Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes > Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Oakley Park Road
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6JA
Tel: 01686 412694
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pamwatkins 1 review from this member

 Just come back, from this site and will be going there again.

The owners are friendly and let you get on with your holiday, but ensure that the rules are respected as should be.

The children fished and swam in the river and made friends with other children and played all day.

We cooked on a campfire down by the river on a couple of evenings with other family members who had camped.

The facilities are basic and clean and there is a kitchen/lounge where you can heat up food, have a cuppa and store food in the fridge.

The caravans are nicely spaced out and the tents have plenty of choices. Either at the river bank or round in secluded spots in the large field.

Llanidloes is just over a mile away with plenty of good pubs and eating places/takeaways. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jell 2 reviews from this member

 The site is on a working farm, and is separated into a caravan area, a 'neat' camping area and a more wild area stretching along the River Severn.

Seven of us stayed here for a couple of nights while walking in the area. We got a pitch down by the river, and made a small encampment of four sleeping tents and a mess tent. We enjoyed the tranquillity, the burble of the river and the magic of an open fire.

The facilities were clean. Showers take 20p pieces (40p gets you a decent long shower). There are not that many loos and showers for a site this size and I imagine they might get a bit busy in peak season, but we had no problems. (They are currently building a new block. )

The owners were friendly and helpful. They can also supply wood for fires.

All in all a good site, to be recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara-Fan 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and the first time that we have stayed in Llanidloes.

We were very happy with the site and the facilities, the toilet block was clean and tidy. We found that 2 x 20p coins was about right for a shower. The showers are adjustable, so you can choose your preferred temperature.

There is currently a new block being built adjacent to the existing block.

We stayed in a touring caravan, and the pitches were level and included a hard-standing patch for the caravan to sit on. The pitches are well spaced, and you are not 'on-top' of your neighbours.

We were impressed with the Campers Kitchen - a great facility - including microwave, toaster, table and chairs as well as a fridge and other bits and bobs.

The camping field sat alongside the river, camp fires are allowed on the river bank.

Just be aware when exiting the site, go very slowly over the speed hump by the entrance, as you may catch the bottom of your car if you don't go over it at a crawling pace.

The site is quite large with a children's play area and plenty of room for children to play, but you may want to consider whether the site is suitable for you if you have young children and you are pitching near the river, as although not very deep it is quite fast flowing and is not fenced off along the 'beach' area.

Bring a torch for the nightly trip to the showers/toilets as it is very dark if there is no moon out!

The Satellite dish was very easy to line up (took about 3 seconds) and there is mobile phone signal on T-mobile and Orange.

Llanidloes is a very interesting town. We visited the toy shop mentioned in a previous review for some birthday presents, which was very well stocked, and we spent around 30 to 40 minutes in there! We highly recommend the chip shop on China Street - (Evans's) (located by the building which is in the middle of the road).

Devils bridge a short drive away is also a very good day out if you fancy walking down the 400ft waterfall, which has steps all the way down into the bottom. The visitor guide is a must (cost's 40p from the turnstile) as it tells you lots of interesting stuff along the way. (This activity is not suitable for pushchairs or wheelchair users.) There is also a steam train into Aberystwyth from Devils Bridge Station.

Certainly a site we will go back to - hopefully the weather will be kinder to us next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANGELA 12 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site after finding by chance then realised we had been here many years before. The facilities were much improved and lovely and clean. Pitches were well spaced. Owners were friendly. We would visit again as loved area good price also. A visit to the dam nearby is recommended don't forget your camera as the views are spectacular {on a clear day}. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Style Sister 2 reviews from this member

 Two humans and two dogs (one disabled). We had a wonderful time and will definitely return. Here is our advise to you:

1. Bring campfire stuff (but only for ground near river)

2. Bring hardened tent pegs if pitching near river

3. Pitch near to your view or some may pitch (rudely) in between you and your lovely view (and force you to move as we did)

4. Bring 20p's for shower. If ladies choose the shower room with the loo you can view the counter going down and ensure you've washed every bit of you before it cuts off. Only one 20p needed unless washing hair (3 mins)

5. Shower at odd times and you'll get a cleaner one eg 5pm

6. You can use the fridge on camp but put things toward the front or they get frozen

7. Try Bistro Harven for the best service in England (in town)!

8. Lovely coffee shop in town (also sells veggie wholefoods but rather fattening stuff)

9. Don't buy anything from the organic food next door to it cos it is of poor quality (shame, we like to support these businesses) but shop next to Bistro Harven good

10. Camping shop in town good - eccentric and helpful owners

11. Get someone from the farm to explain to route to Llandlois from the farm as it is complicated and you will need to climb a gate at the end (difficult with disabled dog)

12. Lovely round walk with fantastic views starts from the farm and goes up the lane (not obvious from map)

13. Bring your own mirror for drying your hair as there isn't one in the washing up room where the sockets are 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GillH 15 reviews from this member

 Large site right by the River Severn with the camping field (non-EHU) mostly flat and you could pitch right by the river. Two showers taking 20p pieces (I used 1 for a shower and 2 for hair wash) and 3/4 loos per sex by the farmhouse where there are a few EHU pitches and children's play equipment. Could freeze ice packs/keep food cool in the fridge in the campers kitchen but this could get filled up. Washing up sink but no laundry facilities.

Llanidloes is an interesting town with butchers, bakers and small supermarket for supplies and a lovely old timbered Market Hall and Tourist Information with details of local walks.

Good value site, friendly people and nice location. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skinnysticks 9 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome - choice of pitch, not jammed into a set space. Several areas to choose from - a large open field close to a small wooden play area, or lower fields close to the river's edge. Lots of groups pitched next to the river and the children could play in the water. Nice family atmosphere even when busy. Quiet at night. We pitched up on ridge close to the line of leylandii and a very short walk to the loos/showers.

Facilities old fashioned/dated - 20p for showers but heaps of hot water. Could do with getting rid of the tatty shower curtain in my opinion. No frills loos (2 for ladies and an extra one in a ladies shower) - e.G no handsoap, paper towels or even a hand-dryer but let's face it, this is camping isn't it, so we can all make do! Campers' kitchen is helpful if you had been walking all day and get very wet. Somewhere to dry off, a microwave and a kettle. All very simple but the gesture was good and the atmosphere friendly.

When we went there was a mix of family groups who had come in cars/vans and some single tents with serious walkers. There is also a field for caravans. Concrete paths make it easy for children to ride bikes. All in all a good experience, but more of a back to basics, 'grin and bear it' attitude to the loo/shower facilities. We liked it though and it was an excellent base for walking up to the source of the Severn. Llanidloes has lots of bistros and pubs, a well stocked Spar, toy shop, Visitor Centre and charity shops. Friendly people wherever we went. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caseyjones 3 reviews from this member

 Like the previous reviewer, we have been staying at Dol Llys Camping Site for many a year - so it's high time that we submitted a view!

Gradual improvements over the 25+ years, but the camping site still retains it's unspoilt charms.

The facilities are kept spotlessly clean, the showers are chargeable (either 20p or 1 coins - dependent on the cubicle) but either way they give good value.

The caravan field is truly spacious, with caravans around three and a bit sides, and a huge central area for children to play safely. There is one water point which everybody can see - so there's no need to queue. Many hard standings, and plenty of grass pitches for the 'country field' experience. The hard standings (save two) do have (chargeable) 240v hook-ups. And some of the grass pitches have too.

Digital (only, now) television reception is excellent, just needing a minimal aerial - as both the local Llanidloes transmitter, and the nearby Llandinam station, are clearly visible up on the hillsides from the site

Our (now) grown up family still visit, using the camping pitches. These are excellent, and can be either adjacent, or near to the lovely tranquil River Severn meandering down through the farm land, or up on higher ground nearer to the toilet facilities. There are two watering points in - or around the camping area. Motor caravans sometimes share this area, as the fields are very large. There are also large patches of gorse and bush areas.

The children have their own play equipment area on the top of a long grass sided bank, well away from the river and very visible to their parents.

The grass is kept freshly cut throughout the season.

The site charges are very reasonable, especially considering the way the site is so well managed.

The nearby town of Llanidloes is within easy walking distance - either by the country lane, or alongside the river and across the fields (although ask at the camp office first, in case of nervous animals grazing). Llanidloes is a lovely old mid-Wales market town which has a wonderful timbered ancient Market Hall at it's centre. There's a traditional butcher (Tom) in a stall in the Town Hall covered market, very fresh bread and lovely cakes from the Talerddig bakery shop and a well stocked Spar store. There's also a large'ish national chain supermarket to the west of the town centre.

There are many good public houses, my favourite being the 'Red Lion' with it's very reasonable lunch time menus, but I think that they are all good and very well managed. There are many small independent eateries too, providing freshly cooked local produce at decent prices.

There are many miles of walks, most of which can be found on the local Llanidloes web-site. And the seaside and university town of Aberystwyth is some 45 minutes drive along the A44 across the beautiful Plynlimon mountain range, with nearby Borth's sandy beaches.

A very good and clean family camping site with nice and well-behaved fellow campers and caravanners. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lamb10 1 review from this member

 Tranquil campsite very close to a lovely town which has all you could want.

We've being visiting Dol Llys Farm for many years (1988 was the 1st trip) and it's great that it's still as friendly now as it was in the beginning!

You always get a warm welcome and are able to pitch to suit you, whether it be near the River Severn or on the ridge near the facilities. The walk up the river bank into the town makes for a pleasant amble.

Llanidloes town has everything you could need. Well worth a visit is the butchers in the market place, the fish and chip shop on the main road and The Stag public house. These are only a few of what's on offer.

Won't be long before we return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

 What a find! We also were touring, on route into Mid Wales, and just stopped here for the night, but I really liked this site.

There is one big square field for caravans, and the rest is for everyone else, with a great deal of choice, as it is large and level, set right on the banks of the Severn. Some had chosen hidden away nooks, behind clumps of trees and shrubbery, some chose to camp right on the riverbank, and others like us chose the field nearest the farmhouse and facilities. There is loads of room for children to play, plus a big climbing frame, slide and swing up on the hill overlooking the site.

Surprisingly, we experienced no midgies, inspite of it being a warm, sunny evening, and so close to the river. The site was also dry and mud free, inspite of recent wet weather.

The toilet block (women's) was alright with three toilets and one shower, and there was another separate shower room. Not the cleanest facilities, but it is not an expensive site. I liked the fact that it had a large sitting room and kitchen area for campers (walkers/cyclists with tiny tents) to hang out in - which is great in bad weather. There were loads of tourism leaflets left there, which was helpful.

Llandiloes itself was a big surprise. We had never heard of it either, but it is a little gem of a town, and well worth an explore. Only a few minutes walk away from the site, so handy for shops, pubs and restaurants. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanidloes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020