Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes > Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Oakley Park Road
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6JA
Tel: 01686 412694
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tismeinnit 1 review from this member

 I'm just back from a 2 week break and can't wait to go back in September. What a little gem of a site. All facilities kept immaculately clean at all times. The campers kitchen was a god sent with microwaves, kettle, toaster, fridge freezer and seating. The easy relaxed atmosphere of the running of site only adds to the pleasure of your stay. Cannot fault the owners Janet and Andrew who go out of their way to help in anyway possible. The site itself is very well maintained and the relaxed lay out great. There's a playground for the kiddies, plenty of play area for ball games and of course the shallow water running through the site. It made me smile watching the kids enjoying the water. All this at a bargain price. The village has everything you could want and more. Plenty of places to eat, the travelers rest being a personal favorite for breakfast.  


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nobbyj1956 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Dol Llys and we found it to be a great experience, and received a very warm welcome from Janet and Andrew. We were visiting relatives in the Area and it was a good base to explore the beautiful locality. The site is lovely, has excellent facilities which were clean and very well maintained. It was great to be able to get so close to the river if you wanted to and the owners allow open fires on the riverbank which on a summers evening would be great. Llanidloes Town is a 15 minute walk away and we completed a number of walks from the Farm without having to move our Motorhome - so relaxing! We will definitely be back soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paultheplumber 1 review from this member

 Just spent a fantastic few days here over Easter; we were a group of 2 families in tents. The site is absolutely spotless, the facilities are both excellent and well maintained. The owners were very helpful and even managed to accommodate a friend who booked last minute to come and stay with us in his motor home for a night. The play area for the kids is great, the river is also a massive plus point, it's fish able but don't expect a massive haul. The only thing I would have liked to have seen (although I know it would be hard work and I'm being picky) is a farm shop, nothing OTT just basic locally produced dairy goods. Overall very happy with our stay and we will definitely be returning. Thank you 😊 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Makaros 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site with well maintained facilities.

Toilets and showers that were regularly cleaned and adequate to the size of the site.

Nearby river is a lovely spot for fun times for the children and the swimmers.

Owners with sons were friendly and make you feel welcomed and relaxed.

I would like to suggest a few improvements such as more swings for the kids in the play area and recycling facilities.

We have enjoyed our visit on bank holiday weekend and will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katpat23 3 reviews from this member

 I chose this campsite because it had fishing, had a river, allowed campfires, boasted good showers and a children's play area, and was a working farm.

All this was true, but none of it met the expectations I had.

The good part: the people are nice, the price isn't too much, the showers are warm, fishing on the river is free, the wood they sell is a generous quantity for 5, the site is a good size without being either too large or too small, the pot-washing room is a good size with three sinks and plenty of hot water, and there isn't too much fuss about exactly where you pitch your tent. The campsite is also within a few minutes' drive of a lovely little town, Llanidloes (which is pronounced clanitlois, so I'm told), and a huge lake/forest area, both of which are stunningly beautiful.

The less-good part: the river is swift and overfished, so no one was catching a thing in that stretch of water, and we are used to fishing with poles which are useless when there's no part that's slow and deep; the fact that it's a working farm seems neither here nor there because they don't sell any of their products to campers like other farm-camping I've done, so no fresh sausages, burgers, or eggs; the showers are warm with good pressure, but they cost 20p for 3 minutes (which is plenty of time, actually); and most annoying of all, even though we camped right on the river (which gave me nightmares of getting flooded out, a dream that nearly came true after 8 hours of rain one night), I could still hear cars driving throughout the night on the A70, thus I was disappointed that I couldn't really get the peace and quiet of the countryside.

This being said, there are two things I want to highlight: the first is the fact that there is a campers' room with microwave, fridge/freezer, kettle, and toaster, so you could in fact camp there without owning any cooking equipment, and this was a very welcome refuge on the day that rained so much; the second is that the farmer was checking on the river throughout the night when it rained so hard, and though I didn't know he was doing this, I think it bears saying that he's looking out for the height of the river when it's obvious that flooding is a possibility. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dougie Mcfly 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite! Site busy but didn't have to wait for toilets/ showers. Several new, large wet rooms which were great.

Very spacious and relaxed atmosphere. No restrictions on arrival and departure times.

Particularly liked the campers kitchen. Well equipped with seating, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge freezer etc!

Fishing on the River Severn on site.

Had great but strenuous walk to the source of the Severn, well worth it.

Close to the village and all its amenities. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HarryJ34 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I (2 adults and 3 children) had an amazing week at Dol-llys. The site was beautiful in the sunshine and very well kept, well cut grass and very tidy. The river running through the site was the highlight and we spent many hours either having fun in it or having camp-fires on its banks in the evenings.

The owners, who were lovely and very helpful, booked us in and said we could camp where we pleased, so there were no set pitches and we were allowed to spread out and not worry about our neighbours.

We bought a few bags of logs from the farm (5 for a good size bag) to burn on the camp-fire which was great, they even delivered them down to us.

The facilities were also super, band new heated wet rooms with a shower, sink and toilet (VERY SMART), and washing up room plus a campers kitchen with a good sized fridge/freezer. The other bits and bobs such as toaster, microwave and kettle were great, ideal I can imagine if the weather happened to be bad.

Llanidloes itself is a lovely little town, we walked along the farm's fields to get to it which was a lovely change from the road. There is all you need including a spar and coop, butchers, veg store and lots of nice pubs and restaurants including a great chippy!

We definitely will be returning very soon this summer hopefully and bringing our friends with us! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicpink 4 reviews from this member

 Love this place. It's perfect. Location/setting is stunning, with the added bonus of being a working farm - my kids love seeing the animals.

The toilet block is relatively new, with plenty of wet rooms with showers and additional toilet block (showers are 20p for 3 mins, takes 20ps and 1 coins). Very clean. Wash up block fabulous too. They also provide a campers kitchen with microwave, fridge and kettle and somewhere to sit/dine if you wish.

Owners are lovely, lots of local knowledge and tips on places to eat or visit.

The river is a wonderful extra, my kids love paddling and fishing in it. We've even had a fire on the bank and eaten our fish and chips next to it late in the evening.

There's a simple play area for children, though the owner did tell me they had plans to update their equipment this year.

The access road is a bit narrow and there are passing points so it can be a bit scary with a big caravan, but on saying that, it's so quiet, we've only met an oncoming vehicle once in the three years we' e been visiting this site.

The caravan field is a little way down from the showers, with the tent field being closest, but I guess this was planned on the basis that many caravans have their own loo and shower whereas most tents don't. I don't mind the stroll to the loos, it's so beautiful there it's nice to just enjoy the walk.

Altogether a 10 star site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aitkenaj 6 reviews from this member

 We've revisited this site twice recently to celebrate my wife and I 40th birthdays with two different groups of friends.

We've been before so we knew all our friends would love it and they were not disappointed.

We've had group football matches with other campers; children playing in the river; fishing and bottle feeding calves.

All of our friends are going to recommend it to their friends as it's such a chilled campsite.

The owners can't do enough for you and are extremely friendly, we simply love it! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bob Memery 4 reviews from this member

 Great site in Mid Wales.

Site is on a working farm so be prepared for the usual animal movements and noises.

Site doesn't have a lot of hook-ups, so tents with electric might find it hard to find a pitch.

Very near to Llandiloes town centre, short walk or a drive.

Shower block looks very new, nice to see timers on the showers, know exactly how long your 20p will last.

Is about 1 hour drive to Aberyswyth and 1 1/2 hours drive to Hereford. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanidloes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020