Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elmsdale Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Elmsdale Camping Reviews

Elmsdale Camping
Elmsdale Camping
Marstow
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6HD
Tel: 01600 890782  or  07956 441036
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 51 to 56                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rich+sally 2 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and helpful lady welcomed us to the campsite. Google maps gave us terrible directions leading us straight past campsite. From A40 towards Ross-on-Wye, take exit for A4137 towards Hereford, campsite on your right (visible from road but not clearly signposted).

Toilets and showers are mixed-sex but clean and well-maintained. No hot water for washing dishes (separate shed with no light).

Goodrich castle well worth going round (audio commentaries available on entry). Ross-on-Wye 10 minutes drive from campiste.

Barking dogs spoilt the mornings for us but otherwise generally quiet although the main road and local farm vehicles can be clearly heard during the day.

Generally a very nice simple site, welcoming, and informal. We had a lovely weekend and will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gareth.davies 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, easy to find if you follow the directions. The owners are very friendly and were normally sitting out he back, toilets and showers were spotless.

There is a main road nearby but it wasn't too bad although I was camped as far away from it as possible, next to the river.

It's a good location for nearby walks, with Goodrich castle and Synods Yat Rock within walking distance if your a walker, or a few mins drive. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SteveP68 2 reviews from this member

 A superb little campsite with immaculate amenities. The toilet/shower block was almost perpetually being cleaned. It is a basic site but done very well. If you want music, flashing lights and arcade games then this will not be for you but if you want somewhere to chill out and relax then I think you will like Elmsdale.

The site was well situated for visiting Ross on Wye, the Forest of Dean, and Monmouth. Symonds Yat and Goodrich Castle are within walking distance, if you like, or a few minutes drive if you donít.

Both Jean and her husband made me feel welcome and were very helpful with advise on the local area.

To sum up, it was a great little site in a pretty setting (with the River Garron on one side) and run by nice people. I would happily recommend this to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kjsmith70 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent two nights at this lovely campsite. The owner was very friendly and helpful - there was no rush to check out today and she kept us up to date with the weather forecast! Toilets and showers were kept very clean - I saw the owner at least twice a day cleaning them.

We got a great nights sleep on both nights and all the campers there abided by the rules ie no loud music, fires etc.

Lots to do in the local area and would like to go back to explore more. We visited the Puzzlewood which us and our children loved. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sevenstories 2 reviews from this member

 I can't speak highly enough of this campsite.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers were impeccably clean - Jean seemed to be cleaning them about three times a day. The only (very minor) complaint would be that there was only one sink in the toilet block and no mirror. As I said, very minor point.

The site was lovely - big, open field with nice places to walk from the site. It's also very well placed for things to do - we visited Goodrich Castle, a maze, a butterfly zoo, played crazy golf, walked up to the top of Yat Rock and went canoeing - all within fifteen minutes drive of the site. There is also Ross on Wye down the road and the Forest of Dean which has even more activities. We were spoilt for choice as to what to do.

We had the benefit of lovely weather, which always improves a camping trip but I think we would have enjoyed it even if it had rained. It strikes an excellent balance between reasonable rules to ensure everyone can have a nice time and being flexible with things such as keeping the gates open. There was a huge mix of groups there at the same times as us - couples, families, elderly couples and a stag do but everyone abided by the rules and there were no issues.

I would highly recommend this campsite and look forward to going back to do the rest of the activities on our list that we didn't have time to get done! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonfa 2 reviews from this member

 I spent 3 nights here with my partner and our 2 kids, 4 + 5, cant come up with any real complaints. Nice clean and tidy site with very friendly owners willing to chat about the local surroundings and attractions.
Site has 24 hr toilets and showers and does not close its gates at any time so you don't have to worry about getting in late. The atmosphere in the camp was great as we sat most of the evenings into the small hours with a small camp fire off the ground and enjoyed the perfect weather over a drink or 2 and a bbq, in a very relaxed and quiet surrounding.
Camp is close to the A40 and very close to many of the local attractions and also close enough to the larger towns such as Monmoth and Ross On Wye.
If I had to come up with any cons it would be the road you drive in on, maybe 1 or maximum 2 lorries an hour drive past but as the field is large enough you can always pitch at the far end where the noise is less apparent. Either way this is at a push and never was a problem for any of us with the kids being fast asleep as soon as their heads hit the pillows!

Thoroughly recommend this camp and a big thanks to Jean who made us feel very welcome. Will see you again soon I hope. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 56     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elmsdale Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elmsdale Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Elmsdale Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement