Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elmsdale Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Elmsdale Camping Reviews

Elmsdale Camping
Elmsdale Camping
Marstow
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6HD
Tel: 01600 890782  or  07956 441036
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orangejonah 3 reviews from this member

 We spent a relaxing week here- the site was perfect for the kids- they loved the huge expanse of field for playing in. The stream was also a hit- the kids loved splashing around. Toilet/shower facilities were excellent- always clean with plenty of hot water.

The owner was very helpful- always on hand when needed. Only bit of constructive criticism- although the owner was more than happy to freeze ice blocks for us, it would be useful to have a freezer in the washing up block for use of campers.

Great site- will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AMJP 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic break at this campsite, owner was very helpful from enquiry to booking, and then full of useful ideas of where to go and see.

We had a break with out the children and are looking at re visiting with the full entourage very soon.

Very small field, and fantastic facilities which were spotless.

Would recommend to anyone wanting a short peaceful break. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy78 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife, This place is recommended for sure, the family that own it are very friendly especially on arrival.

The scenery was nice, there is a stream going around the field and if you are as lucky as I was, you might see a little family of Otters, 'yes' there was, how cool was that.

The camp site isn't too far from Symonds yat but you need a car to get to a pub, other than that, we will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night and really loved the location. Quiet. Pretty location. Good clean facilities. We are not able to walk far but for anyone who enjoys the countryside this is a great location.

The view from Symonds Yat is stupendous and together with the commercial bits there is plenty to see and do. We would recommend this site to anyone and will be coming back when we are in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew100 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a good walk away from the river Wye, but has it's own decent sized stream, making it a very attractive location. If it were fully booked the toilets and showers would be a bit stretched, however the cleanliness could not be faulted.

If you want peace & quiet, this is the place to go. You can walk to Symonds Yat either by road or cross country. We opted for the scenic route which requires a map,but the latter part of the walk (by the Wye) is stunning.It take about an hour,of course you can drive there in a couple of minutes. To sum up, a pleasant site where no-one bothers you. We would go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mwill195 1 review from this member

 Just got back from spending two nights (Friday and Saturday) at Elmsdale. We were met by the owner on arrival who was very friendly and welcoming. The camp site is a single field, with a small brook/river running around most of it. We chose this site based on the other reviews and I have to say it is a really nice place to stay. We chose the area so that we could do canoeing on the Wye on Saturday and mountain biking in the Forest of Dean on Sunday, and it is a great location.

The site has a main toilet block which at present looks brand new and constantly cleaned. There are two shower cubicles, two toilets and a single sink. There is also a separate hut with a toilet and sink. The weather was great for us and the site only had about 6 other groups so we didn't have to queue for the facilities. I guess if the site was at capacity then there may be queues.

If you go to the area I recommend booking with Wyedean Adventure for Canoeing - a half day from Kerne Bridge to Symonds Yat is a great trip to do. Also the Forest Of Dean has a great 10 mile cycle route and you can hire bikes from the cycle centre.

All in all a nice site. If we go to the area again we will look to stay at Elmsdale. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peterandco 1 review from this member

 We had an excellent stay for 4 nights at this site. It was quiet (although we were pitched at the far side of the site away from the road) and not at all cramped. The owners were very friendly and we got to know them well when leaving / collecting our ice blocks - something they happily did when asked. We would certainly return if in this area next year. It is very well sited for Symonds Yat.

The toilet block was very new, and was well kept and clean. It was busy at the weekend although the owners are clearly in the middle of refurbishing the second block which will be ready next year at the same high standard. Next year they also expect to have completed the new dish-washing facility.

Finally, ignore your Sat Nav and follow the sites own directions! Our Satnav took us to a neighbouring farm. Once you get to the junction of the A40 and the A4137 by Marstow, their instructions were the best! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dr_Weesa 1 review from this member

 Very nice site and very friendly owners who kept the facilities very clean and tidy. The site is on the main road to Hereford from the A40 and was at times noisy (much more than 2 lorries an hour as stated elsewhere on this site).

The real let down for the site is that there is no washing up facilities. The site has 45 pitches yet only two showers, three toilets and one sink with hot water, far from ideal.

Parents should be aware there is a stream/river circling the site that could be dangerous for very young children, however there are a number of pitches that are well away from this. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajd68 2 reviews from this member

 Agree with all the comments regarding this campsite. Very clean toilets and showerblock albeit sometimes a bit of a queue first thing as there are only two toilets in main block with one sink. Nice and quiet with plenty of space - even if it is completely full. If I had to make one comment - the site could do with a communal freezer for those of us who stayed longer that 2 nights to put our freezer blocks in, but other than that - very helpful and pleasant and would go back there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fuddlewuddled 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from spending two nights here. The site is very conveniently situated close to the A40. It is a lovely friendly site, with very clean facilities. There is now a mirror over the vanity basin in the toilet block. Children had ample room to enjoy the field, and no play equipment was needed.

Had an evening meal in the Saracen's Head - on the river bank in Symonds Yat - this was pricey but very tasty and arrived promptly. It also gave us the opportunity of deciding how best to spend the next day.

We spent a lovely day visiting Symonds Yat Rock and after seeing the falcons, with the very knowledgeble and patient RSPB wardens, we walked down a steep path to the river bank. We just managed to catch the 'Kingfisher Cruises' boat for a trip along the river, then back for a quick icecream. We then walked along the river Wye to Biblins Bridge, a bit shakey but good fun, before finding a lovely tea garden for a cream scone. A walk along the opposite bank through the woods to the hand ferry at the Saracen's Head meant we didn't have to go over the bridge again - to the relief of our youngest! A very steep half mile hike up the path completed our day. We will certainly stop at this site again. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elmsdale Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elmsdale Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Elmsdale Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement