microwave for hot water bottles and pre warming our food! The toilets were fine and always had toilet roll. The showers are lovely though there can be a queue so probably depending on the time of year you need to bear that in mind. Janet and Andrew were friendly and helpful and easily accessible if needed. The town was fantastic - lots of pubs with lovely food, so much so that we want to retire here! (would move now if commuting was less than a 2 hour drive. )

A fab place, amazing views and can't wait to come back in May 2015! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plosey 5 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here during August booked the day before and stayed Sat/Sun night. Tent with EHU, 2 adults, 2 children aged 10 and 8.

Young lad on reception was very friendly, told us basically to pitch anywhere in the EHU field. You pay per person not per tent which is a bonus. Even though it was the middle of August it wasn't busy where we were, you usually find that EHU areas are segregated off and sites cram you in on top of other people but no problems here. There is a separate caravan field and camping by the river and you are allowed to have fires there. Showers/toilets were clean, there are some new wet-rooms with plenty of space and never queued to use any of the facilities. There are 3 large sinks in the indoor washing up room and also a washing machine which is free to use. There is also a camping kitchen which houses a sink, fridge, freezer, microwave, kettle and large seating area. Great idea. Play-park for the kids too. Lots of information available for local attractions, walks.

We really loved this site and will be returning next year to spend more time in the area. Not far from Llyn Clywedog Reservoir/Elan Valley and Aberystwyth. Llanidloes is a nice short walk away and has a Spar, McColls, numerous pubs/bistros chip shop, chinese etc. Overall one of the nicest sites we've ever been to. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joewalker 1 review from this member

 We have just spent four nights at this site, it was fantastic, beautiful site, the toilets and showers were brilliant clean and tidy, no queuing!showers were wet rooms with sink and toilet, which meant loads of space. The washing up area was also spotless, we could have washed up or showered in our van but decided to use the facilities instead as they were of such a high standard. Also there was a campers kitchen such a lovely building, equipped with fridge freezer microwave kettle, and tables set out with games for the kid's, such a brilliant idea. The owners on the site were very helpful and friendly. What a well run site. We walked into town everyday which took about 15 mins, we fell in love with it, we will definitely be returning, for many years to come. Thank you so much dol-llys for a great stay. Emlyn n joe pugh 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Milklady 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely place, But, they could do with a toilet block in the camping field as it is quite a walk uphill to the only toilets. There arent enough electric hookups. I tried the online booking but never had a reply so I just turned up and there was plenty of room but no electric. Down alongside the river you can park anywhere which is nice but let down by the shrubbery which separates the pitches. This consists mostly of Japanese Knotweed and stinging nettles 
Management response: Thank you for your review, firstly I would like to apologise for you not receiving a response to your booking request, it was a particularly busy period for us, which also explains the lack of electric pitches available.

The reason for there not being toilet + shower facilities on the camping fields is that its flood plain ground, close to the river thus making it impossible to build anything there as it can flood in the Winter.

We keep shrubbery and bushes on the lower field as it divides the area up, allowing for more private pitches for individuals or groups to pitch if they wish; It also encourages wildlife and retains a natural feeling to the site.

Many Thanks

Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping.


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xandra 1 review from this member

 This is the first time I have left a review in 50 years of camping and I'm doing so now as this is quite the nicest site I have ever been to. It is beautifully run without the need for any rules or notices. The only one I saw said that dogs must be kept on leads. It is on the banks of the Severn. We could hear the water from our tents. You can take as much space as desired. It is absolutely flat ground with bushes for privacy. Campfires and barbecues are permitted. I suppose the downside for some people might be that it is quite a long walk to the facilities - steeply uphill for a short bit. One can take the car, which I saw people doing! There is a sitting room/kitchen with freezer for use of campers. There is a small charge for the (excellent) showers. It is possible to walk to Llanidloes with all amenities. Cannot recommend too highly. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peaklandpeveril 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for week pitched close to river ground rocky but not a problem when the river is only 10 steps away was deep enough in places for adults to swim as stated in previous reviews toilets spotless even on the busy times camp kitchen clean feeding calves with owners brilliant for kids lovely holiday referred to friends as soon as got home enough said. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanidloes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020