Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Dol Llys Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Oakley Park Road
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6JA
Tel: 01686 412694
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 560 reviews from this member

Quick, easy and friendly check in. First impressions are lovely, a really well landscaped site with short cut grass, well tended flower beds etc. Etc.

The site appears split into three area - furthest from check in caravans on hardstanding and grass (appear mainly seasonals). Next to that a large grass area with 8 ehu for campervans and tents. Then a further large less manicured area next to the river with only 4 ehu.

There are two fresh water taps, but there isn't any grey water disposal on the camping fields - we saw people tipping into the hedges. There is a chem disposal up at reception, it is a fair trek from the pitches, people were taking their cars up to empty their cassettes.

Facilities are up at reception, combined toilets and showers and several toilets. The metres weren't running in the showers so included in price. Have to say that showers and loos were a little neglected, no loo roll in some, no paper towels in others and floors needing a clean. Rubbish is placed in a fenced off shed type area with a roof on the camping fields - no bins in there people were just throwing in bags of rubbish.

Campfires are allowed and there are metal bins places around for the purpose, there was a large group of youngsters camped by the river with a fire burning - looked lovely and they were not noisy at all.

Plenty of room for dog walking, there was a dog bin to dispose of poo bags but it was full. Its a lovely walk with the dog into the village, a small park by the river with benches just over the bridge is worth a visit.

This is a large site, well set out into the 3 areas and the grounds are kept beautifully. Facilities needs a bit of attention but could be that its just the start of the season.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patt mc 1 review from this member

Just got back from a long weekend stay. Owners very welcoming throughout our stay. Lovely picturesque location right in the valleys and on the river Severn. Loads of space, kids loved the river, seeing the farm animals and even got involved with collecting the eggs in the morning. Would definitely go back. Worth the 6. 5 hour round trip. One of the showers was too hot, apart from that would recommend to all.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sas74 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely beautiful site - large open fields with a river running through and lots of red kites flying overhead. Facilities seemed to be well kept and clean.

It is a working farm and the river whilst shallow in parts is fast flowing and deep in other areas so children need to be supervised at all times. There is a play area at the top of the site for children away from any units.

You can walk into Llandiloes town which is a lovely town. You can do this either through the fields, following the river, or down the lane - most of it is paved and I would say this was an easier route than through the fields.

The only thing that spoilt my stay was a Vinyl Vibe Festival which was taking place across the river at Llandiloes Rugby Club. The music went on until 1am the one morning and then started again that same morning at 10am and continued constantly throughout the day until 5am the following morning. This was not just background noise - it was like being in a room with a band playing. Would I go back? Only if I could be certain there was no festival happening at the club!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AngelaPerry 4 reviews from this member

As always a very warm welcome from Janet and Andrew - even though the weather was changeable the atmosphere remains the same friendly, helpful and fun. This site is especially beautiful for its scenery and the river for boating, fishing and generally splashing about. Always plenty of clean toilets and showers to be had. Will be visiting again shortly.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louiseparsonage 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic week at Dol llys site. It was our first time staying at this site and we were really impressed by all we saw. Andrew and Janet work tirelessly to accommodate everyone's needs whilst also running their busy farm. Nothing was to much trouble even when they were knee deep in sheep sheeting. Our son enjoyed feeding the lambs twice a day and Andrew educated us with his farming knowledge. The site itself is idyllic with the river running through and ample space for everyone. The facilities were brilliant including fridge and freezer to store you goods and even a washing machine to use and power points dotted around to charge your appliances. On enquiring about pony trekking, Janet even rang round a couple of places to ensure we went to the best place.

I could go on and on. But regardless to say we will definitely be returning to this site and telling our camping friends to also visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wrightys7 1 review from this member

WOW what an experience! fantastic time had by all of us and that includes the wife who would freely admit to not being a real lover of camping.

The views were stunning -- postcard like, plenty of space to pitch, facilities very clean and two shower blocks, well set out areas for electric hook up. Excellent play area for the kids.

Kids could feed animals in the barn -- they loved it !

play for hours in the river -- town just a short walk away

And two hosts Andrew and Janet who truly made you feel welcome.

can not wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dayr02 9 reviews from this member

We have just spent 6 nights at this campsite and there are a mixture of positives and negatives.

It is without a doubt a beautifully located site. It is spacious, especially on the caravan field as many of the pitches seem to be seasonal pitches so even though it was middle of the summer holidays it was lovely and peaceful. The campsite has the River Severn running through it and many children enjoyed spending time in the river fishing with nets or playing in dingy's. We had 4 kids in our party ranging from 5-10 years old and although all are good swimmers none of them fussed about the river and preferred spending time at the park.

So here are my negatives,

We were shown to our pitch by a young guy who wasn't the most enthusiastic or awake individual, what we did learn from him was that there is no grey waste facilities so just pour grey waste into the bush.

The chemical toilet facility was at the main entrance which is a long trek carrying a full cassette so my husband had to drive it to the farm house.

There is only 1 toilet block - in the ladies there are only 3 toilets and on most of my visits they were not clean, there was often no toilet paper or hand drying paper and the floor was damp and dirty.

On the men's side, my husband reports there was only 1 urinal (which had 4 bits of chewing gum in it throughout the whole week) and 2 toilets but both had broken locks so he particularly enjoyed having to poo with his foot wedged against the door to stop unwanted visitors!

I only used the showers once, preferring to use the shower in our caravan, but on the occasion that I did use it I wasn't impressed. The showers are coin operated and I put in 20p and it gave me 3 mins. It took 40 seconds to warm up so 2min 30sec later I had to get out the shower to put more money in the machine. This is just hassle that you don't need on holiday. They were also quite dirty and the clothes hooks were over the bin which was overflowing so my dressing gown hung on the used paper towels.

We have never seen an electric set up like the one at this site and without too much knowledge it seemed a bit unsafe. It was a series of wires draped through the bushes with no fuse box for each caravan.

A minor point, there is no shop on site but there is a co-op in the town so this wasn't a big problem.

The farm owner was very friendly, giving us ideas of walks to go on and beaches to visits. He was always out working on the farm but happy to stop and chat.

So in summary, the site has the potential to be amazing with its location but is let down by the toilets, showers and waste management facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jefn 4 reviews from this member

Wow! From our first contact to leaving we were totally enthralled. Lovely atmosphere, just the right balance between courteous rules and the encouragement to enjoy the experience. Fantastic facilities and riverside location. The indoor kitchen, laundry including ironing board and wet room were amazing. We will be back just to enjoy the experience fully.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shazz62 1 review from this member

Just got back after yet another wonderful weekend at the Dol Llys Farm Caravan and Camping Site in Llanidloes. Found this little gem last year and this weekend was our third visit we have booked to take the family at end of may. The facilities are modern and very clean. There is a children's park and a lovely river on site. Its a short walk in to town with plenty of pubs. But the thing I like most about the site are the owners Janet & Andrew they are so friendly nothing is too much trouble it is so refreshing to find a site where the owners treat you so well in my book they get an all round 10 out of 10. And as someone pointed out above they work really hard on their farm and still smile and stop to chat

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: THOMAS MORGAN 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay in our tourer. Dol-Llys is in a very peaceful setting, alongside the river and very convenient for walking into the town of Llanidloes.

We woke up one morning and there were about 10 pheasants, strolling around within 20 yards of our caravan, so even our Labrador had a wonderful holiday.

There are some wonderful walks around the area with some superb views for miles. We look forward to return to this site as the owners who are hard working farmers, take time out to talk to you and immediately make you feel that you can relax.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019