Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elmsdale Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Elmsdale Camping Reviews

Elmsdale Camping
Elmsdale Camping
Marstow
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6HD
Tel: 01600 890782  or  07956 441036
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janespa 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay. A lovely site, with plenty of space for the kids to play (we went mid-week).

It fills up at weekends but the central area is always free, and with a maximum of 25 units in a largish field, 'full' is a relative term.

The warden, Jean, was very helpful. The toilets and showers were kept clean and I didn't have to queue.

We visited the nearby Goodrich Castle and Yat Rock and would recommend both. The kids didn't want to leave.

Some points to note, however:

The pitches on EHU were very close together. However, we went off-grid and had plenty of space (a good 10m from the nearest tent, half the field to ourselves one night)

It is by a road, which, although not hugely busy, at this time of year had tractors going past during the night due to harvesting.

It is apparently prone to flooding in the lower part of the field, which has a stream around it, although this also meant the ground wasn't too hard after the recent dry weather.

In summary I would definitely recommend, especially non-EHU, unless you are a very light sleeper. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rmunt 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely two night stay at Elmsdale, a pristine and well maintained site. A beautiful field which is cut very short bordered by a river. Dog friendly with a useful dog walking area.

The toilet blocks consisted of two female showers and toilets and two of each for the males. These facilities were kept immaculately clean and what ever time of day or night we used them the standard was the same! Another small building housed the washing up facilities and a freezer for freezing ice blocks, again kept beautifully clean. Recycling is taken seriously and bins clearly labelled and accessible.

Having booked one of only eight hookup pitches we had plenty of room for our little camper and awning with a lovely view of the rest of the site, that was until we went out for an couple of hours. On our return a caravan had been sited just in front of our pitch, making repositioning back onto the pitch to line up the awning tricky to say the least not to mention obliterating our view. This was the only minor niggle that wasn't even worth mentioning to the owners as we were leaving the next day, however did spoil the experience just a little.

As mentioned earlier there is a bridle path to The Cross Keys pub which we availed ourselves of, or so we thought! However, after two nights of walking back and forth in extreme temperatures, we found out on our departure that we had gone the long way round, much to the amusement of everyone. Thought it was a lot longer a walk than I had read about on here! As stated by others the food in the Cross Keys is exceptional, in very way. Even worth walking the long way in 30 degree heat.

All in all a beautiful weekend, site peaceful, clean and well kept. Plenty of room for children to play, but don't expect playgrounds, amusements or bars, didn't even find a shop within walking distance. Will definitely be back, if only to find the short cut to the pub! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sskilton 4 reviews from this member

 We have today returned from a 2 night stay at this stunning campsite.

I camped as a youngster and was put off for life, but I married a Ray Mears 'wannabe' who wild camps and canoes with our eldest son and between them they convinced me to give our tent a go. So I agreed to a 2 night trial, hubby chose this site and the boy did good.

It is a small field that is basically the owners back garden. It is immaculately kept with ample flat pitches and a beautiful stream running right around the site. There is a picturesque bridal path running along one side to walk the dogs, enjoy simply stunning scenery and only 1/2 mile to a superb Cross Key inn with excellent home cooked food dished up in HUGE portions.

A small split-sexes toilet block (very clean) with 2 loos and 2 showers (free) each side. A small building with 2 sinks for washing up and even a small freezer.

The recycling boxes are the best I have come across especially for such a small site and are clearly labelled.

We were made to feel extremely welcome, owners were very friendly and always on hand for any queries and the whole atmosphere of the site was very family and dog friendly.

The site is only 3 miles from the Symonds Yat Canoe club and a couple of miles from Goodrich Castle.

I enjoyed my camping trip so much we are hoping to re-book for another 2-3 nights at the end of July. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Issym 30 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site, it is rarely as full as it was this BH week-end. The facilities reflect the normal low occupancy with only 2 female toilets and 2 female showers, I'm told the same in the male ablutions.

We were along the EHU side and this was very cramped for space. We had to put our van right up to the awning of the van on our right (it was an empty seasonal van). There would not have been room to put an awning up as the tent on our left was too close; this continued along the line. The pitches weren't marked but we could have done with 2 less units to give everyone enough outside space. The rest of the field without EHU you could pitch where you wanted and this seemed to work very well. The field was beautifully mown grass and mostly flat.

Even though the site was full there was plenty of space for a game of cricket or football. There were a few canoe groups pitched together but there was no noise or rowdy behaviour.

We drove to Morrisons on Friday for our shopping, this was in Ross on Wye, a few minutes away, and very easy to find. We visited Symonds Yat, and were lucky enough to see a Peregrine falcon.

We had Sunday lunch at the Crosskeys Inn, lovely homestyle food, plentiful, fresh and hot. The dessert cabinet was a wonder to all with a sweet tooth.

We aim to visit again but not at a BH. I have given a 9 out of 10 because of the lack of space for those on EHU. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevehotshot 5 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay at Elmsdale mon-sat 13-18 May. Site is a beautiful green field which is of LAWN quality, really lush, (making it easy to insert pegs).

There is a path alongside the site leading over a stream via footbridge, this goes through woodland for approx 500 yds but it is up and downhill and was a bit muddy when we went, it joins a lane and about a mile or so later you reach the Cross Keys pub. Very nice pub with HUGE portions of food (you will order too much). We went by car on other occasions and it takes literally 4 minutes.

Monmouth is a lovely little town with a Waitrose and a high street full of the regular chainstores, and quite a few privately run shops. It is only 10 mins drive from site. In the other direction there is Ross-on-wye, 15 mins to free car park ample spaces, short walk to centre, we thought this was about the same size as Monmouth, there is a Morrisons and a small Sainsbury's, again a nice little town with many non-chain shops.

Symonds-Yat is a must see and DO take a walk/climb up the 'Rock', well worth the effort.

Back to the site. Toilets immaculate, and as other reviews have said, I expect them to be very busy at times as there only 2 loos and 2 showers per gender. We were lucky as during the week it was very quiet and I never bumped into anyone in there. The site could do with a couple more water standpipes, but apart from these relatively small issues the site was near perfect for our needs. Quiet, peaceful, friendly and a gorgeous location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bates 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Elmsdale for a week over Easter, there were only two other pitches occupied when we arrived and by the end of the week we were the only ones on the site, but everywhere was quite due to the weather!.

We had a fantastic week, the owners are very friendly/helpful, the site is well kept, very clean toilets/showers/sinks (two in each -male/female) plenty of hot water. There is a separate wooden building for washing up with a freezer if required.

The pitches are flat, plenty of room with ample of space for children to play football/ ride their bikes etc. There is a lovely small river running on one side of the site and an adjacent footpath/bridleway to walk dogs which is also the way to a fantastic pub Cross Keys which does great food - very reasonable - dogs allowed in conservatory, has garden with play area - need to book!

The site is a 5 minute car journey to a Whitchurch Village Shop/Post Office which sells bread/papers and a small range of groceries.

Larger shops within 5 miles.

Site very central, lots to do within a short drive - canoeing (Wye River) mountain biking(Forest of Dean)Hill Walking - Sugar Loaf Abergavenny and plenty more places of interest nearby.

Need change for the car parks 1-3. 50 per day.

There is also a good footpath network from the site.

Around the site there is lots of wildlife, birds of prey, owls etc. There is a little road noise from the nearby road but this doesn't disturb you.

We loved this site and would definitely return.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BrunoMarkoni 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our short stay here, very friendly owner who was very helpful with local information and really well kept site with spotless shower, toilet and potwash facilities. Hot water was always available.

The ground for pitching was well kept and there is a small but nice river that runs through the bottom part of the site. Nice and quiet, but close enough to go canoeing or visit the Rock.

Will definitely come back to this quiet and unspoiled spot again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richmond72 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite set in the rolling countryside. Basically one big field that you drop in to from the road and lined on two sides by a small river.

Used the site as a base for my 40th birthday celebrations which included 12 families in various caravans, tents and campervans. We were all able to pitch together, site owners had no preference as to where and how. The site has 6 electric hookups down one edge of the field of which we had booked all of them.

A small toilet block is available and very, very clean. Only one sink though and two hot showers, but they did'nt get congested at all.

Site was hard to find at first, don't use postcode on your satnav, you end up down a long dead end track to nowhere.

No shops locally, but Monmouth is 5mins in car.

Overall great and would definitely book again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobby Johnson 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from 5 idyllic days at Elmsdale, it was so picturesque, we were pitched by the stream, it was so soothing to hear it running by during the day and restful at night.

Lovely clean shower facilities, well maintained and the owners could not have been more hospitable, helpful and friendly.

A beautiful part of the country will definitely go back so much to see. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

The Cross Keys Pub is a good place to visit as is Symonds Yat.

I recommend a trip on the river very pleasant and informative.

A good base from which to travel to other parts of the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bryce77 3 reviews from this member

 Myself and 5 mates stayed at Elmsdale for the weekend (friday and saturday night) during the wettest part of April known to man! On arrival the site was empty so we found a suitable pitch and set-up our 6 tents. The field was big with cut grass and plenty of space, with a small river running along the lower perimeter. Later after coming back to the site we met Jenny, the owner who was very helpful and friendly.

Plus points:

Friendly, well run site.

Superb toilets/showers, always clean despite the mud.

Space!

Price - cheap considering the nice site.

Lovely warm showers

Negative points:

It rained, a lot which made the nearby road loud when the many lorries past - imagine this would not be an issue in the dry or when the trees had filled out a bit.

Nowhere for shaving stuff/tooth brushes in bathroom and just one sink (fine f only 6 on the site but possibly a bit tight when busy?

Finger ache from having to keep pressing the shower button!

As you can see, if you want a clean, basic and friendly site, this is perfect - nothing really to complain about.

Crosskeys Pub is superb but book! Well in advance! We were lucky as they let us eat in the pool room, superb food, beers and staff. Easy 15min walk or 20 min cycle in the thick mud!

Overall, loved it! Would love to take my family, although my son and the open river bank would make me nervous - hence the low rating for child friendliness - possibly unjust, I just know I'd have to watch my son 100% of the time. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elmsdale Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elmsdale Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Elmsdale Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement