Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elmsdale Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Elmsdale Camping Reviews

Elmsdale Camping
Elmsdale Camping
Marstow
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6HD
Tel: 01600 890782  or  07956 441036
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Worto03 1 review from this member

 Oh man, am I a mature couple now? :-o

Anyway, dropped the kids off with family and spent a night trying out Elmsdale Campsite in our new van.

Very friendly owner who is very happy to describe various walks and places to paddle board from.

Nice walk from site to Kerne bridge, couple of good pubs within easy walking distance.

Owners walked around the site at 22:30 asking for music to be turned off and checking everyone was OK (and at the same time gave us our credit card back which someone had handed in)!

We were there on a busy weekend with hot weather but the limits they impose on the site means it's one of those sites that have people camping all around the edge of the field leaving all of the middle of the field free for kids to run around in, pitches are big and it never felt too busy in any way.

Stream\brook runs through the site and there is a rope swing that he kids play on, will check this out more next next time when we come back with the our children.

Nice clean toilets\showers and washing up room on site.

No open fires allowed, they do hire out chimneas but it cost £16 for the chimnea and one nights supply of wood which I thought was quite a expensive.

No shop on site, not sure if there is one within walking distance or not, we didn't come across one.

Not sure what else to say, we'll be back that's for sure.

Oh slight road noise but this would have to be something that really bothers you to put you off, it's not that bad and you can always ask for a pitch on the other side of the field if it bothers you. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Charli 2 reviews from this member

 Really friendly site in a great location. Busy and great for families with young children.

The owner is a great person who’s really welcoming.

We only stayed one night and didn’t use the facilities.

Great for dogs, lovely walk just off the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jelly bean 1 review from this member

 Visited this site on at last minute break

Very welcoming and friendly, facilities are spotless and lovely and quiet at night no noisy neighbours

Our kids where allowed to play on there bikes play football cricket etc with no issues or complaints

This site is in close proximity to many nice pubs

The red lion was one of our favourites and also activities for the family ie canoeing, clearwell caves.

I will definitely be coming back and highly recommend it 


Date of Visit: September 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 We phoned to enquire and the lady was very helpful on the phone and told us to just turn up and that all three of us could be together.

The site is easy to find and not far from the main A40. We arrived and we met by a large open field with a small river running around the edge and surrounded by trees. The site was very flat. There are hookups around the edge. There was not a kids play area that I saw, however they don't need one, there is plenty of space for them to play

The site owner was very friendly and told us about local places to visit, local walks, etc. We pitched in the bottom corner and there was no issue with midgies or anything even with the river.

The facilities block is at the top of the field and in the mens were two sinks, two showers and two toilets. These were kept spotless and had auto lights on and were warm on the cold evenings. I believe it was the same set up in the ladies.

There are plenty of walks nearby and you can walk for miles. On one day we walked into Goodrich and up to the castle and then back, via the Cross Keys pub in the village. I must give the pub a mention, it was nice in there and the staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. If staying at this site I would definitely suggest giving it a visit.

There is loads to do in the area with Symonds Yat within walking distance or just a few minutes drive. The scenery is stunning and the walk along the River Wye is lovely, flat and peaceful.

We paid £13 for the night for the campervan, one adult and one dog. At this price it is an absolute bargain and I would definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: VWBus 71 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay here in late September, midweek, for four nights. Extremely friendly and helpful on arrival - we were three campervans together and she said we could pitch whereever we liked, and showed us the spot with most sunshine throughout the day. Large open field with a lovely stream / brook running around the outside.

It's a extremely well kept site, and very easy on the eye. Great facilities, which were immaculately clean and tidy. Showers were powerful, and just the right temperature. Plenty of hooks in the shower and toilet doors - thank you site owner! There is a separate building housing washing up sinks, and a freezer and fridge. No particular facilities on site for children, but the field is large for playing in, and the stream probably like a magnet for kids, so I am sure they would have loads of fun!

We used the site as a base for the surrounding attractions, in particular Symonds Yat. The big attraction for us were the offroad walking opportunities direct from the site. Along one side of the site is a bridle path, which in turn leads to a network of footpaths. You can walk direct from site to Goodrich Castle (and village), and Symonds Yat, and miles and miles along the River Wye, hardly seeing a road.

Up the bridle path and along a very quiet country track (I guess about a 15 minute walk - a little hilly and possibly muddy in winter) is a great pub called the Cross Keys, on the edge of Goodrich village, which is well worth a visit. Great food, welcoming and helpful staff, and very dog friendly too.

All in all, a great site, which I look forward to returning to one day, to do more walking along the beautiful River Wye. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bubble63 2 reviews from this member

 Great site run by a lovely family. Very clean and well maintained. Dog friendly. Large open field with a river running round the edge. Lots of space for children to play football and ball games. Very clean well maintained toilets/showers. 10 mins by car to Monmouth and Ross on Wye. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jackarthur 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site when visiting family in the area for just one night. Would definitely stay again. Really friendly owners and the most spotless toilets and showers on a UK campsite I have ever had the pleasure of using, as was the washing up facilities. Fridge and freezer there for use.

We had our sprocker with us and our two children, 14 and 10. A sign reads dogs to be kept on lead but probably as there were only a few campers ours and one other well behaved dog were allowed off the lead.

The field is well kept and largely very flat, about three football fields with a slow running brook at the bottom. Very, very quiet and peaceful. My only advice is keep your eyes open when looking for it as the hedge covered the sign, but worth the trouble when you find it. I gave it 7/10 on child friendliness only because there are no playing facilities, the owners could not have been more friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SF23 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this site and it was great. Well looked after, great location for The Forest of Dean and surrounding areas. Facilities are excellent. Owners are very friendly and great for directions if you need them. Great site in beautiful part of England. Very easy to find as well. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Trevoreustace 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful !

From taking my booking over the phone, to leaving the site yesterday, a perfect camping experience.

Extremely well run family business and a great site for kids to just 'play' and use their imagination for once.

The on site facilities are really good which include a very clean and well presented shower and toilet block and a kitchen area to wash up with the added bonus of a fridge and fridge freezer, genius!

Great local pubs (and quite cheap) and with 3 good activities (goodrich castel - hedge puzzle - symonds yat) all within a 5 minute drive, I will definitely come back with my children in the summer.

For me there were no bad points with this site, but I will say, if you're planning on walking to the local pubs at night or with children, then definitely take a few hi viz jackets and torches (maybe glow sticks for kids??) As the road to the pubs have no paths and the vehicles can come fast round the corners (but this is common all over British countryside (haha). Stay single file and be visible and you will be fine.

So for me

- a beautiful site

- superb hospitality

- excellent value for money

- outstanding picturesque sights all around you

- great for kids

- 3 or 4 days of full activities for all the family in the area.

- excellent facilities

Thanks for a great 3 days. See you again soon (definitely) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sterlingcaravan 5 reviews from this member

 We had 5 nights on this site and thoroughly enjoyed the first 3 nights. The site was well kept with grass collected, the toilets and showers were spotless though could have done with somewhere to put your clothes to keep them dry when in shower and also some lighting at night as the field is pitch black. The fourth and fifth night we had a motorhome placed at the side of us ONE METRE away from our van which was awful, and I would think a fire risk, we felt as though strangers were in our front room. We had to close the blinds down one side of our van as we were looking directly into their motorhome. The owner told us to put our car in front of the van as there was no room now at the side and very little room to sit at the other side. She seemed to think this was acceptable, we didn't. We have been caravanning a long time and had better treatment and space when only paying £10 per night not the £21. 50 we were charged. Tents without hook up are fine but beware if in a caravan with EHU. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elmsdale Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elmsdale Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Elmsdale Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5642 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement